We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: 5 miles west on U.S. 78, Washington, GA
Phone Number: 706/678-7060
Improve this listing
Today
10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Tue - Sat 10:00 am - 5:00 pm

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 40 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 34
    Excellent
  • 5
    Very good
  • 0
    Average
  • 1
    Poor
  • 0
    Terrible
A chance visit to the Callaway Plantation

We passed the Callaway Plantation during a 4 week tour through the southeastern United States, and stopped off to explore. As with so many things, it is the docent who makes all... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed November 22, 2015
StellaCaroline
,
Orpington, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

40 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2015

We passed the Callaway Plantation during a 4 week tour through the southeastern United States, and stopped off to explore. As with so many things, it is the docent who makes all the difference. We called on a day when there were no other visitors there at the time - possibly because it had been raining quite heavily that morning... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank StellaCaroline
CallawayPlantation, Manager at Callaway Plantation, responded to this review

Wow! Thank you so much for the wonderful review! Your words truly mean a lot. I am beyond pleased to hear that you enjoyed yourselves so much out here at Callaway Plantation. I am so happy you made the stop to see the site. I had a fantastic time with you both, spending time telling you about the history of... More 

Mebane, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2015

Callaway Plantation was recommended to us by our sister-in-law. My wife and I love visiting historical homes, especially homes that have a story to tell. We arrived about 1:00 pm and rested on the porch of the General Store until our tour started. What a wonderful tour!! Our tour guide Candice was the director of the plantation. She seemed to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda L
CallawayPlantation, Manager at Callaway Plantation, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of Callaway. Your words really mean a lot and I am so grateful that you took the time to write about your experience out here at the Plantation. This is why I love being the director here at Callaway. Knowing that people like yourselves leave here with the... More 

Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2015 via mobile

My husband and I arrived early but Candice, the new director, was accommodating and very delightful. History runs in her blood and she was passionate in recounting the history of the Callaway's. It was well worth our time to make the trip from Missouri to see the plantation.

Helpful?
Thank Rita B
CallawayPlantation, Manager at Callaway Plantation, responded to this review

I must say thank you for the wonderful review! I am so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the tour and am happy you made the trip out to see Callaway Plantation. There is an immense amount of history here at Callaway and in Washington, Georgia. The words you wrote mean so much and I thank you for taking the... More 

hilton head
Level Contributor
89 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2015

Recommended by friends.. We were not disappointed. Not your typical attraction. The house was restored by the community. Furniture is period but not all original. You got a feel that real people could easily have lived here. The other structures from original plantation were also brought back to the site. All are open weather permitting.. Only the big house has... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank HiltonHeadFisherman
CallawayPlantation, Manager at Callaway Plantation, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! I am so happy you enjoyed the tour. I am happy to read that your were impressed by the structures and furniture. We hope to see you back again. I enjoyed giving you the tour. Again thank you for such a great review. Take care! -Candice More 

Lake Stevens
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2015 via mobile

We were on our way to Atlanta on back roads when we spotted this beautiful brick house. We turned around and met the docent Candace...and had a terrific tour! Unfortunately we were pressed for time, but Candace (only in her third week as docent!) really knew her stuff! Unlike other tours you get to be up close and personal in... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank wrzsjz
CallawayPlantation, Manager at Callaway Plantation, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide positive feedback! I am so happy you came to Callaway for a tour. It is great to hear that you that unlike other tours you were able to get up close and personal with the docent and the artifacts. I love to hear that! Your review means a lot and I am... More 

Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2015 via mobile

My wife and I were on our way to Atlanta when we passed by. We didn't have a lot of time for a full tour but Candice agreed to give us a personal "speed" tour and we really enjoyed it. Only wish we would have had more time.

Helpful?
2 Thank Steven Z
CallawayPlantation, Manager at Callaway Plantation, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Callaway Plantation! I personally enjoyed giving you both a tour. I want to thank you for the compliments, they mean a lot, I know you were pressed for time, however, I am so happy to read that you had an enjoyable experience. Hopefully we will see you back another... More 

Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2015 via mobile

We met the guide at plantation store. From there she took us to the original Callaway one room log cabin with original fireplace. The original family was so large they only lived there for 5 years. Close by is the Federal home the family built. This two story was like a palace compared to the earlier cabin. All of the... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Blacksoup
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015 via mobile

The tour guide was a wealth of knowledge on history of the plantation, surrounding area and the state. It appeared that she seemed to tailor each tour according to the interests the tourists - showing a very personal attention to detail. The plantation was beautiful and appears to have been very well kept. The only request I would have for... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Ashley S
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

I'm a home schooling mom of three elementary aged children and we visited on a Tuesday around 11:00. We had the place to ourselves. For all four of us, we paid around $23 and had an hour and a half private tour. Susanna, the guide, walked us carefully through each structure on the property and provided such great information. Not... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank ECRWood
Athens, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
121 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

While driving Hwy 78 from Athens, GA to the SC coast for a mini vacation we saw the sign "Mule Day" so of course we had to stop. For the next couple of hours we became tourists in our own history. We were at the historic Callaway Plantation. 56 Acres of History and, on this day mules. Modest cost of... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Tim H

Been to Callaway Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Callaway Plantation staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?