We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Plenty of rides

We were here with a 4 and 6 year old on a Saturday at the end of August. The park was not too... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
1Jannie
,
United States
Perfect summer cool down

A great way to cool down from the summer heat, bring your cooler with snacks and drinks then enjoy... read more

Reviewed August 8, 2019
Natalie P
via mobile
Read all 342 reviews
All photos (35)
Full view
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent23%
  • Very good30%
  • Average18%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible17%
Travelers talk about
“adventure river”(10 reviews)
“dragon's den”(10 reviews)
“bring your own”(25 reviews)
About
No one packs more fun into a water park than Water Country! We’ve got over 26 acres of your kind of fun for the whole family. Then again, we are New England's Largest, Cleanest, Safest, and Friendliest Waterpark! With cabanas and picnic areas, Water...more
Contact
2300 Lafayette Rd, Portsmouth, NH 03801-5602
Website
+1 603-427-1111
Call
Improve This Listing
Recommended experiences in and around Portsmouth
from $82.00
More Info
from $40.00
More Info
from $29.99
More Info
Reviews (342)
Filter reviews
338 results
Traveler rating
80
91
63
43
61
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
80
91
63
43
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviews adventure river dragon's den bring your own life jackets fried dough bare feet water rides rented tubes short lines fun slides cooler summer blast thrill longest
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 338 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Came with my two brothers, 16 and up, on labor day Monday, the last day the park was open for the summer. Hours 10:30-5:00pm. We were there taking rides from about 12:45-3:45 and then got changed to leave. They closed the rides at 4 due...More

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank azz90d
Danielle-WC, Manager at Water Country, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for closing out the season with us! Glad everyone had a great day. Overcast days like that are seriously some of the BEST times to visit, as you say, there's little crowds and no lines. The park is yours so you can ride all...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were here with a 4 and 6 year old on a Saturday at the end of August. The park was not too busy . We had short lines or walked right on most slides. Spent some time in the kids section, but the kids...More

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank 1Jannie
Danielle-WC, Manager at Water Country, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review! So glad that you were able to include us into your plans this summer! We can't wait to see you again next year! :-)

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We traveled to Water Country on Monday, August 19th. We live in New York, ten minutes from an extremely popular water park. We expected it to be crowded, but we did not expect the poor oversight and staff shortages that were so evident. We rented...More

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Kathy M
Danielle-WC, Manager at Water Country, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are so sorry that your visit was not better. You are always able to bring your own food to the park to save time and money. We also make every effort to ensure that the park is always clean and well kept. If you...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This place is nothing like they show on tv commercials! It’s way over priced and they charge you to park. You also have to rent the tubes for the wave pool and lazy river for another $8 each. Not enough lounge chairs. Life jackets are...More

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Kalu23
Danielle-WC, Manager at Water Country, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are so sorry that your visit was not better. We added over 500 chairs for guests to utilize this season. If you check out our website, you will also find that we offer deals throughout the year when you buy online.You can always bring...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Unfortunately my family and I planned to go to Water Country at the hottest day of this Summer. We took a huge line just to have our bags checked. A clue: buy the tickets online, or you will have to take another long line to...More

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank febarcelar
Danielle-WC, Manager at Water Country, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Sorry your experience wasn't better. If you are able to visit the park on a weekday, or a day when the weather is a little cooler, you are likely to find smaller crowds and less lines throughout the park, for a more enjoyable experience.

Reviewed August 8, 2019 via mobile

A great way to cool down from the summer heat, bring your cooler with snacks and drinks then enjoy the thrills of the wave pool and Water slides. Great area for the little ones to splash and play and a relaxing lazy river experience just...More

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank Natalie P
Danielle-WC, Manager at Water Country, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks so much for including us in your summer plans! We are glad that you enjoyed the park and can't wait to see you again next summer! =)

Reviewed August 3, 2019

Visit was on Friday August 2nd. These are my complaints. 1. Not enough shaded areas. 2. Not enough seating through out park. (Entrances/exits to slides, eating areas) 3. Woman's bathroom floor were disgusting, though out the day. 4. I found only 3 drinking water fountains,...More

Date of experience: August 2019
2  Thank RafaelC1314
Danielle-WC, Manager at Water Country, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2019

Thank you for visiting the park; we appreciate you sharing your feedback. I hope you mentioned the restrooms needed attention to a team member or Guest Relations so we had the ability to address the situation in real time for yourself and others. The seagulls...More

Reviewed August 3, 2019 via mobile

Made the Trip from Beverly, MA on a very sunny day. Check groupon for deals rather than buying direct from the park. Parking is $5 The park wasn’t too busy as it was a week day, there was lots of choice of loungers when we...More

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Alist2502
Danielle-WC, Manager at Water Country, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2019

Thanks for visiting and for leaving a review! You're absolutely correct, weekdays are a great time to visit if you can; you'll find much smaller crowds and be able to enjoy the park to its fullest. The tube rental isn't required, it is an option...More

Reviewed July 22, 2019

I was at water country with my kids on 7/20/2019. It was really hot. We were on the other side of the water park and one of the kids felt dehydrated. Thinking they gave courtesy ice water we went into the Cantina and asked for...More

Date of experience: July 2019
2  Thank travelfort
Danielle-WC, Manager at Water Country, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2019

Are you able to email us at WCGuestService@palaceentertainment.com to provide a phone number where we can give you a call to discuss your visit? We'd appreciate the opportunity to learn more and extend our sincerest apologies.

Reviewed July 15, 2019

This was a really pleasant surprise, as we usually do a summer day once a year at Water Wizz, but decided to try Water Country this year, and its much better. First, its not cheap to get in, but its a very big water park....More

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank dmorris2112
Danielle-WC, Manager at Water Country, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2019

Thanks so much for choosing to visit! And of course, for leaving a review. You're right, visiting on a weekday is a great idea if you're able to do so because it is far less crowded than weekends; allowing you to enjoy the park and...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 18 nearby hotels
Quality Inn
227 reviews
.85 miles away
Fairfield Inn Portsmouth Seacoast
122 reviews
2.23 miles away
The Port Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
1,142 reviews
2.29 miles away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
875 reviews
2.52 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 230 nearby restaurants
The Beach Plum
399 reviews
.59 miles away
Habibi Mediterranean Cafe
77 reviews
.75 miles away
Shio
236 reviews
.12 miles away
Hebert's Restaurant
90 reviews
.73 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 113 nearby attractions
Breakfast Hill Golf Club
12 reviews
2.14 miles away
Rye Airfield
9 reviews
2.22 miles away
Beara Brewing Co.
33 reviews
.60 miles away
Great Rhythm Brewing Company
16 reviews
2.48 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
David D
July 12, 2019|
Answer
Response from Danielle-WC | Property representative |
Water Country is a general admission facility that requires all guests have a day ticket or season pass for entrance into the park. There is no extra fee once inside for the rides, slides, or pools - all of the attractions... More
0
Votes
Keila R
August 22, 2018|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from Danielle-WC | Property representative |
For safety reasons and to prevent damage of rides and we prohibit cut-off jeans, denim shorts, clothing/swimwear with metal rivets or spikes, metal fasteners or buckles, or belts. Some shorts may be acceptable.
0
Votes
Sportychica5
July 16, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Danielle-WC | Property representative |
Depending on the day/weather of your visit, a rental cabana can be totally worth it. We have free picnic tables, lounge chairs, and Adirondack chairs located throughout the park that are available on a first come, first... More
0
Votes