We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Carolina National Golf Club

Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: 1643 Goley Hewett Rd SE, Bolivia, NC 28422-7686
Phone Number: 9107555200
Website
Today
6:00 am - 7:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 6:00 am - 7:00 pm
Description:

Fred Couples 27 hole semi-private golf club. Full-service restaurant open...

Fred Couples 27 hole semi-private golf club. Full-service restaurant open to the public.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 68 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 27
    Excellent
  • 15
    Very good
  • 6
    Average
  • 7
    Poor
  • 13
    Terrible
Challenging Tom Fazio Designed GC

27 very picturesque holes weave through a prestigious residential community. Executive homes surround the course but not too close to make the course tight. Several wide open Par... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed 2 weeks ago
HEM47EssexJunction
,
Bolivia, North Carolina
Add Photo Write a Review

68 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 68: English reviews
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

I went to 4 golf courses in the oak island area and Carolina National is bar to none; the staff alone will make you drop the mic! Can't wait to go again when I am in the area; hit'em good! Burrell Brown

Helpful?
Thank Burrell B
Steve L, Director of Sales at Carolina National Golf Club, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. Our staff tries to make every guest feel special. We are heading into our best fall season yet! We can't wait until you return! More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Enjoy every round played here. Courses are in great shape. Highly recommend their 27 hole with lunch deal, it can't be beat.

Helpful?
Thank Mike W
Steve L, Director of Sales at Carolina National Golf Club, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review. We are in the beginning of our best season for course conditions and weather. (we don't talk about those occasional hurricanes!) The rest of fall should be spectacular. Tell everyone you know. More 

Texas
Level Contributor
204 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We actually played all 3 of the 9s at Carolina National so my review is of all 3. I will say that the Ibis 9 looks quite different than the other 2 9s but all were enjoyable. We had a group of 7 and got an excellent deal to play all 27 holes and lunch which was anything on the... More 

Helpful?
Thank RickK
Steve L, Director of Sales at Carolina National Golf Club, responded to this review

Glad to hear you enjoyed your time at Carolina National. We can't wait until you return to play us again. The three nines are distinctly different. My favorite nine is Heron. (Ibis is a close second) More 

Bolivia, North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

27 very picturesque holes weave through a prestigious residential community. Executive homes surround the course but not too close to make the course tight. Several wide open Par 4 and 5 holes allow you to use your big stick. Course is well maintained. Restaurant and bar are acceptable, but need modernization. Owner needs to invest in Club House facilities to... More 

Helpful?
Thank HEM47EssexJunction
Steve L, Director of Sales at Carolina National Golf Club, responded to this review

Thank you for the nice compliments on the course. It was actually designed by Fred Couples, but both are great architects and do an amazing job bringing natural beauty to their courses. As for our restaurant, we do have a capital improvement plan in place to "freshen it up." Look for it soon! More 

Blue Ridge, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2016 via mobile

We were visiting friends in Bolivia and had the opportunity to play golf at Carolina National Golf Club. It was a great time, the course was in wonderful condition. A very fun course! Staff was all very friendly and helpful!

Helpful?
Thank SusanFauver
Steve L, Director of Sales at Carolina National Golf Club, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. We have been receiving many good reviews lately. It's always nice to hear positive feedback. Our staff needs to hear more positives in this challenging business. More 

Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2016 via mobile

Very good layout and course conditions. Staff is attentive and friendly. This course is a must stop if you are in the area. Will definitely play again.

Helpful?
Thank Rafael M
Steve L, Director of Sales at Carolina National Golf Club, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Mr. Fred Couples did a fantastic job with this piece of property. We hope to see you next time around. More 

Amory, Mississippi, United States
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2016

Having 3 9-hole layouts, the pace-of-play flows well. The staff and the starter are very hospitable. Playing in July, the course is in great condition. The greens are great and roll extremely well. Their website say Bermuda greens yet they must be a hybrid Bermuda as they roll true and fast yet are very fair and playable. Teeing off at... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robert P
Steve L, Director of Sales at Carolina National Golf Club, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review. We are glad you enjoyed playing Carolina National. Summer always brings high heat and low prices. Our greens are Champion bermuda. We replaced bent grass a few years back. The bermuda grass LOVES the heat. Our maintenance staff does a great job keeping the greens smooth. We hope to see you again soon. More 

Holden Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
183 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2016 via mobile

Playing on a hot afternoon, it was great as we played without delay. Course is in good shape considering little rain the last week. Great layout and forgiving if a shot goes where not planned. No drink cart but they let you use their coolers and provide ice to stock up on your own waters to stay hydrated. Played here... More 

Helpful?
Thank Philip M
Steve L, Director of Sales at Carolina National Golf Club, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review. We have had a hot summer so far, but hopefully experiencing this heat early will set us up for an early fall. The golf course loves the heat. Much more than the golfers do! Stay cool. More 

Bellevue, WA
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2016

I vacation near this course every year and after years of avoiding it due to questionable conditions, a local friend convinced me to take another look. I was very surprised by how the place has been restored. It is now one of the best values on the north end of the Strand. I'll definitely play it again on next year's... More 

Helpful?
Thank Duckgrad
Steve L, Director of Sales at Carolina National Golf Club, responded to this review

Thank you for the compliment. Last spring was unusually harsh for many of us in the Myrtle Beach area. Winter held on for longer than all of us had hoped. The grass simply would not "wake up". We are very happy with the current state of the golf course. We are anticipating a great fall season. More 

Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2016

This course is a dream for someone who like to play at a beautiful course. The course is not too challenging and has some extremely pretty holes. The course is in great condition, except that the greens have been sanded for the last two weeks now. After 4pm the course is pretty much open and the landscapes and natural look... More 

Helpful?
Thank DCJoey
Steve L, Director of Sales at Carolina National Golf Club, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us. We do have some fantastic views of the coastal marshes and the Lockwood Folly River. Fred Couples really knew what he was doing when he picked this spot! We hope you return to see us very soon. More 

Travelers who viewed Carolina National Golf Club also viewed

Shallotte, North Carolina Coast
North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Calabash, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Carolina National Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Carolina National Golf Club staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?