We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grand Rapids Beer Tours

Grand Rapids, MI, USA
More
About Grand Rapids Beer Tours
The longest running & highest rated beer tours in Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids Beer Tours will take you on personable guided tour to various craft breweries in a 14 passenger bus. Beers included in ticket price for public tours! Learn how the beer is made; every public tour also includes a behind the scenes brewery tour. Let us show you why Grand Rapids, is "Beer City U.S.A." Get immersed in beer culture & beerology today!
Read more
Closes in 26 min
Hours Today: 10:00 AM - 2:00 AM
See all hours
Travelers talk about

Grand Rapids Beer Tours
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
43Reviews1Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 39
  • 2
  • 0
  • 1
  • 1
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Adam H wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
I left this review on Google but I think it needs to be put here for additional exposure. In short this company does not really offer a tour in the traditional sense that you would think. Their guides are very nice but don't offer much in my opinion. The owner of this company seems to have a trend of blaming customers if they don't leave great reviews. He was my dialogue with him. My original post: The guide was very nice but I have to be honest this was not a tour. The word "tour" is misleading in my opinion. We did not do anything or see anything that we could not have done by ourselves. He just took us to some breweries and pointed out the few beers he liked. Not worth the money. I would also suggest a better clarification on the website. Response from owner: "I’m sorry you did not get what you were looking for. I will start by saying your group was over 45 minutes late upon arrival, and there were no apologies on your side, Chris worked late because of this, and we paid him more…Not sure what your group was looking for in the tour. We offered WAY more than just recommending beer samples to your group. Chris talked about beer history in Grand Rapids, the history of the breweries you visited and other Grand Rapids history. We had reservations at the stops. We got you discounted sample pricing. If you were looking for a brewery tour all you had to do was ask, we would have set one up for you. We feel that our website is very laid out, and so were the emails I sent you. You are correct about Chris, he is very nice, and a very knowledgeable home-brewer. If you had questions, he would have gladly answered them. We’ve given hundreds of private tours in the past 7 years, and you are the first one to say it’s not worth the money. Again, sorry it wasn’t what you were looking for." My second response: That is a very poor apology. A brief "I'm sorry" then shift blame to the customer. Textbook customer service. We did apologize for being late multiple times and no one asked Chris to stay later. Please don't make it seem like he over extended himself by staying 10 min after his desired time. In fact the reason we are late was because you never gave us an address to show up to. Chris called me 10 min before and told us where to be. If you want to talk about how poorly your company is run I can certainly do that. You raised the price on me not once but twice after we agreed upon terms. You shifted the breweries that we were able to go to not once but TWICE as well. You called me the Saturday before my actual date and told me I was late for that as well, because you got me confused with someone else (which should have given me some insight into how this whole operation was run). I tried to be polite in my original post but your curt response deserves a rebuttal because I was embarrassed that I subjected my party to whatever you want to call Saturday. I am merely suggesting that you rephrase or rebrand. Because what our group was given was not a "tour" in an sense of the word. We essentially had a tag along who sat down with us as we tasted beers and asked what we liked/didn't like. It was not what we were expecting or looking for at all.
Read more
Date of experience: July 2021
Helpful
Share
Nikkinel wrote a review May 2021
1 contribution
We had a blast. Brian was a great tour guide, and did a great job showing us different breweries. Would definitely book again.
Read more
Date of experience: May 2021
Helpful
Share
Chris S wrote a review Sep 2020
48 contributions7 helpful votes
Everything from the first email to the final stop was perfect! Our driver/tour guide Chris was very knowledgeable and offered great information throughout our four-stop private tour. Chris arrived exactly on-time and explained the rules to us before we departed on out jaunt. He was able to keep our group on schedule without making us feel rushed, which is no easy task with our "Borderline ADHD" group. I highly recommend using GR Beer Tours for a fun experience without the need to find parking and risk driving from stop to stop. One suggestion if you're planning on booking, though. Avoid City Built until the COVID thing is over. The beers on tap were extremely limited, as they understandably are focused on retail packaging until tap room business picks up. While the beer we had there was good, we weren't able to try the variety of different beers like the other stops. None of this was GR beer tours' fault, and Chris did a great job of making sure we walked away satisfied.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Brian H, Owner at Grand Rapids Beer Tours
Responded Mar 26, 2021
Thanks for the excellent review! We're glad to hear that everything was perfect. Perfect is the best word we could ask for when describing Grand Rapids Beer Tours. Cheers!
Read more
Bradley H wrote a review Sep 2019
Detroit, Michigan6 contributions1 helpful vote
Team did a nice job taking our group of 24 to four different breweries. We were able to share pitchers of many different brews throughout a beautiful afternoon. Also had the opportunity to tour at a couple of them.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Brian H, Owner at Grand Rapids Beer Tours
Responded Mar 26, 2021
Thanks for the awesome review! We're glad to hear you enjoyed the tour. - Sorry for the delayed response.
Read more
Pat S wrote a review Jul 2019
Dearborn, Michigan69 contributions24 helpful votes
We met at Founders' and enjoyed our first 3 beers and of course education about the beers and the brewers. Then we walked through the city to the Grand Rapids Brewing Company for 3 more beers. Little less education, little more just drinking focused. Then we walked to B.O.B.'s which by far was the best: best education with a guest speaker, great tour of the brewing process, and the sampling was awesome! Our tour guide even recommended a few more places to try on our own; Harmony Brewing Company was incredible -- awesome pizza. Highly recommend this tour; you must be able to walk.
Read more
Date of experience: June 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Brian H, Owner at Grand Rapids Beer Tours
Responded Jul 29, 2019
We're glad to hear that enjoyed the Walking Tour! Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. Cheers!
Read more
Previous
123456