Real Ghost Tours
Real Ghost Tours
4
Thursday
7:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Friday
7:00 PM - 1:00 AM
Saturday
7:00 PM - 1:00 AM
Sunday
7:00 PM - 9:00 PM
About
Step into the past with Real Ghost Tours of Minneapolis, Minnesota. Join a real ghost hunter on an expedition into the city's shadowlands, to meet the colorful characters of bygone days, where technology, theater, and a bit of the supernatural bring lingering souls to life. Join us at 125 Main Street SE Minneapolis to touch, and be touched by, the past ... if you dare.
Minneapolis, Minnesota

Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.


4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles39 reviews
Excellent
19
Very good
8
Average
4
Poor
4
Terrible
4

Annabelle C
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2020 • Family
The Real Ghost Tours was a hit again in 2020! We took the tour several years back when we hunted for ghosts in the basement. The tour this year included an outdoor route so we learned some new history. It was entertaining for sure. The kids absolutely loved the ghost hunting equipment. I highly recommend that add on feature. The tour wouldn’t be the same without the equipment. While the tour wasn’t jump out scary, some of the ghost stories left us a bit creeped out
Written October 14, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

roban13
Minneapolis, MN2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2012 • Friends
This Tour was very interesting and gave a lot of information about the surrounding St. Anthony Main. I recommend doing it just for the interesting history lesson. We did seem to have some "ghostly" activity on our tour. We had a younger child in our tour group (10-12 years old maybe?) and his ghost hunting equipment was going off like crazy. According to the tour guide, there may be "young child laborer ghosts" from the former mattress factory that was in the area that were interested in playing with him. Someone else took a picture with their I-phone and it had a white blurry shape on it in an otherwise empty room. Stop by Pracna on Main for a cocktail after -- the oldest operating restaurant in Minneapolis.
Written March 1, 2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

TAA1967
Minneapolis, MN1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2011
I learned a lot about how ghost hunting really works and about the history of Old Minneapolis. Fascinating history and I could really feel the energy of the spirits. Glad to see this offered in Mpls and the price a great value for a fun evening wtih my date who i thought would be protecting me and it turned out i was protecting him! I guess this is why we have dating : )))
Written May 6, 2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Nicole M
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2016 • Couples
We have a large group of about 24 people that get together around Halloween each year for a fun night out. This year we chose to do the Real Ghost Tours, and I must tell you after 8 years of doing different Halloween themed events, this was by far the worst one! The Medium was a no show and the tour guide was really rude and uninformative. We were not told in advance that the Medium would not be there so we felt a little ripped off. There were no apologies or explanations as to why she didn't show. We tried to make the best of it, but the tour guide was constantly scolding us for laughing or being too silly. The equipment was cheap and it looked like it came out of a toy ghostbusters kit. After taking over $600 from our group and giving us a miserable tour the guide had the nerve to ask for a review so here it is. This will not be a tour we will be revisiting! We pretty much couldn't wait for it to be over!
Written November 2, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

PianoMan4000
Gurnee, IL224 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2012 • Family
This tour takes you through some 1800s buildings and gives you a small amount of history about the area, but the ghost tour is TRULY an insult to anyone's intelligence. It is the quirkiest thing with gadgets going off and the tour guides pretending that a recorder is talking to them from the ghosts. No one in their sane right mind would believe even a tiny bit of this.

The City of Minneapolis should shut this place down. It gives the city a bad reputation for ripping off tourists! I've never felt so taken in my life!
Written September 24, 2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Frost S
32 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2015 • Friends
You'll definitely raise an eyebrow when they hand out divining rods, dead flashlights, and broken plastic EMF "detectors". Perhaps some people might get entertaining jitters by the modern basement of a restaurant, or homeless people living by the river, but I would not call that paranormal, or even spooky. The history of some of the buildings along St. Anthony Main is somewhat interesting, but the most abnormal thing you will encounter is your spirit-communicating tour guide.
Written January 25, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Michelle D
Sioux Falls SD76 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2012 • Family
We (1 kid age11 and 3 adults) went on this ghost tour with an open mind and looking for simple entertainment. Recently we went to the Wabasha Cave tour in St Paul which was FABULOUS and we were really looking forward to this one. When we arrived we all signed a waiver in case we were hurt and asked to sit down. At the seats were backpacks to use during the tour with the ghost hunting equipment inside. Some people had all items, others didn't and we were asked to share if we didn't have a piece of equipment. The group was large and I say them unpackaging more ghost equipment to put into backpacks. The tour guide was dressed in a high top hat. Nice touch. But we couldn't hear him as there was music next door thumping. Then we followed the crowd outside, he spoke outside (hard to hear him) then went inside winding around to an empty office space. He said a few words for like 1 minute then said "Go and see if you can find any spirits". So everyone was wandering aroud the empty office space filled with broken chairs etc. The 4 other female staff workers were in a circle in a room trying to call the spirits. Almost felt like we were at a play watching actors, or some kind of improv. Then he along with 80% of the group went off without any notice to the group. I caught up with them but realized the rest of my party was missing. I went upstairs to another empty space and told to wander around. My party finally made it upstairs- they said no one told them to move on. Then we all left that space (they locked to office after we walked out) and we went to the basement below the ghost tours shop. A small basement with a couple hallways. Not that I'm a non believer but this was really unorganized, and seemed to be more of going through the motions/acting. Almost seemed like this was a side tour used to supplement their segway tours in the day. Plus not hearing the guide unless you were right next to him and he acted like he could care less if anyone heard anything or not was very disappointing. The other reviews here make me wonder if it was employees writing the reviews. Maybe it was just an off night. I think the little bit of history I heard was interesting. The building was neat but I didn't need to go on a tour in the dark in empty offices with flashlights to see it. it lasted about 90 minutes and that includes getting started 25 minutes late. Hearing more would have been better. $25 per person is real steep for our experience, $10 per person would be about right. I feel bad as I really wanted to have a kitchy good time.
Written June 18, 2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Kate K
Richfield, MN2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2015 • Couples
My husband and I went on this tour last night and honestly I was disappointed to the point of being livid. We moved here from Seattle, and much like the awesome underground tour in downtown Seattle, I was expecting some historical background and an organized, leisurely-paced walk through some amazing spots. However, this was quite the opposite. First of all, it was $25 a person for a 90-minute tour (the Seattle tour is $10 and you see over six blocks of tunnels) and the first 30 minutes were spent on a historical introduction. This consisted of a poorly-created slide show on a flat screen, while 80s music literally BLARED from the Aster Café next door where there was a wedding reception taking place. Rather than having one investigator and one historian, we were stuck with two "paranormal investigators." One of them was a medium, and I actually found her to be more credible and professional than the lead tour guide. There was a lot joking around, time wasting efforts to make sure everyone's paranormal "kits" were complete (a little surprised that for $25/person they couldn't check the freaking bags prior to the tour to ensure that all the equipment was present with charged batteries), and a fairly lengthy "potty break." We had used the restrooms prior to the tour, like normal functioning adults, but yet we had to wait 15 minutes for less considerate people to do their business. Then we went down to a basement hallway, where the lights were glaring, and proceeded to spend approx. 20 minutes sweating profusely and watching impatiently as our distracted guide tried to get her recording device to work, and couldn't seem to stay focused on one task at a time. Two flashlights were set up but no efforts were made to see if they could be turned on in response to questions, and then when a group of people had their K2 meters go off, our guide suddenly developed some semblance of focus and quickly decided this was a child named Tommy trying to communicate. I began to notice that the lights would light up on the meters when our guide would get closer to the group with her massive recording device, and then they would go off when she walked away. I am still amazed I am the only one that noticed this, since earlier when we were checking the functionality of equipment, the guides said we could test it by holding it up to cell phones and other devices to get it to light up. After hanging out in the stifling hallway evidently talking to "Tommy", we went into two other dark spaces and conducted EVP sessions and flashlight experiments. Maybe if we could have sat still for more than 5 minutes, or ceased one group's toilet jokes long enough to obtain some modicum of silence, I would have been more impressed. Instead we were being rushed through each space in order to make up for time wasted earlier, obviously sacrificing our experience in order to accommodate the second tour that night. By the time we even made it to the second space we had already burned up 1 hour of time just screwing around. The final space in the mattress factory was cool, but when the guide conducted an EVP session in the women's bathroom, she simply turned on the recording device for exactly one minute, during which the woman next to me rummaged through her purse noisily and then literally shined a flashlight in my face. I am not a skeptic, and I grew up with a father who is very sensitive to the spirit realm, so I was taught to be patient and respectful, and most of all, QUIET. The only thing worthwhile during the entire evening was discovering the Ghost Radar app, which may be a total hoax but is fun to play around with. Oh, and that was FREE. So if you want to spend $25 to see two basement hallways and one abandoned event space while accommodating the incompetence and disrespect of other group members, then this is perfect for you. If not, I would recommend a historical tour of the James J. Hill house instead. It's only $8, the guides actually know what they're talking about, and I recently caught an image that has been deemed paranormal by over three different local paranormal experts. (I have no idea if it is, but it is a pretty cool and unintentional picture of what looks like a butler's glove). Like I said, the medium in the group was wonderful and seemed to know her stuff. Maybe if she had led the tour rather than the over-caffeinated, disorganized woman we had, and they reduced the price to correlate fairly with the level of entertainment provided, I would have been more excited. With approx. 20 people to a group, you're essentially paying the rent for the space and not much else. If you are truly interested in a professional and legitimate paranormal experience, I would NOT recommend this tour. Download the app Ghost Radar and go do your own ghost hunt!!

P.S. The parking was $5 so all in all we spent $55 to walk thru a basement with dowsing rods. Maybe the other reviewers here have the right idea by going to a bar first.
Written September 20, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Shannon B
Metro Minneapolis-Saint Paul, MN1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2015 • Couples
I thought it was ok. I really enjoyed listening to the main girl, I don't recall her name...but she had a lot of interesting stories and it was easy to pay attention to her. The other girl on the tour was extremely boring. She seemed like she didn't really know what she was talking about, didn't do a good job keeping me engaged (or the rest of my group). It seemed really high priced for what it was, I found it to just be dull. I personally didn't feel like there were any 'spirits' present, and the tools seemed kind of cheap.

The girl who I didn't care for kept asking the spirits questions and was using some tool that swung around in circles. It was kind of fun outside, when she had everybody use them and told the spirits to point them to the building, but other than that it was extremely boring. First of all, I couldn't see her little sticks at all, second she seemed like she was really reaching for questions, and third it seemed like she had no idea what she was talking about. It actually felt to me like she thought it was a joke to and didn't take it seriously, which in turn made it hard for me to take any of this seriously or find it any bit believable. I wouldn't go back or recommend any of my friends to check it out.
Written November 1, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

p0stcardlady
New Haven, CT3 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2017 • Couples
It's a good thing my husband and I have a sense of humor because otherwise I'd be demanding $50 returned to us as well as the nearly 2 hours of our lives we'll never get back !

There was a lttle historic storytelling which was somewhat informative, but it was ruined by ghost detecting gadgets and a tour guide who related numerous stories about spirits she hsd met while trying to get them to communicate with us......Just a lot of P.T. Barnum hooey......whatever.....Save your money. The whole thing was an insult to our intelligence !
Written July 30, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
We're sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your ghost tour experience. Most guests enjoy the paranormal expert, and are less interested in the informative history. We'd be happy to discuss a refund if you contact us directly.
Written August 1, 2017
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 39

Real Ghost Tours - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024)

All Minneapolis HotelsMinneapolis Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Minneapolis
All things to do in Minneapolis
Amusement Parks in Minneapolis
RestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars