SunBuggy Fun Rentals at Silver Lake

SunBuggy Fun Rentals at Silver Lake

SunBuggy Fun Rentals at Silver Lake
3.5
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Monday
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Sunday
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
About
Come to SunBuggy Fun Rentals at Silver Lake to Rent an ATV, rent a UTV (aka SidexSide), rent a Dune Buggy, or if you're not ready to head out onto the sand by yourself, participate in a tour of the dunes driving an ATV, UTV, or Jeep! SunBuggy Silver Lake Dunes ATV Rentals provides top-quality ATVs from top-tier manufacturers as well as industry-leading support team and tour Dunies! Polaris RZR
Mears, Michigan
Tours and Tickets by SunBuggy Fun Rentals at Silver Lake
Travelers talk about
(2 reviews)

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

3.5
3.5 of 5 bubbles16 reviews
Excellent
9
Very good
1
Average
1
Poor
1
Terrible
4

k0le97
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2023
Entire process was straight forward once we got into it. The instructions leading up to it could have been more precise. The location given to us to wait for transit to rental shop had little information at it, looked more like a storage/ maintenance shop than a waiting area and almost left thinking it was wrong place. After getting to the shop, they were very helpful and informative about our time on the dunes, any concern we had about the ATV they were quick to handle especially for my girlfriend that had no experience. Staff and equipment were excellent. Biggest gripe I had was price, but they were still competitive with other rentals in area so take that with a grain of salt.
Written September 1, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thanks for taking the time to provide your insights. We'll take note that we need more signage at the remote lot so people know they got to the right place!
Written September 7, 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Sydney S
Chicago, IL73 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2023 • Family
Do not get the dune buggy unless you are experienced! We were instructed to floor it straight up the hill (which only gets you stuck) then we called the provided number once we were stuck and there was no cell service.
Steve was the only helpful employee we encountered outside of the office. He informed us that you indeed do not floor it up the hill in the dune buggy and taught us the right way. PS there was no reverse so once you’re stuck your SOL.

The Polaris and Can Am were very fun and enjoyable. Definitely a lot more power to get up the hills (which you can floor it straight up).

We did get a flat tire and were compensated for our troubles with more time and an upgraded vehicle.

When it went well it was fun but it did not all go well. A decent place not terrible but DEFINITELY GO ON A WEEK DAY!
Written July 11, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thanks for your feedback. Steve has worked with us for years at all four SunBuggy locations and is a great asset to the company, Thanks for acknowledging him! In an effort to provide something for everyone, we have FOUR levels of Dune Buggies available. From Basic to powerful, there is: Dune Buggy, Dune Buggy XP, Sand Rail, and Sand Rail XP. Duine Buggy has an air-cooled V-twin engine, and the XP is a 50% larger air-cooled V-twin. The Sand Rail has a fuel-injected water-cooled engine (similar to a RZR), and the Sand Rail XP has a fuel-injected water-cooled engine that is 50% larger. Although the Sand Rails are a bit more money, if you're looking for high-power thrill ride, the Rail and Rail XP cannot be beat!
Written August 24, 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

thebarnmichigan
Bloomfield Hills, MI144 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2023 • Family
I rented the two seater and one seater for me and my two boys. Although the two seater was decent, the one seater could not get up the easy hills. We ran out of gas with 45 minutes left in our two hour rental. No response from management and "QA" upon requesting a refund after multiple emails and phone calls. I will just deny the charge on my credit card. I DO NOT RECOMMEND.
Written August 18, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sorry, we missed addressing your concerns when you sent them to our QA (Quality Assurance ) department. We make a point of formalizing our process for addressing customer concerns so that we can study our shortcomings and improve our services. Hopefully, it will make each subsequent visit better than the previous one. SunBuggy always guarantees that you get ride time, even if it takes longer than initially planned. If you weren't offered a 'RE-FUN' ride voucher, drop a note to QA@sunbuggy.com . We're very keen on getting you a great SunBuggy experience, even if we have to do the whole thing over.
Written September 7, 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

ScottyP
3 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2022
Overall frustrating process - we went back and forth twice since the lady at the front did not give us certain paperwork and we were also no given clear instructions on where to park. We waited 15-20 minutes 3x, just tiring us out before we even started and then after as well. Granted this place was already overpriced, but then the delays and the waiting period just made this whole venture regretful.

We met great people after everything with the office, but the beginning and end definitely left our whole family with a sour taste in our moths.
Written January 15, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Although it took longer than it should have, we appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback. We have been somewhat limited in getting enough people on staff, the challenge being that the park is open seasonally and in a small community. We have had some well-seasoned team members come in from our other locations to help out this summer and are also now benefiting from already trained, experienced locals who worked with us last summer. Should you decide to re-visit SunBuggy, you'll also find that there are many more vehicle types to choose from and a much smoother check-in process. Hope to see you again!
Written August 24, 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

jjkirby
Chalfont, Pennsylvania, USA36 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2023 • Family
Austin and Kathy were extremely friendly and helpful. On a whim we booked a 2 hr rental despite knowing we would be arriving a few minutes late driving up from Muskegon. We arrived to find an error with the booking. NO PROBLEM WHATSOEVER! They were so great and accommodating. Even upgraded us to another vehicle and told us to take a little extra time out there and have fun. My sons had a blast. I did too but was happy to sit out for a while and let them go wild on their own.

Next time we will try a bigger machine now that they have some experience.
Written August 18, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
We greatly appreciate your taking the time to name our team members who helped you have a wonderful time at SunBuggy! THANK YOU! We will see you next time!
Written August 24, 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Inna Pyzh
Clinton Township, MI1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2023 • Couples
I had awful experience. I ordered UTV Polaris RZR 2 seat, but the guys said at the dunes that they don’t have it. They said that they have available other one 2 seat or 4 seat. It was much different that we ordered online.I booked the buggy from 1 pm until 3 pm. I arrived at 12 pm , but got the buggy at 3 pm. I took a drive only a hour because the buggy that they provided me I could not drive up on the small hill . I only could drive 25 speed. I do not recommend this company. My friends has same experience.
Written May 31, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sorry to hear we couldn't provide the vehicle you originally booked and that the substitute you got was not running right. We cannot anticipate when a prior guest will break a vehicle, making it unavailable for the next group, and we try our best to accommodate. If you haven't already, please reach out to our Quality Assurance Department; they will do what it takes to earn your business back. qa@sunbuggy.com Thanks
Written August 24, 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Natasha S
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2023 • Family
We had a great experience with our family of 5! We ended up with a different vehicle than we originally booked thanks to the manager who saw our needs and met them. It took a bit to get the hang of things, but we had a blast going up and over the dunes. Everyone was very friendly and took all safety precautions. We would definitely do it again!
Written July 25, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
This is so great to hear about Family Fun! It really helps to have so many different vehicle types and managers with many years in the business to help people get the best experience. We do our best to make off-road fun accessible to everyone! Thanks for taking the time to share your experience.
Written August 24, 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

FarAway05459672594
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2023 • Family
We had an absolutely terrible experience with this company. Where to begin. Our side by side had a check engine light on and had almost no power, could not even make it up the smallest of dunes. Our tire blew out within the first hour. Waited over an hour for any help. WE found an air compressor on our own as the tech didn't even bring one. Then this company said they'll charge us $250 for the tire replacement on our credit card that they had on file, though the problem was no fault of our own. They were rude and refused to work with us on the many issues, and our day at the dunes was wasted. All in all, it cost us about $850 to ride at a low speed for roughly an hour.
Written January 2, 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

David L
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2023 • Family
The old lady (Coordination Director), (Owner) or something in the disorganized parking lot was an unpolite b_ _ch. The guy that set up our rental changed us from a dune buggy to a UTV claiming DB is only two wheel drive and no reverse. We agreed since he said it would be $50 less, and he would issue a refund. No refund was ever issued, even after I followed up with them. Shi_ _y experience, use another rental company.
Written September 11, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi David, We're Sorry to hear you had a bad interaction with one of our senior staff members. Generally speaking, we all love what we do at SunBuggy, and that being the case, we are typically in a good mood and fun to be around. It seems she was having a bad day. Happens to the best of us sometimes. No matter what the weather forecast is, we try to pack our own sunshine. We're not sure how long ago you rode with us as we don't have your reservation details, but we now offer several models of Dune Buggies with fuel injection and big paddle tire fun, INCLUDING reverse. The low-slung driving experience of a proper custom dune buggy is fantastic fun, and we've made some great strides this season putting new dune buggy designs out onto the dunes. As for missing a partial refund, we are not in the habit of making promises we don't deliver on, so please drop our Quality Assurance Department a note so we can at least take care of that part for you. QA@sunbuggy.com Lastly, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, We rely on feedback like yours to guide our growth and look for areas to improve upon. Our 5-star goal: We hope you'll take another ride at SunBuggy next time you're in town, which will compel you to a 5-star review.
Written September 12, 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Terence K
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2024 • Business
Outstanding fun. Charlie was amazing. The experience was amazing. I would highly recommend. The quality of the bikes was superb
Written March 24, 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-10 of 16

SunBuggy Fun Rentals at Silver Lake - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024)

RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars