George Street Playhouse

George Street Playhouse, New Brunswick: Address, Phone Number, George Street Playhouse Reviews: 4.5/5

George Street Playhouse
4.5
What people are saying

Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

4.5
83 reviews
Excellent
59
Very good
20
Average
2
Poor
0
Terrible
2

audreylebowitz
Manalapan, NJ1,556 contributions
Nov 2019 • Friends
Went with 4 other friends to the newly renovated Play house and was pleasantly surprised. It's easy to walk into now with our any steps. Very refreshed with open lobby and bar. The theatre seems intimate with new seats. We sat on left front and it was comfortable and easy to see. We saw Renee Taylor in her one person performance of her Life on a Diet. She's 82 years old and going strong. She had quite an interesting life whuch she revealed. She likes to be busy and as long as there is life and food, she's doing it. I will definitely go back to this theatre again. Parking lots are all around. You can pre-pay.
Written November 27, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

TeamMan
Princeton, NJ1,426 contributions
Apr 2019 • Couples
. . .Second rate venue. We have been coming to the George for years and love it. Very high quality productions and a great selection of shows. The current show, "The Immigrant" is no exception. It was wonderful!

I know the current theatre is temporary while the new arts complex is under construction, but it is pretty bad. There are high school auditoriums that are much better. And while I agree that it's nice having a free parking lot adjacent to the theater, leaving after the show is a bit chaotic with poor lighting and no signs indicating how to exit. A parking attendant would help.

I look forward to the visiting the George at the new arts center in the fall. I hope ticket prices don't increase to help pay for the new theater.
Written April 7, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Arline Zatz
Metuchen, NJ888 contributions
Nov 2018 • Couples
We have an annual subscription to this theatre and renew each year because it saves money on the tickets and we get first row center seats. However, most seats are fine anywhere in the theater. It has moved from the New Brunwick location to its temporary location on the Rutgers campus at College Farm Road off Route 1. We wish it would stay there because the parking lot is only steps away, but it's a small theater - too small for the amazing number of people who love to attend the pays - and next year its large new theater will be opened back in New Brunswick with an adjoining parking area.. Come early and you can have coffee and refreshments in the small cafe (fee), or mingle with other folks. The first two plays this year were great; we're hoping the rest are, too. It's rare for us not to enjoy the plays although once in a while we've been disappointed. Tickets are very reasonable and often famous actors are on stage like Tyne Daly. Numerous restaurants are nearby, too.
Written November 29, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for your comments Arline! We look forward to seeing you throughout this season and next year at the New Brunswick Performing Arts Center.
Written November 30, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Prudence7
Monmouth Beach89 contributions
Mar 2017 • Friends
This season the plays were awful . Theatre is difficult to navigate if you have mobility issues.just saw "bad Jews"written by anti Semitic Jew.awful story dreadful acting. Had a headache from screaming actors-w/their terrible script
Written March 30, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
We're sorry to hear you did not enjoy the production. We do an access ramp on the side of the theater and can make seating arrangements for our patrons with mobility issues. We are also excited to let you know that following this season, a new performing arts center will be built opening 2019. In addition, our interim space which we will announce soon will also be more accessible.
Written April 25, 2017
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

audreylebowitz
Manalapan, NJ1,556 contributions
Mar 2017 • Friends
We came here with a big group from our Community to see "Bad Jews". The overall consensus was that it was a hit. The theatre does need a makeover with some new carpeting, etc., but overall it has comfortable seating. We sat in the higher level seats towards the right side. We were able to see everything without straining except for stage Right. I don't believe it hurt us. The play we saw was without a doubt excellent and had top notch acting. Although Broadway is still thrilling, this offers fantastic shows with a much more reasonable price point . Many times these shows go off to Broadway from here. I will definitely go back
Written March 29, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

TeamMan
Princeton, NJ1,426 contributions
Oct 2016 • Couples
We have been fans of George Street for years. Artistic Director, David Saint has been bringing high quality productions to the central New Jersey area for some 20 years now. He has a knack for obtaining good plays and then getting fine stage actors to work with him. Saint often directs the play too, as his does with the wonderful current production of "Mama's Boy" starring the gifted Betsy Aidem.

The George is small ---about 300 seats--- but the tiered rows means there is not a bad seat in the house (see photos). I am also always impressed with what the set designers do with the limited space available to them.

The ticket prices are quite reasonable making George Street a great value, too. Yes, it's an old building but they make it work. There's even a comfortable lounge with drinks and snacks available for purchase.

Parking is a challenge in New Brunswick. So, allow extra time to find a spot and walk to the theater
Written October 26, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

beggermann
Milltown, NJ7 contributions
Jun 2016 • Friends
We have been subscribers for over 20 seasons and seen the theater mature and each season become more satisfying and exciting for theater lovers. Last season will be hard to top with offerings like "The 2nd Mrs. Wilson" and "My Name is Asher Lev".
Written August 2, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

ScottH190
Tuscaloosa, AL35 contributions
Apr 2016 • Family
During the four years that our daughter has been a student at Rutgers, we have seen three excellent productions at the George Street Playhouse: "Clever Little Lies," "The Second Mrs. Wilson," and "My Name is Asher Lev." I would not hesitate to return to GSP to see whatever might be playing when we next visit New Brunswick.
Written May 3, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

theprincetongourmet
Princeton NJ73 contributions
Feb 2016
The George St. Playhouse is a Professional theater which presents live drama and comedy productions, both new and revivals. Although there is an occasional musical, the venue is too small and lacks space for more than a small combo of live instruments. The quality of the productions vary more than the consistent high quality of the McCarter Theater play series.. Ticket prices are about one-third of comparable venues in Manhattan.It is handicap accessible, though the rows up the stadium steps are not.
The last play I attended, Nureyev's Eyes, was currently written, and had an excellent scipt and cast.
The seating is stadium style, and people with mobility or balance problems should try for seats in the front rows. There are assistive listening devices for the hearing impaired.
I no longer subscribe, but have attended individual plays when the reviews or word of mouth is good.
There is a cafe bar with light refreshments and seating off the lobby.
Written March 18, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

KerryKern
Highland Park, NJ24 contributions
Jan 2016
Stars are often from Broadway, and the quality is high for a local theater. Play selection varies from drams through musicals.
Written March 15, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 83
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Frequently Asked Questions about George Street Playhouse