We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About Coastal Kayak
Coastal Kayak is the most experienced rental, tour and instructional business at the beach - since 1994. Coastal Kayak rents kayaks, Stand up paddle boards, and sailboats. They also offer guided kayak & Paddle board tours to all areas of Delmarva including the back bays of Rehoboth Beach, Bethany Beach and Assateague Island. Coastal Kayak also offers instruction from ACA certified instructors in both kayaking and paddle boarding. In addition CK is a certified "Pro School" of the American Canoe Association. CK has over 125 kayaks, 50 paddle bords and 6 catamaran sailboats all available for rent directly from their bayside beach rental location. Call for hours off season 302.539.7999.
Closed today
Hours Today: Closed
Certificate of Excellence
Contact
Fenwick Island, DE
Travelers talk about

Coastal Kayak
Booking unavailable on TripAdvisor

Want other options you can book now?
Reviews (167)
Filter reviews
167 results
Traveler rating
150
11
2
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
150
11
2
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews eco tour bald cypress trap pond assawoman bay sunset tour great location great tour horseshoe crabs salt marsh knowledgeable staff wildlife including fun morning guide sarah saw lots of wildlife short stop beautiful sunset great group
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 167 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We’ve done both kayaking and SUP with Coastal Kayak. The kayaking tour we went on was great. Re: SUP, I’m just not a fan of having to wear a life vest while doing so - I prefer to have it strapped to the board.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Sometimessara
Reviewed September 23, 2018

We scheduled an eco kayak trip recently. While the trip got cancelled because there were not enough participants, the team at Coastal Kayak communicated well in advance, and provided a quick refund. We are still interested in scheduling this trip with them, and highly recommend...More

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Beth N
mitch m, Owner at Coastal Kayak, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2018

Beth, thanks so much for the nice review! Sorry we weren't able to get you out on a tour this time but looking forward to paddling with you in the future! Thanks again, MM

Reviewed September 5, 2018

I highly recommend Coastal Kayak. I took the Burton’s Island tour. Lots of fun. Only my 2nd time kayaking but felt very comfortable as the water was calm and our guide Jeff was great—very knowledgeable and personable. The group for the tour was small, which...More

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank anonymousD5705WK
mitch m, Owner at Coastal Kayak, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2018

Thanks for the nice review! I'm glad you had a good time. The Burton's Island tour always provides something different to see. Thanks again for taking the time to leave a review and I hope we get to see you back in the future! MM

Reviewed September 5, 2018

My husband and I recently did the sunset Kayak Tour in late August and I highly recommend it! It was a great way to "get into nature" amidst the buzz of the beach. Our guide, Maddie, was wonderful and a joy to be with -...More

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Abby W
mitch m, Owner at Coastal Kayak, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2018

Hi Abby, I'm glad you had a good time and were able to escape the craziness of the beach for a little while. Looking forward to seeing you back in the future! Thanks again! MM

Reviewed August 29, 2018 via mobile

Tod was an awesome tour guide and helped us to see a ton of wildlife. My boyfriend and I went on the little assawoman back bay tour We saw... Several green herons 1 tricolor heron 2 or 3 blue herons Several osprey 2 or 3...More

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Jamie R
mitch m, Owner at Coastal Kayak, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2018

Hi Jamie, I'm delighted that you had a nice tour. This time of year is especially nice on the water and you never know what you might see. Thanks for leaving such a nice review!! MM

Reviewed August 27, 2018 via mobile

My 12 year old daughter and I did the wildlife oriented paddle in late August. The group was small, and our guide Sarah was interesting and informative. We have done a competitor's tour, and preferred this one by a big margin-- more interesting place, better...More

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank DCSpartan
mitch m, Owner at Coastal Kayak, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2018

Hi DCSpartan, thanks for taking the time to leave a review. I'm glad you had a good time! We are really lucky to have such good and dedicated guides and hopefully we will get to see you back in the future. Thanks again, MM

Reviewed August 21, 2018 via mobile

We took a kayak trip with coastal kayak on our recent vacation to Delaware. We booked in advance and met the guides at the visitor center at Assateague island. Our group of 8 was paired with a group of 5. We rode in the van...More

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank X9466NVmichellel
mitch m, Owner at Coastal Kayak, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2018

Thanks for the nice review Michelle! I'm glad you had a good time and hope we get to see you on another tour next year. Thanks again, MM

Reviewed August 16, 2018

My son, 9, and I had a great time on this trip. The guide was very knowledgeable and spent time answering questions. The highlight of the trip was beaching on a sand bar so everyone had a chance to hold a horseshoe crab.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank robertashleyd
mitch m, Owner at Coastal Kayak, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2018

Thanks for the review Rob. Hopefully we will see you back in the future!

Reviewed August 16, 2018 via mobile

This is the fourth year we have taken tours with Coastal Kayak. We have yet to be disappointed. We have always had a great time. The guides are extremely knowledgeable and funny at the same time. The tours are beautiful and informative. I would recommend...More

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank JoAnna M
mitch m, Owner at Coastal Kayak, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2018

Thanks for the nice review JoAnna. I'm glad you had a great time and looking forward to seeing you next year! MM

Reviewed August 14, 2018 via mobile

We were looking for a place to kayak and someone suggested Coastal Kayak. We did go and they were great and very nice. I’d never been kayaking before and they explained everything. I cant wait to go back and do one of their kayaking tours....More

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank judee c
mitch m, Owner at Coastal Kayak, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2018

Thanks for the nice review Judee! Glad you had a good time and hopefully we will get to see you on a tour in the future! MM

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
lorried346
August 14, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from mitch m | Property representative |
Sorry, just saw this but for future reference you do not need reservations for any of our rentals. We only take reservations for guided tours. With over 80 paddle boards and 150 kayaks we don't usually run out of anything... More
0
Votes
David G
July 14, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from mitch m | Property representative |
Hi, we run the Assateague Back Bay Pony tour out of the National Park on the Maryland side. If you sign up for the tour you can meet us at the Visitor's Center, inside the park or ride with us from Fenwick Island. Thanks!
0
Votes
Leah S
May 28, 2017|
Answer
Response from mitch m | Property representative |
HI, we do allow tour participants to use their own kayaks if they would like. The price for the tour is the same whether you use your kayaks or ours. We do have a wide variety of kayaks available such as touring kayaks... More
0
Votes