We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Saratoga Springs Food Tours

Saratoga Springs, NY, USA
More
About Saratoga Springs Food Tours
Experience the tastes of Saratoga while learning about what makes our area so special. Start at the famous Saratoga Farmers market and taste some of the mouth-watering cheeses, tapinades and home-made jams creatively produced by local food artisans. At the same time our experienced guides will tell you the inside history of Saratoga and the area’s farm community.
Read more

Saratoga Springs Food Tours
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
57Reviews4Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 47
  • 7
  • 1
  • 2
  • 0
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
mommyto3loves wrote a review Oct 2019
Staten Island, New York68 contributions14 helpful votes
+1
Myself and 5 childhood friends were up in Saratoga for a long weekend, to celebrate our 50th birthdays. While planning, I came across this food tour. So excited, as I have done many of these tours, in other places and enjoyed every one. As our trip got closer, I looked to book our tour and I was sad to see there was no avalibility for our weekend, however I called and left a message for Joe to see if we could make this happen. Got a call back, told Joe about our girls weekend and he said he was not going to do tours this weekend,but said "I'll DO IT For you". Beyond excited, it was awesome. Not only did we sample amazing food and drinks. He is a book full of knowledge. The history of Saratoga, ghost sitings in one of our stops, pointing out points of interest, the site where it is said that Don McLean wrote "American Pie". After our 3 hour tour, and additional recommendations we left Joe. We went to check out the decorated Halloween house, the campus if Skidmore college, Yaddo garden and Congress park, to name a few. I highly recommend this tour if you are in the Saratoga Regin. You will not be disappointed. You will walk away with a full belly and a ton of history, that without being with a local, you would never know. Joe himself is an amazing person, as we all know snowbirds, he is not your typical. His escape includes thiland and India where he is a volunteer helping those unfortunate and doing great things!!!! He also does ghost tours in Saratoga!!! Check it out!!! It was great!!! Thanks again Joe!
Read more
Date of experience: October 2019
Helpful
Share
dianecopelan wrote a review Oct 2019
1 contribution
A big part of the tour was done at the market. This was a little disappointing because we were fighting the crowd and anybody could taste whatever was offer to us at no cost.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Date of experience: October 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Saratoga Spring... F, Owner at Saratoga Springs Food Tours
Responded Oct 24, 2019
Thank you for your review. We are just responding to correct a few misconceptions. We do spend about 1 hour of the 3 hour tour at the market which we do because it gives us a chance to taste such a nice cross-section of the area's foods and meet the people who make them. And, yes, the market is very popular and we do have to be flexible about which vendors are available but we have great relationships with them and almost always seem to get a nice presentations and tasting at each. Also, we do pay for 3 of the tastings which are not free to the public. Afterward we do visit 3 restaurants and a food shop which take an additional 2 hours.
Read more
Judi wrote a review Oct 2019
1 contribution
Whenever my friends and I travel together we look to see if any food tours are offered. We were quite excited to see this one In Saratoga Springs and were not disappointed. Our group was small enough to allow a lot of conversation as our tour guide, Joe, led us through the Saratoga Outdoor Marketplace and to several area restaurants for tastings. Joe’s knowledge of Saratoga’s history and his personal friendships with the vendors and store owners is impressive. We thoroughly enjoyed our walk through Saratoga history and some of its culinary delights. Thank you, Joe!
Read more
Date of experience: October 2019
Helpful
Share
Donna F wrote a review Oct 2019
Concord, New Hampshire14 contributions3 helpful votes
Great start at farmers market. Although plenty of vendor visits recommend arriving early to do some buying. Even if you are just visiting for the weekend you will find some things to buy. Joe's guided tour was great and it is obvious he has a great relationship with the vendors. We had to take a short car ride to avoid stairs to the first restaurant on the tour. Lots of walking but well worth it to enjoy beautiful Downtown and Joe's stories of Saratoga's history. Plenty of food to eat just minor problem of long walk back to car for those of us with walking issues. Highly recommend. One of the best tours we've taken.
Read more
Date of experience: October 2019
Helpful
Share
Earl Ingstad wrote a review Sep 2019
Syracuse, New York21 contributions5 helpful votes
When visiting towns we have never visited before, we like to start with a food tour to find the "hot spots" early on in our trip. Like other reviewers have mentioned, we only visited one restaurant. We started off (starving) at the farmers market to taste very tiny samples that are normally provided to the public for free. We started out tasting spices! Most of the vendors were also not prepared to have a group sample their products. We were thirsty and starving an hour and a half into the tour. Then finally we went to a restaurant for a piece of bruschetta and fried mushrooms. At the end of the tour we sampled oils and then tea with a dessert. Which again, the oils are provided to the public for free. So you pay $50 for a piece of bruschetta, mushrooms, tea and a slice of cake. Also, if you want to purchase anything at the market, bring your own cooler bag as the tour ends after the market closes. This would have been nice to know ahead of time. During our tour, many great restaurants were pointed out but we did not visit! That's the point of a food tour! There are so many fantastic restaurants in Saratoga, this tour did not provide you with the option to "taste Saratoga". It was a waste of a day unfortunately. The tour guide was beyond nice, very informative, but we did not plan a tour for the tour guide, we planned it for the food. That's what a food tour should focus on.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Saratoga Spring... F, Owner at Saratoga Springs Food Tours
Responded Oct 1, 2019
Hi Shannon, I am very sorry you were unhappy with the tour and I have refunded your money completely. I remember your tour well. Because we had spent so much time in the Farmer’s Market talking with vendors and sampling local foods, we were running late. The tour had gone over 3 hours which is a bit long for most people and we ended up skipping another restaurant on the tour—which turns out to be a big mistake in your case. In building our tour for more than 10 years we have walked a bit of a tightrope between people who expect large quantities of food and people who enjoy smaller tastings, meeting with the food entrepreneurs who create them and learning about our history and community. That day we had about 10 tastings in the farmer’s market—many of which we had arranged in advance (and paid for) and several stops which were more impromptu based on the interests of those attending. As you can see from most of our reviews, people seem to like that approach. I admit to being disappointed that you would rate the tour as Poor after telling me at the end of the tour how much you enjoyed it and gave me a tip on top of that. But you are correct, it is not a tour for people who expect huge quantities of food and in retrospect, skipping a restaurant was a big mistake and thus I apologize and have refunded your admissions.
Read more
Previous