North Island Surf and Kayak

North Island Surf and Kayak

North Island Surf and Kayak
5
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Monday
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Sunday
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.


5.0
5.0 of 5 bubbles104 reviews
Excellent
89
Very good
10
Average
2
Poor
1
Terrible
2

Scott R
Atlanta, Georgia, United States25 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2023 • Family
Shane and his team have hosted the International Lions Youth Exchange Program for 3 years now. It is always one of the highlights of the youth camp. Shane’s knowledge and patience is fantastic and his organization of the excursions make for such a wonderful day on the water. As a side, my wife and I learned kayaking from Shane many years ago and I am an avid kayaker to this day. Thank you Shane for introducing us to your passion which is now mine.
Written August 15, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

AmySavannah
Savannah Georgia USA5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
North Island Surf and Kayak is an amazing adventure!
I went on the 3 hour kayak tour today, 10/21/2007, from 9am until 12. The owner Shane Parris was also our tour guide! Shane is a Georgia Native and a former History teacher, he shared his vast knowledge of Savannah history and its' surroundings! We went out to Cockspur Beacon, an old historic lighthouse! The view was spectacular! This was an easy kayak destination, even for beginners! Our trip was everything that Shane promised! We saw lots of dolphins, pelicans, and wild herons! I actually ate my lunch in my kayak surrounded by dolphins! What an amazing adventure! North Island Surf and Kayak has the best prices on Tybee Island! Shane also offers "kayak freedom," you can opt out of a tour and have your kayak all day from 9-6pm for only $33.00! He also has surfboard rentals and lessons! My next trip will be the 6 hour all day adventure out to Little Tybee Island! Shane provides a picnic lunch to his guests prepared by him!!!
I had such a wonderful day that I had to share with all of you who visit Savannah! You must call Shane or contact him through his website[--]. Happy Kayaking!
Written October 21, 2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Cammy56
60 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2014
We have kayaked before so we were looking for a good rental place not a tour. The process was quick & we were on the water in no time. We were told to head to the lighthouse first before high tide. He gave us quite a few tips to make our experience easier. Encountered quite a few dolphins on the way back in. Awesome afternoon on the water!
Written October 17, 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

MikeandSue27204
Asheboro, NC12 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2011
We rented 2 tandem kayaks with our daughters, and had an amazing time. We have been kayaking a number of times, but this was our first time paddling in bay/ocean areas. We ended up being surrounded by dolphins feeding and playing for at least an hour....an experience we will not forget!
On the humerous side, we did get to interact with some native wild life- an experience that not many get to have! My wife and daughter heard some people in the water calling for help. They paddled over as quickly as possible, and found that 2 power boaters had jumped into the water and their boat had drifted away. She told the man to climb onto her kayak so she could paddle him to his boat, but he sheepishly replied that he had no clothing! Turned out that he and his wife decided to skinny dip and their boat left without them. My wife retrieved their boat and brought it back to them......unfortunately for the husband, he dropped his trunks when he was trying to put them on in the water, and they promptly sank. He was left with no clothing in the boat except a shirt to try to wrap up in. This added quite a laugh to our day, but we were thankful to be able to help!
Written July 22, 2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

mikeflah
Albemarle, North Carolina2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2011
My wife and I wanted a guide and I pleaded for a short tour, but Shane was alone and assured us we would be fine going out alone. He told us to simply wait until the tide shifted to return and made it sound safe and easy. It did not shift and the experience became most harrowing and dangerous. We were instead pushed by the unrelenting wind and waves across the bay into marshes where we were unable to paddle back. If it weren't for another stranded kayaker who also had rented from North Island, I don't know how or when we would have been rescued. He called on his cellphone for help and it took a while to get Shane to answer. Shane wanted to give us the Coast Guard number to call for help [which would've cost hundreds of dollars] and my wife was weak and worried enough to pay anything at that point. Each time we tried to paddle out, we were pushed further away and into the marshes. We were exhausted; eventually Shane came out on his kayak with a rope that allowed my wife to paddle back guided behind him. I waited for more than another hour, parched and badly sunburned with bruises and my shin gashed, summoning enough energy to try and fight the waves and wind every 20 minutes or so, and only being pushed farther away. A boat came with Shane and a guy who pulled me and the kayak aboard, charging $60 for the rescue across the bay. Shane admitted this has happened before, but the guy with the boat said it occurs quite often. (What a racket.) Shane was totally non-chalant about everything, unconcerned about our well-being, and dismissive of the conditions for which we were unprepared. He is a nice guy, very laid back, but don't believe him when he says you'll be fine, unless you are an expert. And don't expect a tour as advertised, if he is alone then you are on your own. He sent us out confidently, dismissing my wife's concerns and questions, and we had no idea of the terrible and frightening day that lay ahead. It was a hundred bucks badly spent, but we are grateful to have survived.
Written May 1, 2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
First let me say, at North Island Surf and Kayak, we facilitate fun. We always want what's best for our guests and hope that everyone has a happy and safe time. That being said, there are several times in this review that need clarification. 1. The reviewer and his wife used a Groupon for their rental, which is not good for tours. It states it right on the Groupon. If the reviewer and his wife had any doubt about their kayaking abilities, they shouldn't have bought the Groupons to go out on their own. 2. Because the reviewer lives in Hitlon Head, SC, Shane offered to reschedule the reviewer's reservation. The reviewer declined a reschedule. 3. As with every person, Shane made the reviewer and his wife aware of the tides as well as locations to visit. Shane stressed to the couple they needed to leave Cockspur Island at a certain time because the tide would begin to fill in. The reviewer and his wife chose to ignore Shane's advice. 4. On the rental day in question, we had 8 other people, including young children, on the water. Everyone made it back in without assistance. 5. The other "stranded" boater was, in fact, making it in fine. He and his young sons stopped to check on the reviewer and his wife, lending them his cell phone to call Shane. 6. Once the reviewer called Shane, he placed a call to the Coast Guard, which maintains a station less than a mile from where the reviewer and his wife we located. The Coast Guard said because the conditions were completely safe (no small craft advisory) and there was an incoming tide, the people needed to make their own way back. (As a note on the cost of a rescue from the Coast Guard: They come get you for free. The cost comes on our end because often they leave our boats and gear and just save the people. We, in turn, have to charge renters for the cost of lost gear.) 7. When Shane showed up to help the reviewer's wife back, the reviewer REFUSED to paddle back. Initially in fact, he wouldn't even get back in his kayak. Once back in his boat, instead of paddling, he allowed himself to be pushed farther towards to shipping lane. His wife made it back perfectly safe. 8. The reason it took so long, "more than another hour," for Shane to return was because he had to paddle back to our shop and then find someone with a boat willing to go get the reviewer. 9. The $60 charge has nothing to do with North Island Surf and Kayak and is charged by the marina for the cost of fuel and time. We (North Island) get no money out of it. In fact, we were within our rights to charge the reviewer and his wife $25 each for retrieving them, as is stated in our liability waiver. We did not charge them this fee. 10. In our 8 years in business, we've had to do TWO rescues with a motorboat. The other rescues the boat driver was referring to have nothing to do with North Island Surf and Kayak. Again, let me say that we want people to have a good time and we're sorry the reviewer's day turned out the way it did.
Written May 13, 2011
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Justin P
2 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2015 • Family
We have never paddle boarded before and told the staff that. We were told the wind was strong but when the tide shifted we would be able to make it back. We were also told not to go to the north shore beach. Well the wind and current had other ideas and took us to the beach despite paddling hard trying to go the other way for over an hour. We were stranded with several other groups. When the rental place was called they said " your on your own" . There was no way we could paddle back with the strong winds. We tried once the tide shifted and got nowhere. We got a car ride from another group to get our car and return the boards one by one. After dropping off the last board a staff member asked " if we had a good time?" Yea till we were stranded and my pregnant wife was being pulled out to sea.... Never again and buyer beware.
Written July 3, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
First, let me stress how sorry we are that you had a bad time. We really try to facilitate fun in all that we do. However, there are several discrepancies in this review that need to be addressed. First, these renters were given a 15 minute paddle clinic on the dock before they put the boards in the water. They were thoroughly informed of the weather conditions current to their departure. Because they were dealing with nature, though, the conditions may have changed. This possibility is noted in the liability waiver they read and signed. They were "stranded" with one other group, not several; all our other 30 + customers made it in on their own that day. The reviewers in question never called our shop; we have never told anyone they were "on their own" or to "call a cab". In fact, we didn't know the group was having a bad time, which is why we asked if they had fun. People leave by water and come back from land occasionally, so we assumed this was the case. Additionally, the reviewer's wife's pregnancy was not noted on the liability waiver as a health concern. If she felt it inhibited her abilities, it should have been noted on the waiver. Again, we are sorry this particular group had a bad time and hope they'll give paddle boarding another try.
Written July 6, 2015
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

hilf04
Illinois3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2011
We went kayaking with a group of 6 adults and 1 teenager, all of which had little to no experience. We did not take a tour, but decided to go out on our own. We left Lazaretto Creek around 9:30 am, during high tide, so it was hard work paddling out but it was well worth it! We encountered dolphins before we even left Lazaretto Creek! We decided to paddle out to North Beach Bird Sanctuary, which is a beautiful part of the island! On our way out, we were surrounded by a group of dolphins that were swimming right along side us! We made it to the Bird Sanctuary and spent a little time walking the beach and swimming. We headed back to Lazaretto Creek before the tide went back out, and we were, once again, surrounded by dolphins! It was a beautiful day and we had a great time! We spent a little over 5 hours out in the water, which was enough time for us. We could have easily spent a few more hours out in the water had we wanted to! Shane was great at accomodating us and he gave us several pointers to make our trip more enjoyable. He has quite the personality and you can tell that he really enjoys his work and he cares about the island and it's sustainability. And, we took his recommendation to eat at Topsail Bar and Grill, which is right there next to North Island Surf and Kayak, and came back later that evening for dinner. Best meal of our vacation!
Written August 27, 2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

mamasmurf9
Rochester, NY36 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2015 • Family
The folks at North Island Surf and Kayak were friendly enough but if I hadn't done a bunch of research about where to go and what we wanted to see, they wouldn't have been much help. We rented 3 kayaks and 1 SUP board one day for a paddle across from Alley 3 to Little Tybee Island, which is an uninhabited island. The meeting time agreed upon was 9:30am which we made over the phone...I wanted earlier but they open at 9am and said they couldn't get there till 9:30. We got to the boat launch by 9:15 (in case they showed up early) and waited till 10:00am (in the very hot 90 degree heat). We attempted to reach them by phone, but noone answered. We were about to call it quits when one of their employees pulled into the parking area like a bat out of hell (not kidding...he literally flew around the corner and sprayed gravel). We helped him unload the kayaks, paddles and PFDs. Asked a few questions about the area we were going, which he didn't really offer a whole lot of suggestions about where to go. Fortunately, I had read up on Little Tybee and when we arrived, we were able to explore on our own. I would recommend using this company only if you have a pretty good idea of what you want to do and where you want to go. We did rent from them one other day...1 kayak and 1 SUP board to explore the small lighthouse and the surrounding beach area, but again, I did all the work to figure out where to go and what to do. They do offer guided trips, which may be better if you are looking for some help in planning.
Written July 30, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

southerngirl745
Athens, GA101 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2015 • Couples
We rented a double kayak to head out to Cockspur Lighthouse, and Shane hooked us up with the "Happy Hour" special rather than charging us for an overnight rental since all we wanted to do was kayak out to the lighthouse and back, which was in the evening before it got dark. This was much appreciated, and the $40 rental was charge seemed really reasonable to me. We were able to put out into the water right from there dark and leave our car in their parking lot, which was free - super bonus for free parking! The area also has a few restaurants nearby - Bubba Gumbo's and Coco's, so if you're hungry for a bite before or after your rental, you're in luck. On our "voyage" we also saw some dolphins up close and personal, which was way better than any dolphin boat cruise could deliver, in my opinion. I felt like we received excellent, honest service, and I would recommend North Island Surf and Kayak to anyone else looking for a company to rent from.
Written May 24, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Beth9702
Atlanta56 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2014 • Couples
My husband and I had a great experience with North Island Surf and Kayak. We were able to book their shorter 3 hour tour the day before and opted for the stand up paddle boards. Sadly, I can't remember our guides name (so sorry!) but he was knowledgeable and gave us lots of information about Tybee and the Cockspur Lighthouse, which in and of itself was a neat place to visit. The boards we were given were clean which for me is a big bonus. We even saw a few Dolphins, which was really cool. I would recommend North Island Surf and Kayak to anyone looking for a fun activity on the water.
Written September 27, 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-10 of 104

North Island Surf and Kayak - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024)

All Tybee Island HotelsTybee Island Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Tybee Island
All things to do in Tybee Island
Theater & Concerts in Tybee IslandDay Trips in Tybee Island
RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars