We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Carolina National Golf Club

1643 Goley Hewett Rd SE, Bolivia, NC 28422-7686
+1 910-755-5200
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Love this course but....

I love this golf course but I have played this in the spring two years in a row. The course was in... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
Stephen J G
,
Ocean isle beach, United States
Greens need work.

Beautiful course but greens need work. Very scenic with bridges and marsh facing holes. Has a club... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
Denise B
,
Bolivia, North Carolina
Read all 98 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Fred Couples 27 hole semi-private golf club. Full-service restaurant open to the public.
  • Excellent41%
  • Very good23%
  • Average9%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible16%
Travelers talk about
“in great shape” (14 reviews)
“bag drop” (6 reviews)
“tee boxes” (6 reviews)
Open Now
Hours
Hours Today: 6:00 AM - 7:00 PM
LOCATION
1643 Goley Hewett Rd SE, Bolivia, NC 28422-7686
CONTACT
Website
+1 910-755-5200
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"in great shape"
in 14 reviews
"bag drop"
in 6 reviews
"tee boxes"
in 6 reviews
"nine hole"
in 4 reviews
"snack bar"
in 3 reviews
"beautiful layout"
in 2 reviews
"staff was friendly"
in 2 reviews
"cart path"
in 2 reviews
"north carolina"
in 2 reviews
"holes"
in 26 reviews
"egrets"
in 12 reviews
"nines"
in 8 reviews
"bermuda"
in 4 reviews
"par"
in 4 reviews
"river"
in 2 reviews
"wilmington"
in 3 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago

I love this golf course but I have played this in the spring two years in a row. The course was in terrible condition. Hopefully as the warm weather arrives it will come back, but stay away in the spring.More

1  Thank Stephen J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, General Manager at Carolina National Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Stephen, We appreciate your patronage. This past winter was extremely harsh on the Bermuda greens in this region, as well as the entire Carolinas Section. Our Agronomy team has been hard at work not only pushing the greens to 100% health, but also developing a...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago

Beautiful course but greens need work. Very scenic with bridges and marsh facing holes. Has a club house for lunch but no on course service.

Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have played all the public courses in Wilmington and surrounding areas. This is by far my favorite. Located 10-15 minutes from downtown Wilmington. Course is always in great condition, price is on the higher side compared to other courses, but I feel it is...More

Thank Josh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I have played Carolina National many times since it opened, but will not consider it again, unless management puts more money into the course. The greens were horrible. Even those with grass were slow and bumpy. The fairways were thin and the rough had not...More

Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen B, General Manager at Carolina National Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

David, We appreciate your concerns. The courses were hit hard by the winter and the Bermuda grasses are recovering more with each passing day. After receiving over 4 inches of rain on Saturday, the bunkers were a little muddy on Sunday. Sunday's are our slowest...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2018 via mobile

We played this course several times 2 years ago and it was great. Played several weeks ago and the greens were the worst we have ever played in 25 years of golf. Fairways were also thin and rough in many places. We got a “deal”...More

Thank explorer732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2018

Played a round here on Friday the 20th of April. Fairways were great. The course is beutiful. The greens were hard as rock. But worst of all, my cart broke down on the back nine. After calling the pro shop, sending four messages via the...More

Thank wyomingmayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen B, General Manager at Carolina National Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2018

Hello, I'm afraid that you have the wrong course listed on your review. Carolina National Golf Club does not use "on board computer system" with our golf carts as well as we did not have a beverage cart girl this past Friday. Maybe another "National...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2018

We go to Myrtle Beach every winter for a week of golf in Feb or March. We decided to make the trek of an hour drive North of Myrtle beach this time as a special treat to play this course since it was a Freddy...More

2  Thank Shamblerock S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen B, General Manager at Carolina National Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2018

Shamblerock S, I am sorry to hear that you had such a bad experience at Carolina National yesterday. Your overall criticisms seem a little harsh though. I am available to discuss any concerns that you may have but to insinuate on a social media platform...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2018

We had 18 ladies golf a Carolina National Golf Club yesterday, the all thought the shape of the course was terrible. No grass on the fairways, greens were just painted. Marc in the pro shop didn't appear to be pleased to see us, and for...More

Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2018

Wonderful Golf course. Difficult from regular men's tees. Had more fun playing senior tees. Challenging but very playable. Will play here every year, if I can get a tee time!!! Enjoy!

Thank johnnP1517ZE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2018

They have 3 nines and the staff is always super friendly. My preferences are the Heron and the Egret and the ninth on Egret really makes you think. If you are going to play in Myrtle Beach or Southeastern NC you need this one on...More

Thank JOHN F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Bolivia Hotels
BlueWater Point Motel
69 reviews
5.03 miles away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Southport - Oak Island Area
111 reviews
6.53 miles away
Ocean Crest Motel
251 reviews
6.94 miles away
Blockade Runner Quarters
4 reviews
8.82 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Beaches-N-Cream
198 reviews
4.02 miles away
Archibald's Deli
105 reviews
4.18 miles away
Surfers Cafe
98 reviews
3.74 miles away
Fantasy Isle Ice Cream
43 reviews
4.07 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Fort Apache
30 reviews
2.12 miles away
Dinah E Gore Fitness & Aquatics Center
10 reviews
4.44 miles away
Mary's Gone Wild
18 reviews
4.28 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Carolina National Golf Club staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
;