We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hy-Line Cruises - High Speed Ferry Service

Hyannis, MA, USA
More
About Hy-Line Cruises - High Speed Ferry Service
High-speed ferry service to Nantucket and Martha's Vineyard; the only mid-Cape departure point to both islands. Hyannisport Harbor Cruises past the Kennedy Compound, Deep-Sea Fishing and Cape Cod Canal Cruises.
Open Now
Hours Today: 6:00 AM - 7:00 PM
See all hours
Travelers talk about
Tours and Tickets by Hy-Line Cruises - High Speed Ferry Service
Overview
If you only have a day to experience Nantucket’s New England charm, maximize your time with this convenient package. Rather than hiring a car and taking the slow ferry, enjoy minibus transfers to Hyannis, cross to Nantucket in just an hour, and spend almost a whole day exploring independently by bus, car, or on foot. Your driver/guide will point out essential sights as you travel to Cape Cod.
413Reviews9Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 238
  • 108
  • 29
  • 15
  • 23
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Peter H wrote a review Oct 24
Totowa, New Jersey37 contributions11 helpful votes
took the high speed ferry to Martha's vineyard, it was very comfortable and on time, the snake barf was not open due to covid but it looked well stocked. Nice way to travel
Read more
Date of experience: October 2020
Helpful
Share
Laurabob52 wrote a review Oct 22
New York City, New York203 contributions45 helpful votes
High speed ferry to Nantucket from Hyannis takes 1 hour. Ferry cost 77 dollars round trip and drop off in downtown Nantucket. Ferry provides plenty of seating and food and beverages are sold on ferry. Parking is available on street for 1 dollar an hour. There are several parking lot which charge between 10 and 15 dollars a day. Best to make a reservation for the ferry its popular and can fill up quickly.
Read more
Date of experience: October 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from betsyrich, Manager at Hy-Line Cruises - High Speed Ferry Service
Responded 3 days ago
Thank you for your review!
Read more
Brayden R wrote a review Sep 2020
Michigan1 contribution
Probably fine under normal circumstances. No attempt was made to limit travelers. The boat was packed despite the pandemic. Any good was overshadowed by the danger the company puts it's customers in.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from betsyrich, Manager at Hy-Line Cruises - High Speed Ferry Service
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for letting us know your concerns. We chose to reduce our capacities (from what is allowed by the USCG) to allow for social distancing. This has been in place since March. Clearly it didn't look that way, from your perspective; but I can guarantee you that it is. Social distancing requires personal responsibility, wherever one goes, and everybody has to make their own, personal, risk assessment about using public transportation. We will continue to do the best we can to encourage compliance to mandated safety measures during this very difficult time. Thank you for your comments and concerns.
Read more
NiskayunaJoan wrote a review Sep 2020
Niskayuna109 contributions39 helpful votes
Everything with the ferry was perfect, very organized and on time. Great way to travel. On our trip back home today, a very obnoxious couple was trying to take up all 6 outdoor seats in their row by putting bags on the 4 empty seats. A family with 2 small children tried to sit down and the obnoxious couple basically said no because they have elderly parents home in New Jersey that they were trying to keep safe. The nice family got someone from the ferry involved but they didn’t insist that they move their bags and the family ended up standing. It honestly took all the strength I had to keep my mouth shut during all of this. We offered the family our seats but they declined. I think there should be signs and someone enforcing so that people don’t put their bags on seats so people don’t sit there. Very rude! And for God sakes, couple from NJ, if you want 6 seats, pay for 6 seats!!!!!!
Read more
Date of experience: September 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from betsyrich, Manager at Hy-Line Cruises - High Speed Ferry Service
Responded Sep 8, 2020
Hi Joan, Thank you for taking the time to review. I'm sorry about the lack of consideration from fellow passengers.
Read more
Christopher Brookfield wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution
I made a reservation on line for a early afternoon trip to Nantucket to meet up with friends to watch the Capitals (NHL) and bbq. I got an confirmation email and two boarding passes with bar codes (departure and return). I got in line at 2:05. The ticket says at the bottom “Must be boarded or in BOARDING LINE 15 min. prior to maintain reservation” which I was. I got to the Scanning agent and he says I must be “checkin in” I said, I have the boarding pass and I was in line as instructed. He Says Go to the office. Woman there insists with indignity that the ticket says you must be in line or have checked in. I point to the line and say, that is exactly what I did. I was in line. She says you should have checked in at the office. I said the ticket - boarding pass LITERALLY SAYS YOU MUST BE IN BOARDING LINE (or boarded but you could not board, hence the line.) She says they gave my space to someone else. You might say, it is only an hour a twenty minutes difference; but I was only going to be there 4 hours. No sympathy, no let’s work this out. What terrible communications and system. Could not be more misleading so they can sell their tickets.
Read more
Date of experience: August 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from betsyrich, Manager at Hy-Line Cruises - High Speed Ferry Service
Responded Sep 4, 2020
Hi Chris - I'm sorry to hear about your experience. I did find your reservation in our system, but it isn't really helping me to figure out what went wrong. I can see on that day around 12:00pm, two child tickets were added to your reservation and then at 2:16pm those tickets were moved and taken off. You had originally booked the 2:25pm so I'm confused as to why an agent was in the reservation a few minutes prior to departure. Do you have more information on this? What I do know is that once a change is made to a reservation, that the boarding cards emailed to you during your initial transaction need to be replaced. It sounds like you were perhaps not given this information? I'm glad there was availability to move you to the 3:45pm but I am again sorry for your experience as you were trying to get on your scheduled departure.
Read more
Previous