We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Highland Eco Trekking Tours Ethiopia

Lalibela, Ethiopia
More
About Highland Eco Trekking Tours Ethiopia
Highland Eco Trekking Tours Ethiopia is an official private tour company situated in the holy city of Lalibela. we offer community based eco trekking and an amazing adventure tours to Lalibela, Simien Mountains, Bale Mountains, Omo Valley, Tigray Churches, the great Danakil Depression... Come with us and discover the undiscovered Ethiopia! Cheers Team HETT
Read more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
See all hours
Tours and Tickets by Highland Eco Trekking Tours Ethiopia

Lalibela Rock Churches Guided Tour

A UNESCO World Heritage site and one of the most popular destinations in Ethiopia, the Rock-Hewn Churches at Lalibela can be intimidating to visit on your own. Going as part of a guided tour not only eliminates transportation logistics to the ten churches scattered about this medieval town, but also includes the benefit of a narrated trip so you can better grasp the history and significance of these monolithic destinations.
Read more
1 to 2 days
from $209.40

5 Days Lalibela & Danakil Depression Tour

See some of Ethiopia's most celebrated historic and natural attractions with this small-group tour. You'll start with Lalibela, with its UNESCO World Heritage-listed rock-hewn churches, followed by a trip to the Danakil Desert, the hottest and lowest place on earth, where you’ll see sulfur lakes and visit the Erta Ale volcano.
Read more
5 days
from $900.71

Lalibela 2-Day Eco Trekking Tour

Start your amazing 2-day eco trekking tour after visiting the famous rock hewn churches of Lalibela. On this tour you will hike to the Escarpment of Atabkit above Lalibela. On the way you will meet local highlander farmers, stay in their village where you will see their way of life, even take part on their daily activity, enjoy the magnificent and breathtaking mountain chain view...

Your hike can start right in-front of you hotel in Lalibela, or right on the airport after your arrival.
Read more
2 days
from $224.18

All-inclusive 3 Days Simien Mountains NP. Trekking Tour

DAY 1: GONDAR - DEBARK - SANKABER
Your first Ethiopian Trekking adventure begins today! You will drive to DEBARK (3000m, 2 hours, entrance of Simien National Park), where the formalities and permits for visiting the famous SIMIEN MOUNTAINS will be gathered. You will also meet your personal cook and the mandatory scouts. It follows a drive on a rough road to Sankaber (3200m, 1 hour), where you do the first short hike (2 -3 hours). The first impressive views over the dramatic mountains range will amaze you.

DAY 2: SANKABER - GEECH
At Sankaber we will pack up our gear and meet our mule men before commencing the trek. You hike to Geech in 5 - 6 hours (3600m, 13 km), will see lots of Gelada Baboons, Klippspringer and
bush buck on the way, we will traverse along the escarpment before dropping down to get impressive views. On that day you will also pass Genbar Falls.

DAY 3: GEECH – CHENEK- GONDAR
From here you trek back to Chenek and after a lunch you drive to Gondar.
Read more
3 days
from $492.70

Full Day Simien Mountains National Park Admission ticket

A natural attraction with international appeal, Simien Mountains National Park is a must-see in Ethiopia. Book your entrance in advance to ensure an easy start to your trip—then, freely explore the hiking trails, vista points, and wildlife sightings on your own or by hiring a guide on site. The pass is good for one full day of your choosing.
Read more
1 day
from $7.39
69Reviews1Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 61
  • 5
  • 1
  • 1
  • 1
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Fritz R wrote a review Feb 2020
4 contributions
I had planned to stay in lalibela for only 2 days and in the end it was 10 days with a subsequent trip to mekele and the danakil depression. for lalibela i actually have only a few words: true love, wonderful churches and incredible mountains with breathtaking views. the people and the organization of all activities were perfect all round. a feeling of security, having arrived and being on eye level has been with me all the time. whatever I wanted or asked was made possible. the guide for the churches made a lot of sense to grasp the far-reaching history. he was very friendly, could answer all questions and knew a lot more! the trip to mekele was fantastic. the landscape is changing rapidly as are people and their clothing. the driver could tell me a lot about the different backgrounds. we had a ride with lots of music and a lot of fun! one night in mekele and we continued with 5 jeeps and a fun international tour group. I usually travel alone, but the cost of the trip to the desert is only possible in groups, unless you pay a lot of money. i enjoyed it and had an unforgettable time. the guides and drivers also took care of that. there was everything (the most important thing is water in this area) from food to cold !!! beer, but of course everything in the desert is very simple. no sanitary facilities, no hotel rooms and no warm shower! But anyone who expects and needs that misses a unique experience that cannot be found anywhere else in the world. every cent was worth the trip. this landscape, this lake, these people! thanks to the guides, we got up very early to be in front of other groups and take photos of the landscape without people. They made small changes spontaneously to create an unforgettable experience for us. I was overcome by tears! the night on a lounger under a breathtaking starry sky! I will never forget this trip in everything and thank you for everything !!!
Read more
Date of experience: January 2020
Helpful
Share
J.travel. wrote a review Feb 2020
5 contributions
There isn't much information on these tours online yet, so I hope to inform travelers of the reality of this tour before they spend too much money on a tour that was very disappointing. Day 1: Lalibela churches - The guide was knowledgeable and friendly. He helped my 3 person group avoid larger groups, took photos of us and was considerate of how much time we wanted to spend at each church. The churches were an incredible sight to see and there are several good restaurants in Lalibela with incredible views. This was the highlight of the tour. Food/drinks were not included this day (this was clear from the tour package). Day 2: Drive from Lalibela to Mekele - The 3 of us were told the drive would be 7 hours from Lalibela to Mekele. It was actually 8.5 hours (0730-1600). The driver took his wife in the front seat for the majority of the drive and the 3 of us had to sit crowded in the back seat. When she left the driver did not offer the front seat to any of us. He did not want to turn on the air conditioning and also did not want to let dust into his car by opening the windows. The driver was unpleasant and rude. Needless to say, it was an uncomfortable drive. The drive is not inherently scenic; if you have the option, it would be better to fly. Food/drinks were not included this day (this was not clear from the tour package) and we only stopped once at 1030 for food. Day 3: Danakil Depression / Salt flats / Camel caravan - We started the day at 1000. The previous night I had been told the "small group" would be 12 people. The tour was a caravan of 7 cars and approximately 23 tourists, which is not a small group. There was generally a lot of driving on this tour with little communication from the driver or the guide with us on how long between locations we would be driving, and how long we would stay at each location. There was sometimes 1 guide, sometimes 2, and they changed each day. They were not knowledgeable about the area. The guides and drivers were extremely rude, especially to female tourists (there were 2 drivers who were lovely). We drove through the Danakil Depression stopping at a couple viewpoints. At the salt flats we were told there were no camel caravans that day (in the end we saw a small one and everyone ran out to take a photo - the large group making it difficult to take a nice photo). We then stopped at a "salt pool" for swimming. The pool was actually the size of small hot tub, and about half the group could get in. Then we watched the sunset on the salt flats (this was also beautiful) as the drivers blasted music from the cars and tried to dance with female tourists while drinking Ethiopian wine. At night we slept on raised platforms with a foam mattress outside with no tents. There was a lot of wind and sand and we all had to sleep with scarves around our faces - it was a very uncomfortable night, but not cold. The stars would probably be amazing if it isn't during a full moon. Food was included this day. The food was extremely substandard. Lunch was a plate of plain rice. Dinner was a bit better with plain pasta, pieces of chicken, potatoes and vegetable soup. Only water is included on this tour, any other drinks (pop, beer) are not. Day 4: Dallol / Volcano hike - We woke up at 0430 (6 hours of sleep) to drive to Dallol to see the mineral deposits. This was a highlight as it was very beautiful scenery, and wasn't too hot due to the timing. We spent a good amount of time here. This day had a total of 8 hours of mostly off-road driving to get to the volcano. When we arrived at the volcano we were told that we wouldn't see lava, only smoke. Many of the tourists had come to see the lava lake and were very disappointed. Apparently there hasn't been visible lava for over 2 months. At 2130, after dinner, we started the hike 1.5 hour night hike to the volcano (bring a headlamp). It wasn't a terribly difficult hike, but the darkness and terrain makes it challenging and it is all uphill for the 1.5 hours. At the top we went to see the crater and there were a few tiny spots of lava visible. I didn't bother taking photos because it wouldn't have looked like anything. There was a large amount of toxic smoke coming from the crater and everyone was coughing and feeling sick. Some people vomited. We slept in the open air again that night on mattresses carried up by camels. The camp site was horrendous. There was garbage everywhere, including human waste and used toilet paper. We slept surrounded by and on top of this garbage. It was very cold. The Food was included this day. We had pasta with tomato sauce for lunch and rice with beets and potatoes and vegetable soup for dinner. Day 5 - Volcano sunrise / Saltwater lake / Drive to Mekele - We woke up at 0530 (5 hours of sleep) to walk to the crater to see the sunrise. You could also see the lava specks this morning. The sunrise was beautiful, although the toxic smoke was still causing people to cough and feel ill. After the sunrise we drove to a very large saltwater lake. This was another stunning location, but we only had 15 minutes to swim. After this we had lunch and drove 4.5 hours back to Mekele. I would not book this tour for this price again. I would absolutely recommend the church tours in Lalibela. I would only recommend the 3-day Danakil tour to someone with very low expectations, and to purchase the tour in Mekele for a much lower price. Most of us agreed on the tour that we were treated extremely poorly (terrible food, lack of communication, lack of respect from the drivers and guides) and misled as to the conditions of the tour. Some people had been promised tents to sleep in, most of us hadn't been informed to bring headlamps or swimsuits, or as to the conditions we would be facing. Overall we spent most of the time driving with repetitious views. I hope this review helps others make an informed decision about this tour.
Read more
Date of experience: February 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Daniel M, Owner at Highland Eco Trekking Tours Ethiopia
Responded Feb 10, 2020
Selam dear Jenna, Thanks for taking your time to write us your review! My apology that the driver who take you from Lalibela -Mekele was not helpful. I have talked with him and he will not be working with us anymore. Of course its listed on the excluding section that food and dinks is not included on the 1st and 2 day. The driver tried to explain to you, i even tried to talk with you on the phone but you refused to take my call. I have explained to you what to expect during the Danakil part tour, you seemed fine with it. There is no where promised we provide a tent. Detailed itinerary of the tour is also found on viator list you purchased your tour from. Danakil Depression is a huge desert and it ofcourse require drive to reach to each destinations. And the drivers play music to show the customers their culture dance and make them try it, there is nothing behind it. Some customers likes to have beer and wine while enjoying the sunset from the salt lake, thats why we have them with us on the tour. The hike to the volcano is during the night, b/c its very hot during the day (30th) and challenging. We paid lots money for entry to the depression, the nomads taking the money seems not to care about the trash, not only them but also some tour operators. It would be very helpful if yoi coild report for the tourism commission, they must take action. Thanks again for your review, and will definitely improve our service. Best regards
Read more
Bez T wrote a review Dec 2019
1 contribution
Luel was an amazing guide. Easily the best we’ve had in Ethiopia. His English was very good and he was very knowledgable about the area and culture of the host family. He translated where necessary and made sure our experience was special. Definitely request him if you are booking a tour with this company.
Read more
Date of experience: December 2019
Helpful
Share
Maxime B wrote a review Oct 2019
1 contribution
Daniel is a great guide. He gives you all the information needed to get there. Trustable. Local guide who know the people. Eco-friendly tour. Breathtaking views. Cold but worth it! Miss it already.
Read more
Date of experience: February 2019
Helpful
Share
JAM wrote a review Oct 2019
2 contributions1 helpful vote
I landed in Ethiopia knowing that I will go to the Danakil Depression but no idea how. After my guide from Addis Ababa got in touch with Daniel about helping me to get there, Daniel worked magic with only two days to go to get me on 3 day tour!! He was considerate, reliable and honest. He made an effort and came to meet me at the hotel I was staying and pitched on time too! 🙂 He was forthcoming with information and the price was more than reasonable compared to what most companies charge for same service. Thanks for making a dream happen, & really appreciate all your assistance including the shuttle service to get me to Mek’ele from Lalibela. I highly recommend Highland Eco Trekking for great service with personal touch & absolutely no admin stress experience.
Read more
Date of experience: October 2019
Helpful
Share
Previous