We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Steamship Authority

402 Reviews

The Steamship Authority

402 Reviews
Get the full experience and book a tour
Recommended
Our most popular tours and activities
Nearby Experiences
Other experiences in Hyannis
Martha's Vineyard Day Trip from Boston with Optional Island Tour (Small Group)
$105.00 per adult
Popular: Booked by 11,860 travelers!
Full view
Location
Contact
69 South St, Hyannis, MA 02601-4013
Get to know the area
Go Boston All-Inclusive Pass
Sightseeing Passes

Go Boston All-Inclusive Pass

176 reviews
If you want to experience the best of Boston, and see what you want for one low price—be sure to try the flexible Go Boston Pass. Whether you're hoping for a romantic getaway or a family-friendly excursion, you can do it with your pass, since what you do is up to you. Highlights include visiting top area attractions—from museums to ballparks—and booking tours and cruises, all with your mobile pass.<br><br>Please note: Enjoy the extra flexibility in case your travel plans need to change: All passes (purchased by December 31) are valid for two year from purchase date and only become activated with your first attraction visit. After activation your pass will be valid for 30 days and/or the remaining number of attraction choices purchased.
$65.00 per adult
402Reviews27Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 221
  • 120
  • 30
  • 8
  • 23
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Bob Bryan wrote a review Sep 2020
Port Charlotte, Florida3 contributions1 helpful vote
great experience!!! the staff on both ends where great. I appreciated the care that was given to my bike as well !!!!
Read more
Date of experience: September 2020
Helpful
Share
luv2travel076 wrote a review Sep 2020
New York517 contributions160 helpful votes
We took the round trip fast boat to Nantucket and back from Hyannis. Trip is one hour each way. Boat is fine. It was a few days after Labor Day and going out in the morning the boat was 40-50% full. Masks required, but social distancing was tough. Food and drink service was closed. Return at 12:30 pm was very empty. I am sure later departures would have been fuller.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2020
Helpful
Share
James B wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
August 30 th. Steamship had to quarantine a boat for COVID. Ok I get it. But No communication to any of us who had reservations on that ship. Where is upper management, terrible job. Telling Us to wait for an email with no time frame of when we may board. Why if you have my email am I’m in line at 8:20 for the 9:15 that is never showing. It is now 4:00 pm and I was told I’m not on the 5:30. And if I get an email to be on the 8:00pm and I want to now leave tomorrow instead of spending the day waiting for an email that may not come. I’m back to bottom of wait list. Fire the guy in charge. I fell sorry for the nice lady in front of me with 2 young children.
Read more
Date of experience: August 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
CherryTravels17 wrote a review Aug 2020
New Jersey631 contributions188 helpful votes
We purchased our high-speed ferry roundtrip tickets online. The total cost for 2 tickets was $138 (including embarkation fees.) The process was very easy and we received a link to download our mobile tickets. On the morning of our ferry ride, we checked the Steamship Authority website for parking options. The recommended lot had lots of parking and was $15 per day. A free shuttle was available to/from the ferry. Before boarding the ferry, our duffel bags were loaded onto a luggage cart (as we were only allowed to bring smaller bags to our seats.) The ferry was clean and not crowded; it was easy to social-distance. After departing, we arrived at Nantucket within an hour. It was a nice ride both to and from the island. Note: Same-day roundtrip tickets are cheaper than roundtrip tickets departing on different days.
Read more
Date of experience: August 2020
Helpful
Share
Caroline wrote a review Aug 2020
8 contributions
Took the ferry to and from MV. Gorgeous views both ways. Took the 7:15pm ferry back to Woods Hole and we were treated to an amazing sunset on the water! Covid practices are in place and masks are required for the duration of the trip. Highly recommend!
Read more
Date of experience: August 2020
Helpful
Share
Previous