Smithgall Woods Conservation Area

Smithgall Woods Conservation Area

Smithgall Woods Conservation Area
4.5
State Parks • Nature & Wildlife Areas
Read more
7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Monday
7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Tuesday
7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Wednesday
7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Thursday
7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Friday
7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Saturday
7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Sunday
7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Write a review
About
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Top ways to experience nearby attractions

Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.5
100 reviews
Excellent
58
Very good
24
Average
12
Poor
3
Terrible
3

R8363QUdavidd
Cleveland, GA29 contributions
Mar 2022
This park has no "entertainment", per se. But, if discovering nature and local history is your thing, then check this out.

Kathy, the Naturalist is excellent.

Hiking, bird watching, wildlife viewing, etc. This place was part of the nation's first gold rush.

There are "high-end" cabins for rent and a trophy trout stream.

The trout stream has special regulations and is only open on Wednesday, Saturday and Sunday. Make a reservation, then contact the local fly shop (Unicoi Outfitters) to line up a guide and learn how to fish the stream. You will also get to use their rods, reels, waders and flies.

Written August 5, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Fun4sol
Atlanta, GA64 contributions
Jul 2020 • Family
We visited to Smithgall Woods over the 4th of July weekend. We stayed in the pet friendly Garden cottage. The cabin was nicely appointed with leather furniture, a nice comfortable queen bed, WiFi, cable, hot tub, and pretty much everything you need for a great stay. It was also very clean. The area surrounding the park was absolutely beautiful and well taken care of. We hiked to the Dukes Falls and the covered bridge, enjoyed the garden near our cabin and spent lots of time relaxing and exploring nature. The staff was exceptional as well. After checking out from the cabin I realized I had forgotten my wedding ring in the cabin. I called the park and the staff was very helpful and within a few minutes called me back to let me know they had found the ring and offered various options to return it to me. Every employee we encountered during our visit was friendly and helpful. Also, if you are concerned about COVID like we were, they are taking very good measures to promote social distance and wear masks in the visitor’s center. Overall, Smithgall Wood exceeding our expectations and we hope to visit again soon.
Written July 22, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

ATerrellSmith
Piedmont, SC17 contributions
May 2021 • Couples
We hiked almost 4 miles from the Visitor’s Center, past the covered bridge (Bay’s Bridge), and then took Ash Creek Trail back. Ash Creek Trail was more challenging than we expected — hiking poles would have been helpful, and we had to remove socks and shoes to cross both Ash Creek (ankle deep) and Dukes Creek (almost knee deep). We were the only ones hiking Ash Creek Trail, which was a nice change after visiting the fairly busy Dukes Creek Falls.
Written May 15, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

ERIC S
St. Petersburg, FL330 contributions
Jul 2020
The park was a disappointment. The Visitor Center was just a gift shop with no informational exhibits. Admission was $5.00 and we got a map, but the attendant neglected to tell us the roads were all closed unless you were staying in one of their units. We paid $5.00 to drive through the parking lot.
Written July 25, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hello Eric, Thank you for your visit. I am sorry that you were not given proper information about the park. You are correct, we do not allow driving through. Smithgall is a conservation park and many people hike on the main road which leads to covered bridges, waterfalls, overlooks and other scenic areas. It also sounds like you missed our Discovery Room which is full of exhibits. Please check the website or call in advance to see any upcoming programs or scheduled hunts (when we close some of the trails). Hope to see you again soon!
Written October 12, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Jennifer C
Baton Rouge, LA3 contributions
Jul 2022
The signage in this part is some of the worst. No signs around trail heads, no signs at what appears to be trails, no helpful staff. Could be great if there was more care taken to make the place hiker-friendly. My husband and I tried to hike this place for hours only to get turned around multiple times due to poor signage. Whe have no difficulty hiking other trails or following maps, but this place has lots of confusing areas. I do not recommend unless you have lots of time to waste getting confused. Map at visitor center is not helpful either. Not impressed.
Written November 25, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Ron C
Gainesville, GA1,001 contributions
Mar 2020
We visited on a lovely spring Saturday afternoon just to walk one of the several trails. The Laurel Ridge Trail is well maintained, 1.6 mile return. It is rather steep at times, but manageable. Lovely place.
Written March 30, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you Ron. Com again soon.
Written March 31, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

jenedge
gainesville, ga106 contributions
Aug 2021 • Family
We visit a lot and try the different trails. Its different from most state parks because it has less crowds and it feels like more spaces to relax. The water is crystal clear, many trails to try (paved and dirt), plenty of picnic areas, cool gift shop (with a very helpful/kind attendant inside), and a beautiful covered bridge. Highly recommend for families.
Written August 1, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Gail B
Savannah, GA156 contributions
Sep 2015 • Couples
There is a beautiful drive next to the river; but you have to practically promise your first born to get the staff to give you the gate code. Even though they call themselves a state park; they do NOT want to be visited by the general public; preferring to keep themselves to, apparently, the exclusively wealthy visitors. If you are a state park, then you need to be available to the general public. If you aren't, then you should take your information off the Ga. state park website.
Written September 4, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hello Gail, Thank you for visiting Smithgall Woods. We welcome all guests and invite everyone to view our webpage and see all there is to offer from hiking, biking, trophy fly fishing, educational programs and more. The cottages may be reserved, just as any other state park cottages, but they do have a unique one-lane entry. We value the serenity and safety of our cottage guest and therefore during busy times choose to limit traffic into that area. We look forward to your return, Will
Written June 20, 2016
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

staylorAL
Pike Road, AL5 contributions
Dec 2016 • Family
I am sure this is a wonderful place to hike if you've got a good bit of time. If you're looking to sneak a fairly quick hike into your day, however, you're out of luck. Even though there is a paved road to several hike starting points, you find out after you've paid your park fee that you can't actually drive the road. No - you will have to first hike the mile and a half or so up the road to even begin a hiking trail. The lady who took our fee did not point this out to us - in fact did not say much to us at all. It would have been nice to know up front from the ranger instead of finding the small-print information on the map after already paying. We did not have the time to add a 3-mile round trip distance to a 2-mile hiking trail, so unfortunately did not get to see any of this park!
Written January 16, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

KENTGA
ATLANTA1,205 contributions
Apr 2014 • Couples
We were there April 11, 2014 and wanted to hike and see some of the area but all but one trail was closed because they had hunters there. Wish we would have known. It was a wasted trip.
Written April 14, 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you for your visit to Smithgall Woods, I am sorry to hear about your inconvenience. We have since listed the hiking trails and the hunting schedule side by side on the website, whereas they were once separated. We also posted a note at the top of the webpage. Smithgall Woods is not open to season long hunting, but for particular scheduled weekends only. However, our longest loop trail, Laurel Ridge, is open year round.
Written July 8, 2016
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 100
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Smithgall Woods Conservation Area (Helen) - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go

Frequently Asked Questions about Smithgall Woods Conservation Area

Smithgall Woods Conservation Area is open:
  • Sun - Sat 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM