We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Fort Golf Resort

6002 N Post Rd, Indianapolis, IN 46216-1043
+1 317-543-9597
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Return Trip to Wonderful Historic Fort Course

Our group tries to play The Fort at least once each year - usually twice. Conflicts got in our... read more

Reviewed October 2, 2017
ChiefGuru
,
Decatur, Indiana
Enjoyed a beautiful Indiana day

I hadn't played here in many years. The course is very well done and is playable. Overall the... read more

Reviewed September 12, 2017
Steve M
,
Scottsdale, Arizona
via mobile
Read all 20 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
This 7,144-yard public course is located within Fort Benjamin Harrison State Park.
  • Excellent60%
  • Very good35%
  • Average0%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible5%
Travelers talk about
“blind shots” (2 reviews)
“pro shop” (3 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
Hours Today: 7:00 AM - 6:30 PM
LOCATION
6002 N Post Rd, Indianapolis, IN 46216-1043
CONTACT
Website
+1 317-543-9597
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Indianapolis
Write a ReviewReviews (20)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"eighteen holes"
in 2 reviews
"blind shots"
in 2 reviews
"pro shop"
in 3 reviews
"great golf course"
in 2 reviews
"in great shape"
in 2 reviews
"state park"
in 3 reviews
"fairways"
in 4 reviews
"playable"
in 3 reviews
"protected"
in 2 reviews
"harrison"
in 3 reviews
"indiana"
in 4 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 20 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2017

Our group tries to play The Fort at least once each year - usually twice. Conflicts got in our way, but we made good on our goal with a late September trip. Six of us made it. The staff was great. Could not have been...More

Thank ChiefGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2017 via mobile

I hadn't played here in many years. The course is very well done and is playable. Overall the course is in good shape. It clearly gets a lot of play and the greens had a lot divots We were playing on a Friday afternoon and...More

Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2017

Very nice layout, some tight areas, but mostly open. Rolling hills and in as good a shape as any course anywhere. One of the top courses I have ever played!

Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2017

Very nice golf course. Grumpy staff. Our group of 8 to 12 golfers makes an annual trip. The Fort is a good destination. On site accommodations were adequate.More

Thank 7034lithopolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortGolf R, Manager at The Fort Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2017

Thank you 7034lithopolis for your review and feedback of our golf course. We appreciate you taking the time and love seeing you enjoyed the course and continue to come back and golf with us year after year. Please let us know if you ever need...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2017

Very much enjoyed my round at The Fort. I was a walk on and they sent me out immediately. The course was in very good condition. The greens were hard and fast. Challenging, yet fair layout. Very interesting as well. Would definitely play again when...More

Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortGolf R, Manager at The Fort Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2017

Thank you Kevin for the fantastic review of The Fort Golf Resort. We love seeing you had such a good time on the course and you were able to get right out. Please let us know if you ever need anything while you are here...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2017

Amid Fort Harrison State Park the Fort Golf course is very challenging yet very fair. The course is hilly so be prepared for some blind shots on several holes. The fairways were in great shape and all but 1 green were is good to very...More

Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortGolf R, Manager at The Fort Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2017

Thank you so much for your review of our golf course. We appreciate you taking the time time to leave your response and we hope to see you back again very soon for more great golfing in Indianapolis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2016

This course is enjoyable for most all levels of play. There are some very challenging holes and some easier. The course was in excellent shape and very enjoyable to play. The pro shop staff was very friendly and accommodating. Will certainly play again when passing...More

Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our rounds of golf at The Fort. We ended up playing the nines separately two days in a row after the heavy downpour cancelled out our back nine the first day. The back nine was cart path only, but it wasn't too...More

Thank mgmdjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2016

The course is located within the Fort Benjamin Harrison State Park. The Fort Benjamin Harrison Military Reservation closed in 1991 through the Base Realignment and Closure process. This resulted in the U.S. Department of the Interior (1995) approving the State of Indiana’s request to convert...More

Thank ChiefGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2016

We were 1/2 hour late teeing off, cart path only, over 5 hour round. For the price of this course it was in very poor shape. Also the people who work there are not friendly, especially a Cart Boy was very rude. Not a good...More

Thank kwilliams52254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce R, General Manager at The Fort Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2016

We are sorry to read that you had a poor experience at The Fort. Early May was a difficult time for us as due to weather conditions we were forced to keep the carts off the paths. Certainly not our preference. I am particularly concerned...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 187 hotels in Indianapolis
Fort Harrison State Park Inn, Golf Resort & Conference Center
101 reviews
.22 miles away
WoodSpring Suites Indianapolis Lawrence
54 reviews
1.22 miles away
Park Terrace Motel
8 reviews
1.36 miles away
Baymont by Wyndham Indianapolis Northeast
347 reviews
1.99 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Cafe Audrey at the Fort
74 reviews
.53 miles away
Jockamo Upper Crust Pizza
52 reviews
.58 miles away
Sherwood Cafe
6 reviews
.55 miles away
Garrison
39 reviews
.00 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Fort Harrison State Park
118 reviews
.64 miles away
Hindu Temple of Central Indiana
9 reviews
3.72 miles away
Chateau De Pique Winery
7 reviews
3.52 miles away
Breakout Games - Indianapolis (Castleton)
730 reviews
3.52 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
JenScheiber
April 23, 2015|
Answer
Response from Bruce R | Property representative |
Hi - The Fort is open to the public. We do require a tee time. Look forward to seeing you. Bruce Rearick Resort Manager
0
Votes
Membership_Slide_Up_Placement_on_Attraction_Review
Get 10% off your next tour or activity booking.
Valid for new TripAdvisor sign-ups only.
Join TripAdvisor