We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Escape Adventures

Las Vegas, NV, USA
More
About Escape Adventures
Escape Adventures Bike Tours & Rentals is where adventure and sustainability come together. We offer cycling, mountain biking, and hiking tours around the Southwest United States, touring the backcountry the way it was meant to be seen. By riding with us, you’re helping preserve this inspiring landscape as we’re the world’s first carbon-neutral outfitter. We recycle 90% of our waste and run our facilities with solar and wind power to live by the values we preach. You’ll be led by trained, engaging guides here to cover all the details so you can focus on the adventure ahead. Gourmet meals prepared with fresh, local, and organic ingredients are lovingly made by our guides to give you the sustenance you need to make the most of your journey.
Read more
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travelers talk about
Tours and Tickets by Escape Adventures

Red Rock Canyon Hiking Tour

Red Rock Canyon and its red-hued hiking trails sit a short drive west of Las Vegas. Escape the commotion of the Vegas Strip on this half-day hiking tour that includes transportation to and from the canyon and a guide to help you find the right trail for your fitness level. With a choice of morning or afternoon start time, the Red Rock Canyon hiking tour works with your schedule.
Read more
4 hours
from $129.99
655Reviews1Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 594
  • 43
  • 7
  • 4
  • 7
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Jorge C wrote a review Jul 2022
Queretaro City, Mexico3 contributions1 helpful vote
Something different. Great and helpful guide. Recommend to do it at the morning. At the end the view worth it!!!!!!!!!!
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Steven M wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
Myself and my friend took a mountain bike tour with Escape Adventures in July 22. We had fantastic time with Cheston as our guide. We paid extra for ebikes as we are in our 50s now but if your in reasonable shape, the full suspension non ebikes would be fine. No real steep climbs but as it was just the two us and Cheston, all on ebikes, it let Cheston tailor the routes to get the most from our day. We rode a few of the paths twice as it was quiet enough to let us blast back up for a faster run back down. Pick up was at Mirage and Cheston was waiting on us 10 mins before pick up at 8am. He was super friendly and made us feel like buddies quickly. Bike set up and safety brief before ride was professional but done quickly to let us get on the fun. We had two full susp levo ebikes which were great. Even after an old fat bloke like me had been riding hard for a few hours we had only used 2 of 8? bars of power so even if your not in great shape and use a lot of assist, I couldn’t imagine range ever being an issue. Cheston seemed to know the area like the back of his hand and knew lots of little routes to give us challenges and develop our skills. I have done a little self taught mountain biking at home in Scotland and it was great to get a few tips on riding position and how to ride drop offs better. I could have stayed out all day despite it being mid July and a tad warm. Def recommend back pack with hydration sac. Cheston did carry water but we didn’t need it. He was a fantastic photographer and ran ahead occasionally to get some awesome action shots which he took the time to send to us that night. Gave us a few tips on things to do when back on the strip and provided two thirsty old men with a lovely cold “drink” on the ride home. First class guide and great bikes. Highly recommend this tour and try an Ebike if you want a few more miles for your buck but manual full suspension would still be really good fun. Can’t wait to do it again next time I’m in Vegas. Remember to give a decent tip. These guys. Work hard to make your day extra special.
Read more
Date of experience: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Jamie E wrote a review Jul 2022
6 contributions3 helpful votes
Highly recommended - amazing morning in Red Rocks, well organized, e- bikes were essential and a lot of fun. Do it!
Read more
Date of experience: May 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from JaredF316, Owner at Escape Adventures
Responded 5 weeks ago
Thanks for coming out! Hope to see you again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nicole B wrote a review Jun 2022
Rosliston, United Kingdom16 contributions8 helpful votes
+1
Fantastic experience. The young chap, Chris was engaging and knowledgable- so easy to talk to. He knew a lot about the bikes so we had no worries with any issues. Pick up was prompt from mirage. The route was great- smooth one way road through red rock canyon, with opportunities to stop off for pictures/water/facilities. We powered through at a decent pace and therefore Chris had time to add on an extra section including a short walk around the springs and added 4 mile on to the bike route. Great fun and would definitely do it again. Trainee guide was knowledge about surrounding area. Water included- but not chilled.
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from JaredF316, Owner at Escape Adventures
Responded 5 weeks ago
Thank you for the great review Nicole. I'm very pleased to hear that Chris took great care of you. We'll look into having the water nice and chilled for you next time!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dennis P wrote a review Jun 2022
16 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
to mainly do Mountain Bike Tours where they cook all the meals every day and then lead folks out on the trails for 4-5 days. We did a road bike tour of the Teton/Yellowstone area where we stayed in Hotels and ate breakfast and dinner at restaurants and had lunch prepared by the guides. We had a private tour of 10 friends and were promised newer bikes and if we wanted to bring our own bikes which many of us considered doing they would still charge us for a bike regardless so 6 of us didn’t bring our bikes and 4 others did. They picked us up at a hotel in Idaho Falls at 8am and drove us to the start 2 hours away. When the bikes came off the van only 3 of them were newer bikes with Hydraulic disc brakes and the other 3-5 bikes they brought along only had mechanical disc brakes. This was very disappointing to say the least. When the guides went to put on our saddles and pedals that we brought I asked if they were going to put the bike to our measurements that we sent them and they didn’t even have a tape measure with them to get the bikes fitted properly which is unheard of for experienced road cyclists. Luckily one our friends brought a tape measure with them so we could get the right measurements. The guide said they usually just sit us on the bikes and visually set things up. For a group of riders in their 60’s and 70’s that is a non starter as experienced cyclists a 1/4’’ difference in the setup can make for a miserable riding experience. Needless to say they didn’t have any way to raise the handlebars to the necessary height and about 1/2 way through our scheduled 59 mile bike ride for that day my neck was killing me. 5 hours into the ride we reached our destination at 3pm right at check in time and the hotel they booked us in was an absolute “DUMP” and that was a disservice to the word dump! The siding on the building was rotting away, debris was strewn about the premisses with a jeep wagoner with all 4 tires flat sitting in the driveway entrance filled with stuff and it probably hadn’t been moved in years. The pool had something sitting in the bottom of the pool and it hadn’t been cleaned in weeks at the earliest with again garbage strewn around the pool area and to top it off they said that 5 of our rooms wouldn’t be ready until after 5pm so 1/2 the group got the pleasure of sitting around in the parking lot waiting for the rooms to be ready. When one of our group asked a guide why we weren’t booked in something descent they said everything else was booked which was a lie as one of our group refused to stay there and booked a room at the Marriot right down the street and the hotel only was about a !/4 full. The guides took us to dinner at a Chinese restaurant and from the time we ordered our main courses it was at least an hour and 15 minutes between when the first person was served their meal to when the last meals arrived and in the meantime other people who came in after we arrived were seated, fed, and left before we all got our meals. To put the icing on the cake for our first day I looked into the kitchen and low and behold there was the cook cooking up our meals shirtless!!!! I’m almost 69 years old and I and everyone else in our group had never seen anything like that before. That next morning at 4am I sent off a few emails to Escape Adventures corporate with pictures of the hotel and our shirtless cook and they sent back an email that they would refund the first day’s cost of the trip as this wasn’t up to their standards which was the right thing to do and I did not ask for that or any refunds. I just asked for them to do the same for the rest of our tour group and they did that as well. The next day was a ride into Jackson but the weather was wet so myself and another of the tour group rode in the van that day. On the ride in the van we found out that the hotel we were promised at our booking of the tour had been changed according to their guide sheet. The guide had no explanation as to why this was happening and why we hadn’t been notified. Once we got to Jackson we were then told that it was all a mistake and that we would be indeed be spending the night in the hotel at the time of our booking 7 months ago. After all this ping ponging back and forth my friend and I in the van were just shaking our heads at the disorganization of this tour and the we asked what else has changed that we didn’t know about and sure enough the two nights we were suppose to be staying at the Hatchet Resort in Moran were change to the Heart 6 Dude Ranch. Believe me when I say the Heart 6 Ranch is not in the same category as the Hatchet Resort. When I sent another email complaining about the bait and switch that they were pulling on us for this trip and where we were staying the gal emailed me back and said the Hatcher Resort was booked and they had to move the stay to the Heart 6 Ranch. I sent Escape Adventures a email asking for our itinerary again April 14 and it still had us in the original hotels as at the time of the booking but this was clearly not the case. So I called the Hatchet Resort and asked if they had 10 rooms available back on late October or early November 2021 for this middle of June timeframe and they said yes they had and asked why I was making this strange enquiry. I told them what had happened and they looked at their bookings and sure enough Escape Adventures had blocked rooms out for us and then canceled the reservation. The blatant lying by Escape Adventures was disgusting!!!!!!!!! They knew all along that they were gong to change things to make the trip cost go down but never told us so we could still decide if we wanted to do the tour instead they sprung this on us while we were on the tour and never until the day we would notice the change. We had to stay 3 nights at the Heart 6 ranch because the floods in Yellowstone and the first meal we had there was our first night at the hotel and they charged $2 for a glass of water, $5 for a cup of tea, and $10 for a can of beer. The meals came out at a snails pace as you have to place your order at the counter as they didn’t have any wait staff. Once again other folks had finished their meals and were getting up to leave when the last folks received their meals. The next two nights we ate at the Hatchet Resort which had great service with the meals coming out in a very timely fashion and we got to see the ground of the resort and what were missing out on. The Heart 6 Ranch was run down and maintenance was needed everywhere. The rooms were very small with no tv, mini fridge, coffee maker, or microwave. I wish I could share the pics but the reviews don’t have space for that. Then after the last day of our rides and when got back to our original hotel were we were picked up we all left and were glad we were down with the trip….or so we thought. Later that evening the lead guide sent a text to 7 of the 10 of us that were on the tour complaining that we didn’t leave them a big enough tip. The guide stated that 10-20% was normal tipping for this type of trip and was what they were used to getting. The tours they usually lead are mountain bike tours where they camp out and the guides cook of all three meals each day while out on the tour which is a big service and that would make sense. On this tour we were only on our rides no more than 5 hours a day at the most and they guided us on the route but that was the extent of the service they provided other than handing the restaurants or hotels the credit card to pay for our food and lodging. We checked what the proper tipping should be for this type of hotel/restaurant bike tour and it was between 5-10%. There were only suppose to be 2 guides for this trip but the corporate office sent a 3rd guide out for training. So we tipped the group over $3000 which would have come out to over $250 tip per day per each guide for a 2 guide tour but because they 3 guides they made a minimum of $167 tip for their service each day which is still good money for the amount of service they provided. All of the folks on the tour are extremely generous folks but there has to be a service to tip. Some folks on the tour tipped more than others just due to their income and financial situation. The tour guides did a fine job considering they had to deal with some very unhappy campers but again I’ve never had anyone in the service industry ever complain about their gratuity……ever!!!! Eventually the guides started to try to walk back their statements after there was major push back from the group but it was too late. If you book Escape Adventures for a tour like ours buyer beware!!!!!! It sounds like they have the mountain biking tours down pretty good and let’s face it you really can’t bait and switch on a tour like that. Just that the Corporate office was so willing to lie was truly disgusting!!!!!
Read more
Date of experience: June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from JaredF316, Owner at Escape Adventures
Responded 4 weeks ago
The hotel from the first night has been removed from our itinerary, as it does not live up to our standards. And as you have mentioned, all parties were refunded for the first night. As far as the booking confusion, I have been informed that you have already spoken to our general manager and now know what happened on our end. Thank you for your thorough review and for communicating with our team, as your feedback can be instrumental in making improvements for future tours.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456