Holiday World & Splashin' Safari

Holiday World & Splashin' Safari, Santa Claus: Hours, Address, Holiday World & Splashin' Safari Reviews: 4.5/5

Message from Tripadvisor
Closed until May 7, 2022

Holiday World & Splashin' Safari

Holiday World & Splashin' Safari
4.5
Amusement & Theme Parks • Water Parks
Temporarily closedClosed until May 7, 2022
About
Holiday World & Splashin’ Safari are a family-owned theme park and water park combo located in Santa Claus, Indiana. Home of Thunderbird - America’s only launched wing roller coaster, Holiday World celebrates Christmas, Halloween, Thanksgiving and the 4th of July with roller coasters, family rides, a huge water park, live entertainment, games, attractions - and Santa Claus, himself! Splashin’ Safari, ranked one of the nation’s Top Water Parks by TripAdvisor and USA Today, includes the two longest water coasters in the world, family water slides, two wave pools, plus water activities for children. Both parks have been voted the World's Cleanest for more than a dozen years. In 2016, Guinness World Records certified Mammoth as the World's Longest Water Coaster and in 2013, TIME magazine named The Voyage the nation’s #1 wooden coaster. Live entertainment includes musical shows, a high dive show, and Santa's Storytime. Both parks offer free soft drinks, free parking, and free sunscreen.
Suggested duration
More than 3 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Popular mentions

4.5
2,677 reviews
Excellent
1,974
Very good
413
Average
139
Poor
76
Terrible
75

618jazzym
Carbondale, IL13 contributions
Fun holiday layout
Oct 2021
Went on the 23rd of October 2021 and was kind of impressed. I’m use to going to Disney and universal studios in Florida so I wasn’t expecting much. I love the different sections of the park that had a holiday theme. I definitely would never want to go in the summer, I feel the lines would be too long for me to wait in. My teen daughter and her friend said the longest they waited was about 30 minutes fir the coasters. I would love to go to the slashin safari part though in the summer!
Written October 26, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanks so much for coming to see us. We hope to see you next summer to tackle the water park!
Written November 1, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

twhiffen
Windsor, CT80 contributions
Holiday World is like opening presents on Christmas morning!
Sep 2021 • Friends
This was my third visit to Holiday World and I have never been disappointed! From the free parking to the amazing rollercoasters, delicious food and great family atmosphere it is one of my favorite small parks (and I’ve been to over 170 parks!)
The theming of each park area is top notch! The rollercoasters (which is the main reason we were there) are just incredible! 3 of the best wooden coasters in the same park! Thunderbird is also one of the coolest wing coasters you’ll find anywhere!The night rides are amazing and a ride on The Voyage at night is absolutely epic! We ate at the Plymouth Rock Cafe and loved the Thanksgiving choices! There’s also free soft drinks offered all day! The park does have some topographical challenges for anyone who has difficulty walking up and down hills. I’ve heard the Waterpark is awesome, but I haven’t experienced it yet!
I totally recommend this park to anyone as it is First Class in everything they do!
Written September 28, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you so much for all the kind words and hope you're able to experience Splashin' Safari on a future visit!
Written October 4, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

steve k
La Porte, IN46 contributions
clean place lot's of free stuff great waterpark good food
Aug 2021
We were there there in august we have been there 5 times before they are short on staff with all the covid stuff going on but it was not there fought they did the best they could they switched up the rides a little later with staff but we still managed to have 2 fun days i thought they did a good job with the staffing shortage food was still great and prices were good the free pop and parking and free tubes is why we still come back. we will still be back in the future still way more better that going to other parks that cost 5 dollars for a pop and 20 dollars to park your car which is just crazy . the prices at holiday world is we think a great value like i said it is not there fought about the covid staffing shortages clean park keep up the free stuff and we will keep coming back thank you from steve and family
Written September 22, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you so much for the kind words. We can't wait to have you back!
Written September 24, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Michael G
1 contribution
A new favorite theme park!!
Sep 2021
We have lived in Indiana our entire lives and have always gone to cedar point (2hr drive) but this year decided to adventure the 5hr hike to Holiday World. Sad that we didn't discover this park years ago! We took our 5 grandchildren (5 and under) and every one of them had a blast! There was so much variety in rides in both amusement and waterpark that you could easily spend 2 days here.
Ticket prices were a phenomenal value (I see posts stating otherwise, but they obviously haven't been to Disney lol!) When you consider paying only $45 and receiving two high quality parks, free parking AND free drinks who has the right to complain???
I also am deeply saddened to see so many complaints about ride closures and short staff. Have people forgotten about grace? My goodness! Look at the times we are in! Be thankful this fun park is even open! Their prices on everything are very reasonable and I would even say cheap for food, the staff was nothing but friendly and accommodating and they are in no way price gauging during a time that most parks are!
We thoroughly enjoyed our time here and will definitely be back next year!
Written September 12, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you so much for the kind words and making the trip to see us for the first time! We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit and can't wait to have you back in Santa Claus, Indiana again next year!
Written September 13, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Terry J
1 contribution
Bad day at a fun park to bad there's no zero star
Sep 2021 • Family
I took my family on labor day and half the rides were not running half of the splash park wasn't open and every line was at least an hour but my tickets were sure 100% full price. Next time I'll go to Kentucky Kingdom
Written September 8, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
I'm so sorry that you didn't enjoy your visit as much as you were hoping and will be sure to get your feedback passed along to our Management Team. If you have any specific details you'd like to pass along, please send an email to comments@holidayworld.com
Written September 13, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Linda J
Evansville, Indiana4 contributions
Had fun but somewhat disappointed
Sep 2021 • Family
Disappointed that about 1/2 of the rides were closed. Feel like this information should have been posted on their website before I paid full price for the tickets. Park was also not as clean as usual. Trash visible throughout park. Food booth in Halloween was out of condiments and napkins. The grandkids had a great time but was disappointed their two favorite rides were closed. Did not visit Splashing Safari.
Written September 7, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
I'm so sorry that you weren't able to enjoy your visit as much as you were hoping and have passed your feedback along to our Management Team. We've called out more information on the need to rotate or close attractions on our website at www.holidayworld.com/2021visit
Written September 13, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Amber W
1 contribution
Disappointed
Sep 2021 • Family
We have always loved holiday world and go nearly every year. This year was a huge disappointment. We paid full price on tickets (as everyone else was expected to do as well) yet HALF the water park was closed. We managed to find a worker who explained it was due to a staffing shortage. While I understand the difficulty to staff it seems unacceptable that we paid and expected the wave pools, lazy river and other numerous water rides to be at our disposal yet they were not. It would have been nice if the park could have advised it’s guest of these closures before so that we could make an informed decision whether or not we wanted to spend FULL price for less rides than expected. If we had known of these closures we would have certainly spent our money elsewhere to be able to enjoy more water attractions.
Written September 7, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
I'm so sorry about that experience. We've tried to alert everyone planning a visit by putting that information on our website, emailing everyone who has purchases a ticket, and listing the information on social media. I'll make sure we get your feedback passed along to our Management Team.
Written September 13, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Brock Lloyd
1 contribution
Not the same Holiday World. Bee fights, Limited Sunscreen and No Lazy River.
Aug 2021 • Friends
This is normally our family's favorite park for quick getaway and have been going there since our girls were little. We have driven over an hour and a half to HW over a similar park in our backyard. However, this trip we were extremely disappointed. We had to fight bees to get the free drinks. It was a 90+ degree day and the lazy river was closed. The one wave pool open would only send waves for like a minute then stop send a few more then stop and then a few more and stop for like 30 minutes. Used to be you could find the free sunscreen anywhere in the water park, but this time it was like a scavenger hunt to find any. I get it was the end of season and they could have been short staffed, but it just didn't feel like the same fun place we've grown to love. Hopefully they will see this and correct the issues and don't continue to move towards just being another greedy amusement park.
Written September 2, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
I'm so sorry that you didn't enjoy your visit as much as you were hoping. Due to staffing levels we have had to start rotating or closing rides throughout the day. I have passed your feedback along to our Management Team. If there's any details you'd like to add, please send an email to comments@holidayworld.com
Written September 7, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Shannon S
2 contributions
Rude, crowded, disappointed
Aug 2021
Made reservations for both Holiday World and a local campground for the weekend, and we were super excited. Someone then asked if masks were required. When I did a search online, it said that as of July 27, masks were required. Sorry, I can’t do masks all day in the heat, so I contacted Holiday World about a refund on tickets. I also canceled our camping reservations to make reservations somewhere else for the weekend instead which resulted in a $15 cancellation fee. The answer from Holiday World was very short, rude, and firm no refunds would be issued. I said I understood it was the policy, but I was hoping in these days of COVID that they would make exceptions. Again, I got a no. Someone else then responded saying that masks were not required. The article I saw was from 2020. No year was listed in the article. Still no refunds would be issued. We decided to cancel the other plans we made (Silver Dollar City was more than cooperative about working with us) and rereserve our campground reservations for Holiday World.
We arrived at Holiday World at park opening. It took more than 45 minutes to get from the truck into the park. Standing in the hot sun to be filtered through a tunnel and then a metal detector and then a ticket booth. My kids rode 4 rides in Holiday World and a few of the water coasters in Splashin Safari (we stayed until they announced the park was closing at 6). They never stopped to eat or take a break except for a few drinks as they were walking. The lines were horribly long. For the amount of rides that they got to ride, it was not worth the money we paid to get in. They enjoyed what they rode, but were overall disappointed. We didn’t even see half of the Holiday World side of the park. Why would the park not be open later on a Saturday? I never thought that they would close that early if they were that busy.

I was disappointed that the lazy river ride was not open. I don’t do slides and that was my plan for the day. One of the wave pools was closed, so the one that was open was super crowded. It was not a very enjoyable day.

Would I try Holiday World again? Maybe. Never again on a Saturday.

The park was clean. The staff inside the park were extremely friendly. The free soda and sunscreen were appreciated. The free parking - expect to walk a mile.
Written August 30, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
We're so sorry that you weren't able to enjoy your time in the park as much as you were hoping and have passed your feedback along to our Management Team for review. If you have flexibility when planning a next visit, we tend to have smaller crowds and shorter waiting times – plus lower online ticket prices – on operating days in May, most of June, September, and October.
Written September 2, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Michael H
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States248 contributions
HAD A BLAST
Aug 2021
Went to Holiday world for a company picnic. It was on Sunday and it was crowded and was very hot but we had a great time. I think the park is great very clean, and was impressed with the employees. It is hard to find people to work not a days, but all the employees I dealt with did an excellent job and was nice and friendly. The lines were longer than usual because of staffing, but was impressed the way everyone handled it. Rode some coasters and went to the water park. Thank you to all the employees working hard in this work shortage.
Written August 22, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanks for coming to see us!
Written August 23, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 2,670
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday World & Splashin' Safari

Holiday World & Splashin' Safari is open:
  • Sun - Sun 11:00 AM - 6:00 PM
  • Sat - Sat 11:00 AM - 8:00 PM


Restaurants near Holiday World & Splashin' Safari: View all restaurants near Holiday World & Splashin' Safari on Tripadvisor