We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Carousel Horse Farm

40 Reviews
Sorry, there are no tours or activities available to book online for the date(s) you selected. Please choose a different date.

Carousel Horse Farm

40 Reviews
Sorry, there are no tours or activities available to book online for the date(s) you selected. Please choose a different date.
40Reviews1Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 16
  • 5
  • 6
  • 5
  • 8
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Shahzad M wrote a review Jul 2020
1 contribution
This is the first review I’ve ever written, but Tiffany’s (owner and guide) unprofessionalism warrants it. I’m all about safety, but Tiffany was consistently rude, condescending, unprofessional, impatient, and unpleasant with her directions. Despite this being a beginners ride, she repeatedly barked commands in an exasperated way and set a tone of fear and anxiety for anyone who is an unexperienced rider, especially my three children (ages 12, 10, 7). I assume Tiffany has good days and bad days, but judging by other reviews, this behavior is not an isolated incident, and it’s not worth risking your valuable time on vacation. The beautiful horses were unfortunately not able to overshadow Tiffany’s terribleness. To cap off our experience, I am sure this review will generate a combative response by Tiffany, and a litany list of how she was in the right and our perceptions were incorrect, since this seems to be her response to all negative reviews.
Read more
Date of experience: July 2020
Helpful
Share
Amy R wrote a review Sep 2019
13 contributions
We enjoyed our trail ride with Tiffany, the owner of Carousel Horse Farm. She tailors the ride to your level of skill and expertise. In other words, if you wish to trot or cantor, she will allow it. Many trail rides are walk only. The trail was beautiful and fun in that it was a little rugged. We enjoyed every minute.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2019
Helpful
Share
nags48 wrote a review Sep 2019
Boston, Massachusetts178 contributions51 helpful votes
We have tried to bring our grand daughters here for a horseback ride or a class. Even when Im not going there to stop in (as I pass to go to the casco library or post office) no one is there...no activity..Ive tried the webpage, not luck, so now we travel quite a bit further north and have a great time.
Read more
Date of experience: June 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Tiffany P, Owner at Carousel Horse Farm
Responded Sep 3, 2019
All rides are by reservation and can be reserved right on our website which is what about 90% of our customers do. If I'm in the barn I won't know you are in the yard and if I'm on a ride I won't know. That's why I don't encourage people to just pop in. I don't have an office. We don't offer "classes" just trail rides which is pretty clear on the website. I try hard to keep my personal life which is also here on the farm as separate from my business life as possible. Which means we don't have specific hours that people can just come by. When and if I get enough qualified help to have "hours" I'll be sure to post it on my website. In 2019 we have had over 1500 riders here at the farm. I'm sorry it has not worked out for you. I'm glad you found another place to ride where you are happy, that is what is important.
Read more
nhrider wrote a review Jul 2019
Derry, New Hampshire5 contributions6 helpful votes
My friends and I ride back home and always plan an annual summer weekend getaway which, of course, must include riding. Our Pears Ice Cream trail ride at CHF this weekend was so much fun. Our horses looked happy and healthy and our trail guides, Deb and Tarren, were very congenial. The Pears ride, mostly through woods and fields to the ice cream shop, was lovely, and we even got a bit of trotting in. After our ride, the guides graciously accommodated our request for a group picture of us on our horses. (They had also taken some pics at the ice cream shop.) Then, as we headed for our car to depart, CHF’s owner Tiffany came out to chat with us for a bit and was extremely pleasant. If you care that the trail horses you ride are happy and in good shape, and you are smart enough to listen to your trail guide (they know their horses and their trails) you will enjoy your ride here (and don't forget to tip your guide!.) If you want to act like a know-it-all and yahoo-it up on their horses, you won’t like it here, as the guides are there for the horses’ safety as well as yours. (I wouldn’t want anyone like that on my horses either!!) Their concern for the horses also explains why they must, at times, cancel rides because of weather or the bad footing that weather causes. It is simply not safe for horse or rider in those conditions. In summary, we thoroughly enjoyed our ride and we are already planning a return visit! Thanks, CHF, for a great ride!!
Read more
Date of experience: July 2019
Helpful
Share
TrailBlazer457864 wrote a review Jun 2019
1 contribution
I had a valid Groupon that I then was told wasn’t valid. Their website made a mistake & instead of Tiffany honoring what I already had an email confirmation on, she got mad and cancelled my ride. This was a birthday present for 2 other riders, who are so upset. The way Tiffany spoke to me was more than unprofessional. I am appalled at her behavior & utter lack of taking responsibility for something that was entirely her mistake. From reading other reviews, this is common practice for her to cancel rides booked with a Groupon . Beware!
Read more
Date of experience: June 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Tiffany P, Owner at Carousel Horse Farm
Responded Jun 20, 2019
Your Groupon was expired, not valid. You tried to argue that if the reservation platform accepted it (which you admitted, you had to try twice, the first time it told you it was invalid) that I should honor it. I gave you a choice to use it for your cash value as all expired Groupons. You refused. That is why your ride was cancelled. We do not offer groupons in our busy season, if we did we'd go out of business. The discount always expires on the expiration date as stated on all groupons and on our reservation page under the Groupon Customer info. We're sorry you misunderstood what an expiration date was.
Read more
Previous
1234568