The Neon Museum

The Neon Museum, Las Vegas: Hours, Address, The Neon Museum Reviews: 4.5/5

The Neon Museum
4.5
2:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Monday
2:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
2:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Wednesday
2:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
2:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Friday
2:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Saturday
2:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Sunday
2:00 PM - 10:00 PM
About
Founded in 1996, the Neon Museum is a non-profit 501 (c) 3 organization dedicated to collecting, preserving, studying and exhibiting iconic Las Vegas signs for educational, historic, arts and cultural enrichment. The Neon Museum campus includes the outdoor exhibition space known as the Neon Boneyard, a visitors’ center housed inside the former La Concha Motel lobby and the Neon Boneyard North Gallery which houses additional rescued signs and is available for weddings, special events, photo shoots and educational programs.
Suggested duration
1-2 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours & experiences
Explore different ways to experience this place.
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

Top ways to experience The Neon Museum and similar attractions

The area
Address
Neighborhood: Downtown
Popular mentions

4.5
5,154 reviews
Excellent
3,323
Very good
1,140
Average
405
Poor
148
Terrible
138

MichaelLong1963
Colorado Springs, CO337 contributions
Jul 2020
Nothing says Vegas more than neon signs! If you want a taste of old Vegas then this is a must stop for you. Since the last time we were there they added a new tour called the "Brilliant Experience" and we really enjoyed it. I would recommend taking the "Guided Tour" that last about 45 minutes first and then check out the "Brilliant" tour afterwards that last about 30 minutes. You can buy a combo ticket that cost $45 per person. I would recommend purchasing your tickets early as possible because I think they only allow 20 people per tour and they do sellout many of their tours.

We took the tour around sunset so you could see the signs as the sun was setting and they turn some of them on. The "Stardust" sign is toward the end and it's so neat to see along with the old Hard Rock Cafe guitar sign. They have a neat one of a baby duck that is pretty when it lights up There are a lot of signs that you might not even heard of but they all have a story to tell and if you get a good tour guide they will tell those stories. Our tour guide was good but I can't remember her name but she wears a neat lanyard that has some Disney & Vegas sign pins on it. If you get her as your tour guide you will enjoy the tour.

For the "Brilliant" tour/show it really doesn't require a guide because it's a show and it's unbelievable how real they make it appear that the actual lights are lightening up on the signs versus being a 360 virtual show light show that shines on the lights. They play some great music from Elvis, Frank Sinatra and Dean Martin to name a few. Some of the songs you will recognize and some you won't but the songs help bring alive the signs. If you do both tours I would estimate that you will be there about 1 hour and 45 minutes.

The gift store they offer is bigger than we expected and the prices were moderate. I would recommend checking it out if you are interested in souvenirs.

They don't allow any cameras but you can take your cell phone and take pictures with it. I even tried to take a small digital sure shot camera that doesn't have a detachable lens but they wouldn't allow me to take it inside the museum. You will have to go through a metal detector and you have to wear a mask due to the current virus situation even outside when taking the tours.

The Neon Museum is located near downtown right off the actual Vegas Strip. (The actual address is 770 Las Vegas Blvd North.) I would recommend visiting the downtown area to experience the "Fremont Street Experience" and they have some old neon light signs that have been refurbished that will have more meaning to you after visiting the Neon Museum.
Written July 15, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Donovan C
Ashville, OH390 contributions
Nov 2020 • Couples
When your in Vegas, take a break from gambling and hit this place!! You will get a bit of a history lesson along with a visual experience that is second to none! You can book varying degrees of tours. It can be a bit pricey depending on what you choose, but it was well worth the price of admission. I recommend visiting at night to get the best viewing experience. You have to book ahead of time as the tours are timed and they only let so many people in at a time. It is all booked on line too. The tour that takes you through the restored and working portions is about 45 minutes long but what you get to see and what learn about Vegas is incredible! The light show in the bone yard is one of the most visually stimulating things I’ve seen, the old unrestored signs come to life and live again through modern technology, it’s absolutely a joy to see!! Take time from the casinos and GO!!!
Written November 20, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Susan W
Avon, IN10 contributions
Oct 2020
We really enjoyed the guided tour. We'd booked the guided tour + Brilliant!, but the museum was experiencing technical difficulties for the night we booked. They notified us promptly, and we rescheduled to two nights later. Unfortunately, the Brilliant! show was still out of order. That said, we elected to move forward with the guided tour only. To me, it was a little pricey, but we thoroughly enjoyed our guide, Dave, who offered a very nice backdrop to put everything in context. He seems to truly enjoy his work for the museum. When in the area again, I'd visit again, assuming Brilliant! were in working condition. It was both fun and a learning experience. And yes! Do plan to visit at dusk or later when many of the works of art are lit and vivid.
Written October 6, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Ron B
1 contribution
Jul 2021 • Family
So I’m not a review person but I’m so angry about what went down tonight The Neon Museum, I need to vent. My folks are in town whom I haven’t seen in four years so I want to take them to see all of the tourist sites in town. I chose to spend my time and money at this place which turned out to be a mistake. Our tour guide Maddy seemed to be nice and friendly until one of my daughters who is autistic made one too many loud noises for Maddy as she was going thru her speech. As we got ready to move to the next station Maddy decide to tell my child, not me, to not kick the dirt. Now if you know anything about Autistic children they aren’t gonna be quiet or be still. I chose this place because it was outdoors and had bright lights which my children love. Before we went much further I requested to leave and Maddy gladly passed me off to a supervisor whom I guess I was walking too slow for while checking on my family because he just disappeared. Once making sure my family was ok was able to find a manager on my own in the front office. The manager was apologetic but didn’t seem too surprised by Maddy’s behavior. He at least asked what he could do for but I just wanted to express my disappointment. I didn’t want my money back I just wanted them to know that Maddy ruined our night and I wouldn’t be back. So I guess the moral of the story is if you have people in your family that are autistic or special needs this is not the place for you . If you come to visit Las Vegas or live here and want to do something fun save your money for something like the The Mob Museum who know how to treat people.
Written July 22, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hello, we are sorry to hear that your recent visit to The Neon Museum wasn’t what you had hoped for. We would like to know more about your experience. Please email our team at customerservice@neonmuseum.org.
Written July 22, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Pflynn712
Yale, MI90 contributions
Dec 2021
We did both the Boneyard Tour and the Brilliant show. Both were very well done, and one of the highlights of our trip. We have been to Vegas numerous times, and this is the first visit to the Neon Museum. The tour staff was knowledgeable, friendly, and gave a great tour. I would strongly require getting tickets in advance since time slots seem to sell out. The Brilliant show was different, but in a good way. Would recommend doing both, and at night.
Written January 6, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hello! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed the guided tour and Brilliant! Jackpot! Thank you for your kind words and recommendation. Our staff members take great pride in their work and we will be sure to pass along your positive feedback. We are proud to preserve and exhibit the iconic Las Vegas signs with our community and the world. Thank you for visiting us and we look forward to welcoming you back!
Written January 6, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

MNice
Bloomington, MN2,344 contributions
Apr 2021 • Couples
We were duly impressed with the quantity of the signs the venue has recovered, cataloged and restored. We really don’t know Vegas all that well, but we recognize many of the iconic buildings that these signs were identifying. There were also a number signs that we did not know about including the oldest sign in the collection. Almost all of the signs are not functional because of the tremendous cost and expertise required to restore them. It is also readily apparent that these signs take up a tremendous amount of room to store them. The tour lasts about 45 minutes and is well worth the money. The building is actually the old lobby of a hotel, the La Concha. We also paid for the light show experience after the tour and that was fun as well; it is in a different area and has different signs. We would also do that again, it only lasts 15-20 minutes. It makes the lifeless signs come to life and also gives you more Vegas history.

Incidentally, we had planned on doing the Fremont Street Experience right after this, but due to transportation issues relating to the COVID pandemic we became concerned about the possibility that at 9:30 at night we would have difficulty getting back to our strip hotel on a Sunday night. We have been in Vegas for about a week and this is a constant problem as of the 3rd week of April 2021. We don’t know if this is a constant concern, but it’s important to understand that you would not be stranded at the museum without transportation because the area of town seemed rough to us and was confirmed by the security guards. That is not to say the area directly around the Neon Museum is dangerous, but rather, you would not want to walk from the Neon Museum to the Fremont Street Experience. In addition, we were accidentally dropped off near the Fremont Street Experience (we had to grab another cab to the Neon Museum so we got a brief taste of the area around the Fremont Street Experience) and decided not to go there as we did not feel comfortable with our personal safety.

We finished off a pretty thorough week in Vegas and we would put it in the top four or five things to do; The Hoover Dam/Tillman Bridge, the Grand Canyon (helicopter ride if you can afford it), the Belagio Fountain, walking the Strip and the Neon Museum. This is a must see; don’t bring a backpack and plan your transportation as best you can. There is free parking there if you can drive.
Written April 19, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hello! Thank you for adding us to your top five things to do while in Las Vegas! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit with us. Thank you very much for your kind words and recommendation. We are proud to collect, preserve, study and exhibit the iconic Las Vegas signs with our community and the world. Thank you for visiting us and we hope to welcome you back again soon!
Written April 19, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

S4136XSdavidb
Texas376 contributions
Aug 2021
This is a collection of neon signs from over the decades of places in Las Vegas from casinos to restaurants to other businesses. It's stepping back into the past. While many signs are not in great condition, the museum is actively renovating many. It's best to book a night tour as some of those signs are working and illuminated (more than we expected) and make some great photo opportunities. The guide was knowledgeable and shared many historical stories, both fun and sad. Tour takes about 45 minutes and is well worth the time. Even though it is roughly only 6-7 block walk from Fremont street, I would not recommend walking there or back at night. Take a cab or ride-share.
Written August 30, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hello! We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit with us and your guided tour. Thank you so much for your kind words and recommendation! We are proud to collect, preserve, study and exhibit the iconic Las Vegas signs with our community and the world. Thank you for visiting us and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Written August 30, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

GhiaGirl
Clarkdale, AZ1,339 contributions
Sep 2021
I've been wanting to visit this place for YEARS, so on a recent work trip to Vegas I walked three miles and navigated 2 buses to arrive there one night. I was able to score a last minute 1 person ticket to a tour. (It's a good idea to purchase tickets in advance for the scheduled tours). The docent leading the tour was fantastic, sharing the interesting history of each sign, and in doing so, the history of Las Vegas itself.

Las Vegas is such a strange and fascinating place, where opulence rubs elbows with utter destitution, sometimes all on the same block.
The town has reinvented itself so many times, having these signs preserved in one location is a real treasure.

Well worth the long trek to get there. I felt energized about it for days, basking in that history and neon glow.

One note on photos: the guide encouraged us to shoot lots of photos during the tour, and to hang out at the end point area to shoot more pics...but the man at the ticket counter when I came in balked at my Pentax 35MM DSLR camera slung across my shoulder, saying they prefer you use cell phones which made no sense to me. I prefer to take photos with a real camera, but it's in no way more professional or higher resolution than most new camera phones (which are incredible). I could see them having specific rules for commercial photography or professional equipment (which mine was not), photo shoots etc., but I am just a shutterbug who happens to use an actual camera instead of a phone.
Written September 29, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hello! Thank you so much for sharing your review and for the kind words. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed guided tour. Our staff enjoys sharing the history and stories behind these signs with our guests. You are correct that we allow still photos with a smartphone/tablet for personal, non-commercial use at the museum. However, we also offer several opportunities for photography using equipment of your choice, including our Portrait Hour, Photo Walk and private shoot sessions. If you are interested in attending any of these in the future please do let us know! We are proud to collect, preserve, study and exhibit the iconic Las Vegas signs with our community and the world. Thank you for visiting us and we hope to welcome you back again soon!
Written September 29, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Spottedteapot
Hornchurch, UK52 contributions
Feb 2020 • Couples
Having read most of the recent reviews it seems the main gripe is the entrance fee. Coming from the UK we found everything in Vegas expensive and at $30 per head this is at the lower end. Probably our mistake was to go during the middle of the day as the whole point of neon lights is just that. Lights ! All that said it was a fascinating half hour wander through the city’s history and the several badged attendants were so interesting and helpful giving us an insight to the signs and the background to old Vegas. I wonder if they were actually volunteers as paid staff are rarely as enthusiastic and knowledgeable as some of these folks.
We had no problem getting in although security does seem rather over the top for a small off Strip attraction. The special Tim Burton exhibit was interesting but I was disappointed not to be allowed my small point and shoot camera as my ‘phone is too old to be useful for anything other than making calls.
Written February 25, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Karen F
1 contribution
May 2021 • Couples
I was really looking forward to seeing Brilliant and the Boneyard tour. Unfortunately I was very disappointed. I thought Brilliant was pretty cool but unfortunately there were two men that talked through the entire performance. I guess they paid to just stand around and talk but it was disrespectful to others.
On to the tour...encouraged to take lots of pictures however the guide did not wait for everyone to catch up. While she was very hard to hear she also had an accent which made it difficult to understand. We were the last tour of the evening and they started turning off the lights to some signs while we were taking photos.
Written May 16, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hello, we are sorry to hear that your recent visit to The Neon Museum wasn't what you had hoped for. We would like to know more about your experience. Please email our team at customerservice@neonmuseum.org.
Written May 16, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 4,841
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Neon Museum

The Neon Museum is open:
  • Sun - Sat 2:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Buy tickets in advance on Tripadvisor. If you book with Tripadvisor, you can cancel at least 24 hours before the start date of your tour for a full refund.

We recommend booking The Neon Museum tours ahead of time to secure your spot. If you book with Tripadvisor, you can cancel up to 24 hours before your tour starts for a full refund. See all 2 The Neon Museum tours on Tripadvisor


Restaurants near The Neon Museum: View all restaurants near The Neon Museum on Tripadvisor