We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mt. Crescent Ski Area

28 Reviews
Sorry, there are no tours or activities available to book online for the date(s) you selected. Please choose a different date.

Mt. Crescent Ski Area

28 Reviews
Sorry, there are no tours or activities available to book online for the date(s) you selected. Please choose a different date.
28Reviews3Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 8
  • 7
  • 4
  • 4
  • 5
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
HuskerTraveler2 wrote a review Jan 2
Lincoln, Nebraska979 contributions285 helpful votes
Our 9 grandkids (ages 5-13) had a great time skiing during the Christmas break. The two open runs were perfect for them to ski together. We were able to watch them from the lodge. Equipment is included with the lift tickets. Only an hour from Lincoln. HINT: Bring your own sack lunches as the main concessions area opens at noon.
Read more
Date of experience: December 2020
Helpful
Share
Rick S wrote a review Apr 2020
David City, Nebraska1 contribution2 helpful votes
We bought 16 tickets to use as a family Christmas gift. The weekend we were to go, their lifts were not working so we could not go. I called multiple times trying to get a refund and no one responded. I have a lot of money invested in this place and they won't even call me back.
Read more
Date of experience: February 2020
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Liv2ChaseSnow, Manager at Mt. Crescent Ski Area
Responded Jul 9, 2020
Rick S I'm sorry the day you planned to come we had to close. Unless you prearranged a group booking with our sales team, individual lift tickets are non refundable. However, individual lift tickets are good any time as they never expire!
Read more
Owen Anderson wrote a review Mar 2020
Omaha, Nebraska1 contribution
I first found out about Mt. Crescent about 9yrs ago. I had recently moved to Omaha from the Michigan area where there's many ski areas all within a couple hours of driving. I was worried I might have to just sell my gear, how was I going to ever snowboard again being surrounded by fairly flat corn fields in the midwest! Much to my surprise and delight I came across Mt. Crescent when searching for places to ride close to Omaha. Close is an understatement, it's literally right across the river, about 20min from where we lived at the time. Despite not having any snow on my lawn I was really surprised by just how much snow they had on their slopes. Over the past 9yrs I've been a season pass holder and visited many times each winter over the years since moving. Some years are better than others, but I can always count on being able to snowboard when they're open. It's the perfect place to keep your skills up and get outside and stay active in the winter time. The staff are always fantastic and nice. You can tell that they genuinely enjoy working there and love helping people get onto the slopes and have a good time. If you've got kids than it's really the perfect place to bring them to learn. My oldest son had never skied or snowboarded before. He learned everything he knows from skiing and riding at Mt. Crescent. The instructors were incredible and got him skiing AND snowboarding! After just a few lessons he was tearing it up! I brought him out all the time so he could keep improving. Now he's able to hang with me on the blacks in Colorado and will forever have those skills he learned right at Mt. Crescent. We decided to enroll my daughter into the devo program a few years ago and that was a great choice for her. She was able to go from barely being able to do a snowplow to confidently riding the chairlift on her own and skiing independently down the slopes! Not to mention she loved hanging with the other kids who were in her group each week. Total win, because then I could get some runs in while she was in classes each week. This isn't a Colorado resort, but for a place to ski and ride so close to Omaha it's amazing! Anyone who has a lifelong passion for snowsports knows that you get that itch when the cold weather comes each winter and you've gotta scratch it! At $199 for a season pass (they put them on sale each Fall) it's total no brainer! Especially since it's such a short drive over from Omaha. I'm already excited for next season and so are my kiddos!
Read more
Date of experience: January 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Liv2ChaseSnow, Manager at Mt. Crescent Ski Area
Responded Mar 12, 2020
Owenrides Thank you so very much for your great review!!! Your right, our employees are the best! Our instructors are passionate about the skills they know skiing/snowboarding and they just want to pass them along. Teaching someone to ski/board can literally change a persons life and the adventures they have in the future. As you know skiing/boarding is a lifestyle, just getting out on the snow however much it is or the size of the terrain is all you need to keep in it! Thank you for your continued support of your local hill, we appreciate your business! Thank you!
Read more
Dave P wrote a review Mar 2020
3 contributions
I’ve been skiing Mt. Crescent for nearly a lifetime and it’s sad to see it go backwards a little every season. Snow used to be made on every run – now they open with snow on half the width of their beginner run and on their sledding hill (even if it’s cold enough to make more snow). If we are lucky enough to get some natural snow, they say they are 100 percent open even though there is no base underneath and some of the runs have brush and deep ruts. And on those runs there is no grooming because there isn’t even enough snow to groom. When all of the other small ski areas within a 3 hour radius of Mt. Crescent say they are 100 percent open, they truly are 100 percent open. This includes the ski area near Kansas City which has warmer weather than Mt. Crescent. One year ago this January, one of Mt. Crescent's two chairlifts broke. This fall on Mt. Crescent's Facebook page when they were selling season passes they were telling people that "100% both lifts will be working". Having only one chairlift (the beginner chairlift) at a two chairlift ski area creates quite the line. What also is concerning is they didn't tell the general public last season that they only had one working chairlift until about a month later when they made a Facebook announcement. I would be riding with people on the beginner lift last season, and I would have them ask me if I knew when they would be opening the other chairlift. I would answer that it was broken. They would respond "nobody told us that when we bought our tickets." I halfway expected to get some sort of partial refund last season for the area having only one chairlift, but no. The chairlift was finally repaired after being inoperable for over a year, and then their other chairlift broke and is still broken.
Read more
Date of experience: December 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Liv2ChaseSnow, Manager at Mt. Crescent Ski Area
Responded Mar 12, 2020
Trip227260 I am sorry about your experience with Mt Crescent. It sounds like your grievances would be better served if you communicated directly to management where we can properly address the matters you mention. Please email us directly at info@skicrescent.com your email will be directed to the appropriate person. Please be sure to take advantage of our new partnership with Ski Cooper in Colorado. They are graciously offering our 2019/20 Season Pass Holders 3 free days of skiing for missed days on our slopes. The tickets are good for 3 days per pass holder to be used all at once or individual visits. Ski Cooper is open until mid April. Please visit skicooper.com and leadville.com Thank you
Read more
tony l wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution
Was in Omaha for business, and friends wanted to ski a day. I’m from Colorado , ski 40-50 days a year and have been to a good majority of the worlds ski resorts so needless to say,I was reluctant. But I have to say, we all had a great time. It’s no mega resort, the snow is not great like Colorado and the lift was slow.... but that was the charm of the place. Inexpensive tickets and food, ski runs are enough for 99% of people, staff is super friendly, beer is cold, what else do you need? Great for what it is, super small resort in Iowa!
Read more
Date of experience: February 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Liv2ChaseSnow, Manager at Mt. Crescent Ski Area
Responded Mar 4, 2020
tonylK5617OS Thank you for your great review! At the end of the day it's all about just getting out there and making some turns! Glad you had a great day and appreciated what we have to offer! We're a small ski area in the middle of the flat lands just trying to get people out on the snow! Learning how to ski/snowboard can literally change a persons life and who knows... maybe they too will end up in Colorado one day! Thank you!
Read more
Previous