We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Trincomalee Diving Centre

Features Animals
Trincomalee, Sri Lanka
More
About Trincomalee Diving Centre
Scuba Diving in Sri Lanka is or passion. Thats why we opened our third Diving Centre in 2013 near Trincomalee, directly located at the Uppuveli Beach at SHIVAS Beach Resort. The TRINCOMALEE DIVING CENTRE, PADI Resort, is the Back Packer Branch of our NILAVELI DIVING CENTRE, PADI 5 Star IDC Dive Resort in Nilaveli. We offer Scuba Diving for beginner, Fun Dives for certified Divers, PADI Diving Courses and Snorkelling Tours and Whale & Dolphin Watching with very reasonable rates. It is open every year from 15. April to 10. October from 8 am to 7 pm. For Scuba Diving and Snorkelling Trips at the Pigeon Island Marine Park you can contact us and we arrange this trips with from our NILAVELI DIVING CENTRE in Nilaveli located at the High Park Hotel. The Drop Off & the Pick Up back will be for you free of charge. Every body is welcome!! Diving is Fun!
Read more
Open Now
Hours Today: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM
See all hours
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

Trincomalee Diving Centre
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
27Reviews1Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 21
  • 3
  • 0
  • 2
  • 1
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Tejus R wrote a review Aug 2019
Bangalore District, India1 contribution1 helpful vote
It was 1 of my best vacations with education. I completed my Open Water and Advance Open Water Course under awesome guidance of Instructor Tarush Raju. The instructor is really patient and top notch at his skill. Instructor ‘T’ is the other knowledgeable instructor at the centre who is real good at his job and explaining stuff. I was surprised how these instructors work …they treat every student as their 1st – The level of interest they take in you to teach ! Loved the Boat men Chinnavan and Prem, who are awesome company helping you throughout your dive course. The Team of 4 – Tarush, T, Chinnavan & Prem make the Trincomalee Diving centre the Best 1 !! Catch you guys soon for my next course 
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Date of experience: August 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Marjolein V wrote a review Aug 2019
2 contributions
We liked the diving very much. The divemaster was very Professional. He was open and willing to improve and change the way of working. The people over there worked very hard. I really got confused on the last day when i heaters the divemaster got fired overnight.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Date of experience: August 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Hans Georg K, Inhaber at Trincomalee Diving Centre
Responded Sep 2, 2019
Dear Marjolein V, Thank you for your review. Unfortunately we do not understand your rating and your issue. To terminate the employment of a foreign dive instructor to the end of August, because his residence visa and working permission for Sri Lanka end at the 03.09.2019, is a complete normal procedure. We do not know from whom and what for informations or advice you got to write this strange review. Regards Hans and the TRINCOMALEE DIVING CENTRE, Service, Booking & Diving Team
Read more
Mai A wrote a review Aug 2019
9 contributions
I joined their pigeon island snorkeling. Communication was a little tough but Pick up was smooth, staff were very nice. Snorkeling itself was also great we saw sharks and sea turtles and tons of fish. Overall experience was satisfactory. The only thing, I learned afterwards is that the price (38€ ) was way overpriced. I found the same tour elsewhere at more than half the price at least. I should’ve known better.
Read more
Date of experience: August 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Hans Georg K, Inhaber at Trincomalee Diving Centre
Responded Aug 19, 2019
Dear Maia, Thank you very much for your review and let me please explain our price calculation. You mentioned you can get the Snorkelling Trip to PIGEON ISLAND MARINE PARK more less than our price. Yes, this is true, but why. Our price is 38 Euro, 20 Euro for the whole trip, 5 Euro rental for quality snorkel equipment and 15 Euro Pigeon Island entrance fee. You mentioned less than half you can get. O.K. ! Let's say around 17 Euro. Only the entrance fee per person to the Pigeon Island Marine Park include VAT and taxes cost 15 Euro. This means by 17 Euro income from the other tour offer a profit of 2 Euro per customer minus boatman salary, snorkel equipment, petrol and kerosine, liability insurance, taxes, maintenance costs and so on. I hope you understand that this cannot be a business, this calculation is impossible. Now I tell you how there monkey business works: 1. May be they tell the customer the will go to Pigeon Island, but choose a place close by and need to pay the 15 Euro Marine Park entrance fee. 2. Many tour operator bribing the responsible persons from the department of Wild Life who are responsible for the PIGEON ISLAND MARINE PARK and pay no entrance fee. In the end there profit before all the costs will be 17 Euro per customer and this is o.k.!! Why we are more expensive: 1. We are running an honest official business under a in Sri Lanka incorporated company and pay for any customer the PIGEON ISLAND MARINE PARK entrance fee. The fee is normally for the protection of the natural researches of the PIGEON ISLAND MARNE PARK. By using the cheap rate of the other operators you do not take a part of protect the environment of this marine park you are only filling the personal pockets of some corrupt guys from the Department of Wild Life. 2. Our staff is full time employed the whole year round and is well experienced and trained. The company pay the rent insurance for our whole staff. 3. Our boats running with modern environment friendly 4 stroke YAMAHA engines, the others operators use 40 years old technology and environmental problematic kerosine engines. 4. We are using high quality snorkel equipment. 5. Our PADI liability insurance covers 6 Million Euro per person, this from the other operators 1500 Europe person. I hope you can follow our explanation and feel not sheeted from us. You have chosen the right operator for your Snorkeling Trip to the IGEON ISLAND MARINE PARK!! Regards Hans and the TRINCOMALEE & NILAVELI DIVING CENTRE Service, Booking & Diving Team
Read more
jirinamaringer wrote a review Aug 2019
2 contributions1 helpful vote
I completed the Discover Scuba Diving programme and it was great. The instructors were very nice and I felt safe all along. We saw a lot of fish, a ray, a turtle... it was amazing.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Date of experience: July 2019
Helpful
Share
jeroenblanckaert wrote a review Jul 2019
Merksem, Belgium15 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
Excellent dive center! Very friendly and helpfull instructors with a good briefing before the dive(s). Also good rental equipment.
Read more
Date of experience: July 2019
Helpful
Share
Previous