We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About BBQ Pontoon
At BBQ Pontoon you can take a private, self-guided river cruise where you’re the captain! No strangers tag along. It’s just you, kicking back with some good friends, great food, and awesome views! Get a free pizza on every cruise! All of our boats have Bluetooth-enabled sound systems.
Read more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
See all hours
Travelers talk about

BBQ Pontoon
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
35Reviews1Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 30
  • 1
  • 2
  • 0
  • 2
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Kim J wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
This was the most fun I've had all summer. I was a little intimidated it would be hard to captain the boat but it was super easy and quite fun! The staff was excellent and did a great job of explaining everything while also not taking long at all to do so. The pizza that comes with the boat was also surprisingly delicious too! I wish I had ordered another from them. Highly recommend this company to anyone in Chicago.
Read more
Date of experience: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Vanessa B wrote a review Jul 2022
2 contributions
Oh my god we had so much fun at BBQ Pontoon!!! I can't say enough good things. My husband surprised me with a birthday cruise and it was fabulous! The sights are fantastic and the boats are fun. The staff is really nice too. I can't wait to go back. Would definitely recommend.
Read more
Date of experience: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Teryn_LLGT wrote a review Jul 2022
United States177 contributions34 helpful votes
Great experience for an affordable price. My cousins and I rented a boat for a Thursday afternoon and had a great experience. The provided pizza was good and easy to cook and the boat was easy to drive. The views from the river are unmatched! Getting to the location and parking is convenient. An overall great experience!
Read more
Date of experience: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from skipperich, Owner at BBQ Pontoon
Responded 5 weeks ago
Thanks Teryn! It was a please having you as out guest. Please come back soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ashley W wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
The guests in front of us were a little late coming back, but did not cut into our time. When they arrived, the staff was yelling at them and video recording them. They were very apologetic from what we could see. It made me nervous the whole trip that we were going to be treated like that. Very unprofessional and I would not use them again. No one deserves to be treated like that or called names.
Read more
Date of experience: June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from skipperich, Manager at BBQ Pontoon
Responded 5 weeks ago
Your review is false, as our records indicate that you were actually part of caelyne2022’s group. You are simply trying to harass us with negative reviews. You returned the boat more than half an hour late, thereby disrupting the plans of three groups who were scheduled to use the boat after you, all of whom paid good money to do so. You did not apologize. You were laughing about it as if it was no big deal. When our staff attempted to reach you by phone to ask why you were running late, they had to call you six times before you answered. We have multiple methods for determining whether a customer docks a boat. We know for a fact that you did. When you returned the boat it reeked of marijuana so bad that we could smell it before you even reached the dock. One member of your party was passed out and slumped over in the corner of the boat, and they needed assistance walking off. When you were asked to get off the boat quickly so that we could clean it for the next group, you began berating our staff with foul language and you even threatened to slap a female member of our staff multiple times. You then proceeded to scream at people on the premises who have no affiliation with our company at all. And if that isn’t enough, as you left our premises you ripped a sign off of our fence, thereby causing more than $200 worth of damage. We are happy to hear you will not be returning, not that you would be allowed to anyway. Your behavior was disgusting, if not downright disturbing.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Caelyn E wrote a review Jun 2022
2 contributions
We rented a pontoon from this business for our freind's birthday. With no experience on the river, we took a right at the fork on the way back instead of a left (or vice versa). We were prepared to pay the late return fee and we were very appologetic to the company when they called. Instead of helping us figure out how to get back and if we were going the correct direction, they hung up on us. Upon return, we were greeted with hostility. We were accused to tying the boat up somewhere because a red rope with supposedly not how they had left it. We absolutely did not tie up anywhere and don't even have any knowledge of where we could have done that. When one of us asked, "well don't you ahve gps on the boat to see if we did that or not?", we were told "because of people like you I'll be getting it". We were then accused of being "drunk and high." We were also called "stupid" for not being able to follow a "straight line". Our racially diverse group felt discriminated against and very disrespected from this company's racist business practices. Do not use this company unless you want to be disrespected for an honest mistake.
Read more
Date of experience: June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from skipperich, Owner at BBQ Pontoon
Responded 5 weeks ago
You returned the boat more than half an hour late, thereby disrupting the plans of three groups who were scheduled to use the boat after you, all of whom paid good money to do so. You did not apologize. You were laughing about it as if it was no big deal. When our staff attempted to reach you by phone to ask why you were running late, they had to call you six times before you answered. We have multiple methods for determining whether a customer docks a boat. We know for a fact that you did. When you returned the boat it reeked of marijuana so bad that we could smell it before you even reached the dock. One member of your party was passed out and slumped over in the corner of the boat, and they needed assistance walking off. When you were asked to get off the boat quickly so that we could clean it for the next group, you began berating our staff with foul language and you even threatened to slap a female member of our staff multiple times. You then proceeded to scream at people on the premises who have no affiliation with our company at all. And if that isn’t enough, as you left our premises you ripped a sign off of our fence, thereby causing more than $200 worth of damage. We are happy to hear you will not be returning, not that you would be allowed to anyway. Your behavior was disgusting, if not downright disturbing.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous