We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Great White Shark Tours

Features Animals
8 Swart Street | Van Dyks Bay, Gansbaai, Overstrand 7220, South Africa
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Great White Shark Tours tend to sell out - travelers recommend booking in advance!
More Info
$151.10*
and up
Shark Cage Diving and Viewing in Kleinbaai
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information ›
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
The owner and founder Brian McFarlane is a professional diver and skipper who has always made a living from the sea. He started diving for perlemoen (abalone) at a young age, then moved on to become a commercial fisherman for 6 years and spent another 6 years diving in search of wrecks along the southern coast of Africa. This was followed by the diving for diamonds from the sea-bed for the next 20 years.He has become a local legend with his fascinating tales about the sea and underwater experiences. During the time when Great White Shark fishing was allowed, Brian caught Great Whites, some weighing more than 1 tonne.Today, he dearly regrets this and now spends his time and efforts in finding the great beasts to be observed and photographed at close range. Brian has worked with the Great Whites for over 21 years.
  • Excellent81%
  • Very good14%
  • Average3%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
“great whites” (83 reviews)
“cape town” (73 reviews)
Open Now
Hours
Hours Today: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Suggested Duration: More than 3 hours
LOCATION
8 Swart Street | Van Dyks Bay, Gansbaai, Overstrand 7220, South Africa

Similar Things to Do in Gansbaai

Write a ReviewReviews (1,378)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"great experience"
in 73 reviews
"great whites"
in 83 reviews
"cape town"
in 73 reviews
"brian mcfarlane"
in 12 reviews
"white shark"
in 47 reviews
"these guys"
in 34 reviews
"sea sickness"
in 32 reviews
"from start to finish"
in 21 reviews
"once in a lifetime"
in 27 reviews
"bucket list"
in 32 reviews
"sandwiches"
in 18 reviews
"felt very safe"
in 14 reviews
"water visibility"
in 11 reviews
"great company"
in 18 reviews
"apex predator"
in 11 reviews
"nice breakfast"
in 14 reviews
"breakfast and lunch"
in 11 reviews
Filter

81 - 90 of 1,163 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2017

Great organization & management, food & drinks, facilities, motivated personnel and overall experience. Would definitely repeat with them and recommend it!More

Thank Aizpu7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharky41, Guest Relations Manager at Great White Shark Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2018

Hello Aizpu7, Thank you for the awesome review and recommendation of your cage diving trip with our company. We appreciate the kind words and are just so glad that we could add value to a most memorable shark adventure. Hopefully, we will see you again....More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2017

Unfortunately we did not see any Great White sharks on the day I was out on tour. Sadly, the Orca had been in the area recently and had killed a number of the great whites. I certainly do hope there were many Great Whites which...More

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
2  Thank biglabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharky41, Guest Relations Manager at Great White Shark Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2018

Hello Vince, Thank you for this beautiful review of your shark cage diving trip. We are so glad that you enjoyed every minute of your adventure and your appreciation of the marine wildlife that you have encountered. We appreciate the recommendation and will keep you...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2017

The team were very professional and took great proactive care in your wellbeing and a keen interest in ensuring you enjoyed yourself and got to see sharks. Even though we missed seeing a great white, we did see copperheads at close quarters!More

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank proz181060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharky41, Guest Relations Manager at Great White Shark Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2018

Hello cagediver, Thank you for the much-appreciated good review of your cage diving trip and the spirit of adventure you so clearly display. Close encounters with marine wildlife are always a privilege we cherish and we are so glad you feel the same. Copperhead sharks...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed December 28, 2017 via mobile

This is by far the best place to book with. The dive itself was very well run, we felt in safe hands and saw tons of sharks including a great white. We even got to go down twice. Combined with the delicious breakfast, incredible lunch,...More

1  Thank Raewyn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharky41, Guest Relations Manager at Great White Shark Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2018

HelloRaewyn, Thank you for the awesome review, the complementary observations and the 100% recommendation of our company. Shark cage diving is a once in a lifetime adventure that has usually taken months of careful planning. We are therefore so glad we could add value to...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2017

Had a great day out with Great White Shark Tours. Definatly a must do when in South Africa and we will do it again. GWST did a fantastic job, boat was great with plenty of room and the staff were professional providining a awesome experience.More

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank robertbA1206SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharky41, Guest Relations Manager at Great White Shark Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2018

Hello Robert, You are most kind in your review of your shark cage diving experience and I assure you it is greatly appreciated. According to tourism statistics, seeing a great white shark is the most recommended experience when visiting SouthAfrica and it is therefore so...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2017

More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharky41, Guest Relations Manager at Great White Shark Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2018

More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2017

the tour was very fun, other guests were mostly kind. video was delayed and not our trip, but they remedied it within a few weeks.More

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank warren_amanda92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharky41, Guest Relations Manager at Great White Shark Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2018

Hello Warren & Amanda, We are most grateful for your kind review of your cage diving trip appreciate the time you took in sharing your adventure with sharks here on Tripadvisor. All is well that ends well and we hope you will enjoy the priceless...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2017

It was a great day and we did see A LOT of sharks. Not the Big White one but copper sharks, which are quite impressive as well. As we did not see the Big White we got a 50% refund - which I thought was...More

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank heinrichs_torsten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharky41, Guest Relations Manager at Great White Shark Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2018

Hello heinrichs_torsten, We are truly happy that you had a great, fun day with all those copperhead sharks on your shark cage diving trip. Thank you for your appreciation and the kind review and your appreciation of the unexpected refund! We hope to see you...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2017

We had been told by multiple people there were very few great white sightings because of the orcas, but we saw at least 2 and it was amazing. We saw dozens of other large sharks as well. Crew did a great job and the whole...More

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank JDWHITE70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharky41, Guest Relations Manager at Great White Shark Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2018

Hello Cagediver, Encountering two shark species on one trip is such an awesome way to end a year! We are grateful for the beautiful review of cage diving trip and your appreciation of the efforts of our crew to add value to your shark cage...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2017

Big shame we never encountered any great whites but plenty of other sharks The staff were brilliant, i would highly recommend these guysMore

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank flannersWatford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharky41, Guest Relations Manager at Great White Shark Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2018

Hello flannersWatford, Thank you for the appreciative review in spite of your disappointment of not encountering the apex predators of the ocean! Luckily the copperhead sharks provided enough excitement and fun to make the whole trip worthwhile. The refund also helped to ease the disappointment....More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Gansbaai Hotels
Baleens
608 reviews
14.25 miles away
Birkenhead House
444 reviews
14.76 miles away
Harbour House Hotel
1,036 reviews
14.83 miles away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
752 reviews
14.91 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Fijn Coffee
5 reviews
.05 miles away
Kloeksathome
390 reviews
4.23 miles away
Thyme at Rosemary's Restaurant
646 reviews
2.44 miles away
Blue Goose
490 reviews
2.38 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Marine Dynamics
1,732 reviews
.12 miles away
White Shark Ventures
279 reviews
.05 miles away
Supreme Sharks
170 reviews
.13 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Haley D
March 16, 2018|
Answer
Response from Andlyn50 | Reviewed this property |
My advise would be to e mail the company for the info you require , but it is a great experiance not to be missed ,and the company are very profesional
0
Votes
Sabine161033
February 13, 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Sharky41 | Property representative |
Hallo Sabine, Thanks for the answers guys! You do not need any diving qualifications, Sabine. It is only breath-holding with a mask, diving suit and weight belt. The minimum age we prefer is 8 years of age. Sharks are... More
1
Vote
Paul S
January 11, 2018|
Answer
Response from Sharky41 | Property representative |
Hallo Paul, March is not high season as the sharks are moving from the location close to land to the winter feeding area- Dyer Island. However, there is shark activity all year round in Gansbaai. Regards.
0
Votes