Dubliner Pub and Cafe

Dubliner Pub and Cafe, Saint Paul: Hours, Address, Dubliner Pub and Cafe Reviews: 4/5

Dubliner Pub and Cafe
4
1:00 PM - 2:00 AM
Monday
1:00 PM - 2:00 AM
Tuesday
1:00 PM - 2:00 AM
Wednesday
1:00 PM - 2:00 AM
Thursday
1:00 PM - 2:00 AM
Friday
1:00 PM - 2:00 AM
Saturday
1:00 PM - 2:00 AM
Sunday
12:00 PM - 2:00 AM
About
The Dubliner Pub & Cafe has been on the corner of University and Vandalia for 33yrs. Awarded the City Pages, "Best Pub in the Cities" several years in a row. It has served up the finest mix of Irish music and dance, perfectly poured pints of Guinness, a large selection of whiskeys and fresh craft beers. There are breakfast and lunch served from 11:00am-3pm in the cafe. The Pub opens at 11:00am -2:00am-Monday-Sunday. Happy hour and great pub food served from 4:00pm-9:00pm Tues-Thurs. 4:00pm-10:00 Fri. & Sat. Free popcorn and large screen for sporting events. Lots of free parking and a lovely patio.
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

4.0
18 reviews
Excellent
8
Very good
4
Average
6
Poor
0
Terrible
0

Bob S
Beavercreek, OH260 contributions
Liked it a Lot
Mar 2020
Stopped by for dinner on a Sunday afternoon/evening. The service was very friendly and they had a decent selection of beers. The food was excellent. It took a bit long to get our order, but at least they recognized it and apologized when it was delivered. The meal was, however, well worth the wait. Overall, this is a nice Irish pub. We would definitely go back again if we are in the area.
Written March 17, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

TASunde
Canton, GA909 contributions
It's a good local
Nov 2018 • Friends
It's a good local establishment. Fun place with good service and food. A little lightly tended given the crowd yet it works.
Written November 1, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

GWR1962
Morris, MN41 contributions
Did not disappoint
Oct 2018 • Couples
We decided to stop in as we’ve heard about it’s food in City Pages. It looks a bit worse for wear, but the food and service was excellent. The sole bartender/server was really busy filling both roles but he was spot-on and customer-conscious. Would definitely go again, but it has pretty basic amenities and menu.
Written October 3, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

TruckerGary
Green Bay, WI108 contributions
Great Place to Chill
Jun 2018 • Solo
I was hoping to sneak into and out of St. Paul's WestRock Paper Factory before the Twin Cities Afternoon Rush Hour but the trucking gods had other ideas. Load not ready until morning. How to kill 14 hours in St. PAUL on a moment's notice???? Wait, is that an Irish Pub on the corner of Vandalia and University? Winner Winner Fish and Chips Dinner! Great little spot to chill, get something to eat and hear a little local music. Bartender Chris on the job. You know what they say, When live gives you lemons, throw the lemons out and order a Guinness at Dubliners.
Written June 14, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

TheMonte
Owatonna, MN253 contributions
Worst bartender/customer service person ever!
Feb 2018 • Friends
I’ve been coming to the Dubliner for 20+ years, but unfortunately due to where I’ve lived recently, I had an extended break from the Dubliner. I came back to find that it’s still the great place I remember from years ago. Great atmosphere, great drinks & great live music. The Dubliner is great, but there is one young female bartender that is honestly the worst customer service person I’ve ever had the displeasure of having to be served by. It has now been two occasions recently where she exudes a disdain for actually having to do her job of serving customers. She is so utterly rude, that I believe she is actually working on the art of being rude! At all costs I would try to avoid her. The other bartenders I’ve had on the same evenings were very helpful & completely opposite of the other young gal. Great place, just be wary of gal behind the bar.
Written February 4, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hello "TheMonte" I am very disappointed to hear that you had a negative experience with one of our employees. Professional, friendly service is what it's all about for us, I will follow up on this and do all I can the prevent this from happening again. I appreciate your positive comments about the pub and our atmosphere. We hope you will return and find the "great place" you remember. Feel free to email me at dubpub2013@gmail.com.
Written February 6, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

jammerspot
Minnesota1,095 contributions
Great food and music
Jan 2018 • Couples
Pub with excellent Irish ambience. Went on a Sunday afternoon, listened to excellent music. Had excellent fish and chips. Many choices of sandwiches, soups and salads along with main courses. Choices of variety of beers as well as non alcoholic beverages. Order at bar. Employees will deliver and pick up. A very nice time.
Written January 29, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanks Jamerspot for the great rating. We love to please and seeing folks enjoy themselves in our Pub is what's it's all about. I hope you come in again. Wednesday nights we have free Irish dance lessons and excellent Traditional Irish music to dance to. Also during our 4-7pm happy hour all drinks are $1 off .
Written January 31, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Linda F
7 contributions
No staff
Jan 2018 • Couples
We consider this pub a neighbor place to get good pub food and maybe hear a little Irish music. The last few times however, they have had no wait staff. Tonight there was one, yes one bartender and the place was full of people all ordering drinks and dinner. The bartender was great and super organized but he never stopped moving not for two seconds. He even got our food out while still hot, but I was disgusted that someone has to run around like that with no chance to breathe. So Dubliner, let us know hen you hire some wait staff to help out the bartender and then we’ll be back.

Written January 28, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

KerryMaurice
Kerry24 contributions
What a lovely pub run by a lovely man
Sep 2017 • Friends
Attended this establishment last week in difficult circumstances. My brother was buried and after the Mass we repaired to this pub by arrangement. Good and wholesome food provided with some Irish music as is appropriate for an Irish wake. Publican Tom Scanlon the publican was very accommodating and left a lasting impression on everyone
Written October 2, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

SharnRol
Park Rapids, MN557 contributions
A lovely time
Jun 2017 • Couples
Met friends for dinner, enjoyed the trio playing traditional Irish music. The food was good nut I might change the menu and add the word 'seasonal' behind the Irish stew offering as it is not made in the summer... Good staff, nice atmosphere, sketchy part of town. (the staff locked the front doors just before 9 PM...
Written July 4, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hello, Thank for the suggestion that we note "the Irish Stew is seasonal," in our menu. We appreciate the feedback and I will pass on your compliment to the staff. I hope you come in again. We have great music six nights and week. You can check our website for a list.
Written July 11, 2017
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

PR0614
Saint Paul, MN31 contributions
Beer drinkers will love it.
Mar 2017 • Friends
My first time at the Dubliner, which in a previous life used to be the Ace Bar. My companions all ordered beer and were pleased with the selections. I ordered a soft drink and was disappointed that it was flat, so I sent it back. Apparently no one working knew how to fix that so they gave me a can of pop instead. We had the Reuben Tayto's appetizer and it was delicious! My friends all ordered the Fish and Chips, which were heavily-breaded but the fish itself was good. I ordered Biddy Nash's Irish Stew which was supposed to be served in a bread bowl. Mine was served in a soup bowl with no bread. I was told the chef forgot to order the bread bowls. I was then given 2 slices of toasted Texas toast. Hmmmm. The menu is large with a few Irish dishes as features. Probably a better place to drink than eat.
Written March 14, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hello, Thanks for sharing the experience you had at the Dubliner Pub & Cafe. It was unfortunate that you stopped in when our glycol system was down. We actually found out it needed to be replaced and couldn't be repaired. In regard to our fish and chips, the batter is made with Guinness stout which adds extra body and flavor to the fish, many see that as a plus. The Irish are big on saying "All Guinness = All Goodness!" The stew bowls are delicious, so sorry that your Biddy Nash's Beef stew wasn't served in one. Stop back and we'll make sure you have a chance to try the stew again this time in a warm and tastey bread bowl!
Written March 16, 2017
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 17
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing