We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wells Auto Museum - CLOSED

Save
Share
Review Highlights
Not my cup of tea!

Our family has some real car lovers and when we saw the museum and had to go! My son was in awe but... read more

Reviewed November 10, 2016
Lo3rn
,
Bangor, Maine
Worth The Stop If You Can Catch It!

We have gone here several times in earlier years when our kids were little. They LOVED this place... read more

Reviewed August 16, 2016
DogWalker8801503
,
Berlin, ma
Read all 34 reviews
Enhance this page - Upload photos! Add a photo
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent37%
  • Very good29%
  • Average5%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible29%
May 22, 2017
“Closed for 5+ years”
Nov 10, 2016
“Not my cup of tea!”
About
Suggested duration: < 1 hour
Local Weather
Powered by Weather Underground
66°
43°
Sep
53°
32°
Oct
42°
24°
Nov
Contact
1181 Post Rd, Wells, ME 04090-4513
Website
+1 207-646-9064
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
34 results
Traveler rating
12
10
2
0
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
12
10
2
0
10
See what travelers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 34 reviews
Reviewed May 22, 2017

This business has been closed for more than 5 years. We have a park home there and it was never open in the entire time we have been there TripAdvisor should remove it from their database. At least the Maine DOT took down the signs...More

1  Thank Robert W
Kenny B, Public Relations Manager at Wells Auto Museum, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2017

Thank you for your interest in the museum. For the past few years, due to staffing we have only been open for a few weekends during the summertime, but the museum is still open. You can check the Facebook page for more information. (just search...More

Reviewed November 10, 2016

Our family has some real car lovers and when we saw the museum and had to go! My son was in awe but my husband thought there was a very limited selection based on each era. We thought it good but not great.

1  Thank Lo3rn
Reviewed October 15, 2016 via mobile

We have been coming to wells for many years and from the time my boys were very little we have visited every year and we are very sad that it is closed. I had read a response to a review that it is open one...More

Thank breezyday12
Reviewed August 16, 2016

We have gone here several times in earlier years when our kids were little. They LOVED this place and we were sad to see it closed this year when we visited Wells. If you happen to be there one of the weekends it is open,...More

Thank DogWalker8801503
Kenny B, Public Relations Manager at Wells Auto Museum, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2016

Thank you so much for your review, we are glad that you and your family have had the opportunity to enjoy the museum in the past. We do apologize for the limited hours of operation this summer, we are short of staffing this year. Please...More

Reviewed July 9, 2016

I have visited the museum many times with my Grandson. We really enjoyed the visits which were at least once a season. Unfortunately, the museum closed without any explanation.More

Thank rcd0321
Kenny B, Public Relations Manager at Wells Auto Museum, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2016

Thank you for your positive review! We are glad to hear that you and your grandson have had a pleasant time with us in the past. The museum is definitely open, but due to staffing problems it is only open during select weekends this year....More

Reviewed June 27, 2016

Very nice to see the past cars. Good location for shopping near by. Lots on little games for the kids also. A must see

1  Thank hkitty1954
Kenny B, Public Relations Manager at Wells Auto Museum, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2016

Thank you so much for your review, we are so glad that you enjoyed it. Please come back and visit us again.

Reviewed June 1, 2016 via mobile

We were so disappointed to arrive and the place was boarded up. We are from Florida and told it was a must stop if in the area. Asked a local and said it had been closed for a long time. Not a lot of places...More

2  Thank Bob S
Kenny B, Public Relations Manager at Wells Auto Museum, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2016

Bob, The museum is definitely open, but due to staffing problems it is only open during select weekends this year. If you have a chance to return to Wells, this is a list of open weekends (from the Wells Auto Museum facebook page). We will...More

Reviewed April 16, 2016

my son when he was younger enjoyed it and i recently went through it a year or so ago and it was really worth the price of admission which isn't to bad considering a lot of things now a days are super expensive! good value...More

Thank Janet L
Reviewed February 2, 2016

drove by and the place is boarded up.Asked a man about a few things in the area and everything is closed this time of year,not much open but antique shops and half of them are only open on the weekend

1  Thank sanitationgirl2000
Kenny B, Public Relations Manager at Wells Auto Museum, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2016

Please try to come back this summer, the museum will only be open 4 weekends in 2016 due to a reduction in staffing. June 18 & 19 July 16 & 17 August 6 & 7 September 10 & 11 The hours are 10-4

Reviewed December 11, 2015

The collection is quite extensive. It's not fancy on the inside or out but the cars are marvelous. They even have a Delorian. Cool for the kids to see the back to the Future car before it was souped up ;-)

Thank PaulJNoel
View more reviews