We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mont Rochelle

Dassenberg Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
+27 21 876 3000
Call
Website
Save
Book In Advance
More Info
$124.33*
and up
Full-Day Winelands Tour with Tastings from Cape Town
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information ›
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent50%
  • Very good28%
  • Average17%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travelers talk about
LOCATION
Dassenberg Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
CONTACT
Website
Call
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 40 of 101 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2016

We really enjoyed our stay/stop here. It's a stunning & peaceful location & very easy to find not far from the town. The staff were friendly & the service 1st class, nothing was any trouble & a very peaceful & relaxed vibe & energy to...More

Thank M M
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2016

Dear M M, Thank you so much for coming to see us whilst you were passing through Franschhoek, it may have been a short stay but it really was sweet; we just loved having you with us. It was wonderful to read that you thought...More

Reviewed August 13, 2016 via mobile

Had an amazing time here. We had a group of family and friends, who all enjoyed the food and the wines. We ate at the Country Kitchen. I would definitely go back there again.More

Thank BuffaloQ
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2016

Dear BuffaloQ, Thank you so much for taking the time to share these lovely words about your visit to Mont Rochelle. We think that nothing quite beats sharing food and wine with family and friends, and we are so pleased that you chose Mont Rochelle...More

Reviewed July 3, 2016

Had the most wonderful evening at Mont Rochelle. Superbly friendly staff, great service, crackling fire, delicious food, best company ever - it was the stuff great memories are made of! Thank you for the special service and great attention to detail, guys! Your hospitality was...More

Thank Nunca_Nunca
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2016

Dear Nunca_Nunca, Thank you so much for taking the time to write this glowing review of your evening at Mont Rochelle. Whether you’re staying a few hours or a few days, we always love to spoil our guests with our service and food, especially by...More

Reviewed May 18, 2016

Lazy Saturday lunch over cheese platter and lovely wines in excellent surrounding. The service was a little bit slow but the vibe and atmosphere made up for it.More

Thank ilovecappuccino
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2016

Dear ilovecappuccino, Thank you very much for taking the time to write this wonderful review of your lunch at Mont Rochelle. It was fabulous to hear that you enjoyed a lazy afternoon with us accompanied by a cheese platter and nice glass of wine. We...More

Reviewed March 16, 2016 via mobile

Had a very leisurely wine tasting and lunch in fantastic surroundings. Thoroughly recommend a visit. This was the highlight visit of our wine tour todayMore

Thank StHug
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2016

Dear StHug, We were delighted to hear that you joined us recently for a leisurely wine tasting and lunch. That certainly is our favourite way to while away an afternoon and we were thrilled to hear that your visit to Mont Rochelle was the highlight...More

Reviewed March 7, 2016

Just spent two nights at Mont Rochelle and we were thrilled from beginning to end. We've moved onto Knysna now, which whilst beautiful, is not the same as Franchhoek or Mont Rochelle. Everything was just perfect... From the greeting upon arrival to the room and...More

1  Thank LondonMarkMike
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2016

Dear LondonMarkMike, Thank you so much for taking the time to share such a wonderful review us; safe to say we didn’t want you to leave either! We were absolutely delighted to hear that you were thrilled with your Mont Rochelle experience from beginning to...More

Reviewed February 25, 2016

We stayed for 3 nights at Mont Rochelle and were very pleased with our experience. The estate is close to Franschoek but in a totally rural setting. The views from rooms , terraces and gardens are delightful. The propert is recently refurbished and the decor...More

Thank mangerbien
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2016

Dear Mangerbien, We were absolutely delighted to read your recent review of Mont Rochelle and wanted to take this opportunity to thank you for sharing your experience with us. How wonderful that you were able to enjoy lunch in Country Kitchen as well as dinner...More

Reviewed February 16, 2016 via mobile

Went there on the wine tram. The setting is great with good views, but no one really wanted to carry out a tasting for us and the other guests. Service was very slow and slightly arrogant. I would skip this one next time.More

1  Thank Josef S
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2016

Dear Josef S, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us following your recent visit to Mont Rochelle on the wine tram. Whilst it was lovely to hear you enjoyed the setting and the views I was very sorry to hear...More

Reviewed February 8, 2016

Visited via Train tram and the tasting was well carried out and interesting. The blended red with Mourvèdre and Shiraz being the best. However, the visit was marred. A young couple , on honeymoon, were sat opposite us . Simply having wine and and a...More

1  Thank Frances W
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2016

Dear Frances W, We were delighted to hear that you had visited us via the Train tram and that you thought the wine tasting was interesting and carried out well. Mourvèdre is one of our absolute favourites and we are so pleased to hear that...More

Reviewed December 22, 2015 via mobile

We only went to Mont Rochelle for the wine tasting therefore I cannot comment on the other offerings. The estate is stunning and the decor is lovely. The employee serving us couldn't tell us much about the different wines beyond what was written on the...More

Thank Ilb2289
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2016

Dear IzzyB01, Thank you for taking the time to share your valued feedback with us following your recent visit to Mont Rochelle. Whilst it was lovely to hear you thought the estate was stunning and your enjoyed the décor, I was most disappointed to read...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 11 hotels in Franschhoek
Mont Rochelle
609 reviews
.32 miles away
Leeu Estates
103 reviews
.64 miles away
The Last Word Franschhoek
513 reviews
.73 miles away
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
58 reviews
.76 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Ryan's Kitchen
1,093 reviews
.75 miles away
The French Connection
1,542 reviews
.77 miles away
Reuben's Restaurant and Bar
176 reviews
.79 miles away
Allora
897 reviews
.76 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Franschhoek Wine Tram
1,837 reviews
.79 miles away
Franschhoek Pass
812 reviews
.78 miles away
Grand Provence Estate
372 reviews
.73 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
667Nancy
February 9, 2015|
Answer
Response from ANNENIreland | Reviewed this property |
You would need to check website. Our travel agent made our reservation
0
Votes