Buttonwood Grove Winery
Buttonwood Grove Winery
4.5
Wineries & VineyardsWine Tours & Tastings
10:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Monday
10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Friday
10:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Sunday
10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
About
Winner of the NYS Governor's Cup. Visit Buttonwood Grove for a customized, exclusive wine tasting experience! Whether you're a wine novice or a well-versed professional, our array of guest-centered options will take your visit to the next level. Try a blind tasting in our unique black Riedel crystal glasses, attend one of our many special events, or book a tour of our production facility. Let our fun and informative staff help you discover some new favorites as they expertly guide you through your choice of handcrafted, artisan wines. Our extensive outdoor seating, complete with firepits and a spectacular lake view, is open year round, with live music all summer long. We invite you to spend the day exploring our beautifully manicured grounds. Looking for a longer visit? Our four cozy camping cabins are available from April through November - see our separate Trip Advisor page listed as Buttonwood Grove Winery Cabins.
Romulus, New York

Awards
Travelers' Choice
2024

Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Travelers talk about
(8 reviews)
(4 reviews)
(13 reviews)

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles134 reviews
Excellent
100
Very good
17
Average
12
Poor
3
Terrible
2

Archibald
Ithaca, NY3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2021
Truly a FANTASTIC winery and experience! The wines were all delicious, the venue was beautiful, and the service was impeccable! Our server was exceptionally knowledgeable and kind, as well as being super attentive. We were able to taste the wines at our own, slow pace, and we really enjoyed every minute of the experience. The wines were also priced very reasonably! My friends and I were also celebrating a major milestone in our careers, for which the winery brought out a special wine for us to taste, on the house! This kindness and care they displayed for each of their customers was truly unmatched, and we would recommend this winery to anyone! If you want a wonderful atmosphere, a fantastic experience, and a beautiful locale to relax in, Buttonwood Grove is the place to go!
Written July 5, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you, this is truly a FANTASTIC review!!! Our service team works hard to provide a stellar experience for our guests, and when that is recognized, it makes it all worthwhile! We hope you'll be able to visit frequently!
Written July 13, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

JohnRegoPark
Rego Park, NY1,244 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2021
There are many wonderful wineries in the Finger Lakes region, and this is among the very best. The winery is located in a stunning setting overlooking the lake, where one can sit outside under a sheltered awning and admire the wine, or sit in the sun and take in the atmosphere. The winery has no flights, but instead allows for tastings. You get a wine list with a large number of selections and they allow you 5 for the standard fee of $12. That's enough to get you purring for the afternoon. They also supply you with some bread and cheese. We opted for the 2019 Riesling, which we liked so much that we purchased some bottles afterwards. We also sampled the gewurztraminer, cabernet franc and big red blend--also very good. We finished off with the blackberry briar which set our teeth a-tingling. Go, and have a good time.
Written September 14, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thanks for the great review! It sounds like you really enjoyed our view and our wines, and we appreciate you sharing that with fellow travelers! We hope you'll stop again next time you're in the area!
Written September 21, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

blueyedgal
Salem, MA65 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2020 • Friends
After visiting about 12 vineyards in 7 days we stopped by Buttonwood on a whim. It was such a wonderful experience and far exceeded all of our prior visits. The ambiance was lovely with a view of the lake and vineyard and they offer a nice variety of wine and price points. The best part was the service and attention we received. I’m not sure of the name of the woman who took care of us, but she was incredibly knowledgeable and sweet. She truly made our experience very special - a memory we will cherish forever.
Written July 19, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you so much for this excellent review! We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your visit with us. We strive for 100% customer satisfaction, and we love to hear that we've gotten it right! We hope to see you the next time you visit the Finger Lakes!
Written August 2, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Fernanda B
West New York, NJ30 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2020
The location of this winery is amazing, view to the lake is beautiful! But we had a poor experience with the wine tasting. First they served us a sparkling wine that was courtesy of the house, but poured quite a bit and waited for us to finish it to start the tasting. I didn't like the wine, but felt pressured to drink everything so that I could begin the tasting I paid for. We chose the wines and they brought them outside for us to taste. It is covid-safe but we didn't get any of the explanation that is always a plus to tastings. The wines themselves didn't impress us.
Written July 12, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi Fernanda, thank you for your review and insights. Our "welcome wine" is a courtesy wine to provide you something to sip at while you make your other selections, and we certainly don't mind if you dump it, or request your server to do so. We've found it's a great way to highlight something that you may not otherwise discover, and feedback about it from our guests has been very positive. We apologize that you didn't feel your server had enough interaction with you during your tasting. We strive to spend as much time as possible with guests, but that's challenging with COVID restrictions. As to the quality of our wines, many of which are national and international award winners, we're sorry that you weren't able to find something that was to your tastes. We hope you'll stop by during your next visit to the Finger Lakes, and give us another try.
Written August 2, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Meredith Z
Bethlehem, PA42 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2020
We were a little surprised at our greeting. We came in unknowingly towards the end of their tasting times - changes due to COVID-19. The woman who greeted us made sure we know how close we were to the end of tasting times, and when she asked us where we wanted to sit, we said "Whatever is easier". The employee actually said "It would be easier if you left" which I believe was meant as a joke, however we were surprised at that response. As the tasting went on, I think she realized we weren't going to linger and she became more pleasant. We did enjoy the wines, but left with nothing as we didn't want to hold her up any more. The area felt very clean and safe due to COVID-19 guidelines.
Written September 9, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your recent experience. While the staff member was probably making an attempt at a joke, it was totally unacceptable. You have our deepest apologies that you were greeted in this manner, and it has been addressed with the employee. We strive to make all guests feel welcome, even when arriving late in the day. We greatly appreciate that you provided a well-balanced review of the overall experience, and would like to offer you a complimentary tasting and tour of the facility if you're able to visit again. Please reach out to us directly at marcia@buttonwoodgrove.com for further discussion. Again, thank you so much - this feedback is so important to improving our guest experience!
Written September 10, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

John S
5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2022
January 14 (2022) was the first in a series of fireside events at Buttonwood. Outdoor fire pit with wine tasting & food as well. First & foremost Ashley did a tremendous job with us...very knowledgeable and passionate about her work as well. My fiance & I love Buttonwood's commitment to doing events & is part of why we're wine club members.
What made our time extra special was January 13th marked 2 years since Tina & I met and yesterday the 16th was her birthday. Another element was that we were the only ones to show up for the 3-4:30 time slot on account of the cold.
Buttonwood's wines are of high quality, their people are fantastic and the events top everything off.
Written January 17, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
We're so happy you could join us, and thanks for the great review! It definitely was a cold day, so we're glad to hear your enjoyed it nonetheless. We firmly believe that the Finger Lakes can and should be a 4 seasons destination, and are committed to hosting events year-round. We're honored that you chose to spend part of your special weekend with us!
Written January 18, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Mark F
151 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2022
We enjoyed this tasting experience ($12 for 5 wines, plus bread and cheese). The server was knowledgeable and helpful, and we enjoyed each of the wines we tried. Unlike many wineries, we were seated at our own table and were left alone to taste and discuss each wine which was pleasant. The server answered all our questions when he returned to pour the next one. They offer a nice variety of reds and whites, including some bubbly wines and "black label" reserve wines. We liked the whites much better than the reds and bought three bottles. The tasting room was bright and pleasant, and the shop was huge. I wish we had tasted outside because the grounds were expansive and lovely.
Written September 17, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thanks for the great review! Our open, airy tasting room with a view of the lake is definitely a great place to enjoy some wine and cheese, and we're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience. Tasting on our covered porch is also available and we hope you get to enjoy that next time you're in the area. Thanks again for taking time to provide a review, and enjoy those bottles you took home with you!
Written September 18, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

BusyMomaNJ
BERKELEY HEIGHTS36 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2023 • Friends
We arrived a few minutes early yet our table was all set and waiting for our party of 6. Jenna was an amiable host and got to work right away, learning our tastes so she could customize our "Blind Tasting". Although we intended to purchase 2 or 3 bottles, her expertise in curating our experience elevated that to a six bottle purchase! LOL
Our friends also made some great selections based on their experience. I highly recommend the blind tasting and bonus to you if you end up with Jenna as your host! The wines are delicious and reasonably priced.
Written March 5, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wow, thank you so much for this great review! The Blind Tasting Experience is so much fun, and so educational. Our Tasting Room Manager, Jenna, is one of our most knowledgeable and engaging team members, and loves to work with guests who are interested in taking their wine tasting to the next level. We'll be sure to share your high praise with her!
Written March 19, 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

KAG39
Pittsburgh PA297 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2021
This was probably one our favorite visits while in the FLX's. We were the only ones there at first, a few more folks came in while we were there. We attempted to go outside to do the tasting but the bees were a nuisance. So we went back inside to stand at one of the tables. But they do a tasting and match up each wine with some food pairing, cracker and a dip, wine and chocolate. The pairings added a new level to the experience. Had some nice selections and it was tough to narrow down our take homes. I would return to Buttonwood if I would ever visit FLX's again.
Written September 15, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thanks for the great review!
Written September 21, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

MAM
310 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2023 • Couples
Visited here as 1 of my 16 wineries in my annual trip to the Finger Lakes. This tasting was the most expensive of all 16. Booked online for $16. Definitely not worth it. Expensive and very skimpy pours and no info was given on the winery or individual wines. Also, they picked 1 of the 5 tastings: a chardonnay (I only drink red). I then selected the pinot noir, cab, and big red blend. No full bodied dry reds. The big red blend (I received 2 of my 4 tastings because they didn't offer any others) was tasteless and the other 2 were very mild tasting. Lastly, they did not offer free water as the other wineries did. They charged for it. Definitely won't return.
Written June 19, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your visit, and we apologize for the delay in responding. As an industry standard, our servers are taught to pour approximately 5-6 ounces total during a tasting, which equals a glass of wine. We believe $15 for the equivalent of a glass of hand-crafted small-batch wine, accompanied by a side plate of bread and cheese, is a reasonable price. Our servers are trained to present and explain each sample of wine to help expand your knowledge of our winery, grapes, and winemaking techniques. Based on the date of your visit, it is quite possible that you received service from one of our newer employees just starting out for the season. We apologize that you didn’t get the experience you should have during your visit, and will definitely discuss with our team the addition of more training sessions for new staff. We also apologize that you didn’t enjoy the red wines you tasted. The Finger Lakes is a cool-climate growing region, producing fine quality light to medium-bodied red wines. Our prevailing philosophy is to craft wines that allow the fullest expression of the estate grapes we grow in that climate. Thus, our wines are more delicate and elegant than wines from hot-climate regions such as California, Australia, and southern Europe. Our reds have recently gotten great ratings from Wine & Spirits Magazine and the New York Wine Classic, with our Cabernet Franc, Cabernet Sauvignon, and Marnie Ann Bordeaux-style blend all receiving scores in the 90-95 range. If you would like to provide further information about your experience, please contact Kelly@buttonwoodgrove.com. Again, we apologize that the experience wasn't what you expected, and hope you will give us another try next time you're in the Finger Lakes.
Written August 15, 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 134

Buttonwood Grove Winery - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024)

All things to do in Romulus
RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars