Wachusett Mountain Ski Area

Wachusett Mountain Ski Area, Princeton: Tickets, Tours, Hours, Address, Wachusett Mountain Ski Area Reviews: 4/5

Message from Tripadvisor
Closed until Nov 1, 2021

Wachusett Mountain Ski Area

Wachusett Mountain Ski Area
4
Mountains • Ski & Snowboard Areas
Temporarily closedClosed until Nov 1, 2021
About
Voted the most accessible ski resort in the East by SKI Magazine! Located in the heart of Massachusetts, less than an hour from Boston, Providence and Worcester. We offer over 110 acres of terrain and 1,000ft. vertical for true mountain skiing, minutes away! We also host weddings, corporate events and our famous Fall festivals when we aren't skiing or boarding.
Suggested duration
More than 3 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Popular mentions

4.0
238 reviews
Excellent
119
Very good
71
Average
22
Poor
8
Terrible
18

Ed R
Holden, MA2 contributions
Best Mid-Size Ski Resort on the Planet?
Feb 2021
I am a long time season pass holder as well as a race league and NASTAR junkie. I grew up on a resort out west and am a lifetime skier with trips to many North American resorts well as some to the Alps and Japan. So why in the world would I absolutely LOVE Wachusett?

There are three things that cannot be helped- Eastern snow conditions, it is a mid-size mountain, and it gets busy because it is well placed for access from Boston, Hartford, Providence, etc. Despite this, it is such a well run resort that these 'natural' challenges are well mitigated.

Everyone knows that skiing 'The East' means learning to ski in icy conditions. However, you won't often find boilerplate conditions at the 'Wa' due to massive snow making capacity and some of the best grooming I have seen anywhere. Mother nature can throw some ugly curves at eastern resorts, but grooming wizardry at the Wa will create nice conditions. Big crowds can scrub it down but grooming twice a day will bring it back.

For a mid-size mountain, the facilities are very comprehensive and in good shape. The folks who own and operate the resort care deeply about its success and the quality of the experience to be had by its guests. Staff are attentive and friendly. The owners continue to invest in improvements year after year, including a massive investment in doubling the snow making capacity.

The covid situation has pushed many more people into outdoor activities, and eastern ski resorts are seeing the pressure. Spreading people out on the lifts remains necessary as of now and this certainly slows down service. It is what it is, and at least they are able to operate. Most of the resorts in Europe are still completely shut down. Yeah, I hate masks too- but folks should stop whining as it is state policy and lax enforcement could get the entire operation shut down.

Lastly, a two-thumbs-up plug for the race program. Whether you have kids interested in giving ski racing a try or you are an experienced adult racer looking for a league- the Wa is awesome for racing.
Written February 28, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Ryan W
1 contribution
Great
Feb 2021 • Family
Dont listen to to anti science anti masker on this site. They are doing there best to make it a safe experience for all. As a season pass holder I am glad they wont be coming back. Facts over fiction science over stupidity....
Written February 27, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

wpkm
1 contribution
Too many mask police
Feb 2021
Masks do not work and wearing a mask outside skiing is just irritating. Put that most over your nose sir, I got 5 times tonight. My glasses fog up with the mask over my nose where I can't even see where I am going. So until the silly mask business is over, no more skiing for me. I felt like a criminal and its against the Constitution to make people wear a mask with no evidence it works and now people are getting sick from masks. Other than that the mountain is nice place but little expensive, $300 for family of four for 2.5 hours, so not something we can do very often and for that kind of money I dont need a teenager telling me to put my mask over my nose.
Written February 16, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

tmoran06
Falmouth, MA4 contributions
Terrible Customer Service and False Advertising
Feb 2021 • Couples
Wachuset use to be my go to mountain for skiing since it is convenient. Unfortunately my experience this last visit has made me decide to ski elsewhere next time. We booked a Return to Learn package on their website. The website and confirmation email advertised it as including an all mountain lift ticket, lesson and rentals. You were asked to pick a lesson time but we’re not asked to pick a skiing time. When I showed up at 9:30 ready to ski for the day I was told my session started at 7:30 and would end at 11. So basically I paid $240 (my husband and myself) to ski for an hour and a half. After showing them that website did not include this information for the Return to Learn packages nor did the confirmation email the supervisor said we will fix the website but I don’t know what you want us to do for you now. All she offered was to refund my money for the day. After feeling defeated and taking the refund I went to get on the bus back to our car. The kind lady working the parking lot advised us to go to the customer service desk. Luckily the guy there saw the error and was more helpful. He was able to extend our lift tickets until 4 but we had to pay an extra 30 dollars. They state these policies are in affect due to CoVid so I would expect less lines and crowds than previous years at the same time. That simply was not the case. The lines and crowds were the same as previous years. I will say the ski instructor Eugene was great and the trails are fun but customer service needs some serious attention especially the supervisor working the ticket windows on February 13.
Written February 14, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hello, Thank you for your comments as they help us improve the guest experience for everyone. We are very sorry you did not have a good time on the mountain, we do our best to communicate when we extend our hours, but we are sorry if we did not make it clear enough. We are glad to hear you were able to extend your ticket and ski with us until later in the day after all! We would like to assure you that we are operating at 50% capacity outside. You may have noticed longer lift lines because we are unable to load 4 people in each chair preventing lifts from running at maximum efficiency. This slows down lift lines, not to mention the sessions are designed for people to maximize their time on the hill, instead of spending it in the lodge. We are glad to hear your ski instructor was great, and we will pass your message along to both the Customer Service Manager and the Learning Center Manager. Thank you again for your comments and we hope you will give us another try soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

BIGSEAHEART
Harwich Center, MA2 contributions
Great Fun
Jan 2021
OMG the Skiing is Remarkable!! The Employees feel like Friends and Family! Sad about the Covid Limitations but Boy are they working Hard to Not have those Issues Wreck the day!1---Seems the Malcontents are spring loaded for Failure and their whining couldn't Ruin this Little Big Mountains ski experience....!!
Written February 1, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Lawdog720
Braintree, MA7 contributions
Terrible Dangerous Parking Issue
Jan 2021 • Family
Yes, we're all undergoing pandemic problems. The 3 session segmented day is understandable. BUT parking is flat out wrong. We arrived Sunday 12pm a bit later than our 1145. Three weeks previous, New Years day, the first session vacated leaving a half the spaces open. Now the road gate closed not to open till 1pm. We were told we had to park away and take a bus. Only 50% capacity is still tightly enclosed.
I explained I am in high risk group, 2 comorbidities. My 9 year can't park my car, legally. Either way I'd request a refund because I won't be exposed and wasted 3 hours drive. The attendant did the right thing to let me pass. There were dozens of empty parking spots.
Only the early session has reserve parking option.
If Wachusett can post daily snow reports and face book pix everyday they can get use these media for parking resrictions. Yes during normal season the main lot is full then the outer lots and bus transport is SOP. That's how it was. I worked Colorado ski areas 20 years. I know how these operate.
I emailed management Monday but never had a reply.
Obviously I'm done with Wachusett for now. Too bad it's a good area. Snow maintenance is excellent. The lodge was perfect family oriented. Employees were great. This reflects on management. Unfortunately they screwed it bigly this time.
Written January 28, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Zach
Dudley, MA1 contribution
Scam
Jan 2021
Do not give into the ridiculous new pricing system that I have feeling will not go away even after this pandemic passes. Over $120 for a day pass, at a mountain with barely 10 real trails, with only a handful of those worth skiing, crazy crowds, loads of inexperienced/reckless skiers/riders, poor snow, the list goes on. Without a doubt the biggest waste of money I have ever spent at a ski resort.
Written January 21, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hello, we are sorry you are upset with our pricing structure this year. The purpose of the sessions is to spread people out and give everyone a chance to access the mountain this year. With reduced capacity, extremely high demand, and limited supply, this is what we came up with to best serve our skiers. The sessions are the same price as a 1/2 day or 1/2 night ticket last season for the same amount of time. We do have limited quantities of double sessions available for people looking to ski longer. We have also been offering limited ticket upgrade options based on carrying capacity for the next session after your own. These have been as low as $5 more for another 3.5 hours and are offered via text message. We hope you understand that we do not want to alienate any of our loyal customers, but rather to manage capacity. Please no not hesitate to reach out to us if you have any more concerns this season.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Bill B
5 contributions
Exorbitant prices under new 4-section day
Dec 2020
Wachusett has gone price crazy. They’ve divided the day into 4 sections and charge you $62 per section. I want to ski from 10:00-4:00 and it’ll cost $124! Go over the border to NH the next nearest mts like Pat’s Peak and its $79 for the whole day (for better conditions and more trails.) I’m tired of companies using Covid excuse for a money grab. Wachusetts has permanently lost my family’s business.
Written December 24, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hi Bill, we are sorry you are upset about our pricing structure this year. The purpose of the sessions is to spread people out and give everyone a chance to access the mountain this year. With reduced capacity, extremely high demand, and limited supply, this is what we came up with to best serve our skiers. The sessions are the same price as a 1/2 day or 1/2 night ticket last season for the same amount of time. We do have limited quantities of double sessions available for people looking to ski longer. We have also been offering limited ticket upgrade options based on carrying capacity for the next session after your own. These have been as low as $5 more for another 3.5 hours and are offered via text message. We hope you understand that we do not want to alienate any of our loyal customers, but rather to manage capacity. Please no not hesitate to reach out to us if you have any more concerns this season.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

wjgebo
Moosup, CT30 contributions
Perfect ski day trip
Feb 2020
One of the best places to ski for Southern New England. We love going here for a nice skiing day trip. They really do a lot for snow making here to keep conditions as best as possible! I like the food here as well with gluten free options! Pricing is normal as well. Not like other ski resorts. Worth going every time!
Written December 20, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Luis
1 contribution
Will Steal Your Money
Dec 2020 • Business
Over the years I’ve spent time there skiing with family and friends. Because of it I figured would bring my son for ski lessons.

Yesterday I called to set up an appointment for a private ski lesson. They called back later to reschedule due to the expected snow storm, for which I rescheduled. Then due to my work I had to cancel my lesson.

I called back to cancel and always advised they cannot cancel, only reschedule. I told them I was unable to provide a date due to my dynamic work schedule so asked if I could call back at a different time to request a date. I was advised they required a date within 24 hrs as they cannot leave their reservations “hanging out there”.

I requested a refund for my son’s private ski lesson and the ski/helmet rental. I was advised they don’t do refunds for the ski lesson or the ski rentals, only that they would be able to transferred to a different date that I would need to be provide within 24 hrs.

Whomever it was I spoke to was abrupt and made no effort to provide customer service. I was basically told too bad, so sad, my problem not theirs.

Wachusett will steal your money if life happens and not do anything practical to help you if you can’t reschedule. I told them they lost my business and I’ll be sure to spread the word. They won’t have my family skiing there and my 3 sons will learn elsewhere.
Written December 17, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 221
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing