Prinknash Bird And Deer Park

Prinknash Bird And Deer Park

This location was reported permanently closed
Write a review
About
The Bird Park is a small park set in a natural Cotswold Valley so there are "hills" as detailed on our web page. There is a stunning new visitor centre where you can buy light refreshments, toys, gifts and wonderful views of the park from extensive balconies. Courses, lectures and events are held here. The park's ideal for families with toddlers as it's not too large and the birds are "free", they are friendly and will come up to you if you are afraid of birds then this is not the place for you as, the birds are free inquisitive and feed from your hand as do the fallow deer and pygmy goats and the miniature donkeys are there in the summer months. There's a huge collection of peafowl, pheasant and a comprehensive collection of waterfowl from around the world, these are not your common or garden ducks. There are follies for the children to play in especially the Wendy House where you will always find toys inside for the children to play with. Bird Food can be purchased on arrival, which is great fun. Again fi you are afraid of birds then perhaps this is not the park for you. In the summer the Kookaburras are flown at noon, subject to weather. This is a casual and very natural park where you can get close to the birds and animals, with lakes, walking and a true outside feel to it so if your looking for an Alton Towers or a Lego Land attraction then again we are not for you. Yes the birds are free, yes there are hills, yes there are gates and yes it is natural. If you want to get out and be with nature then we will look forward to seeing you and you will love the park.
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Top ways to experience nearby attractions

Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

4.0
518 reviews
Excellent
232
Very good
121
Average
63
Poor
40
Terrible
62

69Kenno
Barnstaple, UK111 contributions
Apr 2015 • Family
We paid just under £32 for four adults and a bag of bird feed and entered the park via a stepped path. This was fine as there was 4 adults and only 1 buggy. However, if my slightly built daughter-in-law had been on her own with a buggy and her 1 year-old daughter it may have been a different matter.
We were greeted by some impressive peacocks,ducks, doves and a whole host of other birds were in the park.However, the deer were thin on the ground. Three sorry looking reindeer and four fallow deer - seven deer in total for a deer park.
In fairness there was some donkeys and goats, but overall I found the visit a bit disappointing.
Written April 30, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Nicki H
Cambridge, UK9 contributions
Sep 2014
I took my 5 year old son and my friend this week. I wanted to purchase a groupon voucher but don't have a printer so waited until we got there to ask if they would accept the code from my phone if I bought the voucher then. The lady on the pay desk was extremely rude and raised her voice several times saying she wasn't going to 'let you stand there and buy a voucher right in front of me'. I pointed out that there were no booking conditions so technically could buy it whenever, all I wanted to know was whether she would accept the number without a printed voucher. I have never been spoke to so rudely at a venue like this! Eventually she did give in when I said i was going to complain. She then insisted on me showing her my child to prove the voucher was valid. I thought she was done but then she proceeded to rant about how she had a meeting with Groupon because this was just ridiculous and the park was not getting enough money to run properly. Also that they had been forced to build a new facility because they are not complying with Zoo regulations.
I was astounded by this woman's lack of professional conduct and poor customer service. If my son hadn't been there I would have taken my custom elsewhere!

The park itself is lovely, if a little run down. The birds and deer are extremely and my son loved feeding and stroking them. The setting is beautiful and the cafe very nice.

I don't think it's very affordable for entry prices when you consider places like Slimbridge Wetlands and Cattle Country are a lot cheaper.

It could really be a lovely family say trip with some TLC and some new additions to extend the day - maybe a picnic area, kids play area. Oh, and some polite and welcoming staff on the entrance!!!

Written September 3, 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

JandRGloucestershire
Gloucestershire9 contributions
Jun 2015 • Family
This really did not meet our expectations. The terrain was very difficult to negotiate with a buggy ( two needed to push up some inclines ). I expected to spend a couple of hours here, but found very little to keep us entertained. Not up to the standard expected from the web site .
Written June 9, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

marksevia45
Nottingham, UK5 contributions
Jan 2020 • Solo
Closed. Permanently September 2019 due to proposed redevelopment of the old monastery on the site. There have been planning applications for several years resulting in tensions with local residents and site tenants.
Written January 8, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Mummy_Jo77
United Kingdom1 contribution
Jul 2017 • Family
I have had 3 encounters with the Birdpark, and each time I was left with a bad taste I my mouth.
1. My children were visiting Santa and the owner was parading up and down the line to keep everyone in check. By this I don't mean keeping an acceptable eye on proceedings, but rather like a headmistress insisting on perfect lines and no variation. As an example, my father was very sternly told off for carrying his 3 year old grandson to keep him entertained in the long queue! The 3 year old wad expected to stand in line for the duration.

2. My second encounter was when I attempted to book a gypsy caravan for a small children's party. I was told in no uncertain terms that my younger child would not be welcome or indeed permitted to enter the caravan as young children make mess! I did not book the party.

3. Despite this I gave them one last chance to redeem themselves and took my child for a trip to the park. While paying I was made to feel extremely unwelcome and while waiting for a friend to come out of the toilet I was told, very abruptly, to go outside (the shop was empty and my child was calmly standing by my side).

This place is not accessible for pushchairs, children are not welcomed, and staff treat small children as an annoyance. We only live a few minutes from the park but we will not be returning. I would rather pay to go somewhere where our custom is valued. 
Written October 7, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

deb23Jack
Gloucester, UK1 contribution
Jun 2013 • Family
Visited on sunday, was enjoying the day when we spotted a bird ( looked like a duck but bigger) struggling to get out of the water. We took a closer look as it got out. It was sat down shivering unable to move but then started to be aggressively attacked by a peacock. The duck unable to do anything. My mum went to alert the staff. There was only one member working and she was on the entrance tills, who said she was busy and will report to the owner but she has gone home. On reporting the duck problem another member of public reported she has noticed a peacock stuck inthe portable loos for over an hour. Surely such a big place should have more than one member of staff on duty. After approx. 20 minute wait the lady came and collected the duck but by this time a few children/adults had gathered around to see the destressed animal.
I will not be returning. Do not run an animal center if you do not care about there welfare.
Written June 24, 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

MissMagik
Cheltenham, UK40 contributions
Dec 2012
I visited with my baby and mother who has been visiting prinknash for over thirty years. We decided to go to see the extra stuff they advertised as having on over Christmas.
After we paid we realised there was absolutely nothing going on at all. A few animals (birds) and everything said 'closed'. Absolutely deserted. So we went straight back to the lady in the ticket booth and asked for a refund as it was obviously closed.
This resulted in a stand off that lasted ages. We were met with aggresion, no apology, and terrible excuses. i was mostly upset for my mum who had paid quite a bit for us and loved the place for so long. We couldn't go anywhere else for the afternoon as we couldn't afford it. I told the lady this and she just didn't care.
We went home very upset and amazed that we'd been ripped off in what's supposed to be a holy place!
The lady who has taken over running this place needs to learn basic customer service or it will go under...
People read these reviews before deciding whether to go there or not so I suggest this issue is sorted out fast.

We will never ever go back
Written April 15, 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Many thanks for your posting and you are quite correct there is a sign at the entrance clearly saying that dogs are not admitted. This has been the case for 39 years as the birds are free and animals are free and this has always been the case. You were most insistent that you should be allowed to take your dog into the park and that you regularly did so. You were recommended Bird Land at Bourton on the Water which "has always" admitted dogs on leads as their stock is caged and are set well away from paths so that dogs on leads would not be an option or to walk your dog up to the Abbey which is on the estate.
Written April 28, 2013
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Rupert92
Gloucester, UK9 contributions
Feb 2018 • Family
I took my 3 children during half term. The fact it was empty of people should have been a warning. The lady at the desk was frosty and made it quite obvious she did not want children there. Twice she told my 6 year old not to open the birth food until she went outside. This would have been fine if she had actually allowed me or my daughter to hold the food. She clung onto it repeating several times that she was fed up of cleaning up bird food! Fair enough she is obsessive over bird food. Once we had paid the extortionate entrance fee she eventually relinquished the bird food and my daughter went to take it off the desk she shouted at my daughter that it want for her and that she had already told her she didn't want it on the floor. My daughter is not an ignoramus and was quite capable of hearing her and carrying out her instructions. Also you do not ever shout at a child when their mother is quite capable of explaining things to her. I let it go as I just thought she was a bit odd. However my daughter was clearly upset. The kids hated it. It was a complete waste of time. We could have just gone to the park and fed the ducks for free. The deer are amazing however they in themselves are not worth the £26 I paid. Please do not waste your money. Rude, overpriced and tiny!
Written February 16, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Jo E
1 contribution
Dec 2017 • Family
We visited the park with 4 excited children, We were met and told that rather than walk around the park like we would have wanted to, that we had to go and visit the fairy and Santa right away as they were expecting many visitors so wanted to keep the queues down. The fairy was about as magical as visiting the doctor. She was dressed in a pretty pink dress which you would think was nice until you noticed the polo neck jumper underneath and the many layers of clothing. She did not talk so my husband and I tried to make conversation, she only spoke when spoken to, the only thing she did say was,( You have to be good ALL year to get presents.
We then moved on to the next tent which was the face painter who was pleasant and did a good job, although again no atmosphere and was not dressed for xmas.
Then the almighty Santa and this was the biggest disappointment for the children. He was sat high on a lovely sleigh and the tent was dressed nicely but he himself should have been called grumpy Santa he said the same 2 sentence's to each child ,have you been good and what would you like for Christmas and then told to step down and shouted next, Then you were told that you could not take your own photos but if the children would like to stand in a line in front of the sleigh then the photographer would take a photo and would only charge you £20 for 3 photos .
That was it, all over it had taken about 45min from beginning to the end.
I forgot to add that the ground was very slippy muddy and dangerous, the children had fell numerous time and was covered in mud. I am a lady that doesn't complain easily I have 5 children and 7 grandchildren so have seen my fare share of Santa's, this is one we will never speak of again.
Written December 22, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Paul M
Gloucester, UK3 contributions
Dec 2014 • Family
Just returned from a visit to Santa, I wish I hadn't bothered. £130, 8 adults, 5 children under 6.
This could have been a nice afternoon out for us and our family but was spoilt by the lack of Christmas spirit due to the park being so money orientated and totally disorganised.
We were told to go and see Santa at 4 o'clock only to find a long queue which took 25 minutes to eventually reach Santa, just what children need, thank goodness it wasn't raining.
Quite frankly the experience wasn't worth queuing for.
There is a list of rules outside Santa's tent, no sitting on Santa's knee, no sitting on Santa's sledge, NO PHOTOGRAPHS. There is a photographer who takes a photo and then charges you £6.50 for it, After paying £10 and then being told very rudely that photos weren't allowed really capped the experience. I expect to be able to take my own photos of my Grandchildren and not have to pay somebody else for that privilege.
Santa was very brusque, probably because of the queue, and the present wasn't bothering about, not even wrapped.
Face painting had 1 person doing it with another long queue so we didn't bother.
The craft tent was just straw bales with abandoned craft materials and glue, no staff.
The lights were good, but that didn't make the overall experience worth the money.
This is the first time I have visited this location, and will be the last.
We take the Grandchildren to see Santa to a different place every year, we've been to Dean Forest Railway, Clearwell caves, we've sailed up the river and this was the worst Santa visit we've had. I would recommend going elsewhere, there are plenty of other places to take the children to see Santa.
We will not be coming back again.
Written December 7, 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Many thanks for your post and I do in fact remember you all very well. The reason for not placing a management response prior was due to us checking the cameras and tills for accurate information. Your entry ticket was issued at 5.10 for £60.00 not £130.00 as claimed. The other visitors paid their their own entry tickets which are clearly logged on the till. The entry details are displayed on our site and our last ticket sale is 5.00pm. The park had closed for visitors when you arrived and the Cashier explained this at the time. However, you stated that you had come a long way and she agreed to a late and asked you to go directly to Santa. However, you decided to see the lights and then go onto to the Christmas Fairy where according the the cameras your group spent 16.9 minutes and I understand that you had a lovely time with her and she put forward that you should move onto see Santa as it was coming up to 5.40, which you did. You were behind one couple who had their photos taken at 5.44 and you were the next group in to see Santa, there was no queue. As you entered the Grotto you stated to the photographer that you were taking your own photos no matter what, the photographer was happy to let you do so as you were the last and having met Santa and received gifts you left. Everything went well. You came up to the centre at 6.10 and stated that you had been asked to leave the park and that you had not been in the craft tent as it was closed. That was not in fact correct, the 2 staff members were tidying not closed. Your party arrived back at the centre at 6.09 and you stated your disappointment at not being able to play in the craft tent. I "personally" took all of you back into the park and re-opened the section that was by then closed, which is more than fair and 3 members of staff got everything out for your group to enjoy. The entire park remained open for you. At no point was any member of staff rude or unhelpful in fact what is a great shame is that your group were late we listened and accommodated you all going beyond what was asked and 17 staff waited for you to complete your evening. It was a sterling effort by the team who have a long day but were happy to go the extra mile.
Written December 12, 2014
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 514
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Prinknash Bird And Deer Park (Cranham) - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go