Holden Manz Wine Estate
Holden Manz Wine Estate
4
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Monday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Sunday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

Top ways to experience Holden Manz Wine Estate and nearby attractions

See what travelers are saying
  • MDRedSox
    Newmarket, New Hampshire169 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    A Gem!
    Outstanding wines offered up by David, a very knowledgeable host. We really enjoyed our visit amongst the wine barrels downstairs. Cozy setup and we were not rushed at all. A gem of a stop a bit away from the town center and more than worth the visit! We enjoyed each wine we tasted.
    Visited July 2023
    Traveled as a couple
    Written July 16, 2023
  • TerryFol
    Perth, Australia37 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Great winery with nice reds
    This winery has a lovely setting, a simple but fulfilling menu ( the wagu burger goes well with the red wines). And some nice red wines. David looked after us as we sat in the sun and decided to not move for the afternoon.
    Visited September 2023
    Traveled as a couple
    Written September 18, 2023
  • Kathy K
    973 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    Very pleasant, cozy tasting room on a rainy day
    Did a premium tasting and lunch. There must have been 9 tastings with generous pours. Way too much. We couldn’t drink the entire glass or we would never have been able to walk out of there. Nice wines, less personalized than our leek and millenaux experience, but still good. Had a tasty Waygu burger on their limited lunch menu. Very reasonable prices.
    Visited September 2023
    Traveled as a couple
    Written September 29, 2023
  • Fearless65012016644
    1 contribution
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Simply one of the best places that we have stayed at over many years of visiting the a Cape .
    The experience at Holden-Manz was quite lovely . Starting with a very warm and sincere welcome by professional and delightful staff …. Our suite (one of only five suites) was superbly presented ,spacious and well appointed …fabulous artwork throughout the Manor House. Service akin to a top hotel , this is not just a BandB . Nothing was too much trouble and enjoying the gardens became a daily delight . My wife and I could not praise the staff more and we will definitely stay there in the future… a most relaxing two week stay ….. and the three dogs are great fun too .!!!
    Visited January 2024
    Traveled with family
    Written February 2, 2024
  • Mike_Skidmore
    Northampton, United Kingdom208 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    Fabulous picnic lunch.
    Visited as part of our day’s tour of vineyards on the Blue line of the Franschhoek Wine Tram. Had booked a picnic lunch which was absolutely fabulous. Lots of wonderful goodies in the basket, together with a bottle of wine and a bottle of water. Cost of the whole lot was about the cost of the bottle of wine alone in the UK.
    Visited March 2024
    Traveled as a couple
    Written March 13, 2024
  • Rayan R
    Milnerton, South Africa477 contributions
    3.0 of 5 bubbles
    Good wine! Let down by service
    Nice place, Good Wine, let down by service. When I arrived the place was busy, I was getting my next tasting promptly. Then once everyone left, I asked for the bill. Received my last 2 glasses but no bill. 15mins later.. still no bill. It makes it hard to get to your next booking when they refuse to deliver the bill but you can hear them chatting side.
    Visited March 2024
    Traveled solo
    Written March 25, 2024
These reviews are the subjective opinion of Tripadvisor members and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles260 reviews
Excellent
153
Very good
46
Average
17
Poor
21
Terrible
23

Brigitte B
Menthon-Saint-Bernard, France93 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 • Couples
We came for the picnic lunch and was extremely disappointed. We have had picnic in other wine estates and loved it . As we were staying at the hotel in Holden Manz we thought we would try the picnic. What a disappointment
You are given a basket with some food ( not much) and a bottle of rose ( we would have preferred red but that was not an option)
Paper plates and wooden cutlery, plastic wine glasses. Told to walk into the vineyard find the spot in the trees and that’s it ! The wind was blowing gales so you can imagine no way to eat off the paper plates no way to enjoy any form of picnic. They should have told us the picnic would not be great due to the wind and offered us to have lunch inside it was empty !
The service was terrible, food was ok but very small portions
I strongly recommend the boschendal picnic much bretter experience and much cheaper !
This was much higher priced , I guess as they included a bottle of rose which we did not drink !
Thankfully the service at the hotel was much better. However the experience at the wine estate did not leave a great impression.
Written February 23, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Brigitte We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your picnic. We do regularly swap out the rose wine for another wine so we are a bit puzzled why this was not offered as a solution. I was made aware of your unhappiness by our staff in the country house and did try to connect with you. Kind regards, Gerard Holden
Written March 3, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

gogecko747
Cape Town Central, South Africa43 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 • Family
Very disappointed with Holden Manz. Seating is provided under a concrete covered veranda. Zero atmosphere. It was scorching hot with no ventilation or fans. Not an Oak tree in sight. Additionally they seemed short staffed and it took ages to get a tasting going. Poorly organized. The wines are very expensive and in my opinion, does not justify the price. This was probably the worst wine tasting experience I have ever had. I won’t go back.
Written February 16, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
We are sorry that you didn't enjoy the beautiful mountain and vineyard views from our tasting room terrace. It was a particularly hot day when you visited (40C) which we don't have any control over and you could have had your tasting in the air conditioned tasting room with views onto our barrel cellar. Describing it as the worst wine experience is probably a significant over exaggeration but I guess we can't please all the people all the time. Come and try us on a cooler day maybe. With kind regards, Gerard Holden Co-Owner
Written March 3, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

HelpfulTravler
London, UK91 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2020 • Family
Before I start I had to delete my initial review as i was asked me to change it. (Not allowed to tell you everything)

I wish I had read the other reviews before booking our wedding here. Please do NOT book and make the same MISTAKE.

The venue itself could be great but it’s let down by the terrible Managment and the incompetency of the staff and the owner.

The service was very very slow & we had to ask for our guests drinks to be topped up repeatedly. The bar staff openly asked the guests for tips at the bar and table.

The music would be left on so loud when speeches were being made no one could hear.

We had privately rented out the venue for our wedding, or so we thought.....The Managment closed down the wedding and band at 11pm and we’re told we would be able to continue in the “country house” not mentioned beforehand.

The staff were controlling, unfriendly and unhelpful and would not allow us to make use of any of the rooms we were told we had hired. We were moved from the venue to the country house at 11pm where we had planned to continue entertaining our guest and finish off our special day.

The lights were all off. We were told there was no music allowed. Drinks that we had previously arranged were made very difficult to access and the staff would stand there unwilling to help or serve our guests.

This venue left us VERY disappointed and ruined our special day.

It really has left us upset, embarrassed and devastated. I do hope this acts as a warning to anyone else hoping to visit Holden Manz and the unprofessional poor attitude.

We hope to enlighten others how bad this venue is for a wedding let alone day trips. Avoid avoid avoid.

Please check other reviews carefully too.
Written September 7, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Julie & Eric
Cape Town Central, South Africa1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2021
Our Tuk Tuk driver Frances was amazing and suggested a stop at holden manz wine estate as a last stop on our tour. We had mentioned to him that we particularly like red wine but did not know what a treat we were in for.
We were so very impressed with the wines and also with knowledgeable Neil who guided us through the tastings. We tried Big G 2016, Eliysium & the Merlot reserve 2016. Spectacular. If you ever get a chance to visit this Estate grab it and Enjoy. So glad we went, thank you very much Frances & Neil. We will be back!
Written March 20, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for your very kind comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Holden Manz and that Neil looked after you so well. Please come and see us again. With best regards, Gerard Holden Co-Owner
Written April 14, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Manuel L
Madrid, Spain2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2022 • Couples
The cellar tour with Neil has been excellent. We come from Spain, a region of renowned wines and wineries, and, even so, we have been surprised by his entire explanation. It is a small winery that produces few but very special wines, mixing different grapes (Syrah, merlot, carbernet franc, chardonnay, etc.)
Regarding the tasting, we chose the Diamond that includes a variety of whites and reds. We loved it! In addition, we have had the pleasure of trying some roses and the Reserve Cabernet Franc, AMAZING (just over 2,000 bottles). We liked it so much that we have made an order for Spain of the bottles that we liked the most. The site was wonderful, with views of the vineyards and the mountains.
Totally recommended!

P.S. try this cellar tour in the early morning to avoid big groups.
Written April 2, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

ktsh05
Parker, CO14 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2022 • Couples
We booked our tour through the tuk tuk. Highly recommend paying extra for them to set up the tastings on your behalf. Theswill was amazing at Holden Manz. He was charming, knowledgeable, friendly and engaging. #awesome!
Written May 12, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

KerBee
Muscat, Oman76 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2023 • Couples
We were really disappointed in our wine tasting. We were staying at the Guest House attached to the estate for our first wedding anniversary and we were given a complimentary wine tasting which was a really lovely surprise. We had booked a trip on the Wine Tram Tour but at breakfast, we were informed that the wine tasting rooms at Holden Manz were expecting us that day so we decided to cut our Wine Tram Tour short in order to fit that in. What a mistake. When we arrived at the Holden Manz estate, we were the only ones there and the staff member that served us seemed a bit irritated that we had even arrived (even though we’d been informed that we were expected). He then gave us each one glass and that was the only glass we got for the entirety of our tasting. He just kept pouring different wines with different colours all into this one glass. After being at some incredible wine estates on the tram tour and experiencing exceptional wine tastings at all of those, we were a bit shocked that this was happening. Every time the staff member popped by to give us a new wine and race through a bit of information on the wine as quickly as he could, he’d then leave to carry on a loud phone conversation he was having with with a distributor where they were clearly having a bit of an argument so we enjoyed that bit of entertainment.
At the other wine farms we had visited that day, the staff were all immaculately and professionally dressed but at Holden Manz, this staff member was dressed very casually in what seemed to be tracksuit pants.

Our two stars for this estate are based purely on the beautiful view of the vineyard and mountains, and the exceptional wine. But don’t worry about giving us a complimentary tasting again. We’d much rather just stay on the tram tour.
Written August 8, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Mschmidi
Bangkok, Thailand1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2021 • Friends
We arrived at Holden Manz and got a glass of rosé immediatlely. After that we got a nice meat&cheese platter and and wide range of wines to taste. Neil‘s service was super professional and he told us about the history of the winefarm. I would recommend this place and will come back!
Written February 8, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for your kind review. We are very happy you enjoyed meeting Neil. We look forward to welcoming you back to Holden Manz in the future. Best regards Gerard Holden
Written April 14, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Jenny P
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 • Couples
We came to check out this wine estate as a potential wedding venue. The hospitality received from Tammi and Neil was top class. Lovely people who made our impromptu visit extremely personable and special. We were shown around the entire estate by Tammi who then left us in Neil’s capable hands for some wine tasting. He gave us some great explanations behind the wines and chose wines to suit our tastes. Thank you to the both of you. See you again soon we hope!
Written January 16, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi guys It was great to meet you both when you visited. Looking forward to meet you on your wedding day! Best regards, Gerard Co-Owner
Written March 3, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Mike_Skidmore
Northampton, UK208 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2024 • Couples
Visited as part of our day’s tour of vineyards on the Blue line of the Franschhoek Wine Tram. Had booked a picnic lunch which was absolutely fabulous. Lots of wonderful goodies in the basket, together with a bottle of wine and a bottle of water. Cost of the whole lot was about the cost of the bottle of wine alone in the UK.
Written March 13, 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-10 of 217
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

Holden Manz Wine Estate - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024)

Frequently Asked Questions about Holden Manz Wine Estate



All Franschhoek HotelsFranschhoek Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Franschhoek
All things to do in Franschhoek
Day Trips in Franschhoek
RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars