Mekong Rustic
Mekong Rustic
4.5
Boat ToursWalking ToursSightseeing Tours
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Monday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Sunday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
About
Mekong Rustic was founded as a community-based tourism project in Cai Be, Tien Giang province, Vietnam. Surrounded by lush orchards in peaceful village on Tan Phong Isles along the Mekong River, is only 2.5 hour drive away from Ho Chi Minh City. An unprecedented commitment to innovation an authentic local traditions and responsible tourism has become our priority and initiation of the project. A full-board local homestay accommodation and activities accompanied by local English speaking guide will be an ideal for those who would love to explore and immerse in the Greater Mekong's culture and lifestyle
Cai Be, Vietnam

Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Travelers talk about
(2 reviews)

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles31 reviews
Excellent
20
Very good
8
Average
2
Poor
0
Terrible
1

Liam L
Cape Town Central, South Africa22 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2018 • Friends
We did the Home stay, which we found really comfortable and easy. Nhi, the woman that we had communications with, was amazing. She is such a character and was really enthusiastic to show us around, even after hours. We had a dinner and a breakfast which were simple and tasty. You have access to soft drinks, water and beer on an honesty system as well as ample bicycles for rent. We felt relaxed and at home at this place.
Written March 4, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Liam L, Xin Chào. Thank you so much for your reviews. It is our pleasure that you have enjoyed the sense of rustic and had a fab stay with us. I have passed on your appreciation to our Mekong Rustic Can Tho team. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly for any further assistance on info@mekongrustic.com and all of us here look forward to welcoming you back Warm regards, Bobby Nguyen General Manager Mekong Rustic Cai Be: Tan Thien hamlet, Tan Phong commune, Cai Lay, Tien Giang province Can Tho: 02 Nhon Loc 1, Phong Dien town, Can Tho city T: (+84) 292 654 8686 Hotline: (+84) 978 581 143 E: info@mekongrustic.com
Written March 5, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Nancy G
Vancouver, Canada17 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2018 • Couples
We were travelling with our adult daughter so 3 in a beautiful bungalow. People throughout the Island very friendly.Meals are Fantastic so much food if you don’t want eggs for breakfast the bring you noodles. English is limited but we all figured it out. Ride the bikes around fishing is hilarious.
If not on a tour it is a bit of an adventure to get here from the Futa bus (we came from Can Tho)you take a motorcycle taxi to ferry(50,000dong pp) The ferry is 3,000 pp call and they will pick you up on the other side. Spent 2 nights 3 would have been nice.
Written February 11, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Nancy G, Xin Chào. Thank you so much for your reviews. It is our pleasure that you have enjoyed the sense of rustic and had a fab stay with us. I have passed on your appreciation to our Mekong Rustic Can Tho team. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly for any further assistance on info@mekongrustic.com and all of us here look forward to welcoming you back Warm regards, Bobby Nguyen General Manager Mekong Rustic A: 02 Nhon Loc 1, Phong Dien town, Can Tho city T: (+84) 292 654 8686 Hotline: (+84) 978 581 143 E: info@mekongrustic.com
Written February 26, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

speckles
nj143 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2018 • Friends
For Prime time. Lovely hotel on Tan Phong, an island in the Mekong River just across the river from Cai Be. When I can figure out how to add a picture that is seemingly not yet available to TripAdvisor, I will share.
I thought this would be the typical review form but apparently not. If you’re a budget traveler, ask to be in a room in the main house. Quite apartment with WC and shower outside behind the kitchen. Otherwise the bungalows are very nice. 3 star level.
The food was delicious and the staff very welcoming and helpful. They will arrange to take u on a bike tour of the island with stops to make hyacinth bracelets and Jack fruit leaf cake.
Written January 11, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear speckles, Xin Chào. Thank you so much for your reviews. It is our pleasure that you have enjoyed the sense of rustic and had a fab stay with us. I have passed on your appreciation to the Mekong Rustic team. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly for any further assistance on info@mekongrustic.com and all of us here look forward to welcoming you back Warm regards, Tony Nguyen Guest Relations Manager
Written January 17, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

judith s
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2017 • Couples
I had been traveling throughout Vietnam with Tonkin Travel when I experienced a nightmare on Tan Phong Island. My husband and I were given our bikes from a stack of bicycles and we started our ride on the island heading to Mekong Rustic for lunch. As I travelled on the path my bike would pull to the left or right as I slowed down. At one point I ended up on the opposite side of the road. I was not going fast but I knew something was wrong with the bike and told my husband that I was not going to ride that bike after lunch. My husband offered his bike but we were so close to the turn I told him it would not be necessary. As I negotiated a 90 degree turn, the steering totally went out and I tried frantically to turn my handlebars to the left. The pavement
to my immediate right was covered with brush and my bicycle hit the edge, I fell over 2 levels of barbed wire, my bicycle overturned and I plunged into the Mekong River. I
remember coming up for air and partially in shock. I felt a sharp pain on my right ear and when I felt it, my hand turned a deep blood red (part of my ear was clipped by the barbed wire as was my upper arm..) The right side of my body was severely injured... and within 2 weeks my right arm and leg were black and blue. To this day, I still have a knot on my upper right leg and have not totally recovered. I also lost my IPad and a Cannon camera.
This accident rocked me to my core and I don't want anyone else to get hurt. I was rented a faulty, dangerous bicycle.
Take care and beware of bicycles that Mekong Rustic provides their guests!
Judith s
Written September 13, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear judith s, Thank you for your reviews on TripAdvisor. I regretted your bicycle accidence on the way back to our accommodation for lunch in since 4 month ago . I'm not surprised although your holiday was finished a long time and we had taken care about you very much by giving our clothes for washing and collect all our luggages include your ipad and camera before you had lunch. You were very satisfied and friendly in these day after our local guide used your ipad and checked by taking your photo during your lunch. But some previous day, we have received your email which you told our partner that you lost your ipad and camera and asked us the refund. We have refused your request as it was long time ( 4 months) and we did not know where you lost your ipad and camera. If you lost your items in our accommodation so why did not let us know immediately and we could check it right away. For the bike, we have over 30 bicycles and our mechanic and local guide have checked before cycling tours. After your accidence, we have checked again and told you your status of your bike which you used. We could offer your the best holiday and services if you were co-operated with us in your Vietnam holiday. But if you did not co-operate with us so we tried our best to not provide you the good services and good holiday. Thanks & best regards, Bobby Nguyen
Written September 21, 2017
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Reinoud v
Sassenheim, The Netherlands10 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2017 • Family
Beautiful place in a fruit garden. Very very friendly people. Lovely food. We had an amazing fishing exeperience! And it is so peacefull.
Written August 1, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Reinoud v, Xin Chào. Thank you so much for your reviews. It is our pleasure that you have enjoyed the sense of rustic and had a fab stay with us. I have passed on your appreciation to the host family and the team. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly for any further assistance on info@mekongrustic.com and all of us here look forward to welcoming you back Warm regards, Tony Nguyen Guest Relations Manager
Written August 1, 2017
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Felix L
10 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2017 • Solo
I'm totally in love with this homestay and the nice family living there. They are really good hosts and great cooks. The rooms are cozy and the beds are really comfortable. They have big mosquito nets to guarantee a good sleep, but better bring some earplugs, as the birds, crickets and frogs as well as their chickens can sometimes produce some noise. But this also creates a great atmosphere and a perfect jungle feeling. I recommend to book one of the tours (look in the website), I joined a group and went fishing and it was an amazing experience.
The family doesn't speak English but still conversation is always possible somehow. Also a tour guide comes to the Mekong Rustic every day and can help you whenever you have questions.
It was absolutely worth the stay, even after 4 days I didn't get bored and it was a great adventure for me to see the local culture. Thanks for having me!
Written May 2, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Felix, Xin Chào, Thank you so much for your reviews. We are very delighted that you have enjoyed the rustic feelings and had a fab stay with us. I have passed on your appreciation to the host family and the team. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly for any further assistance on info@mekongrustic.com and all of us here look forward to welcoming you back Warm regards, Ellie Do Business Development Manager
Written May 3, 2017
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Anat B
Tel Aviv, Israel7 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2023
Very authentic, in the village, you feel the local life, lots of advancers - very much recommended and especially our tour guide - Liz (Nhi Huynh) - exceptional !!!She's the best
Written March 28, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Oscar
London, UK36 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2018 • Couples
This was one of the best things we did on our Vietnam trip. Our tour guide nhan was exceptional - very knowledgeable, friendly and spoke great English. The activities were varied and well planned. Our favourites were Mr Hi’s tea party and the cooking class. In general the experience felt really authentic, and not too touristy. The lodge itself was lovely and our hosts prepared delicious food (and so much of it!). We are a gay couple and had no issues at all in that respect.
Written November 17, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear screamingintothevoid, Xin Chào. Thank you so much for your reviews. It is our pleasure that you have enjoyed the sense of rustic and had a fab stay with us. I have passed on your appreciation toMr. Nhân and our Mekong Rustic team. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly for any further assistance on info@mekongrustic.com and all of us here look forward to welcoming you back Warm regards, Bobby Nguyen General Manager Mekong Rustic Mekong Rustic Cai Be: Tan Thien hamlet, Tan Phong commune, Cai Lay, Tien Giang province Mekong Rustic Can Tho: 02 Nhon Loc 1, Phong Dien town, Can Tho city T: (+84) 292 654 8686 Hotline: (+84) 978 581 143 E: info@mekongrustic.com
Written November 19, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

HyMand
Burleigh Heads, Australia9 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2018 • Couples
This place is a hidden gem, you feel like you are in the middle of the jungle. The outdoor bathroom is amazing. Beds are a little hard but the atmosphere and staff make up for it. Recommend making use of the free bicycles on offer and just get out and explore. An amazing base to experience the Mekong Delta and all it has to offer.
Written April 28, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear HyMand, Xin Chào. Thank you so much for your reviews. It is our pleasure that you have enjoyed the sense of rustic and had a fab stay with us. I have passed on your appreciation to our Mekong Rustic team. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly for any further assistance on info@mekongrustic.com and all of us here look forward to welcoming you back Warm regards, Bobby Nguyen General Manager Mekong Rustic Mekong Rustic Cai Be: Tan Thien hamlet, Tan Phong commune, Cai Lay, Tien Giang province Mekong Rustic Can Tho: 02 Nhon Loc 1, Phong Dien town, Can Tho city T: (+84) 292 654 8686 Hotline: (+84) 978 581 143 E: info@mekongrustic.com
Written April 29, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

BlondeBullet
Newcastle, Australia14 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2018 • Couples
The humid conditions did not diminish our amazing 3 days and 2 nights at the Mekong Rustic. The cute bungalow was contemporary with fans & a mosquito over the comfortable bed. The home cooked food was delicious & generous in portion. Our guide Nyung was exceptional with his friendly disposition and knowledge of the area. We cycled to the local basket weavers, cooked jackfruit cake in a local home, enjoyed a tea party of exotic fruit and ginger tea with Mr Hi, cruised to the floating markets, paddled up the thin canals in a fishing boat, watched the sunset over the Mekong River and more. This was a lovely adventure and if you are looking for something cultural and relaxing we would recommend you book in.
Written April 16, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear BlondeBullet, Xin Chào. Thank you so much for your reviews. It is our pleasure that you have enjoyed the sense of rustic and had a fab stay with us. I have passed on your appreciation to our Mekong Rustic team. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly for any further assistance on info@mekongrustic.com and all of us here look forward to welcoming you back Warm regards, Bobby Nguyen General Manager Mekong Rustic Mekong Rustic Cai Be: Tan Thien hamlet, Tan Phong commune, Cai Lay, Tien Giang province Mekong Rustic Can Tho: 02 Nhon Loc 1, Phong Dien town, Can Tho city T: (+84) 292 654 8686 Hotline: (+84) 978 581 143 E: info@mekongrustic.com
Written April 17, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 18

Mekong Rustic - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024)

RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars