We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Morehead City Ferry Service

Morehead City, NC, USA
More
About Morehead City Ferry Service
Morehead City Ferry Service offers the Largest Ferry to Sand Dollar Island. Our Sand Dollar Island trip schedule vary with low tide times. The new Miss Morehead City is a 49-passenger Catamaran. We also offer Sea Life Encounter Cruises and Sunset Evening Cruises. Reservations are required. BOOK ONLINE! Free parking!
Open Now
Hours Today: 7:30 AM - 7:00 PM
See all hours
Travelers talk about
184Reviews4Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 169
  • 11
  • 3
  • 0
  • 2
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
gvowell wrote a review Today
Montgomery, Alabama1 contribution
We truly enjoyed our stay at the Bask. We definitely want to recognize Shelia who always greeted us with a smile and went out of her way to make our stay enjoyable!
Read more
Date of experience: October 2020
Helpful
Share
JBRDU wrote a review Oct 4
Wilmington, North Carolina2 contributions
We had a great time on the boat and the information shared about the surroundings. I agree with another review posted that there was no social distancing. The boat ride itself for my family made it worth the trip. However, the website is quite misleading about actually finding sand dollars. I think the biggest problem is the timing of the trip did not put us on the "island" at an optimal tide time. My kids felt the area should be called sand dollar sand bar. There was very little island visible when we got dropped off. This made it quite difficult to see anything in the water for the water was deep.. By the time we left almost 3 hours later, the tide had gone out a lot and the island was bigger and the water shallower. This would have been a much better time to have arrived. I had 3 people in my party and we only found 1 sand dollar. The boat was full and I would say well over 1/2 the passengers did not find a sand dollar. I can't say we wouldn't go ahead but feel the website definitely needs to be changed. If the weather is great, you could spend the time swimming in the area. I also think they need to give each passenger that did not find at least one sand dollar a consolation sand dollar. As long as people understand what the experience will truly be like... I would recommend it.
Read more
Date of experience: October 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from E4132SZgeorgea, Owner at Morehead City Ferry Service
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your feedback. We schedule our trips around low tide. Once the tide stats coming in, we make sure that we have everyone off the island as it fills up quick. We carry thousands of people a year to the island, and there are times when conditions, whether it be tide or wind, affect affect the sand dollar pickings. However, these days are few and far between. Thank you again for your feedback, and we hope to see you again.
Read more
Amy R wrote a review Sep 2020
Houston, Texas293 contributions300 helpful votes
We do the Sand Dollar Island trip yearly. We usually come at the beginning of the season but due to 2020 we were unable to. We did not find as many sand dollars this year as they are more prevalent in the beginning and ending of the season, October area. Never the less is was still a great time and plenty of space to lay out and just enjoy and get away from everything going on this year. Captain Dave and his deck hand did an amazing job, even giving out prizes to all the children and who ever had the biggest sand dollar. The reason I could not give 5 stars is due to social distancing on the boat. It was booked which was right around 42 people not counting the captain and deck hand. Everyone was wearing face coverings but you were leg to leg with others.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from E4132SZgeorgea, Owner at Morehead City Ferry Service
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you very much for your feedback, Amy! We require 100% compliance with face coverings. We are considered public transportation, which cannot practice social distancing on our vessel. We disinfect the vessels daily and our ferries in Beaufort, Morehead City and Harkers Island are the only ones requiring masks. We take this very seriously and want you to have a very good time.
Read more
Caytoncristy wrote a review Jun 2020
New Bern, North Carolina439 contributions78 helpful votes
+1
Spent the best afternoon as a family that we have had in months. Staff was amazing, especially George who made us feel completely at home. Views were amazing. Live sand dollars we’re plentiful to see and put back. Found a few white ones we could keep. Five year old son loved running all over the island, swimming in tide pools, and building sandcastles...Mom enjoyed an afternoon of feeling away, very away! Peace can be found on Sand Dollar island...give it a try!
Read more
Date of experience: June 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from George A, Owner at Morehead City Ferry Service
Responded Jun 12, 2020
We are so glad you had a nice, relaxing trip to Sand Dollar Island! We hope to see you again soon!
Read more
Sarah H wrote a review Jun 2020
2 contributions1 helpful vote
The trip itself was great. I enjoyed finding sand dollars. However the deckhand was very rude. Frank or Fred, I think his name was. The whole boat had loaded early but we were waiting on one other group. They showed up maybe right on time and the deckhand was rude to them and embarrassed them for making the whole boat wait. I felt awful for that group, they had trouble finding a parking spot and got to the boat only to be met with an unfriendly face. Not only to add to his rudeness he was carrying a gun. I support the 2nd amendment but someone that seems that hotheaded makes me nervous when carrying.
Read more
Date of experience: July 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from George A, Owner at Morehead City Ferry Service
Responded Jun 8, 2020
We appreciate your feedback, Sarah. As noted, this was a year ago and this matter was taken care of immediately.
Read more
Previous