We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dubliner Pub and Cafe

Closed Now: 12:00 PM - 2:00 AM
Open today: 12:00 PM - 2:00 AM
Review Highlights
A lovely time

Met friends for dinner, enjoyed the trio playing traditional Irish music. The food was good nut I... read more

Reviewed July 4, 2017
SharnRol2018
,
Park Rapids, Minnesota
It's a good local

It's a good local establishment. Fun place with good service and food. A little lightly tended... read more

Reviewed November 1, 2018
TASunde
,
Canton, Georgia
via mobile
Read all 17 reviews
16
All photos (16)
Full view
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent42%
  • Very good23%
  • Average35%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible0%
Nov 1, 2018
“It's a good local ”
Oct 3, 2018
“Did not disappoint ”
About
The Dubliner Pub & Cafe has been on the corner of University and Vandalia for 33yrs. Awarded the City Pages, "Best Pub in the Cities" several years in a row. It has served up the finest mix of Irish music and dance, perfectly poured pints of...more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 12:00 PM - 2:00 AM
See all hours
Contact
2160 University Ave W # 2162, Saint Paul, MN 55114-1820
Website
+1 651-646-5551
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (17)
Filter reviews
16 results
Traveler rating
7
3
6
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
7
3
6
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 16 reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2018 via mobile

It's a good local establishment. Fun place with good service and food. A little lightly tended given the crowd yet it works.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank TASunde
Reviewed October 3, 2018 via mobile

We decided to stop in as we’ve heard about it’s food in City Pages. It looks a bit worse for wear, but the food and service was excellent. The sole bartender/server was really busy filling both roles but he was spot-on and customer-conscious. Would definitely...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank GWR1962
Reviewed June 14, 2018 via mobile

I was hoping to sneak into and out of St. Paul's WestRock Paper Factory before the Twin Cities Afternoon Rush Hour but the trucking gods had other ideas. Load not ready until morning. How to kill 14 hours in St. PAUL on a moment's notice????...More

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank TruckerGary
Reviewed February 4, 2018 via mobile

I’ve been coming to the Dubliner for 20+ years, but unfortunately due to where I’ve lived recently, I had an extended break from the Dubliner. I came back to find that it’s still the great place I remember from years ago. Great atmosphere, great drinks...More

Date of experience: February 2018
2  Thank TheMonte
Geri C, Owner at Dubliner Pub and Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2018

Hello "TheMonte" I am very disappointed to hear that you had a negative experience with one of our employees. Professional, friendly service is what it's all about for us, I will follow up on this and do all I can the prevent this from happening...More

Reviewed January 29, 2018 via mobile

Pub with excellent Irish ambience. Went on a Sunday afternoon, listened to excellent music. Had excellent fish and chips. Many choices of sandwiches, soups and salads along with main courses. Choices of variety of beers as well as non alcoholic beverages. Order at bar. Employees...More

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank jammerspot
Geri C, Owner at Dubliner Pub and Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2018

Thanks Jamerspot for the great rating. We love to please and seeing folks enjoy themselves in our Pub is what's it's all about. I hope you come in again. Wednesday nights we have free Irish dance lessons and excellent Traditional Irish music to dance to....More

Reviewed January 28, 2018 via mobile

We consider this pub a neighbor place to get good pub food and maybe hear a little Irish music. The last few times however, they have had no wait staff. Tonight there was one, yes one bartender and the place was full of people all...More

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Linda F
Reviewed October 2, 2017

Attended this establishment last week in difficult circumstances. My brother was buried and after the Mass we repaired to this pub by arrangement. Good and wholesome food provided with some Irish music as is appropriate for an Irish wake. Publican Tom Scanlon the publican was...More

Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank KerryMaurice
Reviewed July 4, 2017

Met friends for dinner, enjoyed the trio playing traditional Irish music. The food was good nut I might change the menu and add the word 'seasonal' behind the Irish stew offering as it is not made in the summer... Good staff, nice atmosphere, sketchy part...More

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank SharnRol2018
Geri C, Owner at Dubliner Pub and Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2017

Hello, Thank for the suggestion that we note "the Irish Stew is seasonal," in our menu. We appreciate the feedback and I will pass on your compliment to the staff. I hope you come in again. We have great music six nights and week. You...More

Reviewed March 14, 2017

My first time at the Dubliner, which in a previous life used to be the Ace Bar. My companions all ordered beer and were pleased with the selections. I ordered a soft drink and was disappointed that it was flat, so I sent it back....More

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank PR0614
Geri C, Owner at Dubliner Pub and Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2017

Hello, Thanks for sharing the experience you had at the Dubliner Pub & Cafe. It was unfortunate that you stopped in when our glycol system was down. We actually found out it needed to be replaced and couldn't be repaired. In regard to our fish...More

Reviewed February 12, 2017 via mobile

Hidden Jem! Old building but well kept and clean! We only visited the cafe. We did not visit the pub next door. Next time! Claire our server was very polite and eager to take our order. In fact she referred me to the place two...More

Date of experience: February 2017
2  Thank mrenthusi
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 17 nearby hotels
Days Inn by Wyndham St. Paul-Minneapolis-Midway
634 reviews
.37 miles away
Midway Motel
26 reviews
1.21 miles away
Hampton Inn and Suites Minneapolis University Area
471 reviews
1.52 miles away
Doubletree by Hilton Minneapolis - University Area
191 reviews
1.76 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 1,008 nearby restaurants
Keys Cafe
187 reviews
.49 miles away
Caffe Biaggio
93 reviews
.39 miles away
Egg and I
46 reviews
.81 miles away
The Naughty Greek
19 reviews
.47 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 203 nearby attractions
Twin City Model Railroad Museum
70 reviews
.21 miles away
Urban Growler Brewing Company
70 reviews
.69 miles away
Bang Brewing
12 reviews
.71 miles away
Water Power Park
20 reviews
.98 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
WandaS889
October 5, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Geri C | Property representative |
Yes, we have salads, stew, shepards pie and you can always order any of our sandwich options without bread.
1
Vote