We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

American Muscle Car Challenge by Richard Petty Driving Experience ‑ CLOSED

Las Vegas, NV, USA
More
About American Muscle Car Challenge by Richard Petty Driving Experience
Now YOU can settle the dispute over which of these icons (Dodge Challenger SRT8 392, Ford Mustang Shelby GT500, Chevrolet Camaro ZL1) is the King of American Muscle. Get behind the wheel of the fastest edition of all three cars at our Las Vegas Motor Speedway test track, where our data acquisition systems will measure acceleration, braking efficiency, cornering capability and top speed.THE CHALLENGE modules:- 1st - ACCELERATION: We’ll capture exactly how quickly you can get each car from a standing start to 60mph.- 2nd - BRAKING EFFICIENCY: You will be measured on the exact distance it takes to go from 60mph to a complete stop.- 3rd - CORNERING CAPABILITY: We’ll use digital data collection to determine the lateral G force generated in a closed section.- 4th - TOP SPEED: HOW FAST CAN YOU GO over a set distance?The segments have props designed to measure performance and enhance the experience. These will include an F1-style starting line…radar displays showing your speed in mph…digital time displays to show elapsed time…a braking module light trigger…braking distance markers…and course module identifiers. You’ll get a “practice run” on the test track in each car, so you can get familiar with the layout and individual cars. The next three runs – one in each car – are the ones that count.Driving Experiences require reservations. Rides in the iconic muscle cars are also available at the track on days and times the AMCC is operating and do not require reservations.
Read more

American Muscle Car Challenge by Richard Petty Driving Experience
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
49Reviews5Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 26
  • 8
  • 6
  • 4
  • 5
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Tash W wrote a review Aug 2017
Manchester, United Kingdom149 contributions50 helpful votes
My dad and I booked ourselves in for the Richard Petty Muscle Car Challenge and choose to drive the Dodge Challenger Hellcat SRT. The only good thing about his experience was that it was a fantastic car to drive. To start, the pick-up and drop-off was only from a couple of different locations and we were told that this was apparently due to a lot traffic in Vegas. They do not pick up from the Bellagio!!!!! The pick up instructions were unclear and when we tried to contact the office our call was diverted to a callcenter, who eventually helped us track down our shuttle buss driver. I've done several driving experiences all over the world and the instructor always sits in the passenger seat of the car you are driving to assist. In this activity however, you are made to FOLLOW the instructor who limits your speed and thrill! This does not let you push your own personal limits and for the most part, was really disappointing and frustrating. You are only allowed to do 5 laps, out of which the first lap is a warm-up and the last is a cool-off. The overall drive time is no more than 3-4 minutes from start to finish!!!! We also purchased a video of the drive for $59 which is a poor print and only shows your face. I would never recommend this experience as it is just not worth it.
Read more
Date of experience: August 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
chris726l wrote a review Jun 2017
Reading, United Kingdom12 contributions6 helpful votes
First experience using Petty, but done plenty of other racing experiences around the world. First the good new, transfer picked us up on time and arrived around 30 mins before 9am start time. Now the bad news, there was an abandoned truck on the inside of the track which meant we did not start until gone 10am facilities are limited to say the least. Vegas track being only 1.5 miles seems too short to get up to speed and by the time you do because follow lead car they encourage breaking way too early so couldn't push to my own personal limits which was a shame. Most disappointing of all having had my photos taken with the cars they could not print them. Then when time to go we had to make a fuss as driver wanted to wait for group which followed our group to finish but too hot to stay in the open for too long. I am sure if you are at a bigger track it would be better but all in all this was not the best Driving Experience I have had and not really sure who was in charge with all the staff around.
Read more
Date of experience: June 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Brian D, Director of Marketing - Las Vegas at American Muscle Car Challenge by Richard Petty Driving Experience
Responded Jun 27, 2017
Thank you for the review Chris H. I am sorry to hear you didn't have the best overall experience, however I glad to hear you were able to see some of our positives. Please feel free to reach out to me direct should you like to continue on this topic Bdoleshal@drivepetty.com
Read more
Ake121002 wrote a review Apr 2017
Lynchburg, Virginia32 contributions7 helpful votes
First, I had trouble getting booked on an open date when I was going to be in Las Vegas. This was a few months before our trip. On the day I was supposed to have my "driving experience," the company, which offers hotel to track pick up and return shuttle service, showed up 1 hour and 40 minutes late. At this time, I should have been 20 minutes into my "fun" at the LV Motor Speedway. The pickup driver said there had been an auto accident and she had to wait in the traffic. The accident occurred between 4:30-5AM. We were supposed to be the first picked up @ 7:40. One would think that a company that runs a shuttle might turn on a radio, TV or traffic report to see if they might have to avoid such a scenario. We called the company. They said they had no way of contacting the driver....right. All we heard was there was a fatal accident (2 cars)...we saw it on TV. When the driver got to us, she promptly dialed her place of business and told them she was at stop number 1. Well, someone was fibbing about not being able to communicate. We asked how long it was going to take to get to the track and the driver said 35 minutes, but she had 4 other stops and she had to see if the accident had cleared up. My jaw about dropped before I asked her simply, Are you telling me there is ony 1 road in Las Vegas that goes to the Speedway?" She was flabbergasted and I just said 'forget it." I had booked this in a timely fashion being told that we'd be back at 11am. I had made plans for my wife's birthday at noon. Sorry for the novel. In gist, these people NEVER called us to let us know there was a delay. Unbelievably unprofessional! It is written that there are no refunds. Be that as it may, this circumstance could have been avoided if this company had paid attention. "No refund they said, but we will give you a voucher." I LIVE IN VIRGINIA! It's not like I can take a jaunt to Nevada whenever I want. Poor service, actually no service; deceiving & unprofessional. Sorry folks, I like to give good reviews. Not this time. Ill chat with them after they get a letter from a friend of mine.
Read more
Date of experience: April 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Brian D, Director of Las Vegas Marketing at American Muscle Car Challenge by Richard Petty Driving Experience
Responded Apr 25, 2017
Thank you for the review Ake121002, We are sorry to hear so many outside issues that effected the experience for you on this day. Traffic on the the freeway in question is unable to be controlled, and this being a major freeway for traffic in and out of the Las Vegas valley, it is subject to unforeseen delays due to wrecks and construction. One other route does exist to the speedway, but this is Las Vegas BVLD, and it in itself can be another long wait as well. I will be reaching out directly to you asap, and once again we are very sorry for a less than perfect experience.
Read more
Lt_Frank_Drebin wrote a review Apr 2017
United States258 contributions175 helpful votes
They changed the set up compared to last year. Then you could drive all 3 muscle cars, not on the track but with lots of turns instead. This time you get to drive in 1 of the cars of your choice for 5 laps on the Las Vegas speedway, after a quick 0 to 60 sprint. I selected the Hell cat, as did 6 out of 7 in our group. It is an extremely powerful car. Great fun to drive. But to be honest, I liked last year's setup better. When driving laps, all you do basically is drive as fast as you can. I do that at home too sometimes (on the German Autobahn). My top speed was 141 mph. If they change it back to the old setup, I will do it again. With the current setup it will remain a 1 time experience for me. Also fun, but the old setup was just better.
Read more
Date of experience: April 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Brian D, Director of Las Vegas Marketing at American Muscle Car Challenge by Richard Petty Driving Experience
Responded Apr 25, 2017
Thank you for the review LT_Frank_Drebin We wanted to thank you for the return visit, and we value the feedback as well. We will pass this along to our operations team asap. We also welcome you to experience our other offering at Richard Petty Driving Experience. Thank you again!
Read more
thefordman28 wrote a review Mar 2017
Spring Hill, Florida266 contributions133 helpful votes
The kids signed me up to drive a NASCAR car on a NASCAR track, as part of my bucket list. I saw the American muscle car challenge and went to from Florida to Las Vegas to do it. Great choice I got to drive a Shelby Cobra Mustang, and a Camaro, for five laps each. The camaro was o.k., the Shelby Cobra was AWSOME ! The whole thing was recoded and available for purchase after the ride. Which ,of course, I did. I was so excited that after the run, I did not watch the young man put my thumb drive in my things, gone with out a trace, I feel like I lost a part of my life experience I can never replace. The people at the track looked high and low for my thrill of a lifetime recording, but it was not meant to be I guess. They said they would give me a refund, but how will that allow me to show my kids and Grandkids their old guy in absolute heaven as only they could have imagined, at 128 mph, in his dream car a Shelby Cobra Mustang, on a real NASCAR race track, running with the wind. I will treasure it in my memory, always, my only regret is I can't share it with the ones I love !
Read more
Date of experience: March 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Brian D, Director of Las Vegas Marketing at American Muscle Car Challenge by Richard Petty Driving Experience
Responded Apr 25, 2017
Thank you for the review thefordman28 We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us, and apologies on the video issue. We hope that the stories you tell your kids and grandkids will do. We hope to host you again someday, and please keep in mind our Parent product Richard Petty Driving Experience operates in Daytona Florida very often, so hopefully you will be able to visit that location in the future. Thank you again!
Read more
Previous
123456