Amaze Room Escapes
Thursday
3:00 PM - 8:30 PM
Friday
3:00 PM - 8:30 PM
Saturday
3:00 PM - 8:30 PM
Write a review
About
Looking for a fun and unique experience? You found it at Amaze Room Escapes! We provide an exhilarating and challenging experience guaranteed to provide plenty of fun, laughter, and brain power for all! Escape the Room - we have 3 unique themed rooms that cater to groups of all ages! Excitement lies ahead for team building, birthdays, friends and families! Are you up for the challenge?
Suggested duration
1-2 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.5
77 reviews
Excellent
65
Very good
7
Average
2
Poor
2
Terrible
1

Brian
Lillington, NC2 contributions
Mar 2021
My family and I visited this escape room for my husband's birthday. First of all, I love that the room was private. Second, the clues were challenging and a lot of fun to work with. And third, the owner of Amaze Escapes was such a delight. There are 2 other rooms at this venue so we will definitely be visiting in the near future. Thank you for a wonderful time, Ms. Owner :)
Written March 22, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Edipreta
73 contributions
Mar 2017 • Friends
Had a great time at this escape room. We've done about 11 of these so far. This one had a very interesting twist. We came to Raleigh to visit our son and his girlfriend, who just moved here. This is a great adult activity. Lots of problem-solving in a an awesome setting. Highly recommended.
Written March 19, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

travelbug201664
Raleigh, NC6 contributions
Oct 2016 • Friends
Can't give any tips, but we found this challenging, fun and interesting. It had a nice mix of cerebral and physical challenges. The theme was carried out throughout and the staff was helpful both in the booking process and while we were locked in. Had a great time!
Written November 3, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

stacey8171
Raleigh, NC7 contributions
Jul 2017 • Family
I would not recommend this unless you have the entire room to yourself. I took a group of five 15 year olds to do the Mysterious Room (per the recommendation of one of the staff members). Perhaps if we would have booked Prison Break and had the room to ourselves our experience would have been better. At the last minute two additional people joined our group. They absolutely ruined our visit. Apparently the word teamwork is not in their vocabulary. It clearly states on the Amaze Room Escapes web page that participants need to cooperate together - this was not the case. At one point one of my kids asked to see a puzzle and the male participant flat out told him "no". Had I heard this exchange I would have intervened. The two add ons would not allow anyone else to help with the puzzles. They snatched things, stood in front of things and would not allow anyone else to help. At another time they used the walkie talkie to call for a clue and hadn't even told the rest of us they were doing it. The walkie talkie was very quiet so if you weren't listening closely you would miss the clue. I am so disappointed - my kids were so disappointed and they had been looking forward to this all week. Perhaps this would have been a good time had these two controlling very rude individuals not been with my group. The male continually swore in front of my kids. I felt like I was completely ripped off. I wish our experience had been better - I can not stress enough that it is absolutely not worth the money if you are matched up with strangers. Complete waste of time and money and so very disappointing for my group.
Written July 17, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hey Stacey, As we communicated through the email earlier, we are so sorry that you did not have a positive experience at our location. As shown on our website, we can not guarantee you a private room if you didn't purchase the whole tickets in the room. Every time two or more groups are in one slot, our Game Masters will try their best to encourage team work and communication between everyone. We appreciate all our customers and greatly value your feedback. We are small business and we are continually trying to improve. Thank you for taking the time to write this review and we would love to try our best to compensate your negative experience. If you wish to contact us with further questions/remarks, please feel free to call us at 984-200-3402.
Written January 3, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

wz19dn41
Raleigh, NC3 contributions
May 2016 • Family
A lot of fun during the challenge. The tricks are very interesting. Also some electronic devices are fancy to make it more interesting. Great place to have fun of teamwork with friends or family.
Written June 5, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

420Lyn1
Raleigh, NC61 contributions
May 2019 • Couples
My family booked the Mysterious Room, a jewel heist theme, for my (adult) son’s birthday. We are real game players and love treasure hunts etc. We have done some escape rooms before and thought it might be too easy. It was not, the clues are clever and although we did it, we used some of our “help clues” via the walkie talkie. The room was authentically decorated with some unexpected surprises. Also, it was a really hot day outside and I worried that it might be a bit stifling but the air conditioning was just right and the atmosphere very comfortable. Our host was really friendly and got into the spirit of things when giving us the introduction. We turned up 15 minutes early as requested and you really need to do that so that you get the introduction and you’re not feeling rushed at the beginning. We really enjoyed our visit and will definitely return to try one of the other rooms.
Thanks guys for a great time and a fun way to spend the afternoon!
PS. In my review I put that it was suitable for all ages but it’s not really suitable for toddlers or very young children.
Written May 30, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you for your comments and rating! It was a delight meeting you and your family and hosting your escape event!. Thank you for letting us be part of your son's special day! We hope to see you again!
Written May 31, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

marianavertoni
Raleigh, NC2 contributions
Aug 2018 • Couples
Wonderful experience! Loved the 3 rooms! They go out of their way to make sure you enjoy your time and have lots of fun! Definitely recommend this place to everyone.
Written August 26, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you for your kind words and rating! We enjoyed seeing you again! Happy Monday!
Written August 27, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Maria E
16 contributions
Sep 2017 • Friends
This room ranks on the lower end of our escape room experiences. Part of that isn't the fault of the company because we had 3 strangers join our group of 4 and it made the experience much less fun, but there were other aspects in the company's control. First of all, the room just isn't very fun for more than 6 people. Unlike other rooms where there are lots of clues to work on, the Mysterious Room had several larger clues that you had to solve before you could get to the next clue, which meant all 7 of us were standing around trying to work on the same clue. Too many hands in the pot makes it difficult, but no one wants to do nothing after paying to be there! Second, there was one clue in particular that was quite challenging, so asked for a hint. Instead of guiding us with a clue, the employee helping us came in the room and solved the clue for us, saying no one ever gets it. It was disappointing to have that puzzle completed for us (and if no one gets it, maybe change it?). Third, one aspect of the room requires crouching down, almost crawling, and having good mobility, and we had one person on crutches who struggled because that aspect wasn't advertised. The part of the room immediately after that only had enough room for 4 people so the other 3 in our group felt left out and cheated of the experience.

In other words, it's decent if you only have 4 people in your group (which you can't guarantee unless you book all 8 spots) and you're all able-bodied, but otherwise, there are better escape rooms around Raleigh with more puzzles and more fun for your money!
Written December 31, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hello Maria, We are sorry that your experience here at Amaze Room Escapes was not what you hoped it to be. For the puzzle you spoke about, groups have been able to solve it with no clue. By saying ‘No one gets it’ we want to make sure the customer does not feel bad/embarrassed if they didn’t solve it by themselves. Our puzzles follow a logical progression which helps prevent some confusion or red herrings. While some clues can be given easily over a walkie talkie, sometimes employees enter the room in order to give hands-on help that allows customers to solve the puzzles themselves, rather than just giving the final answer. For the obstacle, we only require 4 people to do it, that way if someone in the group is unable to participate he/she will be able to help in other ways such as help guide the team mates through the obstacle and watch their surroundings. There has been many times we have had large groups in the room all of which have enjoyed their experience. Many of the puzzles in the room require team work and not just for one person to focus on, making it a good escape room for large groups of people. We have updated our Terms and Conditions to include the possibility of physical activity thanks to your feedback! We are a small business which has been open for 18 months and are continuing to update/make changes according to our customer’s wishes. Thank you very much for your feedback, if you wish to contact us with further questions/remarks feel free to call us at 984-200-3402.
Written January 3, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Acasey87
Smithfield, NC273 contributions
May 2017 • Friends
So this was out first time at doing an escape room and I must say the initial thought of the game is pretty fun! We were able to do the Prison Break Escape Room, and it was okay. The clues had no rhythm or rhyme to it. In most of the escape game rooms have some sort of clues that will lead you to another clue - this wasn't the case here.

We were able to phone a friend during the escape, and honestly, we had to use it a few times because the clues made no sense.

This facility is surrounded by churches and it was a little out of place seeing that it felt like I was walking into a "church style/kids church" classroom.

All-in-all, it was a great game and the idea is fun, but almost kind of cheesy (compared to the NY ones they showed on GMA). Would I do it again? Sure, why not.
Written May 21, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Damien C
Beaufort, NC81 contributions
Jun 2016 • Solo
I booked into the Prison Break room a couple of months ago (yes I have been slacking on my reviews from doing so many rooms). I don't want to give away too much, but the room seemed very cheaply done. It is supposed to be a prison set in the days of WWII but the design of the room was severely lacking and in many places downright cheesy. The puzzles were more frustrating than hard and when asking for a hint someone had to come in the room to help, and even then the hints were more frustrating than helpful. I gave it two stars because the staff was very nice and one of the gadgets in the room to solve a clue was VERY cool. Other than that, I can't recommend. I have heard the other room is much better, maybe in time I will check it out.
Written April 21, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hello Damien, We apologize that you did not have a great experience. To address your concerns: 1. The escape rate of our Prison Break room is 35% and groups have been able to successfully escape the rooms using no hints. 2. Our puzzles follow a logical progression which helps prevent some confusion or red herrings. While some clues can be given easily over a walkie talkie, sometimes employees enter the room in order to give hands-on help that allows customers to solve the puzzles themselves, rather than just giving the final answer. We appreciate all our customers and greatly value your feedback. Our business is only 18 months old and we are continually trying to improve. Thank you for taking the time to write this review. If you would like to give us a call, we’d be happy to discuss these concerns further with you.
Written January 3, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 77
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Amaze Room Escapes (Raleigh) - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go

Frequently Asked Questions about Amaze Room Escapes

Amaze Room Escapes is open:
  • Thu - Sat 3:00 PM - 8:30 PM