We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Terrapin Adventures

Savage, MD, USA
More
About Terrapin Adventures
Clip in and take off on a unique outdoor adventure. Soar through the air and defy gravity! Launch your adventure by scaling one of the 12 routes of our Terrapin Tower. Conquer all 25 of our Terrapin High and Low Challenge Course Elements. Experience 2 G's of force on our Giant Swing. Enjoy the thrill of gliding through the forest canopy on our Zip Line. We call it no sweat adrenaline! You will call it A Blast!Join us for:Team Building, Parties for adults or kids, a fun day with family or friends, kayak tours, kayak rentals, mountain biking, bike tours, bike rentals, river tubing and more...Challenging outdoor activities for anyone 8-80. Come with your friends or family, singles groups, classmates, scouts, religious organizations or co-workers. Celebrate a great event or a beautiful day.
Read more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
See all hours

Terrapin Adventures
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
59Reviews2Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 38
  • 14
  • 4
  • 0
  • 3
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Pilgrimonthemove wrote a review Jun 2019
Rockland, Massachusetts40 contributions25 helpful votes
Visited here with our 14 yo grandson who has previously visited other high ropes adventure courses in MA & TN. He enjoyed Terrapin but felt it was easier than the other parks he has climbed & the time spent on the ropes was dramatically less. Grandson finished the course- High Alpine Adventure- in 30 min, much quicker than the 2 hrs indicated on the website. As with other courses, Terrapin is all about “Safety first”. He was assigned a guide who stayed with him for the entire climb, clipping & unclipping him from various elements. As observers, Mr. Pilgrim & I were able to watch from a small viewing area but the structure & trees blocked much of our view. We were there on a Wed at 10 am so Grandson was the only individual climber. There were several groups, though, for what appeared to be team building activities separate from climbing. Given the information on the website & our previous experience with other ropes courses, Mr & I were very disappointed - especially since this park was more expensive than the others. Nonetheless Grandson enjoyed himself & that was our goal.
Read more
Date of experience: June 2019
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Matt B, Owner at Terrapin Adventures
Responded Jul 2, 2019
Thanks for your feedback. For a longer more adventurous experience we suggest the Terrapin Challenge. The amount of time is average and is based on having other guests on the course so your grandson was fortunate to have a one on one guide. Observers do have the option to sign a consent/waiver form and wear a helmet for a closer view of participating guests.
Read more
Neish111 wrote a review Sep 2018
Maryland95 contributions24 helpful votes
I decided to bring the kids to terrapin adventures to expose them to something different and to give them some adventure during spring break. I had a six year old and three 10 year old boys. I decided to get the Youth Explorer obstacle course for the six year old and the Triple Thrill for the older kids. The obstacle course includes a zip line, rock wall and ropes. The Triple Thrill includes a 330 ft zip line, 40ft bungee drop and a giant swing. Prior to going on any course, you have to get instructions on the equipment (helmets, belts and harnesses). They check to assure that everyone put their equipment on correctly. We went out with the teams that were getting the same packages as us. Each group has a a guide or guides. I scheduled the experiences so that the six year old would go first and then the older kids. The six year old enjoyed the rock wall, but required assistance throughout the obstacle course. It does seem a little high up when you climb up. I would say it all depends on the child. The older kids got on the giant swing first. It was perfect because three people could go on the swing at one time. All three kids went on the swing together and one person is responsible for pulling the latch to let the swing go. My son said that part was scary because he had to let go of the swing. The swing goes well into the wooded area but the kids said it was so much fun. The second adventure was the zip line. All three boys were nervous. My son is a dare angel but he didn’t like the small metal spokes that you have to climb to get up to the zip line. He said they made him feel off balance or like he was going to fall. He said that they need to make a sturdy ladder. Nonetheless after some convincing all three boys did the zip line and they were glad they tried it. The final adventure was the 40 ft drop. There was no one in our group willing to go first except for my son. In order to get to the top, you have to climb up a wooden post again with the small metal spokes. Although my son gave it his all he again said that they should have a ladder or something similar to make it easier to get to the top. He came back down without making it to the top. I did not plan on doing any of the adventures, but I put on all of the equipment just in case I had to step in. Well, I had to step in. The next thing I knew I was climbing up the post and made it to the top of the platform trying to figure out what I was doing up there. Extremely scared the guide was at the top with me and told me it was ok to sit down and scoot off the platform. I did just that and expected it to bungee, but it was an airy drop that placed me down to the ground softly. Needless to say we all got a little adventure that day. Awesome place for adventure, bucket list or adrenaline rush!
Read more
Date of experience: April 2018
Helpful
Share
Response from Matt B, Owner at Terrapin Adventures
Responded Sep 4, 2018
Glad you and your kids enjoyed themselves.
Read more
mattQ5411ES wrote a review Aug 2018
Severna Park, Maryland1 contribution4 helpful votes
My son attended their adventure camp this past summer and to be fair, his reviews were mixed. Some activities were fun but for the most part the camp was not nearly quite as advertised. What followed is considerably more concerning. We have just returned from a family vacation and followed instructions to pick up my son's epi-pen which was left at the camp. To this point they have been threatening to throw it away if we did not pick it up. For those not in the know, Epi-pens are live saving medicine that cost $100's of dollars per dose. Per instructions my wife was on site at 8:30 in the morning and the staff member specifically stated "I don't get paid enough to help you" and rudely kicked her out of the store. She drove 1 hour through rush hour traffic to get there at a time specified by the camp director. Their actions are inappropriate & inexcusable. We have been customers of their in the past, but we will never recommend this business or experience to anyone ever again.
Read more
Date of experience: August 2018
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Matt B, Owner at Terrapin Adventures
Responded Aug 16, 2018
I spoke to your wife this morning and appreciated her direct conversation and feedback. I am glad you were able to get your son's Epi pen back when you returned from vacation. We will use your feedback to improve how we communicate with parents. We did not threaten to throw the Epi pen away but under state regulations, must dispose of it at the end of camp if not retrieved by parent. I am glad your son enjoyed camp. Unfortunately, they group did not get to do slack lining and the slip n slide activity due to thunderstorms but were able to do all the other activities listed on the itinerary
Read more
chrishopksu2012 wrote a review Aug 2018
Washington DC, District of Columbia8 contributions8 helpful votes
I took a few teens here for a morning of zip-lining, giant swing riding, and climbing wall fun. Our instructor was amazing, the teens were able to do all of the activities, and we were safe at all times. I would recommend this place.
Read more
Date of experience: June 2018
Helpful
Share
Response from Matt B, Owner at Terrapin Adventures
Responded Aug 19, 2018
I am so pleased that your group enjoyed themselves.
Read more
hikingtee wrote a review Jun 2018
Baltimore, Maryland2 contributions
I took my grandson who is 9 and not athletic as a start of summer vacation treat. He had a wonderful time and wants to come back. The 2 young ladies that were his spotters were just fantastic. They not only encouraged him but joked and talked to him to keep him comfortable as he worked his way around the course. I can't thank them enough for making him feel good about himself.
Read more
Date of experience: June 2018
Helpful
Share
Response from Matt B, Owner at Terrapin Adventures
Responded Jun 20, 2018
Thank you for your kind words. I am glad your grandson had a positive experience. Look forward to seeing him and you again.
Read more
Previous