We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: 15101 Fairfax St, Indianola, IA 50125-8346
Phone Number: +1 515-961-3545
Website
Today
10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Tue - Sun 10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Description:

Located just minutes outside of Des Moines, Iowa in Indianola. Summerset...

Located just minutes outside of Des Moines, Iowa in Indianola. Summerset Winery produces award winning Iowa wines from locally grown grapes. The winery specialises in hosting corporate events, weddings, live music concerts, and has a tasting room that is open Tuesday-Sunday all year long and Mondays by appointment. Check out our website for all upcoming events!

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 60 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 47
    Excellent
  • 7
    Very good
  • 2
    Average
  • 0
    Poor
  • 4
    Terrible
Wine & Music!

This is a great place to go on Sunday afternoons for wine and great music. They never disappoint. Great for outdoors or indoors no matter the weather.

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks ago
Traveler50125
,
Indianola, Iowa
Add Photo Write a Review

60 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 60: English reviews
Indianola, Iowa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a great place to go on Sunday afternoons for wine and great music. They never disappoint. Great for outdoors or indoors no matter the weather.

Helpful?
Thank Traveler50125
Summerset W, Manager at Summerset Winery, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words! We are so glad you enjoy your time out with us for Sunday Tunes. We can't wait to have you back! Sincerely, The Summerset Team More 

Knoxville
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We wanted to spend a beautiful Sunday afternoon outside, have a picnic, and listen to some music; we thought Summerset Winery would be great. We were greeted at the entrance to the vineyard by a $10.00 charge, which they typically only do for part of the afternoon. We finally arrived at the winery, found a nice spot to set up... More 

Helpful?
Thank JAMESknoxville
Summerset W, Manager at Summerset Winery, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for choosing to spend your Sunday afternoon with us and thank you for your feedback! We do charge a cover of $5/person on Sunday's when we have Sunday Tunes going on. We apologize about not having ice right away, we refill as needed throughout the afternoon and try to get to it as quickly as possible. Our... More 

Iowa
Level Contributor
62 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We tasted several very good wines. There is ample seating both inside and outside in the tasting area. Additionally, there is a banquet area upstairs that can service 250-300 people. There is also a building for overnight lodging on the grounds. Although rural, the entire route to the winery is in concreteroads.

Helpful?
Thank Kevin N
Summerset W, Manager at Summerset Winery, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review! We are so glad you could enjoy a beautiful fall day out at Summerset! We look forward to seeing you out again. Thank you again! Sincerely, The Summerset Team More 

San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2016

My weekend in Iowa was beyond perfect. Harvest at Summerset was a blast! There is something so rewarding about filling a bucket full of grapes and getting to stomp on them with all of your friends. The vineyard is beautiful, the staff is kind and extremely knowledgeable and the wine is delicious. We stayed at the vineyard till Sunday for... More 

Helpful?
Thank ericajg256
Summerset W, Manager at Summerset Winery, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review! We are so glad you enjoyed your weekend here at Summerset. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Sincerely, The Summerset Team More 

Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2016

We were with a tour group, and were treated to a tasting with lessons on making wine. It was so informative and fun. This is a beautiful building and property!

Helpful?
Thank msbones047
Summerset W, Wedding and Events Coordinator at Summerset Winery, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review! We are glad you have enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you again soon! Anne More 

Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2016 via mobile

On a sisters-no kids weekend, we stopped in to do a tasting and they were busy! After the party group left we were treated to some extra service and conversation even though they were preparing for a wedding. Wine is on the sweeter side so meets newbie tastes easily. Lovely location to sit and enjoy a bottle. Relaxation is the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cindy M
Summerset W, Wedding and Events Coordinator at Summerset Winery, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your time at Summerset Winery. We are looking forward to welcoming you again! Anne More 

Johnston, Iowa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2016

My department held our Winter Soiree here, and they were amazing. The event room was perfect and they were more than accommodating, and friendly as well. The wines were amazing and the location is so beautiful! Will definitely be back!

Helpful?
Thank 188jennii
Summerset W, Manager at Summerset Winery, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review! We are so glad you had a wonderful time here at your work event at the winery. We can't wait to see you back at Summerset! Sincerely, The Summerset Team More 

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
80 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2016

We were to the winery for a wedding reception recently. although the trees were not lush, from the looks of the grounds, this looks like a nice place to visit in Summer. The reception area upstairs was nice. The one draw back was there was not a bar upstairs. Every time you wanted a drink, you had to go to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Snowleftbehind
Summerset W, Manager at Summerset Winery, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review! We are glad you enjoyed the wedding you attended at Summerset Winery. Each wedding reception chooses where to place their bar but we apologize about the inconvenience. We hope to welcome you back to Summerset soon! Sincerely, The Summerset Team More 

Burnsville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2016

Easy drive just outside Des Moines. Very pretty landscape and clean facilities. The wine is scrumptious. Was a great ladies day!

Helpful?
Thank Samantha T
Summerset W, Manager at Summerset Winery, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review! We are so glad you enjoyed your time out here at Summerset Winery! We hope to see you back soon! Sincerely, The Summerset Team More 

Owatonna, Minnesota
Level Contributor
416 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2015

We stop here 1-2 times per year, for wine and enjoyment. We sampled a few wines and several selections were made and purchased. Enjoyed the visit with the lady at the sampling. When we got to our vehicle, Ron drove up and visited for awhile. He loves to see MN people drive for 3 hr to buy his wine. One... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carl W
Summerset W, Manager at Summerset Winery, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review! We are so glad to hear you enjoy your time and our wines here at Summerset Winery! We look forward to seeing you out again! Sincerely, The Summerset Team More 

Travelers who viewed Summerset Winery also viewed

 

Been to Summerset Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Summerset Winery and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
il
15 days ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Summerset Winery staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?