We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hector Wine Company

100 Reviews
Sorry, there are no tours or activities available to book online for the date(s) you selected. Please choose a different date.

Hector Wine Company

100 Reviews
Sorry, there are no tours or activities available to book online for the date(s) you selected. Please choose a different date.
100Reviews0Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 59
  • 27
  • 7
  • 2
  • 5
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
De-Outsider wrote a review Sep 2020
Detroit, Michigan927 contributions73 helpful votes
If your looking for good wine and fresh fruits and vegetables this place is perfect. They also had plenty of outdoor seating!
Read more
Date of experience: August 2020
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Jay man S wrote a review Aug 2020
Port Crane, New York6 contributions
We tried a couple of their sweet wines. As well as their semi- sweet wines. Shuck Yeah food truck was there. Had their lobster rolls and fried clams. Amazing. 10/10 recommend!
Read more
Date of experience: August 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from HWCAlexandra, Owner at Hector Wine Company
Responded Sep 1, 2020
Thank you so much for your kind review! We love the lobster roll with our semi-dry Riesling! Just curious, was there some reason you gave us 10/10 recommend but only 4/5 stars?
Read more
Debbie M wrote a review Jul 2020
45 contributions51 helpful votes
With the Governor of NY saying you have to have a snack whole drinking, this is the only place I had to spend $$ on a snack; we bought the least expensive thing, which was $5.00; nobody explained the wines, grapes, etc.. disappointing.
Read more
Date of experience: July 2020
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from HWCAlexandra, Owner at Hector Wine Company
Responded Jul 31, 2020
Sorry that you didn't enjoy your time with us. We are required by executive order to enforce that you purchase (the word purchase is actually written into the law) some kind of food item to go along with your alcoholic beverage as of July 17th. We've been doing our very best to make the most of it so it's certainly sad to hear of anyone being disappointed with us because of it. We have a local food market that we've been curating for years to enhance the local wine experience with local food, and have several snack options below $5, going as low as $2. We are happy to answer any and all questions about the wines, which are made by hand on site, and the grapes, which are grown across the street...but we have also eliminated the face to face tasting as a way to maintain social distancing and keep both our staff and guests safe. We'll continue to do the best we can in these changing and uncertain times.
Read more
lilacsapphire wrote a review Jun 2020
great neck, NY5 contributions1 helpful vote
When we visited the Hector Wine Company, we were in Phase 2 of re-opening. Hence, no drinking allowed inside the establishment. So, we shopped! Everyone was friendly, prices were very reasonable. Big parking lot, no stairs to climb. They had a lot of different kinds of wine, cheese, jam, crackers, pancake mix. We had a problem with an item that we bought. They sent us a refund immediately, no questions asked. Very honest people. Go to this place! You will not be disappointed.
Read more
Date of experience: June 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from HWCAlexandra, Owner at Hector Wine Company
Responded Jul 31, 2020
Thank you so much for your visit and your positive feedback! Hope to have you visit again sometime!
Read more
BKVA wrote a review Nov 2019
Virginia Beach, Virginia9 contributions
We had a very nice time, with the young lady pouring that day. She was friendly and then when asked a few questions gave us a lot of interesting information about their grapes and wines, as well as the winery's dogs who were laid back and friendly. We also met the vintner, Justin, who took the time to say hello and see what we tasted and thought of the wines. Their Rieslings are world class, and several of their Reds were also exceptional, with great depth of flavor and balance. Having grown up in the Finger Lakes region, I am so proud that they've captured the best of the grapes of the region in these wines and taken it to the next level!
Read more
Date of experience: June 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from HWCAlexandra, Owner at Hector Wine Company
Responded Nov 8, 2019
Thank you for your sweet review! We are a small winery, making everything by hand, and its such a pleasure to spend time with people who take the time to chat with us and enjoy our wines. Cheers and hope to see you again soon!
Read more
Previous