We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cobo Center

Open Now: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Open today: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Share
Review Highlights
Nice Convention Center

In town for GJNV tournament. Parking was good but filled quickly on weekdays. The surrounding lots... read more

Reviewed July 12, 2018
Becky S
,
Mechanicsburg, Ohio
It’s a convention center

Went there for a national volleyball tournament. Food options better than many. Not enough... read more

Reviewed July 10, 2018
Robert W
,
Decatur, Georgia
Read all 229 reviews
241
All photos (241)
Full view
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent41%
  • Very good35%
  • Average22%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
“car show”(8 reviews)
“people mover”(24 reviews)
“concept cars”(5 reviews)
About
Free, ultra high-speed Wi-Fi is available throughout Cobo Center. Cobo Center is a Green Venues Michigan facility with recycling stations throughout the building. Registration space available in the concourse. Registration booths are available for...more
Open Now
Hours Today: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
See all hours
Suggested duration: More than 3 hours
Contact
1 Washington Blvd, Detroit, MI 48226-4420
Website
+1 313-877-8777
Call
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Detroit
from $27.00
More Info
from $75.00
More Info
from $27.00
More Info
Most Helpful Positive Review
Reviewed February 28, 2015

Cobo Center itself is a once-proud convention venue that has anchored the downtown Detroit convention, major attraction, and athletic event business for decades. It is kind of sad-looking now, and somewhat seedy. A face-lift is desperately needed. That having been said, we took our two...More

1  Thank 870daveb
Most Helpful Critical Review
Reviewed January 21, 2016 via mobile

COBO Center - perfect location for Detroit Auto Show. Great location - several access points making getting in simple and quick. What brings the rating down is the complete ridiculous pricing on food. Purchased three disappointingly small meals and three drinks which cost $46US. We...More

1  Thank alainbeland
Greg D, Director of Sales at Cobo Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2016

Thank you for your recent review of your experience at Cobo Center and the North American International Auto Show. We were sorry to hear that you were disappointed in the value of our concessions offerings. Many customers gave the new Andiamo Restaurant partnership, located on...More

Reviews (229)
Filter reviews
209 results
Traveler rating
83
72
46
4
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
83
72
46
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews car show people mover concept cars convention centers exhibition space volleyball tournament coat check this place is huge main hall great facility detroit river motor city auto conference event venue parking
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 209 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago

Was clean but the food court is very pricey for this kind of event 2 dollar for a banana and 3:50 for a pop Make sure you bring your own drinks and food and snacks.More

Thank 530kellib
JenniferB9374, Sales Manager at Cobo Center, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hello 530kellib! Thank you for attending Youmacon 2018 here at Cobo Center. We appreciate your honest feedback about one of our food service options here. We are always open to ideas as to how we can improve on our services, and we will take yours...More

Reviewed September 27, 2018

I am here to attend the National Black MBA Conference. I am sure the C&G crew were told in advance that this conference brings over 10,0000 attendees. They are not staffed adequately, nor do they have food to serve large audiences. I stood in line...More

Thank Michela J
Reviewed September 15, 2018

Detroit's modern convention center sits glistening along the Detroit river. A large and attractive electronic screen keeps you update on events at the convention center. The inside reminded me a bit of a high end hotel with it's stunning ball room that has views of...More

Thank StockholmKindaGuy
JenniferB9374, Catering & Event Sales Manager at Cobo Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2018

Hello StockholmKindaGuy, Thank you so much for your very positive feedback of Cobo Center! We are so glad that you enjoyed your time here and were able to take in the incredible views of the Detroit River and experience our new ballroom during your stay....More

Reviewed August 10, 2018 via mobile

I recently attended the 71st Biannual NALC (National Association of Letter Carriers) at the COBO Convention Center in downtown Detroit. It was a very nice facility, and I was able to park my vehicle in the adjacent parking garage for just $15.00 a day. Not...More

Thank Marc C
Jennifer B, Sales Manager at Cobo Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2018

Hello Marc C.; thank you for your feedback about your experience. We are so glad that you enjoyed yourself! We do strive for a high level of customer service for every event, and appreciate your dropping us a line. Hope to see you here again...More

Reviewed August 6, 2018

Cobo is like any other convention center with one exception - the people who work there are really helpful and pleasant. The halls were clean and signage was helpful. Loved that it connected to the people mover! Parking is plentiful but pricey.

Thank irritatedwithprogram
Jennifer B, Sales Manager at Cobo Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2018

Thank you for your feedback about your experience. We are so glad that you enjoyed yourself! Hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed August 6, 2018 via mobile

Came here for a political rally yesterday. It's absolutely beautiful inside. Skylight windows throughout, stunning riverfront views, lots of clean shiny bathrooms and that was just in the area we were in, chair sets throughout to sit and relax and chat for a few, many...More

Thank Jabell1969
Jennifer B, Sales Manager at Cobo Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our Center! We appreciate your positive remarks and will continue to strive to offer this level of service and comfort to guests in the future. Hope to see you here again soon.

Reviewed July 31, 2018

Great spaces for a variety of meeting types. Food service was a bit pricey & several attendees were disappointed by minimal vegetarian options. Service was quick & clean.More

Thank Barb S
Jennifer B, Sales Manager at Cobo Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review Cobo Center! We are so glad to hear about your positive experience here with us recently, and will pass along your comments regarding vegetarian food options to our catering partner. We hope to see you here again...More

Reviewed July 17, 2018 via mobile

Great space, plenty of restaurants in area. An elevated train, that you can ride that takes you around downtown area. The train has various stops including Greektown. A casino and many more restaurants were in this part of town. Most locals were very friendly and...More

Thank rodneymoaning
Greg D, Director of Sales at Cobo Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2018

Thanks for your fantastic review of Cobo and downtown Detroit. We are SO glad you enjoyed your experience!

Reviewed July 12, 2018

In town for GJNV tournament. Parking was good but filled quickly on weekdays. The surrounding lots were reserved for monthly passes so it became difficult to find parking. Very few trash cans in the convention hall. I was constantly picking up others trash and looking...More

Thank Becky S
Greg D, Director of Sales at Cobo Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2018

Thank you so much for your recent review of Cobo Center. Appreciate the commentary. It was a job to keep up with the trash and maintaining clean women's restrooms with 20,000 + visitors each day. Hope you were able to enjoy some of your free...More

Reviewed July 10, 2018

Went there for a national volleyball tournament. Food options better than many. Not enough bathrooms. Too few trash cans in the venue itself. Place was kept pretty clean. Nice statue of Joe Louis. Prices not outrageous. Long and narrow; somewhat hard to navigate and get...More

Thank Robert W
Greg D, Director of Sales at Cobo Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2018

Thank you for your recent review of Cobo Center. We appreciate your comments and honest review of you experience in the building and the city. We sure loved having you, can you come back next week?

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 36 nearby hotels
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
1,070 reviews
.11 miles away
Detroit Foundation Hotel
399 reviews
.12 miles away
The Detroit Club
5 reviews
.25 miles away
Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby
1,538 reviews
.31 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 1,247 nearby restaurants
London Chop House
251 reviews
.20 miles away
The Apparatus Room
221 reviews
.11 miles away
Top Of The Pontch
93 reviews
.11 miles away
The Caucus Club Restaurant
23 reviews
.24 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 299 nearby attractions
The Guardian Building
634 reviews
.24 miles away
Campus Martius Park
259 reviews
.36 miles away
Joe Louis Arena
591 reviews
.21 miles away
The Spirit of Detroit
131 reviews
.32 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
plcronin1968
April 25, 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from ChristinaF2551 | Reviewed this property |
Yes and they have place to put the water bottle to be recycle.
1
Vote
theadley
December 17, 2017|
Answer
Response from Greg D | Property representative |
This really depends on your level of interest and pace at which you prefer to go through the show. My first question to you is are you talking about Friday, January 19 & Saturday January 20? If so the show floor is not open... More
0
Votes
rlaubach
January 18, 2017|
Answer
Response from Greg D | Property representative |
You certainly can!
0
Votes