Star Line Mackinac Island Hydro-Jet Ferry

Star Line Mackinac Island Hydro-Jet Ferry, Saint Ignace: Tickets, Tours, Hours, Address, Star Line Mackinac Island Hydro-Jet Ferry Reviews: 4.5/5

Star Line Mackinac Island Hydro-Jet Ferry

Star Line Mackinac Island Hydro-Jet Ferry
4.5
Monday
7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
7:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Popular mentions

4.5
625 reviews
Excellent
417
Very good
132
Average
44
Poor
17
Terrible
15

Brian A
30 contributions
Great place.
Sep 2021
If your planning on taking a trip to Mackinac Island go across the bridge ( what's a trip up here without going across anyway ) and take the Star line across to the island. There is more parking in Saint Ignace, the ferry trip is less crowded, and Saint Ignace doesn't have that "touristy" feel.
Written September 25, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

cmcJaxFl
Jacksonville, FL104 contributions
Good and not over crowded
Sep 2021
Good tip across even when windy and wavy water. Crew was very nice and staff at ticket area were very helpful
Written September 13, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

MCate51
Saint Louis, MO34 contributions
Signage could be better
Aug 2021
We enjoyed the actual ferry ride from St. Ignace and were grateful the ferries were not crowded at the times we rode them. The part I found frustrating in the town of St. ignace, was the big sign that says free parking available right in the middle of the parking lot where you have to pay. Luckily we asked before parking there and we were directed to the area for overnight parking, which outside says Overnight and Free Day Parking, but when inside the lot, it says Overnight Parking Only. Come on, you can do better.
Written August 29, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

MamaB3
Escanaba, MI36 contributions
Use the other ferry line
We enjoy a day trip to mackinac island. We started our day at Starline dock #3 on Tuesday August 10th. The staff at the ticket counters were miserable. They didn’t communicate or talk with customers. It was not busy at all. I did not receive one smile or a simple “enjoy your day on the island”. I did not receive any instructions on where to board etc. I swear the staff was hung over would be my guess. They were not customer service material let’s just say that much.
We used the restrooms before we left. They are awful. Dirty. Old. Run down. Paper towel stuck in the door hole. No lock on the door. I could not wait to get out of that building.
One on board it was a bit better but we could not hear the captains announcement at all and also no one had told us we would be going to another dock to load up another group of passengers. The staff on board were at least friendlier than the ticket counter girls.
For our next trip we will definitely be using the Sheplar Ferry Line. It cannot possible be worse than our StarLine experience.
Written August 11, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for providing your feedback – we’re very sorry you were disappointed with your experience, particularly regarding the ticket staff. We have addressed your concerns with that team and are looking into the restroom maintenance issue as well. (Just FYI, we actually get many extremely positive comments about the members of the ticket office staff, so receiving your feedback is very concerning – thank you for taking the time to make us aware.) Again, thank you for offering your comments, and we do hope you enjoyed your time on the island.
Written August 12, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Rick B
Jeffersonville, IN19 contributions
BEWARE E BIKERS!!!
Jul 2021
Efficient loading of people and their bikes. Mackinaw was packed...police asking people to get back on the sidewalks so bikers could get thru. Half of the island's road is closed along the backside, so you can't ride all the way around.

BEWARE E BIKERS!!!

Our tandem ebike was impounded 30 minute after arriving on the island (while we were at lunch). Our friend's ebikes were parked right next to ours, but not touched (?) You need a Doctors ok to show you need ebike assistance ??

Rules are very inconsistent and I never found where any of this was posted.

$12 for the bike pass, $48 to rent another bike and $15 to get it out of the impound lot.
Written August 10, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for taking the time to remind others of Mackinac Island’s regulations regarding e-bikes. City of Mackinac Island Ordinance 584 states that only a “qualified person with a mobility disability” may operate an e-bike. The Mackinac Island Tourism Bureau has put together some helpful information and FAQ’s about this topic to assist bike riders; we do our best to share that information as well. That info can be found at https://www.mackinacisland.org/visit/getting-around/.
Written August 12, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Janet T
West Bend, WI17 contributions
My Favorite Part of our Michigan Tour!
Jul 2021
This was my favorite part of our tour of Michigan, from Ludington to Escanaba. It was so much fun, so easy to book, park, board, disembark. All staff was kind and professional for the most part, though the skipper was displeased that they were running 5 minutes late, I didn't mind.
We did not experience any overbooking or crowding, and in fact, I was just so happy, I simply HAD to let the captain know that It Was Awesome!

We went from St. Ignace to Mackinac Island on a Tuesday afternoon. While the "free parking" and shuttle to dock was elusive, we don't mind paying the $5. We pulled up, parked, purchased and boarded in less than ten minutes - even got a souvenir. It was a short wait to departure and then we "Jetted" off to the island without delay. 15 - 20 minutes later, we were photographing Mackinac Island's Lake Shore Drive.

The benches weren't the most comfy but they were not uncomfortable, and if you can't sit for 15 minutes then, the problem is probably not the seat.

The trip back to St. Ignace did seem to be running late around 8 PM, maybe by 20 minutes or so; they boarded us all together (both Docks) and got us back to St. Ignace. It wasn't too crowded, but again, its only about 16 - 18 minutes. And it was still just as fun as the first time Jetting to the island.

I would definitely go again, and recommend this experience! I see other displeased reviewers, but we didn't experience anything like their complaints - maybe don't go during peak hours. We had a good time.
Written August 1, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Sarah_in_Texas
Dallas, TX37 contributions
Overbooked, insufficient ferries operating, and an hour behind scheduled departure time.
Jul 2021 • Couples
In summary, overbooked, insufficient ferries operating, and running an hour behind schedule…! We purchased tickets in advance from St Ignace to Mackinac Island using the Starline online tickets option - no online warning or message popped up that our departure dock was overbooked for that time. Having only a few hours to spend on the island, every minute was precious, and so we had arrived early. While we waited over an hour for the Starline ferry, we watched Shepplers ferries coming and going with passengers.
Written July 26, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review – we’re very sorry that we failed to meet your expectations. Because tickets purchased online can be used for any departure throughout the season (and because all seating is on a first-come, first-serve basis), it’s not possible for us to anticipate each passenger’s intended departure day/time, unfortunately. We do have a schedule that we work very hard to keep, but we recognize there are times, especially during very busy days, when we may fall behind. Ultimately, our customers deserve reliable, timely service – and we use valuable feedback like yours to guide us in making improvements. Thank you for providing this.
Written August 6, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Carly J
2 contributions
Rude Service
Jul 2021 • Family
If you like to pay full price and have rude customer service and long waits then go with them. They do not inform you until after you have arrived that there is only one boat running. 7/8/2021 My family and I waited 1.5 hours to get on a boat just to get to the island. When it was time to come home around 7:00 pm. We were told by a VERY RUDE dock master that half of line would make it on the 9p.m. Boat and the rest of the line including my family would have to wait until 10 p.m. We asked about a refund since most things on the island are shut down and we were not going to wait. The RUDE Dock master informed us that no one gets refunds and that it is not the companies fault that you have to wait. At 7:30p.m. We left the Starline dock and walked to SHEPLERS. They got us tickets and had us on a boat by 8 p.m. Sheplers informed us that starlike has been down to one boat for 3 days. SHAME ON STARLINE selling more tickets than they had. By the way, YES they did over sell tickets because they only had one boat and let you buy tickets WITHOUT informing you about only one boat.
Written July 13, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, Carly. We are extremely sorry that you had this disappointing experience. We absolutely agree that it is unacceptable to be treated poorly, and if you are willing, we would like to hear more about your situation in the office so we can address this behavior. Please contact our Office Operations Manager directly at 800-638-9892 *200 so we can discuss this further. Having said that, we do want to clarify one thing: the information you received (from the competing ferry service) about us operating just one boat for three days was completely, completely erroneous. We have by far the largest ferry fleet in the straits, and if one boat experiences a mechanical issue, we simply pull another boat from our fleet to replace it. Your travel date one of the busiest of the summer, unfortunately, and our team did not adjust as well as it should have to meet that surge in passengers. We have since made adjustments that have resulted in more timely service. Again, we sincerely apologize for the situation and behavior you experienced.
Written August 6, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

bratbabymiller
Fort Lauderdale, FL4 contributions
Waiting at the dock
Jul 2021 • Friends
The wait to go over and back was an hour and a half each way! When buying tickets we were told 30 minutes. Later we were told they had boats out of service. Line wrapped around the building. Do not recommend this ferry at all
Written July 11, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hello, thank you for your response. We were extremely busy last week and did experience longer than usual wait times. We are sorry to hear you had to wait so long. We understand how special Mackinac Island is to everyone visiting and sure hope you enjoyed your time there!
Written July 12, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

meganmW9132VK
Wyandotte, MI10 contributions
Nice Quick Trip
Jul 2021
There was barely anyone on this ferry at 8 am. It was a quick ride. Very clean and very helpful with getting our bikes on and off.
Written July 11, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 622
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing