Holiday World & Splashin' Safari
Message from Tripadvisor
Closed until May 13, 2023

Holiday World & Splashin' Safari

Amusement & Theme Parks • Water Parks
Read more
Temporarily closedClosed until May 13, 2023
Write a review
About
Holiday World & Splashin’ Safari are a family-owned theme park and water park combo located in Santa Claus, Indiana. Home of Thunderbird - America’s only launched wing roller coaster, Holiday World celebrates Christmas, Halloween, Thanksgiving and the 4th of July with roller coasters, family rides, a huge water park, live entertainment, games, attractions - and Santa Claus, himself! Splashin’ Safari, ranked one of the nation’s Top Water Parks by TripAdvisor and USA Today, includes the two longest water coasters in the world, family water slides, two wave pools, plus water activities for children. Both parks have been voted the World's Cleanest for more than a dozen years. In 2016, Guinness World Records certified Mammoth as the World's Longest Water Coaster and in 2013, TIME magazine named The Voyage the nation’s #1 wooden coaster. Live entertainment includes musical shows, a high dive show, and Santa's Storytime. Both parks offer free soft drinks, free parking, and free sunscreen.
Suggested duration
More than 3 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Top ways to experience nearby attractions

Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.5
2,766 reviews
Excellent
2,018
Very good
424
Average
149
Poor
86
Terrible
89

Dat L
1 contribution
Jul 2022
What is there not to like about holiday world? You get free drinks and sunscreen. There are ample bathrooms everywhere as well as seating and shade. The lines are long but still shorter than most other theme parks we've been to. The food can be hit or miss sometimes but you kind of expect that for the value you are getting. The price of one ticket gets you into the theme park and waterpark. Not much else we can ask for we go every year even though its a 3 hour drive there. This year they had a special light show using drones and music that was out of this world and very innovative. I can see so many uses for it in the future and I hope they continue with it going forward. When in the waterpark I recommend getting a locker as you get 3 wristbands with it for other members of your party. This park has the best lazy river I've been to. Overall I highly recommend it if you ever get the chance.
Written July 27, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you again!
Written August 1, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Kirk B
2 contributions
Jun 2021
This park is really nice and a whole lot of fun. It's not huge and only has 4 roller coasters, but the water park is incredible and there is plenty to do in the amusement park. It's really well maintained and kept very clean. The name Holiday World makes you think it's going to be a rundown, low-rent joint, but definitely not the case. All rides were up and running the entire two days we were there. We went on a Thursday and Friday and the lines were minimal at Holiday World. Splashin' Safari had times where the lines were huge, but if you timed things right you didn't have to wait too long for some of the best slides/rides. The free drinks and sunscreen is nice and we had nothing but good experiences with the employees. It's impressive to me that they offer free beverages (and you see people taking advantage of it) but not once did I go to a Pepsi station where the drinks had run out or even the ice and cups. They definitely stay on top of things. Also, the Thunderbird coaster is one of the best coasters I've ever been on. It's pretty incredible. Voyage was one wild ride as well. My ten-year-old son and I had a great time and I would definitely recommend this park. With free parking and beverages and a reasonable gate fee (especially if you buy online), it's the best value for an amusement park I have ever seen.
Written July 9, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you so much for all the kind words and for coming to see us. We hope you all visit again!
Written July 13, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Jean B
5 contributions
Jul 2021
Overall value and fun to be had. Been coming to visit for many many years and a must when visiting family in the area! Holiday themed rides, and SANTA!!

Lots of rides and the water park is great. One wave pool was closed for life guard training so the other wave pool was extremely crowded.

Gift shops are not evenly matched with inventory so go to the shop in the beginning of the park for most souvenir type items. Items vary in each of the gift shops so grab something if you want it when you see it. I made that mistake. The water park gift shop is good for “pool’ essentials though. Would like to see more merchandise online so you don’t have to carry it around. We miss the glass blower stand. Fudge and other sweets delicious.

Food prices a little inflated but offset with free drinks available throughout the park. The new cafe and other concession stands offers a lot of new food choices but lines were very long especially being a Tuesday visit.

Free sunscreen in the water park. Water park rides are awesome but lines can be long. Not a lot of seats in the shade. Cabanas are available but too expensive .

No Santa this year because of pandemic but that’s understandable this year.

The park is huge! No trams in park so be prepared to walk ALOT! The park is an uphill trek on the way out ! Park needs more benches along the walkways. Disappointed that the parking lot trams were not running either.

Park tickets have risen over the years ( with discount was $50 a ticket) but if you can take advantage of next day tickets - they are reduced ( about half) of the weekday admission price. It was easy to buy tickets online through the site.
Written August 1, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thanks so much for coming to see us. I'll be sure to get your comments passed along to our Management Team.
Written August 4, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Shannon S
3 contributions
Aug 2021
Made reservations for both Holiday World and a local campground for the weekend, and we were super excited. Someone then asked if masks were required. When I did a search online, it said that as of July 27, masks were required. Sorry, I can’t do masks all day in the heat, so I contacted Holiday World about a refund on tickets. I also canceled our camping reservations to make reservations somewhere else for the weekend instead which resulted in a $15 cancellation fee. The answer from Holiday World was very short, rude, and firm no refunds would be issued. I said I understood it was the policy, but I was hoping in these days of COVID that they would make exceptions. Again, I got a no. Someone else then responded saying that masks were not required. The article I saw was from 2020. No year was listed in the article. Still no refunds would be issued. We decided to cancel the other plans we made (Silver Dollar City was more than cooperative about working with us) and rereserve our campground reservations for Holiday World.
We arrived at Holiday World at park opening. It took more than 45 minutes to get from the truck into the park. Standing in the hot sun to be filtered through a tunnel and then a metal detector and then a ticket booth. My kids rode 4 rides in Holiday World and a few of the water coasters in Splashin Safari (we stayed until they announced the park was closing at 6). They never stopped to eat or take a break except for a few drinks as they were walking. The lines were horribly long. For the amount of rides that they got to ride, it was not worth the money we paid to get in. They enjoyed what they rode, but were overall disappointed. We didn’t even see half of the Holiday World side of the park. Why would the park not be open later on a Saturday? I never thought that they would close that early if they were that busy.

I was disappointed that the lazy river ride was not open. I don’t do slides and that was my plan for the day. One of the wave pools was closed, so the one that was open was super crowded. It was not a very enjoyable day.

Would I try Holiday World again? Maybe. Never again on a Saturday.

The park was clean. The staff inside the park were extremely friendly. The free soda and sunscreen were appreciated. The free parking - expect to walk a mile.
Written August 30, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
We're so sorry that you weren't able to enjoy your time in the park as much as you were hoping and have passed your feedback along to our Management Team for review. If you have flexibility when planning a next visit, we tend to have smaller crowds and shorter waiting times – plus lower online ticket prices – on operating days in May, most of June, September, and October.
Written September 2, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Unknown U
1 contribution
Jul 2022 • Family
Gone to holiday world probably 10 times over the years and always had a good time. This year was a disaster. Half the rides were closed in both parks and there were constant breakdowns and ridiculous wait times. Went on a Monday and there was low attendance, so you'd expect to ride everything. In 10hrs we got 3 roller coasters and 5 slides in the water park, and THAT'S IT!

Every line we got in had a breakdown or stoppage of 30-45mins. They were only running one set of cars on roller coasters so there wasn't the ability to load the next group while one was one the track. Massive understaffing where some workers were moving back and forth between slides in the water park and alternating where they had people waiting. All the slides that had dual loading areas were down to one because of lack of employees and so many rides and slides were closed that disappointment is an understatement.

When kids are asking if they can go home after a couple hours, someone's doing something wrong. We'd go to a line with 30-40 people waiting. In past years that was only 5-10mins of wait time. 45mins later we were still waiting.

To reiterate. We were there at open at 10am until close at 8pm, so 10hrs total. We only were able to ride 8 rides altogether and none a second time. And this was with the parking lot at like 25% full and the smallest crowd we've ever seen in years of going. Not to mention $25 for locker rental and $27 for terrible frozen pizza.

If a park is going to have 40% of rides closed and hour plus waits even when there's hardly anyone in the park, they should discount prices or at least tell people in advance of problems or staffing shortages. We may come again if reviews start going better next year, but not anytime soon. It's a shame because this place used to be so much fun.
Written July 19, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
I'm so sorry that you didn't enjoy your visit as much as you were hoping. If you didn't speak to anyone at Guest Relations about your trip before you left for the day, please be sure to send an email to comments@holidayworld.com Thank you.
Written July 25, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

679dancer
Leo Cedarville, IN19 contributions
Jul 2021
For the most part, we loved the park but they do need to make some improvements. Long lines could be shortened by staff requiring riders (esp. in the water park) to allow people with 1 or 2 riders on to fill the rafts and keep wait times shorter. Instead they would ask if someone else could ride with them. You don't ask. You demand it. Keep all rafts filled at all times. We waited over an hour to ride Wilderbeest just to find out they had a singles line. We would have done that and split our party up if we had known it was only a 20 minute wait time.

We paid $50 yet several of the rides were down both days we attended so we didn't feel we got our money's worth. Several rides broke down while we waited. Sounds like more maintainence people need to be hired and get better engineers who won't cause these issues in the first place.

Why hasn't the park removed the area where the Pilgrim's Plunge was and put in another tidal wave area? The only one they have was super crowded both days. My husband and I couldn't even enjoy it for all the people and kids pushing at us due to overcrowdedness.

We noticed the same music being played both days over the intercom. They couldn't come up with more summertime/beach type music? I could make them a week long list that could be played everyday of a week and not have any repeats.

The entertainment was sorely lacking. There was no dive show as advertised. We did discover some young people singing, dancing and doing acrobats AFTER the show had already started. At no point did the park advertise this show. Nothing on the website about it, nor in the park map or anywhere up front when you enter. What a slap to these young people and all their skill! Because this show wasn't advertised, the outdoor theater was only 1/4 full. Sad!! If we had not been walking by it we wouldn't haven't even known about it.

Why are they closing restaurants in the back of the park at 6:00? Do they not know people need to eat after the water park closes? I don't get that. Because George's Gluten Free is located clear back in the 4th of July section, I wasn't able to enjoy any gluten free treats either day because of them closing early. Why not move this restaurant to the water park area so it can be enjoyed by more people with special needs?

In my opinion the water park either needs to open by 9:00 on hot days or stay open at least until 7:00. There is just not enough time with long lines to get to ride everything.
Written July 23, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thanks for coming to see us. We'll be sure to pass your feedback along to our Management Team.
Written July 24, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

TZDZ
Indianapolis, IN2 contributions
Aug 2022 • Family
The wait lines are ridiculous. Seems like holiday world is more worried about selling 50,000 tickets everyday and not worried about their customers comfort. There was no room in the pool the wait lines were 1 to 2 hours. We rode 4 rides in 7 hours and bought $9 pretzels. I would not recommend and will never go back. Waste of time!!!
Written August 4, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
I'm so sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your time with us. If you didn't speak to a member of our Management Team on the day of your visit before you left, please be sure to send an email to comments@holidayworld.com
Written August 9, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Disappointed
1 contribution
Sep 2020 • Family
First, let me say the good things about Holiday World.. the free sunscreen and soft drinks. You had to buy bottled Water if you wanted water instead of soda. I can’t say much about the rides since I only got to ride on a very select few that were actually open. The food alone was good, but very pricey like any other waterpark I’ve been to.
To start off, I paid $100 just for myself & a child that’s less than 2 years of age. They had us use our phones to reserve rides & gave us a waiting time for each ride. Half of them were closed. Waiting times were between 45 minutes- 2 hours before you could ride them. Some employees had no clue how to help us with the online reservations or instructions on how to get to some places around the park. You had to reserve a time for the theme park rides, but could stand in line for a water ride at any time. What’s the difference of being crowded together in line at water rides & reserving a time for a ride & still being crowded in a line to actually get on the ride. If your reserved time to ride a certain ride was at 1:30pm you get scanned to get in line to stand for about 30-45 more minutes to even be able to get on the ride. People who reserved the ride at 1 are still in line to get on so we are all crowded together once again. It wasn’t anywhere on the website about what to expect when we arrived. Technically we could’ve rode all of the open rides in a 6 hour day span. But it would’ve taken up our whole day because of the waiting times for each ride. It was a very nice waterpark, but 6 of us came & we won’t be back until the regulations are under control & better regulated.
Written September 6, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
I'm sorry that you weren't able to enjoy your visit as much as you'd hoped and will pass your feedback along to our Management Team.
Written September 8, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Sheila R
1 contribution
Jul 2022 • Family
We have been going to HW now for 11 yrs straight but a little disappointed this yr. I understand it might be difficult to get employees in this day & time we are living in & if that’s the case & you know some rides are gonna have to be closed, then you should drop the ticket prices. What happens is you have 2-4 rides down or a couple of the restaurants closed & the lines have now doubled on the open ones. Little kids just don’t understand why they have to stand in likes for over an hour just to ride something. Then you have to stand in like over an hr just to get food. If pizza is you best selling item you need to be selling it more than 1 place.
Now the best thing that happened was the Lights in the Sky show…it was awesome!!! I really hope it continues. Along with the dance party too. The kids with me had a blast.
We will continue to go to HW, in hopes that by next yr more people will want to work & this will help!
Written July 18, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
I'm so sorry that you didn't enjoy your visit as much as you were hoping, and I'll get your comments passed along to our Management Team. If you have anything additional that you'd like to add, please send an email to comments@holidayworld.com
Written July 25, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

D S
1 contribution
Jul 2021
The bigger rides had ridiculously long lines. The Raven was around two hours and the Mammoth was an hour and a half. People squeezed in tight quarters when it was already hot. The lunch was expensive as we expected but the burgers were dry. It seemed as though they had been cooked for awhile. The kids did enjoy the rides once they got on them but at that rate it is too expensive to only ride two rides in three and a half hours. They need to update their technology so they can inform their customers how long a wait each ride is before committing to waiting. Disappointing!
Written July 23, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thanks so much for coming to see us. I'll be sure we get your feedback passed along to our Management Team.
Written July 24, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 2,759
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Holiday World & Splashin' Safari (Santa Claus) - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go

Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday World & Splashin' Safari

Holiday World & Splashin' Safari is open:
  • Sun - Sun 11:00 AM - 5:00 PM
  • Sat - Sat 11:00 AM - 8:00 PM


Restaurants near Holiday World & Splashin' Safari: View all restaurants near Holiday World & Splashin' Safari on Tripadvisor