Steins Taphouse

Steins Taphouse, Nuriootpa: Hours, Address, Steins Taphouse Reviews: 4/5

Steins Taphouse
4
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 6:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 6:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 6:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 6:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Sunday
12:00 PM - 6:00 PM
About
Stein’s Taphouse is a craft beer lovers’ paradise. With 15 taps of continuously rotating Australian craft beers and 60 more available in cans or bottles, a range of micro-distilled Australian spirits and liqueurs, not to mention boutique Australian wines, Stein’s is sure to have something to quench your thirst. Our menu is burger focussed made fresh and delicious in-house, using many local Barossa products. We serve foods such as burgers, sliders, hotdogs and pizza. There is something for coeliacs, vegetarians and vegans too. The food is designed unapologetically to complement our amazing selection of Australian craft beers, ciders, spirits and wines- all Australian, all from small producers. No white tablecloths, no silver service, no coffee and cake – just good, tasty food at very reasonable prices, served by friendly staff. New burger menu launches on Monday June 17th - Lots of burgers !!
Suggested duration
1-2 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours and Tickets
Popular mentions

4.0
50 reviews
Excellent
21
Very good
13
Average
9
Poor
4
Terrible
3

Trisha C
Corowa, Australia186 contributions
Good place to go, but watch what you get
May 2021
We had a lovely lunch at this venue. I felt that the stools were very uncomfortable to sit on for long periods and this needs attention. I ordered dairy free and unfortunately not sure if it was fully so, just know that I was very sick an hour or so later.
My husband did appreciate the wide range of beer that they had and sampled a few of them
Written May 22, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Martin H
Gawler, Australia52 contributions
"Very pleasant Taphouse Venue"
Feb 2021
Called in on a Sunday afternoon, lovely ambience, lovely lady serving behind the bar, so many beers to choose, but found a nice one, great background music from the singer/guitarist, all adds up to an enjoyable 90 minute stay. Will be back.
Written February 27, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

kpiddy
Brisbane, Australia11,950 contributions
Craft beer and burgers
Nov 2020
After a few days of going around the wineries in McLaren Vale and the Clare Valley we started our stay in the Barossa with craft beer served at Steins Taphouse in Narioorpa. On entering the taphouse we made our way over to the bar to select something from the main blackboard which detailed the fifteen varieties of craft beer, cider and alcoholic ginger beer/lemonade on tap. We settled in for lunch and thoroughly enjoyed our large burger and chips with chosen beer.
Written January 3, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Rebecca T
Melbourne, Australia63 contributions
Lovely place but beware for gluten free
Dec 2020 • Family
We arrived and found a lovely table outside and were amazed at the vast array of beers available.
After ordering our lunch (which not a large menu only pizza and burgers) we waited quite a while for the food to come and it wasn’t overly busy.
My gluten free burger arrived at least five minutes before all the others and I thought the Barra pattie looked a bit suss so asked the kitchen if it was indeed gluten free. I had been supplied a gluten free roll and filling with a fully battered and fried burger!

All the other burgers came and looked delicious, however if you are gluten free beware of what you are ordering and being served!
And a lesson for the kitchen for allergies, to serve customers as if they were to have an allergy and not guess what is and isn’t gluten free!
Written December 27, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hi Rebecca, I feel I should mention that our menu does clearly state that "if you have any dietary issues , please inform us when ordering from our menu." We offer gluten free buns as part of our selection ( This is as much for people who are Coeliac or for those that just want a lower gluten diet )- however our menu shows clearly which items on our menu are either Vegetarian/Vegan/Gluten free or Gluten Free available. Although we are just a little beer and whisky bar in the Barossa we do offer food - unfortunately many people think we are a restaurant ( which we aren't.. ) - again I think I should also point out to readers of this review that we also offer a Grilled Haloumi Mediterranean Salad as well Buffalo Wings , Jalapeno and Cheese Poppers ,chips etc , all of which are GF. The Barramundi Burger does not show as Gluten free on the menu ( but it does show as "Southern style seasoning " which in our chefs consideration would be viewed as a little like KFC or any other Southern US style fried food. I'm sorry that you were disappointed with your choice but it is very hard for me to take responsibility for what has happened....indeed we have sold a few thousand of these since it went on our menu some years back and this is the first time that we have received any issues others that compliments. That being said - if you come back and remind me of the disappointing meal you had - I will get our staff to find something on our menu that is entirely GF and we will not charge you for it. FYI - you can see a copy of our menu on our FB page as well as our website if you wish to re - appraise your review . Thank you Michael
Written December 30, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Mrs-Diedre
South Australia, Australia177 contributions
Beer and food
Sep 2020 • Couples
Location easy to get to, lots of local beer to chose from and food to eat. We had puff pastry pizza which was light and yummy. Good spot
Written September 19, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Peter B
Adelaide, Australia43 contributions
Great range of beers
Mar 2020
A really good range of local and interstate beers. All are craft beers and most are from local Barossa brewers. There are plenty of whiskies too. Friendly staff and plenty of room inside to grab a seat.
Written March 6, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

OzRats
Perth, Australia33 contributions
The Unwelcome
Dec 2019 • Family
It was late afternoon and we had walked into the pub/restaurant as a family looking for a dining venue for us of 5 adults and 2 children. Whilst the adults were perusing the menu and having a discussion, the children were entertaining themselves at the foosball table. We weren’t sure if we were going to eat an afternoon tea or very early dinner, so we did take quite a bit of time looking over the menu and talking; but then again, who was rushing as we were on holidays anyway...? By this time, we had noticed that the person in-charge, not sure if she was a manager or owner, giving us some unpleased looks. Well, we decided not to dine there at that time, so we walked over to the foosball table to let the children finish playing their game. Just as we were going to walk away, the person in-charge came over to us to ask if we were going to order any drinks or food but we said that we weren’t sure. She then proceeded to tell us that we shouldn’t be playing at the foosball table if we weren’t going to order anything. She proceeded to express her displeasure by saying that she simply can’t have anyone coming into her venue and play at her foosball table without ordering anything. By this time, she was looking at us with such displeasure that it was making us feel very awkward. We can’t be sure if she had wanted to humiliate us as well but it certainly felt that way. There were only a few people in the pub/restaurant at that time, so it was definitely an embarrassing scene that she had created in front of that few customers. Anyway, whatever her intention was, we just scooted out as fast as we could. Seriously, we just couldn’t stop wondering why would a business owner behave this way when this was the busiest time of the year for the tourism industry? Didn’t she want any business from us? She obviously didn’t think we were worthy of her business as she didn’t even consider the thought that we could’ve returned for a meal after all even though we had said that we weren’t sure about dining there at that time. What about us returning tomorrow or the day after, or whenever? She didn’t even bother to have a quick chat with us when we were in the restaurant looking at her menu, so she just assumed that we were some kind of what...? She really shouldn’t be running a hospitality business with this attitude. A potential customer could always become a regular customer, or at least, be a one-time customer who would be writing an excellent review about her establishment now instead of posting this absolutely negative review. What a shame. What a real shame. And there are business owners out there who constantly say that there aren’t enough customers who support their businesses? Well, as long as you have a such unwelcoming attitude like that, it’s no wonder, is it?!
So, as long as you’re a tourist exploring the Provenance in Barossa, just be aware of your money-spending intentions before entering the doors of this establishment.
Written December 27, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you for your spectacular review of our little bar. We normally never respond to unfavourable reviews , however as you obviously went to such great lengths to give us a 1 star rating ,I feel the only alternative is to give your readers our version of the events. Firstly ,and most importantly ,we are a Craft Beer Taphouse that specialises in the aformentioned... ( Australian craft beers) . We are not a "pub" or a restaurant as you refer . I would happily upload our CCTV security footage of your short ( 23 minute ) visit to our establishment on You Tube ,but I feel that most people wouldn't watch past the first 30 seconds of your children playing on the Foosball table ( which for readers to know is a free game provided for the enjoyment of our patrons) . During this extremely boring footage you can watch all but 1 adult leave the premises with the kids being supervised by one adult while they continue playing. I feel it's also noteworthy to mention to your readers that it was over 40 degrees celsius outside the bar , but a very comfortable 20 degrees inside with our airconditioning directly over the foosball table . Always handy when you want to leave your kids somewhere before leaving to go to another establishment You can also see my wife ( the real owner of the business ), approach your group with menus which are politely declined. We did have other patrons who were very patiently waiting at the next table eating and drinking and WAITING to have a game. ( Very clear in the security system camera ) Just so the readers can understand things here, your group used our establishment as a "child minding centre" whilst the majority of the adults went "walkabout". For over 15 minutes the children played on the table whilst the single remaining adult watched. From our CCTV vision, no-one purchased a single drink or any food up until the time that you left at the 23 minutes and 30 seconds point after originally entering the bar. It's quite sad that you can devote so much effort into distorting the truth, but as they say - the camera never lies ! Please advise me if you want the upload to You Tube ,as I really have more important things to do, but I do need to defend my wife and our business. To wrap up this extremely disappointing essay, I would humbly point out that your group did enter an adult focused venue with all of your children, did not purchase a single thing, enjoyed using our premises for a considerable amount of time, deprived our paying customers of the use of our free soccer table and then had the audacity to say what you said. We consider ourselves a "welcoming" and friendly business , but when people take advantage of us , I can only do what any normal person would do and defend ourselves. Next time you are in the Barossa - I would recommend the park and playground to take your children to ....It's safe and free. ( but maybe a little hot in the Australian Summer )
Written December 29, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Eboneezie
30 contributions
Huge selection of beers and spirits
Dec 2019 • Couples
Fun and impressive bar. Laidback and great for a quick pint or to stay at and enjoy a few more, or some food.
Massive selection of beer, and a good wine list. We were also really impressed by the spirits menu. Something like over 40 different whiskies 😳. Loved that they stocked our hometown’s Ord Valley Rum!
Written December 21, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Rachel P
Perth, Australia615 contributions
Great place on a hot day for beer!
Oct 2019
We visited on a really hot day and order the tasting paddle. $20 for your own choice of five beers. The staff were lovely and recommended our beers which were all lovely. Nice quaint little place.
Written October 28, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

TKrieg
Adelaide, Australia601 contributions
Disappointing!
May 2019 • Couples
Had high hopes of a nice meal and a pleasant evening listening to live music but sadly disappointed. We booked stable but it was a table of 3 jammed against a pillar between 2 windows. That’s ok but we were obviously the only table booked and given the worst table. We didn’t sit there. The decor is great and the place looked inviting. A loud group playing pool and swearing loudly drowned out the music but no attempts made by management to quieten them. Food was ordinary pub quality. Good range of beers and spirits but really over-priced. Staff seemed to be learning on the job. We left early.
Written May 13, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 50
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing