Ocean Atlantic Rentals
Ocean Atlantic Rentals
4.5
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Monday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Sunday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
About
Ocean Atlantic Rentals is the Outer Banks Rental Center! We rent bikes, kayaks, paddle boards, surfboards, baby items, beach umbrellas & chairs, linen, and over 85 other items. In 2017, we began offering Street Legal Golf Cart LSV rentals, as well as a full sales and service division. Our Event division rents party tents and wedding equipment. Delivery service is year-round, with delivery and pickup to your door. Our Kill Devil Hills store is open year-round, everyday of summer, and 5 days a week in the spring and fall. We also offer beach umbrella service, where we setup & take-down your beach equipment every day of your oceanfront vacation! For family fun at reasonable rates, please let us serve you this OBX vacation!
Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina

Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Travelers talk about
(5 reviews)
(4 reviews)
(3 reviews)
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.5
127 reviews
Excellent
105
Very good
7
Average
5
Poor
3
Terrible
7

Marti G
19 contributions
Aug 2020
This past week we rented the umbrella service with two chairs. Every morning a young man named Diago left a text well before 8 a.m. that the chairs and umbrella were set up and ready to go to enjoy the sunrise. One evening when I was still sitting in the chair, Diago returned to my cottage to verify that the person sitting there was from that cottage. When told yes, he stated that he would let me continue to sit there while he finished his rounds and would return then. How thoughtful and considerate!
Another time I rented sheets and towels for a houseful of company. They were delivered promptly as requested; they were all spotlessly clean and in great shape - no holes or loose threads hanging about.
My earlier reservation during the COVID crisis was cheerfully moved to a later date. This somewhat cranky reviewer has nothing but praise for Ocean Atlantic Rentals!
Written September 6, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hello Marti G and THANK YOU for your 5 star review. I'm glad to read Diego took great care to serve you with the umbrella service during your time on the Outer Banks. It's because of amazing team members and great customers that we are able to celebrate 40+ years of business. Thanks for noticing the emphasis we place on our team members and advance reservations staff to give exceptional customer service. It's the details like setting up before 8am and allowing you to enjoy some evening beach time that make all the difference. Our goal is to be prompt, professional and easy to work with so you can enjoy your vacation so much more. I'm very pleased you were happy with our linen rentals as well. We appreciate the opportunity and look forward to serving you again next time you visit the Outer Banks! Sincerely, Chris Marik General Manager
Written September 9, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Ladean R
Mc Mechen, WV2 contributions
Jun 2021 • Family
OAR was great at always being there in the morning to set up our 6 umbrellas and 12 chairs and taking them down in the evening. We were always made aware when the set up was done that morning with a text and helped us out when other beach goers where sitting in our chairs. Thank you for helping to make our vacation effortless.
Written June 12, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hello ladeanr2017 and THANK YOU for your 5 star review. I'm glad to read we were able to play a part in making your OBX vacation effortless. Thanks for noticing the emphasis we place on making sure our team provides excellent customer service (being prompt with setup and our notification text alerts). We want to make sure we communicate clearly with our customers and always leave a great impression. We appreciate the opportunity and look forward to serving you again next time you visit the Outer Banks! Sincerely, Chris Marik General Manager
Written June 21, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

LoveToTravel
Mesa, AZ3 contributions
Jul 2020
I can't say enough about the great customer service we received. We rented chairs, umbrella, boogie boards, beach cruisers, and utility cart, and everything was delivered and picked up right on time. Walking to the beach the first day, we realized one of the tires (cart) was going flat. I called from the beach, hoping someone would come to the beach house that evening to pump the tire up, but Ross came to the beach within 30 minutes and pumped it up. During the week, there were two minor glitches with the boards, and they were promptly switched out for new ones. By the way, if you're hauling equipment to the beach, the utility cart is worth it's weight in gold--very easy to move through sand.
Written July 22, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hello LS4plus13 and THANK YOU for your 5 star review. I'm so glad to read our gear was able to be used by your family for some good, clean fun under the sun. Thanks for allowing us to serve you with our beach chairs and umbrellas, bikes, utility cart and body boards during your recent visit. We're sorry to hear about the slight hiccups with the gear, but glad you contacted us promptly so we (Ross & the crew) could make it right. We place an emphasis on our team to give excellent customer service. From our family to yours, having helpful & friendly service is what we've been doing for over 40 years on the OBX. We appreciate the opportunity and look forward to serving you again next time you visit the Outer Banks. PS--I completely agree with you on the utility cart--really eliminates a lot of hassle lugging gear back and forth from the beach to your rental home. Sincerely, Chris Marik General Manager
Written July 24, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Angela W
Pine Grove, PA1 contribution
Jun 2020
We rented three bikes and a gas grill, on Sunday they delivered two bikes and a gas grill that didn't work. I didn't know the grill didn't until a few days later when we tried to use it. I did call on Sunday to let them know they didn't deliver one of the bikes so someone dropped it off two hours later which was no big deal.

A few days later we went to use the grill and it lit, got to 200 degrees and wouldn't get any hotter. I shut it off and it wouldn't light again. I am in the middle of cooking steaks and now the grill won't light. I sent someone to get another tank which cost me $66.00 after giving them a call and being told they couldn't help me. I hook up the new tank and it still wouldn't light because it turns out the regulator was bad..This whole ordeal spanned two hours so till it was done the steaks got thrown away.

Needless to say I'm not happy about any of this so I call and leave a message and tell them to deliver a new grill and I want to be refunded for the new tank I bought trying to finish cooking our supper. Someone called the next day and said they would have a new grill delivered and they would credit me back the money for the tank. The new grill is delivered with a tank that was stuck shut which at this point doesn't surprise me a bit so I just use the tank I bought and everything was fine. I get home to find out they refunded me $15 not the $66 they promised. The grill cost me $60 to rent, $66 for a new tank and $46 for the steaks I threw away. $172 spent and they refund me $15. I don't like to give bad reviews but in this case they deserve it. We visit OBX often and spend a lot of money there but Ocean Atlantic Rentals will never get one more dime from me!
Written June 16, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hello angelawP3171KD. We are sorry your experience with our crew was not to your liking. We appreciate you letting us know while you were in town that you were having difficulties with your rental grill. We did make an attempt to troubleshoot with you over the phone that day when you called the store. Upon receiving your message that evening we contacted store management immediately and they spoke to you the next morning. The agreement was that you would be refunded for the day you were not able to use the grill ($15)-our manager said you were agreeable to this. It was not agreed to that we would be purchasing the tank you bought from the hardware store. The new rental grill was a top priority for the morning. The crew tested it both before it was delivered and when it was dropped off at 10am. We did not see you when we swapped out the rental grills otherwise we would have apologized to you in person during the swap. We specifically made sure not to handle your tank but only our rental tanks and the grills. When we returned with the original grill we were able to get it to 450 degrees in 12 minutes. Also in regards to the bikes, it is company procedure that fat tire bikes are delivered separately from regular bikes because it is a specialty item. All bikes were delivered on the correct delivery day (just not in the same truck). We apologize for the inconvenience. Sincerely, Chris Marik General Manager
Written June 19, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Jatt2
Flemington, NJ1 contribution
Aug 2021
Bikes were in good shape. Umbrellas were rusty. metal support brackets were bent and the support brackets were tearing through the umbrella. A small wind caused one umbrella to turn inside out numerous times. Delivery was on time and when informed that they didn't provide the orders locks, for the bikes, they responded within 2 hours.
Written August 16, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hello jatt2- we respect your honest and candid 3 star review from your recent trip to the OBX. I'm glad to read our bikes were in good shape for fun memories under the sun. I'm sorry our umbrella was not in tip-top shape. We work hard to ensure the quality of our gear, but sometimes an 'alumni umbrella' slips under our radar. Being exposed to the salty elements causes rust quickly. In the future, please call us as soon as you notice any issues like this and we will always quickly come replace the gear. We could have brought it with the bike locks. Thanks for noticing the emphasis we place on making sure we provide great service with prompt delivery and pickup of our gear. We hope in the future you will give us another opportunity to serve you and earn those last two stars the next time you visit the Outer Banks. Sincerely, Chris Marik General Manager
Written August 22, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

ctruban@ntelos.net
1 contribution
Jun 2020
We rented umbrellas and chairs and used the concierge service. The person(Diego) who set up our chairs was the best. He was prompt every day and always let us know when he was finished setting up or taking down. When we had a problem with one of the umbrellas he solved the problem. Would certainly use this service again. We had previously used Ocean Atlantic Rentals for cribs, high chairs, etc. and have always been pleased with their service.
Written June 15, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hello sweetcaroline23 and THANK YOU for your 5 star review. I'm so glad to read our setup service was able to be used by you for some fun under the sun/shade during your vacation. We are very thankful for Diego. He is a fantastic part of our team and we will certainly share your thoughts with him. From our family to yours, providing helpful & friendly service with our quality, clean and safe gear is what we've been doing for over 40 years on the OBX. Thanks for noticing the emphasis we place on our team over the years to give excellent customer service. We appreciate the opportunity and look forward to serving you again next time you visit the Outer Banks! Sincerely, Chris Marik General Manager
Written June 18, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

kmbelz80
Baltimore, MD5 contributions
Sep 2021 • Couples
This is the fourth year we have used Ocean Atlantic (Kill Devil Hills location) for our bike rental during our vacation. Everything always run smoothly, the employees make sure our bikes are in good working order and are helpful with any questions we have. Colby and Noah were both helpful during this year’s rental. We look forward to continuing to do business with Ocean Atlantic Rentals.
Written September 18, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hello kmbelz80 and THANK YOU for your 5 star review. I'm glad to read our rental bikes were able to be used to cruise around town during your recent OBX vacation. It's great you were so pleased the rental experience ran smoothly and in the quality of our rental bikes. We will make sure to share your positive feedback with Colby and Noah. We pride ourselves on providing friendly & helpful customer service. Thank you for being a loyal customer so we could provide you with 4 years of exceptional service. We appreciate the opportunity and look forward to serving you again the next time you visit the Outer Banks! Sincerely, Chris Marik General Manager
Written September 20, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Mohan
2 contributions
Aug 2023 • Family
Ocean Atlantic Rentals did a great job with the beach set! It was our first trip to OBX and we preferred to rent equipment for our stay. We rented 4 lounge chairs, 2 umbrella's, 2 body body boards for the kids and a cooler and was totally worth it. Made the beach experience 5 star!

The only downside is that you have to rent for a week and it is a bit pricey. Also if there is bad weather and they cannot set up, it's part of the waiver that you will not be refunded. Unfortunately the week we went our trip was cut short due to Hurricane Idalia so we couldn't enjoy the service for the whole week but had to still lay for the whole week.

It would be nice to have the option of daily rentals to prevent having to pay for bad weather days or for days we don't go to the beach and decide to do something else.

Nevertheless they days we used it we had a blast!
Written September 2, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hello mohanthedoc and THANK YOU for your 4 star review. We strive to make your OBX beach time easy with our umbrella setup service-we're glad we could play a part in making your beach experience 5 stars! All of our setup teams are top notch in being prompt, friendly, helpful and clearly communicating with you each day. We're sorry Hurricane Idalia put a damper on the full week, but due to manpower and logistics we have to enact stricter standards with booking minimums and cancellation policies on our beach setup service. We appreciate the strong recommendation and opportunity to serve you. We hope to serve you again the next time you visit the OBX to earn that last star! Fingers crossed for excellent weather the next time you return. Sincerely, Chris Marik General Manager
Written September 27, 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Cyndi S
1 contribution
Sep 2021
Such a great company to deal with! I booked everything online 2 months before our vacation. Had a few questions and was actually able to talk to a person when I called. Our chairs and umbrella were set up every morning by 8:30 - matter of fact we watched him set up each day as we drank our coffee on the deck! He always promptly texted me to let me know we were good to go for the day! They took the chairs & umbrella down each night also! Well worth the price! Nice group of guys! Definitely recommend using them!
Written October 24, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hello cynshrl and THANK YOU for your 5 star review. I'm glad to read you were able to use our umbrella setup service so you could fully relax and enjoy your OBX vacation. It's great you were so pleased with our service not only when booking online, but following up via phone to our reservations team and watching us do what we do best of providing our premier setup service. We take great care and effort to ensure solid communication with and service for our customers. We want you to receive the ultimate in value for your investment in our family owned company. Thanks for the recommendation, we appreciate the opportunity and look forward to serving you again next time you visit the Outer Banks! Sincerely, Chris Marik General Manager
Written December 6, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Brian F
12 contributions
Jun 2023 • Family
Our gas grill rental was a pretty good experience. It was delivered on time to the right house (which is not always so easy given the strange house numbers, etc.). It looked to be brand new, had a full tank, started on the first try, and even came with a lighter stick ( which we didn't need with the push button start), and a grill cleaner brush. They picked it up at the appointed time, and I got text advisories when it was delivered and picked up. The only down side was that neither the heat deflector on the bottom, nor the grease trap under it, were screwed on. Therefore, after a few days of cooking, I knocked both off, dumping grease on the driveway. But not the end of the world, and I have had good experience with this company before, so I would certainly rent from them again.
Written July 1, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hello H9557GLbrianf and THANK YOU for your 4 star review. First of all, we are very thankful to hear you have rented from us before. You know we put a priority on providing a great rental experience from booking to delivery to pickup. That being said, I'm sorry the two pieces under the rental grill were not secured which led to a spill. We take a lot of time between rentals to clean our rental grills thoroughly and can only assume that was the result of that in-depth cleaning process. We try our best to inspect gear before it goes out and I'm sorry these pieces weren't tight. I am glad to read you noticed our prompt and accurate delivery/pickup, the quality of the rental (new grill, full tank, starting on first try, stick lighter and grill brush) and easy communication process of text notifications that help create a quality rental experience. We appreciate the good recommendation and opportunity to serve you during your OBX vacation. We look forward to serving you again the next time you visit the Outer Banks to earn that 5th star with a rockstar rental! Sincerely, Chris Marik General Manager
Written September 27, 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 127

Ocean Atlantic Rentals - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (with Photos)

Ocean Atlantic Rentals Information

Excellent Reviews

105

Very Good Reviews

7

Ocean Atlantic Rentals Photos

23