Discovery Center Museum

Discovery Center Museum, Rockford: Hours, Address, Discovery Center Museum Reviews: 4.5/5

Discovery Center Museum
4.5
10:00 AM - 12:00 PM, 1:00 PM - 3:00 PM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 12:00 PM
1:00 PM - 3:00 PM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 12:00 PM
1:00 PM - 3:00 PM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 12:00 PM
1:00 PM - 3:00 PM
Friday
10:00 AM - 12:00 PM
1:00 PM - 3:00 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 12:00 PM
1:00 PM - 3:00 PM
Sunday
10:00 AM - 12:00 PM
1:00 PM - 3:00 PM
Popular mentions

4.5
338 reviews
Excellent
267
Very good
61
Average
6
Poor
2
Terrible
2

Mrs.Schmid
Minneapolis, MN15 contributions
Great museum!
Mar 2020 • Family
Great hands on museum, plenty to do for several hours. Kids and 1-13 would have a lot to do here for hours on end.
Written March 14, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanks so much for the 5-star rating and review. We appreciate it and hope you will return soon!
Written September 10, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Laurie T
Rockford, IL19 contributions
Buy a Family Pass...
Aug 2019 • Family
Buy the Family pass...Soooo worth it..Pass good for a year...They also have. grandparents pass...Nice to have somewhere fun to go to and not have to pay every time... I would buy a Family pass for my kids for Christmas do they could take their kids, something they could use instead of a toy that my grandkids would play with for 5 minutes... GREAT ANY REASON GIFT for ANY FAMILY...
Written March 11, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie, thank you so much for your 5-star rating and kind words. The family and grandparent memberships truly are a great deal if you plan to visit even 2-3 times a year! You are absolutely right about buying something like a museum membership that can be used every day for a year versus a toy that children often become bored of or break quickly! We hope to see you and your family back again soon.
Written September 10, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

linda c
Palatine, IL22 contributions
Great place to take kids of all ages.
Aug 2019
This museum, in Rockford is a gem in the Midwest. There are many interactive displays and lots to learn.
Written February 16, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanks so much for the 5-star rating and review. We appreciate it and hope you visit us again soon now that we are reopen!
Written September 11, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Lindsey B
2 contributions
Great place for young children
Aug 2019
The grandkids and I really enjoyed our time here. There was plenty to do and somehow even the adults didn't get bored at this kid-friendly place!
Written February 15, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for the 5-star rating and review. We're so glad you and your grandchildren enjoyed your time with us. We hope you visit again soon. You may want to consider a grandparent membership for just $90 you and all your grandchildren ages 17 and younger can come every day for a year if you wish! You'd also get discounts in our gift shop, and for classes and birthday parties. Thanks again.
Written September 11, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

travelwiththefam
LaPorte, MN42 contributions
So much fun
Jan 2020
Stopped by with our family on the way to Orlando. We had been here once before many years ago. It had improved and was so fun for everyone in or group from our infant to the grandparents. Some of our favorites were the bubble area, the tornado tube, farm area, and the list could go on. We had to limit ourselves to two hours but could of easily spent more time there.
Written February 1, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanks so much for taking the time to rate and review us. Thanks, too, for stopping by our place on your way to Orlando! We hope you had a good trip to Florida. We strive to make Discovery Center a place where people of all ages can enjoy themselves and even learn a little something. It sounds like your family did just that! Hopefully next time you are on your way through town you can spend more time with us! Thanks again.
Written September 11, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Danielle M
Lacon, IL84 contributions
MLK day trip bring your own snacks
Jan 2020 • Family
We live in peoria about 2 hours away and ate membership reciprocated. My kids live it. We spent 5 hours and we finally had to drag them away with dinner. That is the one down side. They have no food. So, bring your own food and snacks. Otherwise, wonderful.
Written January 20, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanks so much for taking the time to rate and review us. We're always happy to host out-of-town folks and thrilled you spent 5 hours with us. We bet you were hungry! We have tried to get food vendors to have a cafe on site, but we simply do not have enough traffic all day throughout the year for businesses to invest in a cafe. We do, however, have a number of great local and chain restaurants within a 5-minute drive from us and guests are welcome to leave the museum to eat and then return for more museum fun. Simply show us your receipt when you return from eating. We hope you visit us again soon.
Written September 11, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Mary S
San Marcos, CA125 contributions
A Fun Way to Spend The Day
Jan 2020 • Family
This was our first visit with two 3 year olds and a 1 year old. We went on a Friday and arrived at noon. It was not too crowded. There was plenty to do for both age groups. The areas were clean and well staffed. We stayed until 3:30. The Art Room was filled with a lot of materials for the children to use. We will definitely be back!
My only “complaint” is that there wasn’t any food/cafe there. There was a lunchroom so you could eat your own food there. That is a great idea. After being at the DuPage Children’s Museum and the Children’s Museum in Glenview where they had cafes, I was expecting one here so I did not come prepared.
Written January 14, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanks so much for taking the time to rate and review us. Congratulations on being "1st time visitors"! We're so pleased you enjoyed your visit. We're sorry we do not have a cafe for our guests. We have tried to get one established in the past, but there is simply not enough steady traffic throughout the entire year for a food vendor to stay long term. We welcome guests to pack a lunch, or to enjoy one of the many chain and local restaurants within a 5-minute drive from our museum. You are welcome leave, eat, and return for no extra charge. We hope you visit us again soon. We reopened post COVID on July 8.
Written September 11, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

John J
Waukesha, WI50 contributions
Discovered Out-of-order exhibits
Aug 2019
Went there with my grandchildren, aged 11, 9, and 7 years. They had a very good time. There was a lot to keep them interested and busy. Unfortunately not every thing was operational. In one exhibit there was a large hoop in which they could step into and encase themselves in a bubble. However that did not happen. We were told the soapy solution was flat. It gets changed once a week on Sundays. We were there on a Saturday. There were wind turbines to test the impact different shaped fan blades have on the turbine's speed. The pegs on the blades were worn out and fell out of the turbines. The outdoors Discovery Center that stuff for climbing. The whisper dishes did not work.
Written September 15, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hello. Thank you for taking the time and share thoughts on your experience with us. We're happy your grandchildren had a good time. We also wanted to thank you for your insight and let you know what we are doing to address your concerns. We have a brand new Bubble Play gallery (installed in October) with all new bubble-related exhibits. The Body Bubble you referred to is now completely new and has a new bubble solution that is much more reliable. However, our exhibits director said he would monitor it more frequently. The wind turbine pegs (wood dowels) do wear after a certain amount of use. We check them regularly and replace as needed, but we will check them more often. Thanks again. We hope you will visit again soon.
Written November 22, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Hazel A
25 contributions
Discovery Center with small children
Aug 2019 • Family
My grandchildren were here visiting for a month so we went to the Discovery Center. The grandchildren are one year old and three years old. The baby played in a closed off area for babies. He seem to really enjoy it. The three year old enjoyed playing in the children’s area for younger children. They have many fun things for children to play with. The only downsides were parents allowing their older children to come in the baby area wearing shoes. They have signs up stating no shoes to be worn inside the baby area. Also, parents allowing older children in the little children’s area. It’s a fun area with many fun things to play with like a house with dolls, ambulance, boat etc. The older children are rough and take toys from the small children so parents watch your small children. They did not have staff enforcing age rules for areas. All in all a fun place just keep your eyes on your children instead of your phone. Children live this place! Hint... No healthy food sold here. Bring lunch and go into lunch room area and eat. They only have a couple of vending machines selling chips, pop etc.
Written August 6, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for taking the time to review Discovery Center Museum. We appreciate you sharing your thoughts and experience with others. We're happy your grandchildren enjoyed their visit...especially their time in our Tot Spot gallery and Baby Spot. The Tot Spot is geared for children ages 6 and younger and we do have signage stating that. Our staff does try to encourage parents who have older children to enjoy the exhibits throughout the rest of the museum. At times, families with children of multiple ages, (including a child over age 6) are in Tot Spot simply because they do not want to leave their younger children unattended, nor let their older children roam unaccompanied in the rest of the museum. We realize it can be a difficult balance for all families. We will make note to reinforce with our staff to be watchful of any children over the age of 6 in our Tot Spot area and monitor behavior. We also encourage you (and all our guests) to alert our staff if you encounter children not adhering to our policies Thank you again for visiting and we hope you return soon.
Written September 12, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Max A
36 contributions
Always something new to learn
Jul 2019
It’s often said that people who live close, often don’t visit some of the attractions right in their own back yard. Not so with our family and the Discovery Center in Rockford. My wife and I often visit this children’s museum and have purchased passes every year since our granddaughters were born. The Discovery Center is unique in the educational and play opportunities for children of all ages. It has not been unusual for me to take the girls there three times per week. New visitors will not be disappointed on their first visit and all the others that will surely follow. (Note: My photos mostly show activities for younger children, but there are many attractions for older kids.)
Written August 6, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Max, We truly appreciate you taking the time to review us and are thrilled with your comments regarding your experiences here with your granddaughters. How wonderful for you, your wife, and your granddaughters to be able to spend so much time together and make so many fun memories. We are so pleased to have your family a part of our Discovery Center family, and thank you for your membership. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Written September 12, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 334
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Discovery Center Museum

Discovery Center Museum is open:
  • Tue - Sun 10:00 AM - 12:00 PM
  • Tue - Sun 1:00 PM - 3:00 PM