We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: 2515 State Highway 28, Oneonta, NY 13820-3126
Phone Number:
+1 607-643-0294
Website
Today
10:00 am - 7:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 am - 7:00 pm

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 91 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 43
    Excellent
  • 24
    Very good
  • 13
    Average
  • 8
    Poor
  • 3
    Terrible
Friendly people, reasonable wines.

This was a lovely last stop on our tour of the Cooperstown region! Had a wonderful time chatting with the ladies in the tasting room. The tasting was very reasonably priced and... read more

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed September 14, 2015
RHONNA1221
,
Princeton, New Jersey
Add Photo Write a Review

91 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 91: English reviews
Bellmore, NY
Level Contributor
251 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2016

We visited here about 2 years ago, since then they have updated the place, expanded the wine offerings and added some food to go with the wine. We had fun with my daughter, her college friends and their parents. We basically were outside, and it is a nice area. Wine is fair

Helpful?
Thank srcesq
New Berlin, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2016

Went there yesterday and had a nice time. Did a wine tasting and they have some very nice offerings. They carry a couple of different wine slushies daily, which are very good. Nice amount of outdoor seating to enjoy the upstate sunshine.

Helpful?
Thank theislandtraveler
Sayville, New York
Level Contributor
228 reviews
147 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2016

We're from Long Island, so no offense or an uppity stance, but we know good wine. The wine here is fair..not the worst we've tried but no where close to a Finger Lake or Long Island wine. This is no reflection on the young ladies who are behind the serving counter. They were both very knowledgeable and above friendly. The... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Steve T
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2016

This is not a fancy winery, but it was a nice stop. I enjoyed the different wines, If you like wine and are in the area, I suggest you stop in.

Helpful?
Thank Chris_BF_681
Eastchester
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2016

this is one of the winery's on the Cooperstown Beverage Trail. And it's our favorite. We did the entire trail in October. Wine tasting. Good inexpensive wines. We love the Holiday Bear wine which is served warm. Nice people. Stopped back at Christmas time to get more Holiday Bear wine!

Helpful?
Thank Robin R
New Jersey
Level Contributor
849 reviews
529 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,271 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2015

I never like leaving poor reviews, but Bear Pond was below average compared to other NY wineries. The wines were okay. There was really no ambience as its a smaller place right off the highway. The bar tender had minimal understanding of the wines we tested and pretty much rushed us. I wouldn't go back I'm sorry to say.

Helpful?
2 Thank CCG1982
Mark L, Owner at Bear Pond WInery, responded to this review

Hello Chris, I am sorry to hear that your experience was not as you expected. With more than 30 wines to choose from it is apparent that we failed in helping you select wines that you would like. As you mentioned, we rushed you through the tasting as well as not providing you with adequate information on our wines. I... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2015

We stopped by during a rain delay at the Baseball Village and of course we met up with other mom's. We had the tasting with three appetizer samples and all the wines were delicious and the food was great. Would highly recommend for a relaxing time.

Helpful?
Thank Karen B
Holtsville, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2015

Very nice winery. The people are so nice and helpful. Wine is ok. Bought two bottles of the Riesling. Couldn't believe how in expensive the tasting was, $3 for 6 choices. I am used to $15 PLUS living on Long Island

Helpful?
Thank Donna P
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
79 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2015

This was a lovely last stop on our tour of the Cooperstown region! Had a wonderful time chatting with the ladies in the tasting room. The tasting was very reasonably priced and you got to choose six options. A word of warning... the horseradish pickles need to be NIBBLED. seriously. they are delicious, but oh my heavens...dont just pop those... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank RHONNA1221
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2015 via mobile

Stopped in one afternoon. Didn't think the wines were great but someone who enjoys sweet fruity wines may enjoy this place.

Helpful?
Thank Tina S
Mark L, Owner at Bear Pond WInery, responded to this review

Hello Tina, I am sorry that you were disappointed in your selection of wines here at Bear Pond Winery. We do however have 11 dry wines to offer and WE FAILED YOU in determining what you were right for you. You are correct in saying that we do have sweet and fruity wines as well... I would love the opportunity... More 

Travelers who viewed Bear Pond WInery also viewed

 

Been to Bear Pond WInery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Bear Pond WInery staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?