Wolf Conservation Center
Wolf Conservation Center
5
About
Meets animal welfare guidelines
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Top ways to experience nearby attractions

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

5.0
5.0 of 5 bubbles90 reviews
Excellent
80
Very good
6
Average
2
Poor
2
Terrible
0

ARose
Charlotte, NC888 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2019
The conservation center itself is great but the tour of it is misleading. I have been to other wolf sanctuaries that let you get in the enclosure and actually interact with ambassador wolves. This makes a much more meaningful experience.
This wolf conservation center says it is interactive on the tour - but you listen to a powerpoint presentation for 45 min and then get to see about 3 wolf enclosures behind the fence. The presentation has a lot of info, but it is too long for a tour. Timing should be reserved, more time with the actual wolves and less in a classroom. They do great work and its great to see the wolves, but the tour experience really has room for improvement. I would gladly pay more on the tour to get some hands on time like other sanctuaries have for their interactive experience.
Written January 3, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Alison, Thank you for your feedback. Our apologies for any confusion, but the WCC does not allow any physical contact with our wolves and we don’t imply that we do. We don’t allow visitors to have physical contact with our wolves, as they are wild animals and here to assist with education programs. A majority of our wolves are critically endangered red wolves and Mexican gray wolves and they reside at our center as part of federal recovery programs. As such, it is critical we safeguard their wild, elusive behavior and natural wariness of humans. Visitors are able to see our ambassador wolves quite closely and clearly through a fence and photos/videos are allowed. This policy is also clearly stated on our website - https://nywolf.org/programs-events/visitor-information/ Thank you for supporting the WCC through your registration fees and for being such a passionate protector of wild wolves. Will Peacock
Written January 3, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Wknd Tvlr
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2022
It’s hard to believe that this beautiful, quiet environment is located just off a state road. Once you enter the Wolf Conservative Center, you are immersed in this private little forest. Actually, it’s not that little since there are acres of property designated as wolf enclosures. We enjoyed seeing the Ambassador wolves up close and found the presentation to be very informative. Perhaps because the weather was a little cool on the day of our visit, the wolves were active and we were able to see the Red Wolves and Mexican Gray Wolves walking around in their enclosures. Such beautiful animals!
The entire staff was so friendly and helpful from the time we parked, throughout the tour and in the gift shop on our way out. We would definitely recommend visiting the Wolf Conservation Center.
Written June 12, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Manystamps
15 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2018 • Family
Really amazing place to visit. I am proud that this exsists in my town. Well worth the visit. Here are my pointers:

-Parking is limited and tight. So if you have a hard time manuevering, come early.

-You book online, they meet you as you pull up to the gate and ask your last name. That’s it. Nothing else to do.

- We have 2 kids ages 11 & 9, if I had to do it over I would have picked the kids program. They got restless after an hour and lots of adult questioning.

- You hike a slope in. It is hot, not a lot of shade in the bleacher areas, bring water, they have porta potties on site.

-The staff is amazing and interact well with the wolves and the humans.

Thanks for everything.
Written August 5, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Savvy V
Kingston, NY67 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2018 • Family
First off, this place is AMAZING! We had an amazing time learning and sleeping with the wolves but there are a few things you should know so you can really enjoy yourselves.

1. Get there right on time or early, the driveway in isn't the best and parking isn't tight..
2. Two full air mattresses will fit in the tent so 4 can sleep comfortably.
3. All tents are side by side so you will hear not only the wolves but your neighbor snoring or anything else they may be doing.
4. Pack bug spray and hand sanitizer.
5. Don't over pack since you have to carry it from the parking lot which is about 200 yards. Pack light!
6. Be prepared to be woken up by the wolves when they hear the fire trucks go by during the night. It's amazing.
7. You get pizza and plenty of drinks. We brought a cooler which we didn't need.
8. Your tent is on a slope so if it rains you will get wet. The program happens regardless of weather so be prepared.
9. ASK lots of questions! The staff is amazing!!
10. Listen to the rules. Don't do anything stupid that will hurt or upset the wolves.
11. Be prepared to HOWL like a wolf!
12. Have a great time this is a once in a lifetime experience.

We wore the same clothes in and out. They supplied breakfast but we opted to go to the Early Bird Cafe 5 miles down the road and it was awesome!!
Written September 3, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

KittensMom313
New York City, NY297 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2016 • Family
We went on an October evening for a scheduled event. Dress for the weather and wear walking shoes because the majority of the time will be outdoors and some of the hiking wouldn't suit an infirm person.

The tour starts with a movie and questions (indoors) and then the group moves out and hikes up to where the wolves are. The guide, Regan, was very interesting and entertaining to children and adults alike.

Everyone hiked to the first enclosure that had three wolves. There was plenty of seating and the guide talked for about twenty minutes and detailed everything about the wolves and their lives. She fed them meatballs and it was lots of fun to see how excited they got. Then the group moved to the next enclosure that held one male wolf. Again, there were bleacher seats and the guide talked for about fifteen or twenty minutes, explaining how this wolf is different than the other wolves and why he lives by himself.

There are other wolves in other enclosures but they are shy and so don't come out when there are large groups around.

The whole experience is educational and very unique. You'll come away with a new understanding of the uphill battle that wolves face and why it's important that we advocate for them if we'd like to ensure their survival.
Written October 29, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

screensaver2007
Dublin16 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Just back from our visit today with 3 girls, 12, 10 and 8. Had a really nice engaging time. An easy ride up here from Long Island. There's a good presentation in a classroom type setting which is very informative about wolves and the work carried out by the center. Then it's time to meet the wolves up close, but there is a chainlink fence in between!!! No it's not a Zoo or a money spinning hobby. No extra hard sell of souvenirs etc. The people who work here are knowledgeable and passionate about their work. The kids (one is a huge wolf fan) and ourselves, really enjoyed our 1 1/2 hrs or so in a lovely setting on a chilly day. Also it's very reasonably priced.
Written December 31, 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Princess279
East Brunswick, NJ1,082 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2019 • Family
First of all, it is always impressive and admirable when people make such an incredible, passionate effort to undo the damage done by others. The WCC falls into that category. Therefore, this is a review of the experience listed as a "thing to do" in the area. If I'm not mistaken, there are about 40+ Mexican red wolves and gray wolves in the off exhibit areas, and 3 ambassador wolves you get to see jumping for a treat. If you go onto the website, you can watch the wolves via webcams at your convenience. The cause is undeniably admirable and the general admission of $15 per adult is nothing to even think about. The few merchandise they offer for purchase is of a good quality and they accept credit cards. The presentation in a warm classroom, provided by a knowledgeable staff member and accompanied by a hot cider was excellent. As far as seeing the wolves or/and photographing them...it might be wise to match your expectations with the amount of money you spend to get in. The three potential success stories in the past of the center all had a sad ending. The staff and all of us are still hopeful for the future, but the reality of human nature, laws and policies say otherwise. On the event calendar, I saw photography sessions that are all booked out at $100pp. I assume, that's when you actually get close enough not to have the fences in your photos. However, the reason we were kept far away was to keep the wolves as "wild" as possible for future release efforts. Does the amount you pay change the importance of that? The howling was truly something. The staff member started, an ambassador wolf answered and few others chimed in from far away. Incredible sound! I was planning to join "sleeping with wolves" experience with my kids this spring, but now have my doubts. I will gladly donate for the cause in the future. However, now I'm a little confused... Is it less harmful to expose the wolves to people who buy more expensive experience?!? I'd probably increase the general admission prices, decrease the number of people in reserved groups and do more fundraising for such a beautiful cause. But I'm not the one who has had this center running for 20 years...
Written February 21, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Gail G
Westlake, OH26 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2018 • Family
This was on my sister in law's bucket list, and I am so glad that she, myself and my children were able to experience Sleeping with the Wolves, the howling of the wolves made the hairs on my arm stand up it was amazing.

Seeing the Ambassador Wolves up close was a spiritual experience, the staff was amazing and knowledgeable, the tents were not comfortable for me I am a non camper but my kids are a Boy Scout and a Girl Scout and my sister in law loves camping so they enjoyed it.

They mentioned that they are trying to raise funds to actually build cabins for the overnighters which would make it so much better for sleeping.

The pizza and movie with the wolves were a lot of fun, and as I said the wolves howling was an experience I wont't soon forget.

I highly recommend making this trip.

There is a long steep walk up the hill to the center, you can drive up but it is very steep and narrow...but once you are up on the hill it is amazing.
Written June 13, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Jeff T
Adelaide, Australia6 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2017 • Family
Everything about the wolf conservatorium was great and informative but there is a glaring issue that they need to sort. Although the admission cost is very reasonable, anyone coming from the train station or town have to add $60 in taxi fares to the experience. It's the only way there if you have no vehicle which is a real inconvenience that could easily be solved if they ran a shuttle bus of some sort ( even if they charged more for it). We not only forked out $30 there and back, at the conclusion we had to wait in the freezing cold and almost pitch black wait an extra 30 mins for cab to arrive ( well after all except 1 of the staff had gone home)
I'm sorry to take the focus off the great work they do with the wolves but I think the public need to know what your up for.
Written December 23, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

CubaPoppy
Pound Ridge, NY75 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2016 • Family
How many people thought they would ever get up close to see a real wolf? Given the fact they were almost driven to extinction, most people probably never imagined it. But here you can. The Wolf Conservation Center is a special little gem. Part eduction center, wildlife sanctuary and rehabilitation center, you can learn and see wolves up close. The animals are well taken care of, have large enclosures and the privacy they deserve, even with us visitors. Seeing a wolf close is a must. They are incredible animals.
Written September 25, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-10 of 86
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

Wolf Conservation Center - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024)

All things to do in South Salem
RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars