Howling Woods Farm
Howling Woods Farm
5
About
Howling Woods Farm, located in Jackson, New Jersey, is a 501(c)(3) educational facility with the primary purpose of teaching visitors about the true nature of wolves. We also rescue and place a limited number of wolfdog hybrids and northern breed canines. You can find us at public events, with our animals, throughout the State of New Jersey. Located in Jackson Township, New Jersey, we are situated on a 10 acre pinewoods forest in the Pinelands National Reserve. Tours by appointment only. Guided walking tours are 1 hour long during which you interact with our wolfdogs while learning about wolves, wolfdogs and our rescue mission.
Duration: 1-2 hours
Meets animal welfare guidelines
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Top ways to experience nearby attractions

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

5.0
5.0 of 5 bubbles90 reviews
Excellent
76
Very good
11
Average
1
Poor
1
Terrible
1

Iris G
Wallkill, NY2 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2020 • Family
It was great to see wolf dogs as they are as close as I will get to a wolf. The guide was knowledgeable and friendly and engaged the group. The tour should limit the amount of people per group especially during this pandemic and so that everyone can have a chance to interact and have a picture with the wolf dogs. My group was large and no one cared to move on and allow the others a chance to be around the wolf dogs. The videos posted on your site were encouraging as to having a great interaction with the wolf dogs but unfortunately that was not my experience. I will tell family and friends about this organization and encourage them to visit. The wolf dogs are beautiful.
Written September 28, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for your positive comments...they are appreciated. We do our best to make sure tours are informative and educational, and that visitors have the opportunity to interact with the animals. You stated that that you did not have the opportunity to interact with the animals, or have your photo taken with them. As the owner of Howling Woods Farm, I am surprised to learn this. While we do not force our animals to interact or have their photos taken with visitors, I have never heard about a visitor who did have the opportunity to interact with at least a few of our wolfdogs. If you’re willing, please provide the date that you visited and the time of your tour. If you do not wish to post here, please send an email to luv2howl@optonline.net, or call my cell at 732-551-4556.
Written October 1, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

dennis m
Port Chester, NY2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2023 • Family
What an experience to see and interact with these magnificent animals. Their appearance showed they were well cared for. The staff showed their knowledge by talking about the wolf dogs. Questions were answered freely. We had a wonderful time and plan on returning in the spring.
Written November 20, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Brandon M
Bowie, MD28 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2023 • Friends
So my visit was a little different. I rescued a wolf and brought it to the sanctuary. But I also got a guided tour so here we go!

I had really great, fun time with really well cared for and obviously happy wolves and a few coydogs. I've been to a few sanctuaries and this is the most interactive. You really fall in love with these creatures after a few hours here and you learn very quickly that wolves are big fluffy goofballs!!! There is an age restriction for a true interactive experience NOT because they are dangerous but because they are such goofballs they want to bump into you and the workers are afraid to have them bump into children and knock them over. So just be aware of the restrictions but still have no fear.

The staff is very knowledgeable and it is incredibly evident throughout my time here they truly care about the animals here and take outstanding care of them. They also have a really cool gift shop. I have become pretty close with Debbie and Colleen here. Most wonderful people you could ever meet.

The sanctuary is run and paid for fully by donations and the cost of the tours, so I like to donate. I buy quarter cows and pigs every year so I ask the butcher to save everything and I donate all the quality trimmings to the sanctuary. These big boys and girls eat a lot! So please consider that when you visit.

I love this place and plan to go back a few times.
Written February 11, 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

missparker1208
Hartford, CT23 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2015 • Couples
I planned a trip to 6 Flags and since I was coming all the way from CT I wanted to make the best of it and I absolutely love animals so I called these people a few times with no answers finally I wrote an email with some questions got responses and left my number for them to call to schedule an appointment. So first of all they call me at about 9 p.m. and we planned to leave really early the next day for our 4 hour drive so I was already asleep I answer the phone and I'm talking to this guy and he say "what were you sleeping or something" and I replied yes his response was "oh"... not sorry but just oh smh so then after an awkward conversation which he made it seem like I was an inconvenience instead of a customer I get an appointment for the next day. Unfortunately I was unable to make it to NJ do to an emergency as soon as I was able to I emailed him apologizing for missing my appointment and explained that there had been an emergency but I intended to try to make it down the next day and the response I got was "if we make an appointment for you tomorrow or in the future we will require a 50% deposit by credit card over the phone"... how do you make someone pay 50% of a donation? But besides that no sympathy nothing just rude throughout the whole process.
Written July 2, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Kristen S
Howell, NJ1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2015 • Family
I found out about this place via my friends posting pictures over instagram. I couldn't believe they actually allow you to go into the wolves pens and pet them, so of course I had to check it out for myself being the dog lover I am. A man answered the phone when I made my appointment, and he seemed to rush me through the process of making an appointment, it was a little confusing and seemed unorganized and there are some restrictions. I had to call a few times before anyone answered, I left messages but no one got back to me. I was told to bring food but you can't feed the dogs. After the appointment making process I wasn't sure what to expect. When I arrived I was pleasantly greeted by my tour guide Donna. There seems to be a disconnect between the office and who actually gives you the tour, the tour guide was very friendly and welcoming.

The dogs are stunning and friendly. You are taken through 3 pens and you get to meet around 10 wolf hybrids. They give kisses, roll over for belly rubs, and the guides will pose them so you can get pictures of yourself with the wolf. The guide explains how the rescue works and where each wolf came from.

Overall, the experience is absolutely amazing and a must see for any animal lover. Making an appointment can be annoying, but when you get there the experience is worth it.
Written July 31, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Kristin P
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2015
There are so few things to do in NJ that are once in a lifetime opportunities and this is by far one of the most interesting and exciting adventures I've had. I read some reviews before I went and most were positive but a couple struck me by surprise especially after seeing and hearing about what this facility does for these animals. These are not 100% wolves, they are wolf dogs which is why we can go in their pens and socialize with them. Anyone going in there expecting to socialize with a purebred wolf is barking up the wrong tree. These animals have been rescued from all walks of life including fur farms (sad but true). Worth every penny, I'd do it again and have recommended many friends to go--A++
Written January 2, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

pshoff6
Pennsylvania43 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2014 • Family
My family of six (kids 22, 20, 18, 16) went here with my sister's family (kids 19,16) to visit the wolfdogs. We had called to set up an appointment and Megan, our tour guide, was wonderfully knowledgeable and did an excellent job explaining how Howling Woods acquires the dogs and how they take care of them. It was an incredible experience and we all said we felt like we were standing in the middle of Yellowstone Park with wolves. The wolves are gorgeous and more wary of you than you are of them. We got incredible pictures and it was something that all of my kids said they were so happy they got to experience. Wear old clothing and shoes. Watch the videos before you go to give you an idea of what your experience will be like. You can have as much or as little interaction with the wolves as you want. I recommend a lot of interaction as it is truly wonderful!
Written December 31, 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Krissybx2
Bronx, NY49 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2019
This place was fantastic!!! I had no idea what to expect but i had always wanted to be able to interact with wolves. It was easy to find and the staff was absolutely great!

The tour is about an hour or a little more. They bring you into different area of there outdoor facility where different wolf dogs are kept. They give you a lot of educational information while they and even you get to interact with these beautiful animals. Truly amazing and educational experience.

What i loved the most was how the wolf dogs adored and respected the staff. You could tell they were loved and treated very well.
Written September 5, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Krissybx2, Thank you for your review. Your post spoke to it, and we emphasize to visitors they are visiting wolfdogs, not pure wolves. Our mission is to let folks know about the natural history and human conflicts with wolves, at the same time allowing them to interact with our wolfdogs.
Written September 11, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

jill k
10 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2019 • Friends
Not what I expected but enjoyable and educational too. Anamials are very well kept & cared for. People are pleasant and friendly. Gift shop prices are not crazy either. Need to be sure to enough stock in all sizes. Had a great time!
Written March 20, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you Jill K. We are always looking to improve our visitors experience. If you don't mind me asking, what were you expecting? Do you have any suggestions on improvements we can make?
Written March 21, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Boysnpets
Leonia NJ5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2016 • Friends
I was with a group of six - two of whom have been here many times before. I was quite unprepared for the experience. I didn't realize that we would actually be in the pen with the wolves and that all of them were able to handle visitors. Honestly couldn't believe my experience. The lecture given on the tour was both informative and interesting and any questions the group asked were answered immediately. I would recommend this experience to anyone who loves animals. Children over ten would my suggestions - those who respect and treat animals fairly and listen to all rules stated. It was well woth the hour ride down from Bergen County.
Written October 31, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-10 of 86
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

Howling Woods Farm - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024)

All things to do in Jackson
RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars