We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Mount Washington Auto Road

Certificate of Excellence
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: 1 Mount Washington Auto Road, Gorham, NH 03581
Phone Number:
+1 603-466-3988
Website
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Description:

Since 1861, a spectacular, steep eight-mile scenic road that leads to the...

Since 1861, a spectacular, steep eight-mile scenic road that leads to the top of Mount Washington, the highest peak in the Northeast. Drive yourself or take a 2 hour guided tour in company vans. Mt. Washington State Park and the Mt Washington Observatory are at the summit.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 1,189 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 798
    Excellent
  • 221
    Very good
  • 43
    Average
  • 15
    Poor
  • 35
    Terrible
A unique experience

Simply a must when you're in New England! The drive was easier than we thought, the way back was more strenuous than the way uphill because we had to use the brakes so much. Make... read more

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 days ago
Anja H
,
Karlsruhe, Germany
Add Photo Write a Review

1,189 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,112: English reviews
Karlsruhe, Germany
Level Contributor
202 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Simply a must when you're in New England! The drive was easier than we thought, the way back was more strenuous than the way uphill because we had to use the brakes so much. Make sure to bring enough warm clothes and a cap, it is very windy and cold at the stops and at the top. The small Museum... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anja H
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Watch out for the company that does the snow coaches. I tried to cancel our reservation - I emailed them 2 days ahead. They ignored my email, then on the next day said no refunds because I was trying to cancel within 24 hours. I sent them an email with a copy of my first one attached and they never... More 

Helpful?
Thank queenofthedelta
Howie W, General Manager at Mount Washington Auto Road, responded to this review

In response to "queenofthedelta" - To date, we have received no emails from you of any kind. Here is the policy that you would have had to agree to before purchasing your tickets: "Cancellation Policy Bookings purchased for the Mt. Washington SnowCoach Tour are nontransferable and nonrefundable. Should a booking party make the decision to cancel, regardless the circumstance of... More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This review is in regards to a drive made with over 100 Jeeps and many, many people. The drive up there was very easy and not that scary. There were a few spots where the narrowness of the road might have worried some but other than that, cars were never in danger of colliding with one another. The tour guide... More 

Helpful?
Thank AJent912
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

While living in NH, we visited Mount Washington several times. This auto road is amazing! Great views from every direction possible. There is a Audio CD that accompanies the ride up, giving you a great story about the history of the mountain and auto road. At times, the road is so narrow that two cars can "barely" pass through. Mirrors... More 

Helpful?
Thank ChadBuchanN
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We took our hire car up the auto road - well worth the gate fee and time spent in navigating the tortuous road. Views from the top were spectacular, we viewed the small museum and the old original hut at the top. Food selection at top was limited but did not seem over priced despite a captive market. I would... More 

Helpful?
Thank Barnstones
Cody, Wyoming
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Always wanted to ride to the top of this fantastic mountain. The road is a bit steep in places and will work your motorcycle riding skills and clutch. The views from the top are fantastic. If you are near make thus trip.

Helpful?
Thank mnmn0926
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a Nissan Versa 2016 sedan rental car driven to the top of Mt. Washington on a beautiful sunny day. The temperature at the beginning of the road was around 64 F according to the vehicle's thermometer. By the time we reached the top, in barely 30 minutes, the thermometer said it was 39 F--and a ferocious wind made... More 

Helpful?
Thank Meengla Y
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2016

If you;ve never been uo the Auto Road to Mt. Washington, this is a must. They'll give you a CD to play during your drive up. it's loaded with facts and interesting tid bitts. There a guest book to sign. There's a Museum loaded with interesting facts along with a cafeteria and a gift shop. Keep your vehicle in it's... More 

Helpful?
Thank JohnN59
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2016 via mobile

Close as you will get to the pikes peak road on the east coast. Steep, winding, and fun. Can be cloudy at top so summit pics are iffy but a good time anyway. Nice gift shop at top. You may run into some a.t. trail hikers at the top. Make sure to stop at Glen falls a couple miles away... More 

Helpful?
Thank pabrandon
Dover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2016

road in good condition but extreme, but if you have a fear of heights that it may be difficult to get there. View from top is impressive!

Helpful?
Thank yoach

Travelers who viewed Mount Washington Auto Road also viewed

 
Jefferson, White Mountains
North Conway, Conway
 

Been to Mount Washington Auto Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Mount Washington Auto Road and other visitors
28 questions
Ask a question
Mahopac, New York
8 months ago
11 months ago

See all questions (28)

Questions? Get answers from Mount Washington Auto Road staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?