Grandfather Mountain
Grandfather Mountain
4.5
About
Grandfather Mountain’s pristine scenery and sweeping vistas rejuvenate mind and spirit. At an elevation of 5,946 feet, Grandfather is recognized as one of the world’s most diverse nature preserves. Be exhilarated by the altitude and panoramic views from the Mile High Swinging Bridge; stand eye-to-eye with bears, cougars and otters in natural habitats. Dine in the restaurant or find a scenic picnic spot, browse the nature museum, wander the trails, go behind the scenes of the animal habitats, visit with knowledgeable naturalists, and stop for a treat at the fudge shop. Fill your day with family memories at place where wonders never cease.
Meets animal welfare guidelines
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours & experiences
Explore different ways to experience this place.
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

Top ways to experience Grandfather Mountain and nearby attractions

See what travelers are saying
  • Robert B
    Massanutten, Virginia283 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Great Mountain Views
    This sited is kind of expensive to visit but worth it. The cost was $22 per person for senior citizens. There is a long, steep drive up to the top of the mountain with several places to stop for the views as well as a museum/visitor center half way up the mountain. Once you get to the top, you can take an elevator or climb more stairs to get to the swinging bridge. The panoramic vista from up there is amazing. It's worth the walk over the bridge to the rock outcroppings on the other side. This site might be a problem spot for those who have a fear of heights!
    Visited May 2023
    Written June 6, 2023
  • Sherry W
    187 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Definitely go
    I had read mixed reviews on GF mountain so I was a little leery but was so happy we went. They have 2 nice gift shops, plenty of restrooms. We didn’t get to see many of the animals in the little zoo but did get to walk around. I thought the price of entry was reasonable for what was offered and the views were just wonderful. I would have stayed longer if we didn’t have 3 kids with us. We did walk across the mile high bridge. We had one granddaughter who has anxiety issues and was quite hesitant but once she went across she was glad she did. It should be nicknamed the singing bridge instead of the singing bridge, it was very sturdy. It wasn’t crowded at all. We did not go out on the higher rocks because I am pure chicken and a klutz but were very happy with the views we saw. Even yhe views from the parking lot were great.
    Visited June 2023
    Traveled with family
    Written July 1, 2023
  • BobMuddy
    Pekin, Illinois193 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Great Destination for Families
    Grandfather Mountain was a destination we planned to visit on our way from the Illinois to Florida. This is a little more remote as you have many miles driving on winding roads, but it's very scenic. There are sevaral aspects to enjoy at this location. There is an animal sanctuary (we did not have time to visit), the Mile High Bridge, and the Trails. The Mile-High bridge is something neat to do when you first arrive at the visitor center. If you decide to go hiking, be cautious and come prepared for a strenous hike. Wheather you go the route with the ladders and ropes, or the course we did with the ladders bypass route. The bypass route's trail involves mulitple locations where you are scurrying over large rocks and boulders, as well as uneven surfaces. These rocks/boulders are part of the trail marked with Blue and Yellow paint. Despite the hiking obstacles, we had a lot of fun and would look to go back in the future and take the Ladders/ropes route. Keep in mind the hike does take several hours to go a mile, so start early.
    Visited June 2023
    Traveled with family
    Written July 10, 2023
  • Patricia Miller
    59 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Behind-the-Scenes Habitat Tour
    What a fantastic educational experience! We were able to go 'behind the scenes' to learn more about the living environment and activities of the otters, bears, cats, and elk. Stephanie Sellers was an outstanding guide! Kuddos to Grandfather Mountain for offering this type of activities. It is a 'MUST DO'!
    Visited August 2023
    Traveled with family
    Written August 3, 2023
  • John B
    Norristown, Pennsylvania275 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    An awesome place
    Grandfather Mountain was worth every penny to visit. I can see why others were frustrated with the crowds. I recommend going early. I got there right at opening and had the swinging bridge to myself and was the first person on it. You have to have a reserved time to enter and 8:00 is a good time to go. Grandfather offers an animal habitat, places to picnic and a variety of trails with Grandfather trails being the toughest by far. You have to climb ladders and ropes to get there. Great views and workout but not for those who are afraid of heights or not experienced hikers. However, there are easier trails there. Before you start your hike, you have to register. At the entrance of the trails there are boxes for you to fill out. Put the white paper in the box and the yellow paper is your copy. I had enjoyed my time there and looking forward to going back one day.
    Visited August 2023
    Traveled solo
    Written August 19, 2023
  • Leonard F
    Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio138 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Awesome Views
    When I decided to go I wondered if this might be a tacky tourist trap. It certainly was anything but that - it was a very clean and well maintained park with many good displays and programs. Everyone was friendly and informative and we enjoyed 4+ hours of taking in the views, hiking, and viewing displays. The mile high swinging bridge was just awesome. Definitely worth the price of admission
    Visited September 2023
    Traveled as a couple
    Written September 20, 2023
  • Sun_fun98
    Kingsport, Tennessee179 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Overall nice park
    Overpriced but a really beautiful place. I paid around $50 for admission for 2 people. We spent about 2 hours there. The parking area near the bridge was tight but we managed. The park was extremely crowded and there were several buses there with school children. Overall I enjoyed the park but the admission fee was excessive.
    Visited September 2023
    Traveled as a couple
    Written September 30, 2023
  • Carrie0693
    Madison, Alabama1,839 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Forrest Gump Ran Here
    Pricey to enter but it's beautiful and a challenging drive so be prepared for the twists and turns. It was cool to see Forrest Gumps location where he ran. The views at the bridge were real pretty. The parking lot traffickers work real well at the top of the mountain. You just have to wait til others leave to park but it was moving faster than I'd think it would after being there. The store had tons of stuff and nice restrooms that were flushing toilets. If we had more time we would have explored more. Make sure your gas tank is full. Fog started rolling in and was a little scary.
    Visited September 2023
    Traveled with family
    Written October 11, 2023
  • Anne and BobJ
    Atlanta, Georgia534 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    Awesome views, traffic sucks
    Great day at Grandfather Mountain. The swinging bridge and the mountain itself are beautiful. The views cannot be beat. We went with the whole family, including grandkids, and had a great time. Mother Nature does not do much better than this. My only complaint is the traffic. We bought tickets on line before our visit. We assumed this would be a controlled access gate to limit the number of people at a time. This did not happen. We arrived at our scheduled time and then spent an hour in the car snaking our way up the mountain to get to the parking lot. The lots were all jammed with people. The whole place was way to crowded. Views are great, but I would plan to get there early next time to beat the crowds and enjoy a more peaceful experience.
    Visited November 2023
    Traveled with family
    Written November 15, 2023
  • RUMPLERS are Rumpled
    4 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Expansive view !
    The view and majesty of the Blueridge Mountains from the swinging bridge is a must. Drive to Black Rock parking area if you enjoy a moderately strenuous hike .4 miles to swinging bridge. Amazing boulders and view under bridge. Not a hiker then drive to the top swinging bridge parking area. You can walk the steps to bridge or take an ADA friendly elevator to the bridge. Nice facilities and staff. Reservation booked online and easy scan of code on my phone at gate. Spent 2.5 hours one afternoon at the park. Enjoyed very much. Went solo and felt very safe.
    Visited March 2024
    Traveled solo
    Written March 17, 2024
These reviews are the subjective opinion of Tripadvisor members and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles2,233 reviews
Excellent
1,603
Very good
451
Average
104
Poor
43
Terrible
32

notlost2014
Loxahatchee, FL110 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2019
We saw online that we could buy tickets ahead and use a special gate. Called at 8:30 in the morning and were told they didn't anticipate being busy and only the main gate would be open. The "Main Gate" can only accomodate 2 cars at a time and took nearly 45 minutes to get in. Once in we headed to the restaurant which we knew would be theme park type food. Waited almost 20 minutes to order and were given a buzzer. We ordered a grilled cheese, grilled ham and cheese, and 2 chicken tenders. After waiting another 30 minutes we went and asked and found that they had lost our order. After another 15 minutes we were handed and ice cold grilled cheese. When they were asked to remake it, the cashier ran off crying. We were very nice, but had heard there had been other things going on that day. Probably not enough staff since they had not anticipated a crowd. The grilled cheese turned out to be toast that they laid cheese on and microwaved. The park website said open till 5, but everything starts closing at 4. All of the trails and animal areas. Feel like they wasted so much of our time. Yes, the views are great, but could have seen just as good views from almost anywhere on the parkway without paying $22 per person and just taken a picnic lunch.
Written January 10, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thanks for the review, although I'm sorry for the confusion that happened throughout the day. While online ticket sales do grant access to the priority lane, it only does so on busy days. Again, I'm sorry for the wait— it is always best to call ahead and see if we anticipate being extra busy that day. You might be interested to know that Grandfather Mountain is a private nature preserve and attraction, overseen and operated by the Grandfather Mountain Stewardship Foundation, a nonprofit organization dedicated to inspiring conservation of the natural world. As you could imagine, the costs associated with operating and maintaining such a sizable park can be substantial. As a nonprofit, all of our funding is derived from admission, souvenir sales, food and beverage sales and donations, and all of that goes directly into the mountain to ensure that it's preserved and protected for generations to come. I'm sorry the trip did not go as you expected, but we do hope to see you and yours back on the mountain again real soon! Sincerely, Natalie Brunner Marketing & Communications Associate Grandfather Mountain Stewardship Foundation
Written February 28, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

ShamrockSoldier
Brevard, NC69 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2021
If you are scared of Covid, don’t go. If you want to insult people for wearing masks, don’t go. It is a bit pricey, however, it is a day trip and they provide a CD with a tour to guide you through the mountain. There are a lot of interesting and geographical things to explore during your time there. There are places to have picnics and grill and you can check out Forrest Gump curve while you are there. They are currently working on improving areas around the mountain so people need to have patience. The restaurant is a decent place and the gift shop is what you’d expect. Take the time and explore the area. Not the best with children as with the top it can get tricky.
Written April 23, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for your review! We are glad that you enjoyed your time on the mountain! Our staff is always wearing masks and take whatever steps necessary to ensure the safety of our guests. We do limit our total number of guests in the park due to the COVID-19 restrictions. We now take online reservations in order to only have a certain amount of people in the park at one time. On weekends and special weeks like Spring Break, we always encourage reservations so that you are ensured a spot for the day— this also helps with crowd control. We also do require masks for guests as well and keep social distancing signs scattered throughout the park to ensure safety. As for our prices, you may be interested to know that we're a nonprofit organization, with a mission of inspiring conservation of the natural world. As such, all of our funding is derived from admission, souvenir sales, food and beverage sales, and donations, and every single dollar goes right back into maintaining and preserving the mountain for future generations. We do, however, offer numerous discounts, such as AAA, military, senior citizen, etc., which can apply to every member of one's party. We hope that you visit again soon! Sincerely, Natalie Brunner Marketing & Communications Associate Grandfather Mountain Stewardship Foundation
Written June 3, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

melwashere81
Cleveland, TX1,215 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2021 • Couples
Tickets must be purchased online in advance for a specific day and time you will arrive. We decided to arrive when they first open at 8am. Glad we did. It was on a Tuesday and the park was already getting full by 10am. The drive to the top is a bit scary as there are no guardrails and its pretty steep but our little car made it just fine. About halfway up there is parking for the wildlife park and museum but we decided to go there on the way back down. Parking at the top is limited and can get full on a busy day. We arrived early so that wasn't a problem for us. To get to the mile high swinging bridge you can take the stairs or use the elevator. The bridge itself is really narrow. It barely fits two people side by side and there is a limit of 40 people on the bridge at one time. BUT.....the views are completely worth the drive and the scary walk across the bridge. It was a beautiful day when we went and the scenery was absolutely breathtaking. I would definitely recommend everyone experience this at least once in their lifetime. There is also a gift shop at the top so be sure to grab a souvenir of your trip up this beautiful mountain.

On the way back down the mountain we stopped to see the animals. The bear was a no show as were most of the other animals as well. Only the eagle was out and about that morning. There is a nice little fudge shop nearby that is wonderful. The museum was under construction so we weren't able to see it but we did hike down to split Rock and sphinx rock. Both were pretty cool but already getting crowded. Overall it was a great way to spend about 2-3 hours and we will definitely be back once the museum is finished.
Written July 20, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thanks so much for taking the time to share such positive feedback! We're glad to hear you enjoyed your visit and appreciate your pointers for future guests. Regarding the animals not showing up, you may be interested to know that they reside in environmental wildlife habitats, most of which are built around actual native environment, offering the animals acres to roam as they please — even if that means being out of sight for a bit of privacy. For your next visit, I'd suggest checking out an animal encounter, during which our habitats staff will deliver a brief presentation on a particular animal before giving them an enrichment, which can be a special treat, favorite food or unfamiliar scent — basically something interesting to break up their day and keep them active and intellectually stimulated. This also affords guests a prime opportunity to see the animals up close and personal. Again, thank you for the kind and thoughtful words. We look forward to having you and yours back on the mountain in the future. Sincerely, Frank Ruggiero Director of Marketing & Communications Grandfather Mountain Stewardship Foundation
Written August 20, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Barbara H
Wilmington, NC98 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2020
You can learn a lot in this well-kept State Park. The various ecosystems and rock formations are explained on a cd given when you pay the $22 per adult entry fee. Plan to spend time exploring and you will really get your money's worth, from a small animal zoo to some pretty challenging hiking trials, swinging bridge (not too too scary) and amazing vistas to enjoy and photograph. Highly recommended. You will feel the altitude if you are a flatlander like us!
Written September 23, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you so much for the great review! I am so glad you enjoyed your time spent on the mountain. However, we are not a state park. You might be interested to know that Grandfather Mountain is a private nature preserve and attraction, overseen and operated by the Grandfather Mountain Stewardship Foundation, a nonprofit organization dedicated to inspiring conservation of the natural world. Thanks again for the review, and we hope to see you back again real soon. Sincerely, Natalie Brunner Marketing & Communications Associate Grandfather Mountain Stewardship Foundation
Written January 13, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Angel G
Knoxville, TN496 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2020 • Couples
We found out about this place in a tv series called "Outlander", we were curious about it. Tickets can be purchased online for 20 dollars per person. They give a CD guide to listen to when you start driving. The views are amazing. You can drive to the bridge or you can hike. We decided to hike and it was a beautiful experience. There's also a museum, a little zoo,a restaurant and some shops. You can definitely make a whole day of it.
Written June 13, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thanks so much for the amazing review (and thanks to Outlander for bringing you here)! We are so glad that you enjoyed everything that the mountain has to offer. One thing about Grandfather Mountain is that the more you see of it, the more incredible it is. Did you know that we have 11 trails varying in difficulty from a gentle walk in the woods to a rigorous trek across rugged peaks? We hope to see you and yours back on the mountain again real soon. Sincerely, Natalie Brunner Marketing & Communications Associate Grandfather Mountain Stewardship Foundation
Written July 7, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Jenizreal
Burlington, NC2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2020 • Family
I went to Grandfather Mountain with my kids ages 8-19 in September of 2020 and we had a blast. I wish the attendant who gave us the CD would’ve explained to us to put it in our CD player right then because we missed out on that part of the experience. She just handed it me and I wasn’t sure what it was for until I had a chance to stop and read it. By that time, it was too late. That was my only complaint about this experience.

We stopped at a parking lot (not sure of the name) so we could hike up “a little trail” to the Mile High Bridge parking lot. It was more of a challenge than we anticipated, but fun nonetheless.

The views at the lookout on the other side of the Mile High Bridge were breathtaking. I was slightly terrified as I am scared of heights, but I still enjoyed myself. My kids were hopping around without fear and that frightened me even more. With that being said, we’re still going back this week for Spring Break.

The kids wanted to hike the Grandfather Trail, which is for more experienced hikers. We opted for a shorter trail and still got a taste of the hiking experience with ropes and some hand over hand climbing. They want to do the most challenging hike when we return this week, but I’m not sure if it’s a good idea because we are all out of shape due to Covid and laziness.

We’re probably going to give it a try. We will go visit the bridge early so that we have time to attempt the hike to the top. I recommend starting the hike as early as possible because from what I’ve seen on YouTube, it takes 4 hours minimum to complete it.

We loved our trip to Grandfather Mountain and highly recommend it to anyone who is thinking about going!
Written March 28, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you so much for the fantastic review! We are so glad that you and your family enjoyed your trip to Grandfather and are visiting again soon! Let us know how your hike on the Grandfather Trail goes! While it is a strenuous hike, the views are very rewarding! We hope to see you back real soon! Sincerely, Natalie Brunner Marketing & Communications Associate Grandfather Mountain Stewardship Foundation
Written June 3, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

TarHeel
Durham, NC1,125 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2020
This is one of those sites that every North Carolinian should visit at least once. We purchased our tickets online, with a AAA discount, for a specific entry time to help with social distancing. I was a little concerned I wouldn't be able to retrieve our barcodes on my phone (not knowing what cell phone coverage would be like) but I just told them our names at the entrance and they let us in. We enjoyed two hiking trails, the swinging bridge, the summit, and the drive up with the provided CD giving background info. Even though it was a cloudy day, it was a thrill to be on the mountain. Too bad the nature center was closed due to water issues, and some of the outdoor animal exhibits seem to be under repair (no otters!). We still enjoyed ourselves and would recommend this attraction to others.
Written August 19, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thanks so much for the great review! We are so glad that you were able to enjoy the mountain even on a cloudy day. We hope to see you and yours back on the mountain again real soon! And hopefully this time the otters will be out and ready to visit. Sincerely, Natalie Brunner Marketing & Communications Associate Grandfather Mountain Stewardship Foundation
Written January 13, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

DisneyDarwin
Spring, TX1,178 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2021 • Couples
We were on a long summer trip and did only a minor amount of research before visiting Grandfather Mountain. Therefore, we thought we were visiting a state park or other public park, not a private tourist attraction. The ladder can range from somewhat cheesy to downright terrible, but this was not the case at all. The mountain has a long proud heritage of private ownership, and they have done a good job to accentuate the views and nature at every opportunity. they give you an audio guide for the drive up the mountain which is informative, and let you know that there is a LOT there. We only spent a few hours, but this could easily be a full day destination. There is a nature center and also abundant hikes and sights on the way up, before you get to the main attraction. At the top, there is a good gift shop before you get to the Mile High Bridge and those incredible views. Alone, those are worth your time and money. Shortly after our walk around the top, they started herding people off the mountain because a storm was coming and lightning strikes are a big deal there. I was impressed that they had seasoned meteorologist at the top, and they were hyper sensitive to safety. lastly we toured they’re a little museum on the second floor, which had tons of info and great pictures on the history of the mountain over the decades. On our way down, we got to see a great lightning storm in a monsoon.
Written October 4, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you so much for such a kind, thoughtful and generous review! We sincerely appreciate your taking the time to share such positive feedback, but more so, we appreciate your visit. By visiting Grandfather, you've helped support our nonprofit mission of inspiring conservation of the natural world — and it sounds like you had a great time doing so! Thanks again. We look forward to having you and yours back on the mountain in the near future!
Written December 31, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

ARL2601
Arlington, VA228 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2021
It was painfully windy at the top the day we went, making actually walking out on the bridge impossible. I would have appreciated some kind of weather/wind condition advisory being posted somewhere before purchasing the $22/person tickets. Literally no one was able to spend any amount of time outside at the top. Smaller cars were being gently lifted in the gusts. The elevator was broken. And the nature musuem/center was closed for renovations - which to be fair was posted on the website - but we didn't realize constituted most of what there is to do.

So all we had left was drive the 2 miles of curves and listen to the USB stick guided tour, which was interesting, but not worth $22.

Go only in nice weather and check status of exhibits/habitats.
Written November 28, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi, there. Thanks so much for taking the time to share your thoughts and feedback. I'm so sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your visit to Grandfather Mountain. Regarding weather, we'll close the bridge and top area when gusts reach a certain level, and it sounds like the day you visited must have been close. As such, I'm sorry you weren't able to enjoy the full experience. Just so you know, during those of inclement weather, when the bridge and top are closed, we do post a notice on the front page of our website and ticketing page. We also apologize for any inconvenience you experienced due to our museum renovations. We do offer other activities, however, including environmental wildlife habitats, which are home to rescued black bears, cougars, elk, river otters and bald eagles; access to 12+ miles of hiking for practically any skill level; a Junior Ranger program for the kids; 100+ picnic areas; a restaurant; gift shops and more, all included with admission. During the busier times of year, we also offer daily nature programs, an eco-friendly fudge shop and special events, also all included with admission. Regarding the nature museum, the aforementioned renovations will nearly double its size with all new, interactive state-of-the art exhibits, educational classrooms, a new auditorium, outdoor pavilion and more, meaning there will be plenty of alternatives for outdoor fun, should the weather not cooperate. Again, thanks for taking the time to write and share your thoughtful feedback, and again, apologies for any inconvenience. We look forward to having you and yours back on the mountain in the future.
Written December 27, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Mike B
Greenville, SC600 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2020
Wife and I checked this out September 1, 2020. Our last visit here was 1986(!). Due to Covid-19, you must order tickets in advance, online. That's easy enough. We ordered ours a few weeks in advance. The day of our reservations, it was raining, so I emailed them in the morning, wanting to change my reservations to the next day. In just a few minutes, they called my cell phone and sent me new tickets for the following day. That's good service. The visit itself was very nice too. At the gate they give you a CD which narrates the stuff you see on the way up - a picnic area, a boulder, stuff like that. Pretty well done. We did the animal habitat, some of the museum, and the bridge. We didn't do any of the trails (we're old). The weather was cloudy, so one minute you have a wonderful view, then you're surrounded by a cloud, then it moves off. That was kind of fun. If you did the trails, or brought a picnic, it's easily an all-day affair.
Written September 1, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you so much for the great review! We are so glad you were able to enjoy everything that the mountain has to offer, even after such a long time! We are very thankful that you continue to visit. I will pass your compliments along to our staff. We hope to see you back on the mountain again real soon— and don't wait 34 years! Sincerely, Natalie Brunner Marketing & Communications Associate Grandfather Mountain Stewardship Foundation
Written January 13, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 2,194
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

Grandfather Mountain - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024)

Frequently Asked Questions about Grandfather Mountain




All things to do in Linville
RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars