We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Spirit of Remembrance - Day Tours

Upchurch, United Kingdom
More
About Spirit of Remembrance - Day Tours
ANZAC Day: Australian Dawn service ceremony Day & Multi Day tours to Villers-Bretonneux, France. Vimy Ridge: Canadian Day & Multi Day Memorial Tours to Vimy Ridge, France. Canadian WW2 Normandy Tours. Depart London and Paris. Designed by Australian & Canadian war historians these tours visits the WW1 Australian & Canadian Western Front including Villers-Bretonneux, Adelaide Cemetery, Le Hamel Australian Corps Memorial Park, Albert, Pozieres Memorial, Bullecourt, Arras, Fromelles (VC Corner Cemetery and Cobbers Memorial), Ypres, Passchendaele, Vimy and all the major Australian & Canadian WW1 Western Front Battle sectors.
Read more

Spirit of Remembrance - Day Tours
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
12Reviews0Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 8
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • 3
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Ava D wrote a review May 2020
Hervey Bay, Australia4 contributions3 helpful votes
We booked the Villers-Bretonneux Anzac Day tour with Spirit of Remembrance. This tour was to leave Paris to attend the Anzac Day service in Northen France on 25th April and cost us £350 per person. Due to the Coronavirus this service was cancelled on 18th March by the Australian government. My son contacted the owners on 20th March in the hope of finding out what their intentions were regarding a refund. After a 40 minute phone call it was clear there would be no refund or any possible options offered however, what we were told was, Nikki (Owner of the company) was putting together communication via email to all customers who had booked this tour. There were 20 booked on this tour, but she was trying to ensure she was up to date with all current information before sending. Communication was delayed because she was finding new bits of information on the dva.gov.au and FCO websites. She was dealing with cancellations and a ‘souvenir book' to send to customers (never received). She spoke about France borders being shut and nobody could legally attend any way. (We already knew this). My husband emailed Spirit of Remembrance after the phone call to which he received the one and only email from them and their response was to twist the truth and play the victim. The email consisted of tales of woe on a personal level. It also consisted of a personal attack on my son and claims that he was extremely aggressive. When my son tried to defend himself and put the truth forward on the Villers-Bretonneux Anzac Day Facebook, his posts were deleted. (Screenshots are a wonderful tool in these circumstances). The last paragraph of that one and only email received by them told my husband to amend his last post on their Facebook page to reflect that they did post information and that they are in direct contact with their clients. They wanted us to lie. When we didn’t do as they asked they deleted my husbands post and hid his review. To this day they still have not posted information of their intentions and we have had absolutely no direct contact from them. I, along with another customer who was also going on the same tour, jointly emailed Spirit of Remembrance on 30th March asking for an update of their intentions regarding a refund. We never received a reply. The only form of communication that got their attention was through their Facebook page, Villers-Bretonneux Anzac Day. They delete posts ad nauseam, hide reviews, and suspend posters. When I asked for updates or what was going on with the refunds (on the Villers-Bretonneux Anzac Day fb page), their replies became aggressive and name calling, and they accused me of being harassing and bullying. They appear to be quite the experts at playing the victim and twisting the truth and lying to make others look bad, but their actions speak louder than words and screenshots tell the complete story. It has been 7 weeks since the tour was cancelled and we have had no indication on what they are intending to do. They chose to ignore their customers who have paid a lot of money. We have been in contact with our travel insurance and they have advised that it is up to the tour company, not them, to refund for the tour they could not provide. If we are to go by their actions, or lack there of and their complete disrespect towards their customers, one can conclude this is an opportunity for them to grossly profiteer from 20 people.
Read more
Date of experience: April 2020
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Lilimarlene54 wrote a review Jun 2019
Chievres, Belgium82 contributions53 helpful votes
I took the day tour ex Paris to attend the commemoration at Courseulles. Despite the official information about the organisation was lately available, SoR was in touch with the passengers and managed to provide an early breakfast at 2:45. As the only Belgian member of the tour I was given information about hotels in Paris. Very competent guide. Comfortable coach. Very good experience of Memory tour with this company.
Read more
Date of experience: June 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from ningguru, Owner at Spirit of Remembrance - Day Tours
Responded Jun 10, 2019
LiliMarlene Thank you for your review. The D-Day 75 ex Paris tour was a very difficult tour movement to organise due to the ever changing security issues because of US President and other world leaders attending and constantly changing their timings. Thank you for travelling with Spirit of Remembrance. Will pass on your positive comments to the guide. Thanks once again. for your positive review. Sincerely: The Spirit Team
Read more
rayagnew wrote a review May 2018
Stansbury, Australia1 contribution1 helpful vote
From 21-25 April we participated in the Spirit of Remembrance ANZACs Remembered Tour which culminated in the Dawn Service at Villers Bretonneux. The tour was very well organised and the tour guides Simon Hopkin and Frank Baldwin were enthusiastic and extremely knowledgeable. The organisers worked hard to accommodate and incorporate the individual interests of the tour complement. Having previously visited France with a Military History Tour Group we were impressed with Simon and Frank's knowledge of all the battlefields. The Spirit of Remembrance tour was very comprehensive with an emphasis on the involvement of Australians in the major battles of WW1 on the Western Front. Accommodation and meals including the packed lunches were A1. The Villers Bretonneux Centenary Dawn Service more than lived up to our expectations and though we were very cold and towards the end wet we were more aware and appreciative of what our soldiers experienced day in and day out. The visit to the newly opened and state of the art Sir John Monash was an added bonus. Congratulations to all concerned but especially Graeme and Nikki for organising a tour that will stay in our memories for a very long time. Mayor Ray and Mayoress Claudia Agnew Yorke Peninsula South Australia
Read more
Date of experience: April 2018
Helpful
Share
Response from Graeme A, Manager at Spirit of Remembrance - Day Tours
Responded May 31, 2018
Hello Ray and Caudia :-) Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your recent tour with Spirit of Remembrance. It was indeed a special time for us all - a very hectic - but immensely rewarding Journey of Remembrance that will also stay with us for a lifetime. It was lovely to spend some time with you both and we are delighted that you can recommend Spirit in such high regard! Hoping to see you our way again some day. :-) With very personal kind regards The Spirit of Remembrance Team
Read more
Crankee1 wrote a review May 2018
41 contributions6 helpful votes
+1
It is hard to express the admiration felt for the ANZACs in Australia. We did a five day long Remembrance tour with Spirit of Remembrance and walked in the footsteps of true heroes. Our guides were excellent and the experience was one my family will never forget. The accomodation was excellent - especially the Chateau. The trip took us to every major battlefield and memorial to the ANZACS on the western front and stepped us through the action that occurred over 100 years ago. Could not recommend this experience highly enough for those interested in tracing their own family story (our guides made sure everyone in our group found who they were looking for) or trying to learn.more about the ANZACS in France and Belgium.
Read more
Date of experience: April 2018
Helpful
Share
Response from ningguru, Owner at Spirit of Remembrance - Day Tours
Responded May 7, 2018
Thank you Richard for your review. It was indeed a great pleasure to have you guys on this historic tour. We wil lbe publishing a selection of photos of all the gorups soon and will let everyone know when we do. Thanks again! cheers G & N
Read more
Harley R wrote a review Mar 2018
Brisbane, Australia4 contributions3 helpful votes
I booked mid last year on this year’s ANZAC Day Villers Brettonneau one day tour from Paris. In November I had to cancel. I have been trying to get my deposit back. Each email request is met with long tales of woe. Bookings are down, we are losing money, do not believe the hoop-la from Veterans Affairs etc (no violin accompaniment). Finally, I was offered a 50% ex gratis payment, not a refund, as their email explained. I accepted, reluctantly and forwarded my banking details. After a wait I inquired about when I could expect the payment and again got a long whining email telling me that it would be done but they were too busy at the moment. Any one of the email replies would have taken longer to compose than the payment. I took this as the final confirmation of the lack of sincerity and decided to post this warning. I am guessing that I will never see my ex gratis payment.
Read more
Date of experience: March 2018
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Graeme A, Owner at Spirit of Remembrance - Day Tours
Responded Mar 12, 2018
Dear Harley, Thank you for your comments. Now let's look at the actual facts. 1. You paid a DEPOSIT for your booking for 4 persons April 2017 and signed your booking form under our clearly identified 'Terms and Conditions' - that specifically states that all DEPOSITS ARE NON REFUNDABLE. 2. You cancelled your booking in November 2017. You asked for a refund but you were told as per our 'Terms and Conditions' of booking (which you signed as having 'read and understood' ) there was NO refund on Deposits, and you were advised to claim your deposit cost back on your Travel Insurance - which we also STRONGLY insist/advise our clients to take out at time of booking. You then advised us that you did not have any Travel Insurance. 3. We then made a decision that if possible - and if the tour SIZE that your party was booked on increased enough in participants we *might* be able to provide you with an "*ex gratia" (*'FREE') 'one off' payment for 50% of your deposit (as we would have more income for the tour to do this - as opposed to the small numbers booked on the tour as at time of your cancellation.) I might add we also told you here that we had NEVER done this before - but we wanted to try and help you - but we could not offer it as a REFUND as legally this was not possible. (A refund.) 4. After many emails from you asking us for your 'refund' we advised you in February 2018 we now had the required numbers on the tour to provide you with your 'ex gratia' payment. We then told you however this would be delayed for a week or two as we were incredibly busy and as your payment was an 'ex gratia' payment - it was not a priority and would be a week or so before we could action this. You then told us by return email that - no, you wanted a full refund or you would take to social media. You also called me/us 'pathetic' and that there was nothing that we Aussies and Kiwis dislike more than a whinging Pomme, (sic) and that you were going to post our correspondence on social media and you would take your 'ex gratis’ (sic) payment in the form of our discomfort. I/we replied to your email that you should be a little more discerning in your communication in that - not only was I NOT a “Whinging Pomme” (sic) as you put it - but a proud Australian – who incidentally served in the Vietnam war as a conscript in the Australian Armed Forces. I also said that my previous email stood as to processing time and capability, and that hopefully we should be able to do it a bit sooner depending on how much processing time it actually takes to do it manually. That still stands irregardless of your 'complaint' and we will be processing your payment. Signed: Graeme A Director/Co-Owner Spirit of Remembrance Battlefield Tours
Read more
Previous