Cape Cod Beer

Cape Cod Beer, Hyannis: Hours, Address, Cape Cod Beer Reviews: 4.5/5

Cape Cod Beer
4.5
12:00 PM - 6:00 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 6:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 6:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 6:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 6:00 PM
Sunday
12:00 PM - 6:00 PM
About
Cape Cod Beer is Cape Cod's original craft beer located at 1336 Phinney's Lane in Hyannis with beer on tap in over 400 locations and in 125 package stores from Plymouth to Provincetown. Founded in 2004, Cape Cod Beer produces four year round offerings: Our Flagship Cape Cod Red, our light and refreshing Beach Blonde Ale, our dark and malty Porter and our bold & hoppy Cape Cod IPA, plus seasonal favorites such as Cape Cod Summer, Harvest Ale, Big Sea Saison, float Your Boatmeal Stout, Old Man Winter and Stargazer Stout, to name a few. We have a retail center that is open year round, where you can taste our beers and shop for a variety of logo goods and a wide selection of products Made on Cape Cod. We hope you come visit soon!
Suggested duration
1-2 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Popular mentions

4.5
422 reviews
Excellent
261
Very good
126
Average
28
Poor
4
Terrible
3

David C
Coventry, RI2,988 contributions
Great tasting line up
Oct 2021 • Friends
The tasting gets you 5 tastes and the glass for less than 7.00! Everything we tasted was good! The weizenbock was really good and I always love a good oyster stout. Super cool place to stop and try “vacation in every pint.”
Written October 18, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Maggiemyst
Mystic, CT18 contributions
Fall fun
Oct 2021 • Couples
Cape cod brewery was a great way to spend a chilly fall afternoon. The beer was delicious and with live music and a food truck we could not have asked for more. An easy Uber from Main Street, Would definitely recommend.
Written October 16, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Marathon59
Detroit, MI448 contributions
Great area and great beer.
Sep 2021 • Couples
The atmosphere was very exciting. A good truck, love music and good beer. We tried the sampler and then bought some beer afterward. Good variety that would please many beer lovers.
Written September 27, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Boppie2
7 contributions
Favorite beer tasting
Aug 2021
Always a good variety of beers to try. Christmas in July and Summer Ale were wonderful. Food truck and entertainment on site. Plenty of seating indoors and out. Outdoor Jenga and a hook toss were popular games..
Written August 11, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Monophoto-1
Saratoga Springs, NY347 contributions
A First for Me
May 2021
Been to lots of wine tastings, but this was my first beer tasting. Great fun.

This brewery is small and functional - I’ve visited several much larger operations as part of my job, and the differences are striking. Large breweries produce beer in great quantities, but usually only two or three variants. Here they produce very small quantities- and strive to create distinctive differences between products. And as a craft brewery, they are really concerned about the unique features and qualities of each product.

A tasting offers 3oz pours of up to five different beers along with a souvenir glass. I say ‘up to’ because you start out with a sample glass and four tokens that can be exchanged for refills of whatever beers are available. Most are one token refills, but they have a few seasonal specialty beers that are two tokens for a refill.

There is a formal tour on Saturday, but on other days there is a free beer talk that covers the history of this brewery and the production of beer.

Great activity for a rainy day

UPDATE: we tried their weekend beer/food affair, and were quite disappointed. The beer part was fine, but the food was pretty bad. This was during the pandemic lockdown, and it wasn't possible to actually talk to anyone about the food options, and the menu was not very clear. Wife had french toast and found it to be tasteless and tough (and hard to eat because they didn't provide a knife to cut it). I had crab cakes which tasted fine, but it really wasn't a complete meal, something that wasn't obvious from the menu. Not clear whether our experience was typical of the event, or a function of the circumstances surrounding the pandemic, but we were very disappointed. We will not try that again.

And it was a very hot day, and sitting under an umbrella on the blacktop pavement was really uncomfortable.
Written May 28, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RE Your Update: While we are sorry you were disappointed with the food served by the Food Truck at Cape Cod Beer, we're perplexed as to why you wrote Cape Cod Beer a less than glowing review because we don't make or sell the food! During the pandemic in the commonwealth of Massachusetts there was a mandate that forced breweries, wineries and distilleries to serve food with every initial order, or to close. We feel overwhelming gratitude towards JP's Twisted BBQ because without them our retail business would have been CLOSED, and our retail staff would have been unemployed. Given the devastation of our wholesale business and the restaurant industry in general we, Cape Cod Beer might have actually gone out of business if we had! But because JP"s Twisted BBQ agreed to "stick with us" we remained open through last summer and into summer 2021. In the end Cape Cod Beer has very little control over the food that is served. Of course with that being said 99% of what is served is very much enjoyed by our patrons, and we often get raving emails and social media posts about the food too! but like any business, sometimes things "miss the mark". In the end it is a Food Truck in a parking lot serving food to a parking lot beer garden/tasting room. There was plenty of staff - both ours and theirs - to ask questions to, and/or complain to, and/or request a knife from. We know wholeheartedly if you have voiced any of these complaints to Jay and Nancy the owners/operators of JP's Twisted BBQ they would TOTALLY have fixed them, given you something else or refunded your money. As for being under an umbrella on a hot day in a parking lot: our tap room is air conditioned, and it's always shady under our tent. We're not sure why if it was that hot you wouldn't have just moved inside where it was air conditioned. We have little control over the weather, and while we wish our brewery was on a farm or a beach... sadly it isn't. Our parking lot beer garden is loved by many, but it is just that.. a parking lot. In the future can I please recommend that if you don't enjoy something, make it known at the time of service so that people can make your experience better - instead of not saying anything and telling the world online. And if it's a Food Truck you are unhappy with, please don't write a bad review for the business where the food truck resides. Thanks!
Written August 25, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Bill C
Hillsborough, NH292 contributions
A great place for a beer.
May 2021
We stopped by for lunch on the first day of our Cape Cod weekend. We enjoyed the beer and the staff was friendly and attentive. It was a beautiful afternoon to sit outside and enjoy the live music. Like another said, it would be great if they offered flights of beer. We would have liked to try more of them.
Written May 17, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

CarolAnn B
Hartford, CT146 contributions
Great beer and food
Apr 2021 • Couples
We stopped by for lunch with another couple. The beer is terrific the food is good and the staff is friendly and attentive. There is indoor and outdoor seating and it is very Covid safe. If I would ask for anything it would be flights of beer. I wanted to taste them all.
Written April 21, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

bigchuck68
Boston, MA223 contributions
Great place run by Great people!
Mar 2021 • Friends
We went to the St Patricks. Day event. They had a great band outside, tables socially distanced Great people. Irish food. And lots of awesome beer. These folks make a lot of styles of beer so you should be able to find a few you like. We took home a bunch. They donate a lot to charity on the Cape which helps when I buy their beer I say I am helping a business help others! Lol. We had a happy time!
Written March 17, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

AmyF1965
Rochester, NY123 contributions
Nice place
Sep 2020
Decided to stop in for a drink and food, sat outside in the beer garden. Due to this virus, it was an odd visit. Would definitely go back when the restrictions are lifted or possibly at night.. Would recommend!
Written October 2, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

kcrules
albany213 contributions
Just ok
Aug 2020
First time at the brewery visiting, the beer was average. The biggest thing was the beer tender was waiting on people, checking people into the beer garden, pouring beer, playing with a dog and never once washed her hands, I did not see any sanitizer. You should not play with a dog then pour beers, hands need to be washed to keep the customers safe. Just wearing a mask will not cut. It.
Written August 31, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dear kcrules, we do wish that you had said something on site to a manager or one of the owners when you had that experience, pointing out the specific employee. this behavior (petting dogs and pouring beers etc ) is certainly the exception and not the rule. sadly we now have no idea which employee this was, so to speak to them regarding this issue. it’s certainly easiest to correct problems when they happen and specifically. we hope that you (and other reviewers who choose to take to the internet to try to shame or punish hard working businesses instead of making impactful change by speaking up on site when the problem occurs) will consider this going forward. of course our staff has access to hand washing and hand sanitizer, and know the protocols required to keep everyone safe. maybe you missed her ducking inside to hand wash or using hand sanitizer behind the counter or at the hostess stand, or at the bar inside? or maybe she just didn’t that time. we have no idea, and won’t ever know will we? i can guarantee that Cape Cod Beer is running the safest operation possible, following all state and local mandates, and has the safety of our customers and staff at heart... every single day. are we perfect? nope. we have the same issues that everyone else does. these are crazy times and everyone needs to change and pivot and rethink everything. this is stressful and exhausting on everyone.. including our staff. i can also guarantee that our entire retail staff (not just the offending person) will be made aware of your concerns, and the issues it creates. in terms of our beers being “just average” ... we typically have had 15 beers on tap throughout the summer. sorry you didn’t find something to pique your interest amongst them. maybe your safety concerns tainted your experience? if so we hope you might return again and try some different beers. cheers, beth marcus co-owner cape cod beer
Written September 1, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 415
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing