We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Quick visit

We had about a 45 minute stop here on the train ride. They had a couple different restaurants & an... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Ann R
,
Goose Creek
via mobile
Driving by

Very nice area. Cool to watch people kayak the rapids. People friendly. Just a beautiful place... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Angie J
via mobile
Read all 902 reviews
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Overview
More
Nantahala Outdoor Center is one of the nation’s largest outdoor recreation companies. Over a million guests visit NOC annually to embark on a diverse collection of more than 120 different whitewater rafting and land-based itineraries. Learn to kayak at NOC’s world-renowned Paddling School, soar through the trees on NOC's multiple zip lines, travel to foreign countries with NOC’s Adventure Travel program, test the latest outdoor gear and shop at our three LEED-certified flagship retail stores or enjoy NOC’s resort amenities such as our three restaurants and multi-tiered lodging. Why do more people choose NOC than any other whitewater outfitter in the world? It's because of our experience, unparalleled in the industry. 22 Olympians, including two Gold Medalists, have called NOC home. NOC has been recognized by The New York Times as the “Nation's Premiere Paddling School,” “The Best Place to Learn” by Outside, and as “One of the Best Outfitters on Earth” by National Geographic ADVENTURE. Trust NOC to provide you with the outdoor experience of your lifetime.
  • Excellent84%
  • Very good12%
  • Average2%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
“zip line” (130 reviews)
“the river” (282 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Suggested Duration: More than 3 hours
LOCATION
13077 Highway 19 W, Bryson City, NC 28713-9165
CONTACT
Website
+1 828-366-7502
Write a Review
Reviews (902)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 901 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had about a 45 minute stop here on the train ride. They had a couple different restaurants & an outdoor shop. And there were a lot of people rafting & kayaking on the river that day.

Thank Ann R
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very nice area. Cool to watch people kayak the rapids. People friendly. Just a beautiful place to visit or stop by.

Thank Angie J
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Nice shop. Stopped here to get toothbrush. Watched kayaker. Too cold for us. Pretty area. Check out person was nice.

Thank Paula421
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I only went into the store (I didn't take part in any of their activities). From a shopping perspective, the store is ok. I think it is best for those that are really into white water rafting. There is a restaurant on the property and...More

Thank npotter2017
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I took a guided rafting trip down the Nantahala River. Each person we met who worked for the NOC was polite and helpful. Jamie was our raft guide. She was very knowledgeable, patient and friendly. The gear provided was in good condition...More

Thank Patrice S
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

After many years of no exposure to white water, I was apprehensive that it might not be exciting. It was exciting, fun and wet. If you want the most excitement, sit in the front of the raft. Good for all ages under 75. Maybe not...More

Thank cary n
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Nice outdoor center. The shop itself is more geared towards rafting than other sports. There is a nice outdoor area across the river with a restaurant.More

Thank Adventureseeker26
Jan W, Director of Marketing at Nantahala Outdoor Center, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for the feedback Adventureseeker26! Is there anything we could have done to improve your experience above the 3 star range? Next time you are around we encourage you to check out our Ziplines, as well as the remainder of our store which carries a...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Customer service stinks! There was a sudden unexpected illness in one of my party members for zip lining which canceled our whole trip. I asked for a refund but lost my $300. They wanted me to take a voucher to use in a year, but...More

Thank rachaelpinkhill
Jan W, Director of Marketing at Nantahala Outdoor Center, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

@Rachaelpinkhill -- Sorry to hear of the unexpected illness and wishing the best to your family. Our cancellation policy, which all guests agree to before payment, is very specific to the timeframes in which we are able to offer refunds and / or credits for...More

Reviewed October 17, 2017

My daughter had been in the Sylva-Cullowhee area of NC for 6 weeks getting a river certification, and I came to help her move back home. Planned hiking in the Smokies and rafting here. She chose the rubber duckies, which were smaller 2 person rafts....More

Thank Sightsee_Eat
Reviewed October 16, 2017

This was our second time to visit the zip line. It was even better than the first time. My husband and I were the only ones on this ride. Our guides Danny H and Sean M were superior. They were both very knowledgeable about the...More

Thank Sandra B
Nearby
Sponsored by:
Nearby Restaurants
Rivers End Restaurant
561 reviews
.05 miles away
Pizza By the River
54 reviews
1.48 miles away
Big Wesser Brew & BBQ
79 reviews
.02 miles away
Kelly's On the River
28 reviews
.55 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Bryson City Gem Mine
29 reviews
.74 miles away
Nantahala Rafting with Adventurous Fast Rivers
683 reviews
1.40 miles away
Wildwater Nantahala Adventure Center
558 reviews
1.93 miles away
Rolling Thunder River Company
289 reviews
2.12 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
jboring12
October 16, 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Jan W | Property representative |
Hey @jboring12 -- I would definitely pre-book our Mountaintop Zipline trip, especially in the fall. If it is just 2 people you may be able to get a last minute booking, but you risk running into no availability. Looking... More
0
Votes
cooleymelody
July 13, 2017|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from Rachel R | Reviewed this property |
I stayed in cashiers at High Hampton Inn, but that is about an hour away from NOC. I'm not sure about any other places to stay.
0
Votes
gary a
May 10, 2017|
Answer
Response from Jan W | Property representative |
Hi Gary, thanks for reaching out. We do offer a "Stay & Play" discount of 10% off rafting and zip lines when combining a booking with our onsite lodging. Give us a ring tomorrow to activate the discount, our reservations... More
0
Votes