We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Summerset Winery

15101 Fairfax St, Indianola, IA 50125-8346
+1 515-961-3545
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Quality wines, great setting!

My wife and I have been to Summerset both for tastings and for live music on Sundays, including as... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
Conner T
,
Warrensburg, Missouri
Good wine

We went here to add several grapes to our tasting list (now over 260) and we were not disappointed... read more

Reviewed November 14, 2017
OtPot
,
Anderson, South Carolina
via mobile
Read all 66 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Located just minutes outside of Des Moines, Iowa in Indianola. Summerset Winery produces award winning Iowa wines from locally grown grapes. The winery specialises in hosting corporate events, weddings, live music concerts, and has a tasting room that is open Tuesday-Sunday all year long and Mondays by appointment. Check out our website for all upcoming events!
  • Excellent75%
  • Very good15%
  • Average4%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible6%
Travelers talk about
“nice setting” (2 reviews)
“crackers” (2 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
Hours Today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
LOCATION
15101 Fairfax St, Indianola, IA 50125-8346
CONTACT
Website
+1 515-961-3545
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"bring your own"
in 3 reviews
"nice setting"
in 2 reviews
"crackers"
in 2 reviews
"beautiful vineyard"
in 2 reviews
"inclement weather"
in 2 reviews
"ron"
in 14 reviews
"event"
in 16 reviews
"wine"
in 31 reviews
"music"
in 9 reviews
"cheese"
in 3 reviews
"tasting"
in 4 reviews
"picnic"
in 4 reviews
"semi"
in 2 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

My wife and I have been to Summerset both for tastings and for live music on Sundays, including as recently as a couple of weeks ago. The location is beautiful, out in the country amongst the trees and hills. We've been to many wineries in...More

Thank Conner T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2017 via mobile

We went here to add several grapes to our tasting list (now over 260) and we were not disappointed. We are dry wine drinkers and they have several, but most leaned toward the semi-sweet to sweet. Not what we like. Those wines taste OK, but...More

Thank OtPot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2017 via mobile

Spent the afternoon here yesterday with our friends. We tasted 3 wines and were able to sit for 4 hours uninterrupted. They let us bring in our own snacks. They were friendly and we had a great time! They had a band outdoors to listen...More

Thank JGtraveler2817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2017

We received a very friendly welcome at Summerset winery. It's a nice setting and a good location for a picnic. The wines themselves are made exclusively from American grapes or hybrids and aren't what you are used to. Not my style but still a pleasant...More

Thank UltimateWines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2017

Beautiful vineyard setting with good wine, good music & great people. Owners Ron & Linda Mark are fun and gracious host/hostess. You are welcome to bring your own bistro-style picnic or you may purchase cheese, meats & crackers there. Events move inside in the event...More

Thank VJGTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2017 via mobile

We completed a half marathon to benefit Iowa Special Olympics and a friend of ours recommended we go to the Summerset Winery. There were no issues with the staff accepting three stinky runners, the wines were fabulous and sitting on the back porch was a...More

Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerset W, Manager at Summerset Winery, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2017

Thank you very much for stopping by the winery, and for the kind review! We are very happy you enjoyed it! Also, she said YES! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2016

This is a great place to go on Sunday afternoons for wine and great music. They never disappoint. Great for outdoors or indoors no matter the weather.

Thank Traveler50125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerset W, Manager at Summerset Winery, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2016

Thank you so much for your kind words! We are so glad you enjoy your time out with us for Sunday Tunes. We can't wait to have you back! Sincerely, The Summerset Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2016

We wanted to spend a beautiful Sunday afternoon outside, have a picnic, and listen to some music; we thought Summerset Winery would be great. We were greeted at the entrance to the vineyard by a $10.00 charge, which they typically only do for part of...More

Thank JAMESknoxville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerset W, Manager at Summerset Winery, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2016

Hello, thank you for choosing to spend your Sunday afternoon with us and thank you for your feedback! We do charge a cover of $5/person on Sunday's when we have Sunday Tunes going on. We apologize about not having ice right away, we refill as...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2016

We tasted several very good wines. There is ample seating both inside and outside in the tasting area. Additionally, there is a banquet area upstairs that can service 250-300 people. There is also a building for overnight lodging on the grounds. Although rural, the entire...More

Thank Kevin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerset W, Manager at Summerset Winery, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2016

Thank you so much for your kind review! We are so glad you could enjoy a beautiful fall day out at Summerset! We look forward to seeing you out again. Thank you again! Sincerely, The Summerset Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2016

My weekend in Iowa was beyond perfect. Harvest at Summerset was a blast! There is something so rewarding about filling a bucket full of grapes and getting to stomp on them with all of your friends. The vineyard is beautiful, the staff is kind and...More

Thank ericajg256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerset W, Manager at Summerset Winery, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2016

Thank you so much for your kind review! We are so glad you enjoyed your weekend here at Summerset. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Sincerely, The Summerset Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Indianola Hotels
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Indianola, IA
119 reviews
3.95 miles away
Quality Inn Indianola
129 reviews
4.47 miles away
Apple Tree Inn
51 reviews
4.74 miles away
A-1 Motel
4 reviews
8.11 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Fizz
12 reviews
4.46 miles away
La Villa Mexican Restaurant of Carlisle
9 reviews
4.78 miles away
Back Alley Smokehouse
17 reviews
4.75 miles away
Cal's Fine Foods & Spirits
22 reviews
4.66 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Lake Ahquabi State Park
36 reviews
10.81 miles away
La Vida Loca Winery
15 reviews
8.69 miles away
National Balloon Museum / U.S. Ballooning Hall of Fame
29 reviews
4.52 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
astrolover
November 22, 2016|
Answer
Response from Kevin N | Reviewed this property |
Private courses - Glenn Oaks, Wakonda, and Des Moines Golf and Country have hosted small PGA events in the past. Glenn Oaks hosted the senior open once. For city courses, Waveland is fairly old and really, really hilly... More
0
Votes
;